Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack heli tips

• 02-05-2006 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

Just finished a solid weekend of BF2 and I've come to the conclusion that I need to able to fly attack choppers and / or need to be a good gunner.

Has anyone got any tips or even advice on that I can use on how to fly a chopper or stuff that you should look out for being a gunner, basically anything you can think of to make my transition easier.

For instance I found out last night that you can use Tv guided missile's to take out other choppers, and not only can you, infact thats what you should use.. All news to me much to the disappoint of my pilot ;) some nice guy from GFF who explained it to me, much to his amusement :)

So any help / random info would be appreciated. Hopefully some other budding pilots might find of use too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

Just practice in them till you get better i was in the same boat untill i started whoring them for practice and i can do quite well in them now...

If you can always spot enemy's for your pilot

Always be on the look out for tanks and jeeps, these can take you out fairly quickly

Always be on the look out for helis, and tv them staright away, if your the pilot aim the heli at the chopper for your gunner to tv it...

You have flares at on your heli if your a pilot press x to deploy them when it startes beeping(means someones hitting/locked onto you)

Use your normal gun to take out infantry(left click) and tv for vehicles/choppers)

Try to keep moving as if you hover still planes/tanks/apc's etc can kill you quickly

Learn where the AA mounts are(stingers) these can take you out quickly

Practice on an empty server

Advanced

Tv blind if you think the heli/tank etc is in that general direction i.e Sharqi Peninsula, tv the tower if you think the heli just spawned there...

When you get a bit better if you have the heli on your own if you press f2 you can switch into the gunner seat. If your target is ahead of you(enemy chopper) look to the left and press f2, your heli will start spinning fast to the right, just when you see the chopper fire the tv and click it onto the chopper
    then press f2 and control you heli again...

Hope this helps only started messing around with them myself recently

i dont have one myself but the biggest tip you can get for flying is too buy a wireless joystick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

The only advice i can give is this:
    Dont go up against [NRG]Tjarn in a TV vs TV missile fight. Trust me...he rarely misses :(

not unless you see him first :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

if you havn't seen this movie yet you should d/l and watch. A lot of folk reguard him as the best pilot out there which is probably true and the best part is he solo's, flying and gunning, both TV and minigun.

Few nice inf clips at the start also, but its his chopper skills that are worth the dl alone. Anyway his name is redux and plays for the top code7 team out of scandanavia. Movie is called duck & cover...

http://www.volcomer.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Atlas_IRL wrote:
    not unless you see him first :D

You'd be surprised :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Static M.e.

Thanks Guys thats great advice! :)

loads for me to practice on get my skills up so I can Tv the Bejesus out of Tjarn! ;) Ill dl that Video too, should be good to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

if you havn't seen this movie yet you should d/l and watch. A lot of folk reguard him as the best pilot out there which is probably true and the best part is he solo's, flying and gunning, both TV and minigun.

Few nice inf clips at the start also, but its his chopper skills that are worth the dl alone. Anyway his name is redux and plays for the top code7 team out of scandanavia. Movie is called duck & cover...

http://www.volcomer.com/
    Any chance of a link to the film? It ain't on the site provided :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Step one: Buy a joystick with a twistgrip for yaw control, and throttle built-in..
    Like the microsoft force feedback 2 or similar. I swear by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

fluffer wrote:
    Step one: Buy a joystick with a twistgrip for yaw control, and throttle built-in..
    Like the microsoft force feedback 2 or similar. I swear by it.

Mouse and Keyboard all the way biatch! Best way to fly either a plane or a heli, so much freedom of control with a mouse, just adjust the sensitivy of the Heli and Plane controls and you'll be quicker, and more accurate than any joystick player. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

R0ot wrote:
    Mouse and Keyboard all the way biatch! Best way to fly either a plane or a heli, so much freedom of control with a mouse, just adjust the sensitivy of the Heli and Plane controls and you'll be quicker, and more accurate than any joystick player. :D

Seconded.

*sheds a tear* Oh, battlefield, I think I miss you...must get back to TVing noobs soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

If you're a pilot resist the urge to keep you speed up and nose to the ground. The gunner won't see/hit anything.

Giving your gunner a stable platform to shoot from is best, it allows them to be most accurate. But if you hang about too long in the one spot you leave yourself open to tank rounds and guided anti tank from the ground.

Also if you're the pilot watch the HUD to see which way your gunner is looking. If he starts shooting in a direction (and isnot a moron just wasting ammo) turn to give him a better shot.

Shooting TV missiles needs a good graphics card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Peace wrote:
    Giving your gunner a stable platform to shoot from is best, it allows them to be most accurate. But if you hang about too long in the one spot you leave yourself open to tank rounds and guided anti tank from the ground.

Actually I find that you should only hang still if you're dominating and there's nothing dangerous. Aside from that, keep moving, a smart gunner will take what shots he can.
    Also if you're the pilot watch the HUD to see which way your gunner is looking. If he starts shooting in a direction (and isnot a moron just wasting ammo) turn to give him a better shot.

Only turn when he stops firing. Theres nothing more annoying than trying to hit an infantry man and the chopper starts turning thereby throwing your aim off completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 {DoWUK}Mossie

hello everyone 1st post!!:D been coming here ages now but only just decided to register:)

http://www.krispey.com/c7.avi is the direct link to the video duck and cover by the scandinavian bloke you are on about

took me 2 seconds of googling and i found it:rolleyes:
    its a huge file so will take ages on crappy eircom connection:(
    so it better be good!

its good ur mans quality in the heli and the medic dude is unreal

i tried for ages today to do teh machine gunning on my own in the chopper and i cant figure out how he gets the chopper to stay still for him, i can shoot 2 or 3 machine gun shots at my target then i spin off he doesnt:cool: he seems to be able to switch between flyin and tv mad quick when i do it theres a slight delay and believe me i have tried to go as quick as possible so i dont miss my shot,

the video must be kinda old too because the ranges he shoots with the TV cant be done anymore, he shoots from refinery on dragon valley to woodyard - that cant be done anymore you dont have the distance

and yeah he has some good TV shots but they used 250 gb worth of film of them playin to get them shots, after that length of playin time you'd have to have some nice shots in there

i still reckon i could take him:D

with a little help and a pilot:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Well tbh Mossie ive seen you and Setanta in action on the GFF server and yas bstids always TV me to the ground :)

we'll keep doin it since you like it so much:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Tip - Prioritise your enemys

Attack Choppers of course first...unless a Jeeps shootin at ye
    2nd - AA vehicles
    3rd - Any jeeps with a gunnder firing at you (Theyre more lethal than tanks or APC's)
    4th - Tanks
    5th - Apc

However...on places like Sharqui be wary of staying in 1 spot at the TV staion as most of the USMC will take rocket launchers

Also, dont lauch your falres to early, if you can , have a button to look behind your heli, more often that not its a plane.
    If hes flying too fast you can usually avoid him and his missiles will miss, otherwise he'll be going slow,....counting on your to drop your flares on the first beep, then he gets ye

I use a Logitech Extreme 3d Pro, theyre class

http://www.krispey.com/c7.avi is the direct link to the video duck and cover by the scandinavian bloke you are on about
    Cheers for the link. Took 25 minutes to get with meh crappy Eircom connection.

One thing I noticed: full auto with the medic gun (time: 3:46). The gun is, IIRC, burst/semi-auto, yet this guy was doing full auto :/ And no, it wasn't an unlock.

wouldnt ya know i forgot to save the clip:rolleyes:
    so i aint d'loading it again with my also crappy eircom connection cos it will take ages!
    so i'll take your word for it, sounds wierd that alright i thought u only can do single shots or 3 bullet shots/bursts with all the medic guns but i havent been playin that long so maybe it was different ages ago;) or else a mod or something

i tried again today to do teh machine gun on my own and i must have spent a good half an hour tryin it and i think it cant be done anymore, u get one bullet off and then you spin like mad and ya cant even see then never mind shoot:mad:

anyone else tried it or able to do it?

Were you using a joystick, or mouse + keyboard? Also, were you using a joystick that could control the rear of the heli?

i tried it Mossie got a few its hard though... i was holding the left key and had the view to the left so i got a sec or two then u can shoot off another few when you spin around again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Tried it Moss, can do it Np's ;)

Will explain and show ye tomorrow

Seantheman aka Setanta :D:)

i sused it out aswell how to make teh chopper not spin when you switch to gunner or at least spin very late:D and im not tellin anyone how to do it:p its me new trick,

i got it by accident on GFF server last night i thihnk it might have been cully i killed with my gun:rolleyes: might be wrong but it was definetley one of the GFF lads, got a few of them with it thank god cos i am still terrible at flyin and tving,

oh and i use a joystick syco and badly too:cool: but im gettin there, never knew u could just control the back of the chopper, tbh i dont know wat part i control now:confused: do you mean a stick that twists left and right? if so yeah

my stick is logitech 3d extreme pro if thats any help

lol it sounds like bleeding spaceship:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

any tips for tv missiles? i'm useless with them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Skalragg

just take ur time aim,...fire,....and just keep the crosshair towaqrds the object ur firing at and ull be grand

ooh im good at these, if they are far away aim in front of them a bit cos if u aim right at them tehy will have moved by the time the missile gets there, if ya get me, dont take shots u know wont work some people take stupid shots that will never work

if teh other chopper is really in front of you aim as high as possible cos the missile kinda drops from teh bottom of the chopper and rises at first

aiming- just try put your cross hair on them and click like a mofo til it hits, move as tehy move

use the tv's to look in dangerous areas - just shoot one from far away at a base you are heading too, most of the time you'll see exactly wats there and can plan your attack

the tv missiles can turn very freely so u can try hit stuff even tho u cant see it, its handy for AA's etc get your pilot to go behind something then u shoot around or over

most of all practice practice practice your not gonna go and be a great shot now but keep at it and you'll get there

hopes this helps and makes sense, im not very good at english essays:D

me being irish and all:p