Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sweepstake Tournament

• 26-04-2006 12:54pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok ladies the Tournament is now up on Stars and open for registration,you should have received a PM from me with the password if you did not then PM me and I will get back to you.It is a $10 FO and will be played at 10PM Irish time on Monday May 1st.

I will be happy if we can get 20 runners,once the tournament is over I will open a new thread were we can pick our teams.If you do not play in the MTT we will be doing a random draw for the rest of the teams that are left unpicked some time next week.

Good luck and I hope as many players as possible can play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

nice work Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Good effort Paul. Im in so atleast if I forget about it(or am really drunk on the bank holiday) i can get blinded away

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Bump.

This is on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

How long after the tournie does everybody need to pick their teams?
    I assume then the remaining teams are randomly allocated between the
    people who couldn't play?

okidoki987 wrote:
    How long after the tournie does everybody need to pick their teams?
    I assume then the remaining teams are randomly allocated between the
    people who couldn't play?

I will have a thread up once the tournament is over tonight,once the person who finishes in front of you picks his team then you will be free to make your choice.

And yes if you don't play in the MTT the remaining teams will be randomly allocated.

25 registered so far.....thats good I would have been happy with 20.

Could I ask anybody who's Pokerstars name is not the same as there Boards one to post here so we know who is who.

Larkin Paul = Dub13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I just thought why don't we give the first person out the first pick, the second person out the second pick and so on, also allocate the cash prizes in the same way. We can all try and lose as quick as possible cos I think I should have a big edge over the field if we play this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

My name on stars is dunning10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

killerkp on p'stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

EoinOlin on pstars

Yes yes I am an imaginative man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

im not telling ye who i am:rolleyes:

Anybody want to guess on who the first out will be....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Dub13 wrote:
    Anybody want to guess on who the first out will be....?
    If we're putting money on it i'll go for me ;)

Looking at the list of locations I think its safe to say we will have a Dublin winner,in fact It looks like it will be a Dublin 1,2,3.

Culchie is even down as Dublin.....yet on VBP he is Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Dub13 wrote:
    Looking at the list of locations I think its safe to say we will have a Dublin winner,in fact It looks like it will be a Dublin 1,2,3.
    dont count you chickens...:)

thats what we mean we dont have any chickens to count in Dublin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Is it winner takes all in the sweepstakes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Dub13 wrote:
    Culchie is even down as Dublin.....yet on VBP he is Mayo.

pah, was hoodwinked by their sign up process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Just made it, Poker_Brat1 = Ste05

okidoki987 wrote:
    Is it winner takes all in the sweepstakes?

1st)$300
    2nd)$200
    3rd)$80

The remaining $60 to the tournament whipping boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Anyone playing anything else fun at the same time? Gonna play a few €12+1 six handed STTs myself...

Culchie wrote:
    pah, was hoodwinked by their sign up process.

Typical Culchie.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

KKcardcooler on stars, Dublin 13 are definitely taking this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

ionapaul wrote:
    Anyone playing anything else fun at the same time? Gonna play a few €12+1 six handed STTs myself...
    I is watching snooker and trying to finish Greensteins book.

hehe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

8 minutes late.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

11 minutes late - damned eircom .. luckysparky on stars

i cant belive it was first out..at least i won the 25 in the fitz to salvage some pride!, i went out to somebodys poker of 4's to my nut flush...

this is the bad beat thread isnt it??

kk cardcooler and HJ early frontrunners

Im gone

I should have gills I played so badly

i have a spare pair here if needed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Yeah not my finest hour either. Tenth isn't bad though, should get a team that makes the 2nd round at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

thats what we mean we dont have any chickens to count in Dublin :D

what about that guy who deals in the Fitz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

well thats me gone in 5th.... for the second time in the tourney i ran QQ into kk.... ce la vie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

very unlucky with that jim. 2 chip leaders against each other too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

out in 27th by the looks of it. just goes to show if u want something done right then u have to do it yourself. cheers roundtower!

LOL was that roundtower playing for you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Iceman78 wrote:
    very unlucky with that jim. 2 chip leaders against each other too.

i know.. cardinal rule in poker and all that :mad:

but wanted to get brazil and didnt want to be left with 9700.

all in all, i played pretty poorly.... so glad with the result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Ste05 wrote:
    LOL was that roundtower playing for you??

yeah. were u the "some guy on our left who kept reraising us" or the guy that horribly dogged us with 2 pair?

guy to your left who kept re-raising :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Well I have to say that everyone who finished below 8th should be ashamed of themselves. Call yourselves poker players? You were beaten by a girl who has only ever played one 30 minute home game and had never even played online before!

lol
    gg

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Shortstack wrote:
    Well I have to say that everyone who finished below 8th should be ashamed of themselves. Call yourselves poker players? You were beaten by a girl who has only ever played one 30 minute home game and had never even played online before!

lol
    gg

Whats online????? I'm new.

5starpool wrote:
    Whats online????? I'm new.
    I think its pronounced on-line, as in- "not to step out of line", like ABC poker, it simple enough really, hope this clears up any confusion, welcome to boards ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Shortstack wrote:

lol
    gg

I am new ... whats a girl?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Shortstack wrote:

lol
    gg

So that would explain that call with A6 I knew there was something wrong somewhere.
    I was coasting along nicely in this and then ran right into Culchie's aces,well I knew he had them I was just priced in.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

i cant belive it was first out..at least i won the 25 in the fitz to salvage some pride!, i went out to somebodys poker of 4's to my nut flush...

this is the bad beat thread isnt it??
    that would be me ;)
    Nut flush on the turn and then the river a magical 4.

I have to say it took me AGES to get into any sort of groove playing this game.
    The strange raises from all postions EVERY hand preflop totally through me off.
    Built up an early 4k+ stack only to gift it around the table playing like a loon.
    Got some VERY lucky cards, QQ 3 times (as culchie, I think spotted)
    Then was playing some nice tight poker, though gettting bullied somewhat, until madness descended.
    Daitho's all in with 58, made me feel that 88 was even better and was caught
    by daitho and I think Steo_05 who had AK and AQ respectively
    2,3,5,4 on the turn river a 2 and out I go in 14th.
    I have to say I enjoyed it, a VERY big learning game for me. Only every big hand I won and finally had some semblance of read on the table I got moved :(
    It was a lot of fun and would love to do another again sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Yeah we should do one for the champion's league next year.

Daithio wrote:
    Yeah we should do one for the champion's league next year.

Very good idea.

As for Mike and his sub I agree I had an idea something was up but Mike is right if you finished below 8th should be ashamed of yourselfs.And I think we got that Dublin 1,2,3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

It was all rigged. Final hand I was called by a pair draw and of course you know the rest. Rigged.