Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Women

• 23-04-2006 11:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭

First of all, I am in no way sexist, racist or any of that kinda craic.

But is any one else of the opinion that older ladies are THE most annoying people on the feckin planet?!!! I have some very good reasons for this claim. And I have taken these from the wealth of experience that is my life. I have always tried to keep an open mind when encountering them etc, but I always come back to the same conclusions (in 90% of cases)...

-They are excellent at holding up queues in shops, for very stupid reasons
    -They are extremely frustrating to drive behind
    -They are extremely frustrating to walk behind (you try to move by them by going to her left, then she moves to the left etc)
    -They are the most closed minded people in the world
    -They are crap!!! Drive me mad!! Bastards:mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Yook

Ok, someone has issues....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Sexist and ageist, yes.

Actually, what you're showing is not that you perceive old women to be slower in queues, etc. It's much scarier than that.

You resent queuing behind old women because you don't see them as having any value.

If you particularly think this is true of old *women*, then your only value on women is as child-bearers and -rearers.

And don't say you've observed old women being slower, etc. They're not.

In fact, young men are just as likely to drift along a queue jaws agape, staring into space, and then fish for change with excruciating slowness at the last moment, holding up the whole queue.

The difference is that they'll often do it as if it's their right, without apologising and being flustered at holding up the queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

as for holding up people behind.. it's not easy with age, reaction becomes slow..

It will happen to you too someday too.. so maybe just live with it and see it from their point of view..

As for the turning left and they also turn left case, it happen even to young people.. try to walk down grafton street really fast.. people keep getting in your way regardless of age difference

This is the way i see it..

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Manolo Blahnik

Okay the two people that posted before me are very judgemental.

I find them quite annoying too actually. As you age you tend to get slower act slowner It's a part of life and I think although certain old people can be annoying you must treat them with respect after all they are old just like you will be in years to come.

Every old person is different you probably just had a couple of bad experiences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Women can be awkward at the best of times. Old women are just more experienced at it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Yep older people have it worked out . :p To the OP one day you'll be one and some other snotty poster will be ranting on about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

luckat wrote:
    Sexist and ageist, yes.
    It's more an observation really, he isn't discriminating against them because they are old women, but because they are annoying which is fair enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

err... you're pretty wierd... they're just old, leave them alone.

we shall see how mobile and nimble you are when you're 80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

very judgemental.

And here was me thinking that was the theme of the thread..

sean_keevey, of course it's discrimination. Use the usual method of testing whether something is discriminatory, try it with another group replacing the group mentioned:

"I can't stand black people, they're slow, they drive badly..."

"I can't stand Jews, they're the most closed-minded people in the world..."

See?

If you discriminate against anyone *as a member of a particular group*, it's discriminatory by definition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

luckat wrote:
    "I can't stand black people, they're slow, they drive badly..."

"I can't stand Jews, they're the most closed-minded people in the world..."
    Obviously try to avoid small-minded, old, slow, black, Jewish women in cars where possible.:D

Heh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's a female thing. Women aren't as spacially aware of what's around them as men are - it's a left brain v right brain thing. Women are better with analytical, factual information whereas men are better with spacial.

point 1 - two female friends seeing each other in a shopping centre will completely forget about what's around them and just stop. (Then, when someone walks into the back of them, give out!).

point 2 - why do you think girls are better at boys at the leaving cert?

@ing manners" (direct quote) while they fish for pennies in a shop queue while I'm trying to break a note for a bus, I will not be holding back

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I think there's a difference between saying ''I can't stand black people'' and ''I can't stand old people.''
    Black people don't get in your way. Not all black people are old and slower less aware.

It would be more accurate to say that, ''I can't stand old people'' and '' I can't stand disabled people'', are more similar.

Old people were here before you so you should respect them.
    Imagine if you were old and people complained about you.

What about old men are they alright then? :rolleyes:

My aunt is pregnant and an old man that was probably very against women being pregnant or something, punched her in to her stomach on a main street in broad daylight. The babys fine thank God.

Does that make me dislike all old men? no just that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

....but if it happened repeatedly?

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

I've heard allot of ridiculous reasons why. The funniest one - that boys have testosterone and don't like being told what to do so end out with poor results. :D;)

The reason why girls do better in general is because females can concentrate on many thins at the same time. I should put another in general in there for the girls that cannot.

Males might be more accurate but females have better concentration levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Geniuses at queue skipping. This includes shopping queues and buses. Then call you a "cheeky young pup", if you ask them to observe the queue and get back in line.

Will walk over you if your're in competition when going for the specials in Lidl,Aldi,etc. Razor sharp elbows, I tell you.

Have a habit of stopping at the end of escualtors to check their purse and then call you rude when you inevitably bang into them.

No qualms about asking you to give up your seat on a Bus Eireann inter-city bus if the bus is full. Hey, I paid for my ticket and you have a free travel pass.

Let the flaming commence!

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    ....but if it happened repeatedly?
    Then I'd probably be very aware of old men but still accept that there would be nice ones out there too.

Every person you meet should be treated equally regaurdless of what experiences you had in the past because afterall everyone is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

You've obviously never met my grandmother. She's in her mid-seventies and can run in heels.

A couple of months ago she was on her way to a dance with a friend when the car she was in stalled. She, my uncle and her friend's son start pushing the car down a hill to get it started again. But as the car started her high heel slipped on the gravel and she fell hitting her face off the back of the car and cutting her knees on the ground. As everyone ran to help her she jumped up and ran into the car telling them to get in quick before the engine stopped again, she was already late for the dance.

A couple of weeks later she was on holiday in Spain when unused to the single bed she fell out. Slamming her shoulder into the locker as she fell on the tile floor. The next day she was the first of her friends in line at the camel ride.

She would also never make ridiculous sweeping statements about one group of people, while at the same time insisting that they are close-minded!:rolleyes:

What a cool granny! But yeah there's nothing worse than narrowmindedness

I've heard allot of ridiculous reasons why. The funniest one - that boys have testosterone and don't like being told what to do so end out with poor results. :D;)

The reason why girls do better in general is because females can concentrate on many thins at the same time. I should put another in general in there for the girls that cannot.

Not nessecarily... women can be just as easily distracted. And when you do exams, you;re only concentrating on one thing anyway. What else is there to concentrate on...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

But is any one else of the opinion that older ladies are THE most annoying people on the feckin planet?!!!

No , YOU are the most annoying people on the feckin planet.

IMHO, the reason is more females than males take the leaving cert sufficently seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭pants on fire

Like I said at the start, I dont think EVERY old woman is like that. Just about 90% of them.
    And its not like discrimanation at all. It is a fact.
    As you get older, your motor reflexes do tend to slow down etc. But old men usually have the added bonus of having some testosterone in their bloodstream.
    I am not saying that old women are bad or anything, I just find them annoying. I say the same for older ladies of every race. But that is only an aspect of their behaviour that I dont like. Simple.
    Just like I can say that it the Chinese language annoys me. I just dont like it. But that doesnt mean I dont like Chinese people!!
    Everybody is so cautious about what is "correct" to say!!
    OLD WOMEN are just annoying! (most of them)

THIS IS NOT DISCRIMANATORY!!!!!

And why do some people not like it when you say that a certain type of person is better at some stuff than another type of person?!!!

I mean, it is quite possible that the female brain is designed differently than the male, so they are better able to take in academic info etc.
    And it is fact that, in general, black people respond better to physical exercise than white people. BUT EVERYBODY thinks its racist or discrimanatory to say this kinda stuff!!!!!

WHY??!!!

Pigman II wrote:
    No , YOU are the most annoying people on the feckin planet.

IMHO, the reason is more females than males take the leaving cert sufficently seriously.

....which in iteslf is the sign of an analytical mind: no lateral thinking

Well, speaking for all old women, I find your prejudice offensive.

And why do some people not like it when you say that a certain type of person is better at some stuff than another type of person?!!!

I mean, it is quite possible that the female brain is designed differently than the male, so they are better able to take in academic info etc.
    And it is fact that, in general, black people respond better to physical exercise than white people. BUT EVERYBODY thinks its racist or discrimanatory to say this kinda stuff!!!!!

WHY??!!!

It's not. It's just a difference. Neither better nor worse, just different. But as you know yourself, you make a valid point around here and people misread it because, on some level, they WANT to misread it and WANT to be offended so that it gives them a chance to step up onto the altar and preach.

Ikky Poo you are wise beyond your years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah leave the old people alone, OP. They probably have done more in their lifetime than you have, go do something to benefit society instead of complaining about old people online.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

They old ffs. Give them a break. We'll see how fast you are in your old age. I don't think you'll be winning any marathons

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Not nessecarily... women can be just as easily distracted. And when you do exams, you;re only concentrating on one thing anyway. What else is there to concentrate on...?

I'm talking about in classrooms and studying too - not just in exams. There are many things to get distracted by in an exam.

Anyway, back on topic. Old people are a part of life - deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    ....which in iteslf is the sign of an analytical mind: no lateral thinking

Not really. Lateral thinking would have shown one that there is more ways of getting to the top than giving 2 years of your life over to the Leaving Cert. A qualification that in this day and age is essentially worthless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Nope no problem with old women at all.Worked in a Supermarket for a few years and i found that its more like 90% are pleasant and obvioulsy you get the small amount bad as in every age group.We will all be there someday ourselves its inevitable,unless you kick the bucket young.I dont think its right to give out about someone because of the natural ageing process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

-They are excellent at holding up queues in shops, for very stupid reasons
    Thats old age,maybe you are impatient.
    -They are extremely frustrating to drive behind
    I wonder then why they pay so little insurance compared with youth
    -They are extremely frustrating to walk behind (you try to move by them by going to her left, then she moves to the left etc)
    Once again old age ,maybe once agin you are impatient
    -They are the most closed minded people in the world
    LOL,look at your post ,it defines Closed mind!!!!!!
    -They are crap!!! Drive me mad!! Bastards:mad: :mad:
    Is it any wonder they are ignorant to you.

This is a forum where you talk about stuff. Thats all.
    Stop taking me so seriously and telling me to "deal with it"!!! :mad:

I just find them annoying in certain aspects. Same way I find some of you people annoying because you think I absoloutely hate old people and wish they were dead or somethin!!! And the same way I find it annoying when buses are late. I DO DEAL WITH IT!!! Its just an observation.

And its true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Like I said at the start, I dont think EVERY old woman is like that. Just about 90% of them.
    And its not like discrimanation at all. It is a fact.

Fact, huh? Guess you'll be publishing your in-depth research and survery results on the web for us all to see sometime soon..
    Its just an observation.

Oh, it was a fact a few hours ago. It's almost like you don't know what you're talking about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

Old Granny's are annoying!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I agree with this, rest is nonsense imo.

OP, sigpo is gonna report you for that sig. Way too big. Please read rules @ http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=60479

Ohhhh, *so* annoyed today. I was driving back from Galway in a hurry, having driven down and back in the day, and as I was coming up the new motorway into Dublin I passed a young lad in a nasty little car - a meecra or civic or something, with a roofrack.

He looked over in horror and disgust at the fact that he'd been passed by a middle-aged woman, and as soon as I'd tucked my car back into the *driving* lane five or six cars up, he got out and into the *passing* lane, and sat there at 60mph for the next half hour. And I was bid to dinner!

I really, really hate the way young men drive - so thick and selfish, and sooooo dull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

well in the town im living in in france,it seems that half the population are over 65...,in mc donalds there is this old lady who trots around and sits at someone's table, grumbles about god-knows-what (my french isnt polished enough to be able to understand her!!), then she starts giving out to the staff, then goes to another table..id say she spends her days in mc donalds! she's harmless,but irritating. i dont have anything against old ladies personnaly,but sometimes they really get on my nerves!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Ah leave the old people alone. They know if they move too fast they risk heart attacks/other potentially lethal accidents so they have to take everything slowly. They're just attempting to prolong their life. You will too someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

Its mainly due to the fact that the average age for girls beginning puberty is two years younger than boys. This gives them a great deal more mental maturity. Coupled with the fact that traditionally girls would be more likely(not generalised definate, just more likely) to write more, being more likely to keep diaries etc. The latter reason although giving an advantage in subjects such as english, history, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Somebody didn't get enough sweeties from Granny as a child... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

40 years ago you'd be trying to get into these now old womens granny knickers. Actually in 40 years you will probably be longing to get into their knickers and definitely wont be giving out about them being slow, you'll need all the time you can get for the viagra to kick in.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I blame Werther's Originals

Rhyme wrote:
    I blame Werther's Originals

That and the bottles of TCP that keep them alive.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I thought that was formaldehyde?

Rhyme wrote:
    I thought that was formaldehyde?

Nah, i think the smell of the TCP is used to keep those damned youngsters at bay while they root for their coupons in the supermarket queue. Fairly effective i'd imagine. The life prolonging element is just an added bonus.

-Funk

4Xcut wrote:
    Its mainly due to the fact that the average age for girls beginning puberty is two years younger than boys. This gives them a great deal more mental maturity.

You're joking, right...? Teenage girls are much more insecure and vain, which is hardly a sign of maturity. Look at manufactured pop-group fan-bases and the screaming female fans following them around - how is that more mature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Hagar wrote:
    Women can be awkward at the best of times. Old women are just more experienced at it. ;)

/thread