Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs in Bookies

• 21-04-2006 1:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

I'm posting this here as I feel most people that know about what I'm asking will probably read this forum as opposed to the Work forum. Feel free to move it to the work forum.

I am on my summer holidays from college at the end of May and am looking to get a job in a bookies in Dublin. I know most of what there is to know about the bets there are available and spend quite a bit of time in the bookies. It just looks like a doddle of a job 90% of the time. :)

Is it hard to get a job in a bookies and how would I go about applying? I'd love to continue working part time when I go back to college too. Is there any people on here that work in bookmakers and how did they get the job. The reason I'm asking is because I usually have no joy finding jobs that aren't advertised on the likes of FAS (I was stuck with a terrible kitchen porter job last summer). I have a few months experience in retail, serving customers so that should be a help.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

Hi irish life,

I'm a Ladbrokes employee. I got my job through a friends dad. His dad was a DSP. He was in charge of seven shops about the place and he interviewed me. What i did was gave him my CV. But the matter is different for you. I suppose the beest thing to do is go into a shop and leave it with them to give it to their DSP or manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Try Terry Rodgers on Talbot St, my girlfriend works there, she start off on summer work for college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

http://www.paddypowerplc.com/vacancies/vacancy17.html

http://www.paddypowerplc.com/vacancies/vacancy3.html

The top one is for evening work, the bottom is for full-time which includes three evenings a week, i.e. 9.30 - 9.30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Arcadian

I'd avoid Paddy Power like the plague, they are complete wagons to work for;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Check out boylesports.com at the bottom of the website is the jobs link, theres is loads of jobs for cashiers, alternatively speak to the manager in the shop you want to work for.

I work in Boyles HQ in Dundalk and they have two staff parties a year - end of the summer + xmas party, both are great craic and the money isnt that bad either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Arcadian wrote:
    I'd avoid Paddy Power like the plague, they are complete wagons to work for;)

I think Healio might have something to say about that as he's still there. A mate of mine works there too and he seems pretty happy. You should back up that statement to give the OP a little more to go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Paddy Irishman

I made the mistake of working as a cashier with Powers back in 2000. I was really interested in all matters sports betting related and thought this would be the way to go. Sadly I ended up working with a bunch of middle aged women who knew next to nothing about sport and dealing with some less than pleasant members of the public. I watched the episode of "No Experience Required" a couple of weeks ago about the sports traders job with Powers. I'm sure some of you saw it as well. I couldn't believe it when I saw the amount of lads around my age who worked there talking sport and prices all day long. Is it true what Paddy himself said in the episode that they are " the only bookmakers in Ireland who have a trading department"? I would really like to work in this sort of environment again and would like to know if anyone on here could share their experience from working in a raceroom/telebetting centre/internet betting centre/trading department.

To answer Irish Lifes question, no it's not difficult at all to get a job in a betting shop but if you're really interested in sport and sports betting then maybe a cashier isn't the best way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭ronanp

I worked in Stanley Racing for a year and a half as a cashier. I remember thinking this was a dream come true, as i was always a bit of a punter. Twas a harsh lesson. Stanley were (they've since been bought out by William Hill) the devil himself to work for. I've since spoken to people who've worked in Boyle and Paddypower who thought they were both decent employers.

One thing you will have to understand before you start is the nature of the people you're dealing with. I never realised it from my side of the counter before, but my god, a fair amount of punters are scum. Some customers are dead on and it almost helps ya through the day, but there's always a few who spend their entire day trying to cheat, trying to underpay you, abusing the staff when they lose or aren't allowed to get their bet on half way through a ****in dog race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭irish life

Cheers for the replies. I e-mailed my CV to Paddy Power, Ladbrokes and Boyle Sports last Monday (24th) but never got any replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

I couldn't believe it when I saw the amount of lads around my age who worked there talking sport and prices all day long. Is it true what Paddy himself said in the episode that they are " the only bookmakers in Ireland who have a trading department"? .

Boylesports have a trading department as well, its good craic.

Boylesports have a HR department, ring and ask about your application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Paddy Irishman

I'm sure it's good fun Kluivert, but sadly I can't see myself travelling from the middle of Kildare to Dundalk everyday. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

Ladbrokes are looking for a good few cashiers. Saw the ad in the newspaper the other day. You gotta send your c.v to the hR Department.