Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ground pole mount - anyhere to buy in Dublin?

• 22-04-2006 10:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭

Hi

I was wondering could anyone point me in the direction of somehwere in Dublin that would sell a 'ground pole mount'?

I had to take down my sky dish recently due to Planning Office moaning about it.
    I took it down and spent many a vexatious hour trying (and hoping) to get a blink of a signal and I did!
    My dish is now proudly sitting on a chair propped up by three books and a telephone directory on my apt balcony and I get a very good signal believe it or not.
    The only channels I can't get (though I managed to for a short while) are ITV2,3,4/More4 and some ITV regions which I believe are on Freq 10758 V/22 5/6

I have looked on a load of sites and the only thing I can see is at brymar.co.uk
    Linky: http://www.brymar.co.uk/acatalog/Satellite_Installation_Kits_25.html

I can't use something that needs to be bolted down so this looks like the job.

Just wondering, will something like this be adjustable (ie, up/down) as I understand that is very important

Any pointers would be greatly received.

Thks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

delah,

I do not know of anywhere in Dublin that does this stuff, however take a look at the triax folding arm dishes at the following link.

http://www.satellitesuperstore.co.uk/caravan-satellite.htm

It looks like just the job for your situation, you can even opt for a bigger dish to pull in those weaker transponders and wind up the local planners whilst being fully legal....

baud....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 -=B.A.D=-Marty

How far off the ground do you need to go ?

Once you have a line of sight you can reverse your exsisting brackets fixed to a garden slab, bigger the better & you will need something like that anyway or your stand will just fall over a lot.

Other then that Electroplus will accept cash sales at there trade counter.

Iam assumimg its for sky (60cm dish) so for up/down theres very little up for Astra28.

Short part of the arm goes into wall plate, wall plate fits to garden slab long part obviously stands upright, bingo you now have enough lenght of a pole to fit your dish to.

Not sure if I am thinking of the UK but I thought you did not require permission for a 60cm dish.

You frequently here of people living in apartments in Dublin getting grief over dishes. I suspect there may be some sort of "tarts" agreement between the planners and the local cable providers....

baud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Thanks lads.

I have just spent a few minutes trying to lock onto the ITV2 etc transponder and now have reception.
    However, I had this before and the dodgy setup on the chair on the balcony will eventually knock that reception back off course.

My reception of 99% sky channels (inc movies and sports) with this setup is flawless(!)

It's more to do with aesthetics to be honest (plus of course getting a permanent good lock on ITV/More4/Film4/E4+1)
    It's horrible looking at the phone directory and other books propping up a dining table chair on me balcony even though I now am free of the tyrany of the Dublin Planning brigade!

Basically need a sturdy stand with a base where I can place slabs to keep it in place, about 3 foot high or so would do (I'l have to measure)

I was reading elsewhere on here one guy said he challenged the 'no sat dishes in apt blocks' rule and got over it, I wonder would it be worth the trouble though...?

Anyone know what the legalities are of having a sat dish NOT affixed to the structure but visible if you crane your neck on the street below? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

AFAIK if its not fixed its regarded as temporary structure and is not subject to planning restrictions

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

Any decent iron monger should be able to knock something up similar to what you have in your link for about 60 euros. Ask him to build in plenty of weight to the bottom of it so it stays put without fixings.

Once ye bolt it down I reckon your goosed...

baud...

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Get somebody handy with a welder to weld a 1.5" or 1.25" pole into a steel wheel rim perhaps?

Or, assuming it's made of steel, use the bottom of a parasol (those sun umbrella things), which have a base that is filled with water/sand to weigh it down.

Cheers for that Kieran.

that looks like the yoke in my link - 45 € but postage is €30 (I suppose still cheaper than the UK site.)

I've emailed them awith a few questions.

I will ask around friends and family first, someone may be able to come up with the name of a welder or someone or something that'll do the job.

Hi,€30 is expensive for postage!!

They should use someone like fastway like where i work at €10 anywhere outside cork and €7 in cork.
    I think their a new company so maybe some teething problems.

Wonder if they know about fastway couriers?

It should be easy to get something welded up though i guess they may charge you something similar.Surely some of the dublin satellite crowds have something similar?

regards

kieran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony

agreed, I changed over to Fastway and they are excellent

Desktop PC Boards discount code on https://www.satellite.ie/ is boards.ie

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

The reason why Corksat have very attractive prices is because they charge massive postage on all items. €25 on a Artsport card, or €30 on a Canal Digital card.

I guess the 12 month card must weigh more than a 6 month card.;) ;)

Aquos76 wrote:
    The reason why Corksat have very attractive prices is because they charge massive postage on all items. €25 on a Artsport card, or €30 on a Canal Digital card.

I guess the 12 month card must weigh more than a 6 month card.;) ;)

LOL!

According to their website postage for the stand item was because it weighed 13kg... but 25-30e for postage on a card?????