Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance?

• 24-04-2006 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭

Was driving the friends moped up to my house recently just because i was stuck. I met a garda checkpoint and had no choice but to go through the garda checkpoint(very scared because i didnt have insurance on the moped)

They just told me to keep going, anyone else ever been told to go strasight on? Seems like they only ever check cars and 125cc<

Was thinking about chancing not getting insurance on a 50cc bike and trying not to crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Lucky dude.

But I would guess they were more concerned with Tax.

Ive never been asked to show insurance, only tax once. Though, like yourself, many times they are after car defaulters and let the bikes through. Sometimes they blitz and just pull over bikes but this is much rarer it seems.

Do yourself a favour and not drive unlicenced and uninsured.... consider yourself very lucky...

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Shanley wrote:
    Was driving the friends moped up to my house recently just because i was stuck. I met a garda checkpoint and had no choice but to go through the garda checkpoint(very scared because i didnt have insurance on the moped)

They just told me to keep going, anyone else ever been told to go strasight on? Seems like they only ever check cars and 125cc<

Was thinking about chancing not getting insurance on a 50cc bike and trying not to crash.
    Good one :rolleyes: By the way, they mount checkpoints especially for 2 wheeled vehicles in which cars are let through. Personally I think anyone who contemplates what you're contemplating will come a cropper somewhere, somehow, but I'm sure you're the sort to illegaly carry a pillion who'll crash and that pillion will claim against your insurance and our (law abiding bikers) insurance will go up, so if you don't want insurance then fire right ahead as far as I'm concerned, the fewer gobsh!tes getting pillion claims against them the better IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I went through a lot of car tax checkpoints without being checked, but twice i was stopped at bike only checkpoints. Both in the exact same place, just past the royal oak pub in finglas at about 9am. Just be wary you might arrive at one of these.

Yes, it's not just about you 'not crashing'. If you crash with a pillion they will have to go through an ordeal if they have to claim medical expenses etc from the insurance council. Also just imagine you hit a pedestrian at 30 mph and you injure them severly - they too will have go though through a long drawn out process.

To be honest, you shouldn't be on the road with your attitude to riding and there's something wrong with you if you cannot comprehend that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Some judges are talking about imposing prison sentences on everyone caught without insurance. Rightly so I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭pbergin

<rant>
    Lock em up I say, anyone that irresponsible deserves prison, and not a week or two either. Everyone else has to pay the insane premiums why should some selfish git get to ride for free? then cause an accident and its us (i.e. bikers that pay insurance) that pick up the bill.
    Its not just if you cause a crash, what if someone else crashes into you? when the Gardai get there the first thing they will ask for is licence, tax and insurance, not only will you be injured you will also end up with the gardai after you for being a total idiot.
    Gardai do check for tax, how are you going to tax it with no insurance? or are you also going to be that thick and ride with no tax either? while you are at it you might as well not wear a helmet or any riding gear.
    </rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

im paying over €900 because of a minority of eejits that refuse to get insurance, is it worth the risk of a ban/prison/fine
    how much are they asking for insurance on a 50cc
    do us all a favour and either get insurance or get of the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

im paying over €900 because of a minority of eejits that refuse to get insurance
    well really it's the eejits with insurance who illegaly carry pillions and then come off, with the resultant claim by the pillion against the policy which MUST cover the pillion under an EU directive. So, the people at fault for our high insurance costs (the first two are according to Hibernian who withdrew from the bike market) are 1) gobh!tes who illegaly carry pillions 2) the Gardai who fail to enforce road traffic legislation by summonsing these offenders to court (if you see tracker knackers on scooters 2-up then it's almost certain the law is being broken as very few of them have full licences) and 3) the lazy insurance companies who just pay out pillion claims on policies held by people not allowed to carry a pillion in the first place without pursuing them for their costs in the civil courts (which they are allowed to do!).

So, that's why when I see a gobsh!te coming on here asking those of us forking out a grand a year insurance for insurance evasion advice, I say let 'em ahead with it as the guards might actually catch him at it whereas if he does get insurance he's the sort ot carry a pillion, then crash and our premiums go up again! If he crashes with a pillion on board without insurance it'll just come out of thr general MIAB fund and shouldn't affect bikers premiums any more than cagers'.

Like I said, he's a clown and will hopefully come a cropper somewhere that involves a single vehicle incident and nobody else gets hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

kc66 wrote:
    Some judges are talking about imposing prison sentences on everyone caught without insurance. Rightly so I think.

Lock em up and take away their vehicle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Billabong

Everything murphaph said and much much more. I'm gonna make this quick(ish). With obseen renewal quotes for my bros last october I was forced into making a choice between the car or the bike. Unfortunately the M4 just aint friendly to bikers on wintery nights especially on a bros so the cage won out, also as It was required for my job. This has led to me being a very disgruntled biker in a cage. Every time i see a bike ride by, I creep ever closer to the edge where I seek out as many mopeds two-up in an hour, kill them with my cage and then try beat my record in the next hour. So beware Shanley and be sure to get you pillion to keep an eye out for that blurry blue wall of metal thats gonna t-bone ye.
    P.S. don't worry about the insurance as i'm insured up the a-hole for a dispicably small amount (relatively speaking of course). If I ever get around to doing this I'll be sure to post up my score, that is if they have the twinternet in thems big government funded cages.:D :D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

27 year old, 50hp bike (0.19 pw) , 2 years no claims, full licence, Dublin area and I'm paying 1200 Euro for 3rd party only. :mad:

And the reason being and I was told this by someone who working in Carole Nash. Every christmas they have are inundated with "stolen" scooters and bike claims from people that want to cash in their premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

My sis-in-law got an online quote from Quinn Direct. She is 20 and cannot drive yet. She got a provisional license. Her quote was €1300. She would be highly dangerous to let out on the road. I am paying more than that with 4 yrs no-claim bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I had a 50cc moped last year and my premium was €1400, and thats with a 1yr NCB

Ive got my renewal last week for it and they want €1200 now, since ive got a 2yr NCB.
    The bike is going down to our house in wexford as I have a car now, and they quoted me €660 for Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

K-TRIC wrote:
    27 year old, 50hp bike (0.19 pw) , 2 years no claims, full licence, Dublin area and I'm paying 1200 Euro for 3rd party only. :mad:

And the reason being and I was told this by someone who working in Carole Nash. Every christmas they have are inundated with "stolen" scooters and bike claims from people that want to cash in their premiums.

Surely this would only affect your premium if you were paying comprehensive, or 3rd party fire and theft? :confused:

Sounds like they were feeding you the typical regurgitated nonsense.. Find someone else to blame, then it becomes someone elses problem..