Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Teamwork

• 21-04-2006 02:36PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

Hello there just puttin an idea out there, myself and some friends have been playin on the tactical gamer servers and weve got to the point that we dont play on public servers any more cause they suck ass, due to the lack of teamwork, stats padders etc etc. We were just tryin to see if anyone here would be intrersted in starting a clan or something even smaller where everyone works togther rather that the "headless chicken thing" of running around without a squad and stuff . I would like to enforce rules of havin to join a squad or b kicked and squad leaders must follow orders or b kicked and good use of voip and teamspeak. If youve never played on the tactical gamer server you should check it out mostly happens after 11 on weekdays. The only problem is lag cause its in the states.
    sculls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Generally most people who post here ,play on the servers in the stickies above.
    http://www.game-monitor.com/GameServer/85.236.101.81:16567/ and here on the BTC server

Usually they are on TS and in IRC pregame to generally play together as a team.

http://www.game-monitor.com/GameServer/82.195.136.136:16568/

TIG unranked Infantry only server, its like adifferent game :)

kdjac

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Indeed, the only problem* with the TG servers is that once you get used to playing on them it becomes almost impossible to go back to public servers.

* (lag isn't much of a problem for me. 135 ping from France)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

Do you have an ip for the servers... and what names do u play under?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭jonski

I have tried this server , even had it marked in my favourites , but with so many servers around these days I can't see the point in trying to play on a server with a ping in the 150 plus range . ( man I can remember getting a stable 180 ping on 56k and thinking I was king of the world )

Asa Kdjac has said above we try to play team orientated games on the BTC server and a few of the lads from here jump on TS aswell so on the good nights the games are great .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Might be an idea to round a few people up on Sunday evening and give our unranked inf only server a game. The speed of the game is very good, and team work is a must.

Fairy

Can someone give me the btc ip i lost it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

psssst its in the 2nd post in this thread.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭jonski

KdjaC wrote:
    psssst its in the 2nd post in this thread.

kdjac

any chance of getting it added to the sticky /me love you long time

ah ok that link wont work in college
    i pld on that server b4 that and GFF and good

sry for going off topic OP :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

9 times out of 10 you will find good teamwork on our [G.F.F] server as Atlas says.
    We get mostly regulars on who know how to play the game as a team.
    IP on webbie main page.
    www.gunsforfun.com
    Must admit to good teamwork on the BTC server also.

Blah blah, our server, blah blah. Stats are shat tbh.

Fairy

Blah blah, our server, blah blah. Stats are shat tbh.

lol says he who is CONSTANTLY pimping :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Taxi for this guy please.

at least their is ppl on their servers, it doesnt need to be pimped..

Correctly if im wrong but their is never anyone on the tig servers..

its empty everytime i check

Gah I give up. Look past the servers that give you all your blessed stats and there are far better games to be played.

I personally couldnt give a flying feck if you play on our servers or not. The only thing I am interested in are good games of BF where people play together as a team and not for themselves by chasing x number of knife kills etc.

There will never be a decent bf community in Ireland as people have been caught in the dazzling lights of EA's marketing crap.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

There will never be a decent bf community in Ireland as people have been caught in the dazzling lights of EA's marketing crap.

Fairy

kind of a sweeping statement to be made when you're in an irish bf clan yourself, isn't it? does tig not count as a "decent bf community"?

i'd say ireland has a pretty good bf community, given the boards inf league and the general friendliness of people on here and the irish-run servers i've been on (GFF, NRG, GR|M/NOG). also had some great games on said servers, too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Each to their own

Some love stats, others hate em, other couldnt care less

GFF server is by far the best Irish server out there....but it could do with upgrading to 32 man if ye ask me:p

There is teamwork on there, if your bothered to make a squad, cause its mostly regulars who are happy to work with ye

Admins also pretty quick to get rid of smacktards

Ranks or no ranks, we have a decent BF2 community imo

Our Communityand servers are alive and kicking and lots of our members and server regulars are from Ireland.
    Theres more to Irish gaming and indeed BF2 gaming than boards and tig incase you hadnt noticed.
    How you generalise the Irish community based on your clan and this board is beyond me :rolleyes:

Sigh, I never mentioned tig!!!!! Look lads forget I mentioned it.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ascully

the ip for tg servers is 70.86.19.218 default port
    i wont talk bout tig but always found them not that......................good
    but sure come and join teamwicklow in the tg serves after 11 or the squad with me on it
    sculls

No offence to anyone here from TiG, GFF or BTC. I play on those servers pretty often, usually on TS and there's plenty fun to be had.

But in saying that none of these servers can compare to TG or try to compare themselves by saying "We do teamwork too!" There's a difference between a squad working together on a server to a game where every player has VoIP, almost everyone is obeying the squad leaders orders and each SL is listening to the commander who must have a mic in order to be commander.

It is IMHO the ultimate gameplaying experience that doesn't exist anywhere else AFAIK and is worth playing there even with a ping of 150.

just realised i never really played the game properly till today

Was on a server with a very good commander and my squad actually obeyed orders and we all worked as a team together, was class...

Atlas_IRL wrote:
    just realised i never really played the game properly till today

Was on a server with a very good commander and my squad actually obeyed orders and we all worked as a team together, was class...

well thats what its like every night on the tactical gamer servers, public servers are ****e. The ping thing is not so bad my ping usually averages bout 130 and there is no identifyable lag it doesnt effect my playin at all.

The tactical gamers servers are excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Dcully wrote:
    The tactical gamers servers are excellent.

I tend to agree, its how this game was MENT to be played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Obviously!

Wow...I was expecting a flaming :)

Now I'm sure it's 99% impossible but what would the chances of 5 players joining me to form a squad and play a few rounds over at TG one of these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭kirving

I'll join your squad. Im good playing assault, I like sniper too. I also have a mic.

ill try it out soon, finished the exams on sat :)

hi im goin to be on the tactical gamerserver in a few minutes they might be runnin the tactical mod http://www.tacticalgamer.com/battlefield-2-tactical-mod-information-faq/71665-download-installation.html
    so come on dont worrt bout the map pack it would take too long to down load and u can get away without having it
    sculls

was playing on it last night with ascully, its squadbased all right with default weapons as well :)

Its a good server, ill be on it again, only thing that i dont like about it is that its a massive server 50/60 players?

I generally only play on 32 servers but i suppose u wont get the squad element fully out of it then...

At one stage i was killed, revived, killed revived for over a minute and i couldnt do anything about it cause there was so many ppl...

Also one thing that is annoying me is that bloody roll ppl do...

They go prone and 'roll' and u CANT kill them!!!