Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TKD Open Nationals

• 21-04-2006 9:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭

Anyone here competing? It's in Swords in May, in the Alsaa club? It's open to all associations, Continuous Sparring and Breaking. €25 for AIMAA students to enter and €35 for other associations, AIMAA are running it afaik so we get a discount...
    Anyone going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

LMAO @ "open", then charging people from other associations more to enter it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

it's open to all associations, it's been set up by AIMAA and when you're a member of AIMAA you get a 20% discount on things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Yes, I understood the original post, and as I said LMAO.

Offering a discount to association members is understandable at a seminar or workshop, but the reasons for it in a competition are obvious.

meh... not too worried can't wait, haven't had a comp since the worlds, but have been training for the Irish team for near on three years now, so hopefully I'll reclaim my national title or what I like to call my title!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

When exactly is it? I'd love to give it a go but we've already committed to another competition in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I've been to AIMAA tournaments in the past. I said i'd never go again due to how much unfair referee'ing goes on. At the last 'world championships' I saw teams walk off the floor due to biased judges. Some of it was incredible

Le Rack wrote:
    meh... not too worried can't wait, haven't had a comp since the worlds, but have been training for the Irish team for near on three years now, so hopefully I'll reclaim my national title or what I like to call my title!...

There's no such thing as a national title in Taekwon-Do in Ireland. Just titles within organisations. You need one governing body to over see all of the TKD on the island in order have titles.

And refer to it as the AIMMA Irish team.

shoulda seen my fight! Last october? That worlds? Was fighting away, yer wan kept kicking the back of my knee, the same knee, trying to send me down, not one of her kicks was above the belt. All my kicks were above her f*cking tits, barre one which I got called on. At the end judge raised my hand as winner I went to the table to give my name and was told "Sorry love we knew the other one had it" My mam recorded the fight so I rewatced it thinking I was out of line, but not one of her kicks was above the belt, etc. I was sooo angry!

Real, I'm not international yet, in training for the team, hoping to make the next pick. Hope to do well in this comp, came third three years back, cuz I picked the wrong number between one and ten. Another bit of bad form.

Jon wrote:
    There's no such thing as a national title in Taekwon-Do in Ireland. Just titles within organisations. You need one governing body to over see all of the TKD on the island in order have titles.

And refer to it as the AIMMA Irish team.

I said what I like to call my title, not that it was a title. It's not just AIMAA able to get on the team, afaik, any association can.

You havin me on or what? When I trained in AIMAA I was told to rip the gold ITF lettering off my belt.

Master Darcy doesn't like the ITF or the AITA or the INTA or any one who says GM Cho is too expensive!
    So no, other associations are not on the AIMAA team

not what I was told last week. He speaks freely about them having other styles but I've never heard anything negative bout them from him...

LOL you were never in the back room were you? After saturday morning training for tea and toast?

He hates the ITF and the AITA. All because GM Cho left one and the other told him to jump

I don't train with Master Darcy, only team triaining and that... ah sure, I dunno, I was told any association member can join, if good enough, ciz I was enquiring for when I'm in college, if I get my sport scholarship with TKD...

sure anyone can join! Once you pay your money!

Anyway Im off to bed, good luck with your training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

I was at the first AIMAA worlds and the judging was shocking at times but thankfully I didn’t have any complaints myself. I’m thinking of coming out of my TKD retirement for this competition, just for the craic really. I challenge Jon to an open weight superfight! :)
    That sounds like something I would say!

I’d imagine Jon has got it right, anyone can get on the team once they join and pay some bucks, which is reasonably fair as it is a association team, not a national team.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    I was at the first AIMAA worlds and the judging was shocking at times but thankfully I didn’t have any complaints myself. I’m thinking of coming out of my TKD retirement for this competition, just for the craic really. I challenge Jon to an open weight superfight! :)

That sounds like something I would say!

I’d imagine Jon has got it right, anyone can get on the team once they join and pay some bucks, which is reasonably fair as it is a association team, not a national team.

LOL I'd give you 20 seconds, once that right hand lands its lights out... having said that if you closed the distance i'd be in trouble:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

"Open"...

Does this mean I can play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

so you dont even have to do TaeKwonDo to compete?

Wait... hands on the floor, ches or no?

So does anyone have any actual details like the exact date and venue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    LOL at some of this.

LOL at Jon and Tim, sure there's only a whole person in weight between yiz, go on and get it on! We'll all chip in and pay your €70:eek: for you both to enter:eek:

LOL,
    He threatened to take me down once, so now I carry a fly swatter.. just in case LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 k1challenger

what date in may? a lot of dates clashing on the 20th.

Hey,

Just to add my tuppence ha'penny on the judging debate.
    I don't think the biased nature of Taekwondo judging is confined to AIMAA in Ireland. IMO there's been so many rifts between the head honcho's of each organisation at this stage that there is real enmity there now. This filters down to those at the lower level and has an effect on things like judging. I've been robbed at IUTF tournaments, and I'm in no doubt it was because of my uniform. I accept it though and Elytron was most correct that people tend to think of it as a "what goes around, comes around" situation. Unfortunately when children and first time competitors are in attendance, it leads to a bad taste in the mouth.

I don't think any bias comes from the top levels. In all my years reffing with AIMAA, each morning at the ref's meeting there was a large portion dedicated to fairness and to ensure this was the case when we were dealing with people from outside. I think where it happens is at the lower levels where people might think they're doing their organisation a favour or that they might be criticised for coming down on someone elses side. Unfortunately the us and them situation has become so great in Ireland that I think it's irreversible. Some have tried to mend the bridges but without much success. Personally, I'm glad to be shut of it.

On a positive note:
    James Farrell runs the ALSAA school and he has a great deal of experience organising tournaments. He puts a lot of work into them and his tend to be well organised, well run affairs. Last time he ran it he got through 200 or so competitors between 12 and 6.30pm. I'm no longer with AIMAA so I can't comment on how it will be run judging wise but I can tell you that much.

It's on may 13th, a sat or sun... in the ALSAA club in Swords, on the airport grounds, opposite the Quality Hotel. €25 for AIMAA students €35 everyone else. Mr. Farrell is a fantastic coach etc, very fond of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

I just started to train with Mike Finn, who teaches AIMAA, having moved to Nenagh out of necessity, and he asked me if I would be interested in competing at this very event.
    Just curious, is it continuous or point sparring, and how heavy is the contact (not a big fan of the tippity-tap stuff), so would it be possible to win by stoppage etc.

Damn it, the submission championships are on the same day as this. :mad:
    LOL I'd give you 20 seconds, once that right hand lands its lights out...
    LOL, lets remember who the full contact fighter here is and who's the semi contact one. ;)
    LOL at Jon and Tim, sure there's only a whole person in weight between yiz, go on and get it on!
    Not a problem! I fought open weight in the team event in the aimaa worlds in 2000 against a heavyweight, and I won! OK, I won by DQ because your man KO'd me but that's a minor point. :)
    I don't think any bias comes from the top levels. In all my years reffing with AIMAA, each morning at the ref's meeting there was a large portion dedicated to fairness and to ensure this was the case when we were dealing with people from outside. I think where it happens is at the lower levels where people might think they're doing their organisation a favour or that they might be criticised for coming down on someone elses side. Unfortunately the us and them situation has become so great in Ireland that I think it's irreversible. Some have tried to mend the bridges but without much success. Personally, I'm glad to be shut of it.

I don't think it's a conscious thing most of the time, but I've seen terrible judging at all kinds of TKD competitions (even the the aimaa worlds was one of the worst). People don't tend to notice as much when it's there own group. Often times I think it comes down to incompetent judging rather than intentional bias. In general I don't think it comes from the top, even though I was once told as a judge in a heated competition that 'Mr. so & so doesn't win no matter what'.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Damn it, the submission championships are on the same day as this. :mad:

LOL, lets remember who the full contact fighter here is and who's the semi contact one. ;)

Not a problem! I fought open weight in the team event in the aimaa worlds in 2000 against a heavyweight, and I won! OK, I won by DQ because your man KO'd me but that's a minor point. :)

I don't think it's a conscious thing most of the time, but I've seen terrible judging at all kinds of TKD competitions (even the the aimaa worlds was one of the worst). People don't tend to notice as much when it's there own group. Often times I think it comes down to incompetent judging rather than intentional bias. In general I don't think it comes from the top, even though I was once told as a judge in a heated competition that 'Mr. so & so doesn't win no matter what'.

LOL Tim, you forget I train at a FC Kick boxing club and coach at the local boxing club also!! Oh and I think im the only person to ever Knock out Richie Beel at squad training... bring it on!! :D

Oh and I think im the only person to ever Knock out Richie Beel at squad training
    That wasn't very nice of you, have you no control? :rolleyes:
    bring it on!!
    Right so, when are those WKA trials on? Put me down for the -90kg catagory! :D

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    That wasn't very nice of you, have you no control? :rolleyes:

Right so, when are those WKA trials on? Put me down for the -90kg catagory! :D

It was an accident of course! We're still best of friends!

How did the guys from Hapkido get on at the weekend?

Only saw one fight, Keith got a draw. He was nearly got in a triangle/armbar but managed to get free. Missed their other matches as two of competitors got injuried and I was helping to deal with that.

Mark should have the results up shortly.

Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Only saw one fight, Keith got a draw. He was nearly got in a triangle/armbar but managed to get free. Missed their other matches as two of competitors got injuried and I was helping to deal with that.

Mark should have the results up shortly.

Grand so

cletus wrote:
    I just started to train with Mike Finn, who teaches AIMAA, having moved to Nenagh out of necessity, and he asked me if I would be interested in competing at this very event.
    Just curious, is it continuous or point sparring, and how heavy is the contact (not a big fan of the tippity-tap stuff), so would it be possible to win by stoppage etc.
    It's continuous full contact, front foot sweeps allowed and all form of hand techniques allowed. Divisions are very well drawn out too. Should be good.

AIMAA is full contact now? Was always pretty heavy for light contact but a long way short of full contact in my experience (and I'm sure the full contact guys will agree with me there).
    Tim_Murphy wrote:
    Damn it, the submission championships are on the same day as this.
    I wonder how far apart the venues are. It's hardly doable to make both.:D

Le Rack wrote:
    It's continuous full contact, front foot sweeps allowed and all form of hand techniques allowed. Divisions are very well drawn out too. Should be good.
    So you can win by knockout then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

So continuous full contact is essentially full contact kick boxing rules...

Punches to the head and body and kicks to the body and head.

No leg kicks no knees?

Colum,
    The tournament isn't full contact at all. Heavy semi-contact alright, but you can be dq'ed for knockouts, and you'll be asked to control your contact.

Fair enough, semi-contact is what it is, but I think to call it full contact is a misrepresentation and would actually scare competitors away from entering.

AIMAA do have full contact competitors alright, and good ones, but this tournament AFAIK is semi-contact.

Le Rack wrote:
    all form of hand techniques allowed.

So this means I can touch the floor with my hands? Ches or no woman.

Yeah but you'll lose points love! :)

I'm not sure about the specifics alright but as far as I know it's full continuous, shin kicks are allowed, and foot to foot sweeps, all hand techniques. Body contact is as far as I can gather full but face and head contact is to be kept light enough, don't know anything bout KO's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭TapouT

Le Rack wrote:
    Anyone here competing? It's in Swords in May, in the Alsaa club? It's open to all associations, Continuous Sparring and Breaking. €25 for AIMAA students to enter and €35 for other associations, AIMAA are running it afaik so we get a discount...
    Anyone going?

Thanks for the info. Although I'm not a great TKD fan I do have some friends training with AIMEE, two of the guys I respect most in Martial Arts are AIMEE lads.

Probably a bit late for this. But guys, she's only advertising a competition, no need to back her into a corner!.

Le Rack wrote:
    .... don't know anything bout KO's
    In my experience of AIMAA competitions, as long as you don't know someone cold, you're fine. Want it to finish early, cut them with a legal technique.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

I was there on the day. I thought it was a pretty good day altogether, although I didn't enter - Too many important things coming up that I didn't want to be injured for.
    Roper wrote:
    On a positive note:
    James Farrell runs the ALSAA school and he has a great deal of experience organising tournaments. He puts a lot of work into them and his tend to be well organised, well run affairs. Last time he ran it he got through 200 or so competitors between 12 and 6.30pm. I'm no longer with AIMAA so I can't comment on how it will be run judging wise but I can tell you that much.

Yeah, I saw that guy at the Nationals - and I saw him with one of his classes, they held on to his every word. He has some amount of charisma, i'll tell you that...

Charisma eh? I won't tell him you said that as it might cause a charisma overload. Who are you by the way?

Mr Farrell is great! Had to give outt o him bout his multi use tool dealy though, blunt as a witches tit.
    I came home with two nice shiny trophies all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭Miles Long

Did anyone stick around for the special breaking? I saw most of it but went to change/wash before the end. Who won and or what did the winner do to win?

Think Mr.Byrnes won, he broke like 2 inches with a head but! Was deadly! One of the lads did two jump front kicks at the same time, broke an inch each side, fell on his ass but did fairly well!
    That's all I seen of it cuz I was tidying up the hall, all the fecken labour left to the women! Typical! :rolleyes:

Was that the same guy that tried the 540 heel kick? I was told Mr. Power did the loafing :eek: break. I feel so let down...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

Well I was talking with Will Power and it was him how did the "loafing break. :eek: "

The 540 was done by a student of his Darren Ryan

Hopes that helps

I'd see Darren practicing the kick when I was holding for the junior breaking, It only dawned on me as to why later on :o. Impressive. Is there a patterns and one steps competition coming up? I heard about it but nothing really concrete.

It's in September afaik, and the munsters might be on in early july, not sure yet. pardon my ignorance but what's a "loafing beak"?