Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The AIRCORPS thread to end all threads!

• 19-04-2006 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭

Ok here it goes in order for the IAC to be able to satisfy everybody here is what i have come up with i think its viable and cost effective and well makes sense!

1. Aircorps to be decentralised from Baldonnel
    2. Aircorps to have detachments at Cork,Shannon,Baldonnel
    3. Baldonnel to be Aircorps training base
    4. Baldonnel turned into part Military part Civillian base ( it works at RAF Aldergrove Northern Ireland and is simple, Tornado's, Harriers etc turn off the runway to military part on the right, commercial traffic turn left to civillian base! AND Civvy stuff pays landing Fees therfore easing tax payers easy peasy )
    5. Aircorps NCO's to be trained as Pilots as it takes alot to train a cadet to fly and that wastes money so why not make NCO's upwards become pilots also.

Ok here is the real stuff!

1. Cessna aircraft to be disbanded
    2. Alouettes to be disbanded
    3. Gulfstreams, Learjets to be disbanded ( damn it if Tony blair can fly British Airways then Bertie can fly Aer Lingus )
    4. King Airs to be disbanded

Reasons........
    all are old and cost alot to run and basically they can be replaced with better, cheaper,advanced aircraft.

OK NOW THE GOOD STUFF COMES IN HERE!
    1. Cessna's replaced by Britten Norman BN2T-4S Defender 4000 and equipped to the same standards and have the same surveillance equipment as the Gardai one as this has a longer loitering capacity and more fuel economical and can easily replace the Cessna's in their roles of Photography and eyes in the sky for troops when they do Cash In Transit in our towns, Cities.

2. UH60 Blackhawks to replace the Alouettes as they are bigger,faster,more fuel efficient and can carry more troops and as the U in UH stands for Utility well you get the idea of "it can bloody well do anything".

3. Ministerial Air Transport Service (MATS) ( Gulfstream, LearJet ) Disbanded as Bertie should fly Aer Lingus.

4. KingAir disbanded as it serves no purpose.

5. Cancel the AB139 Contract.

NOW THE FIGURES!
    6X Britten Norman BN2T-4S Defender 4000

10X UH60 Blackhawk

4X CASA CN235 MPA (Basically 2 more CASA's added to current fleet as they are a huge asset to us)

10x PC9M ( Buy 2 more to make ten for Training for fast Jets )

15x BAe Hawk 127 Newer version of world famous Jets used by RAF Red Arrows, Hawk is fast,reliable,Sidewinder Equipped,Supersonic in a dive,extremely fuel efficient,can out turn most fast Jets,Head up display equipped and well very cheap for something so good!

6xC130J Hercules (Troop Transport,HALO Jumps,Aid work,Air to Air refuel capable,Basically newer version of Hercules and basically more improved like fuel etc you get the idea)

NOW THE BASES I MENTIONED
    THIS IS WHAT WILL BE BASED WHERE AND WHY.

BALDONNEL-Training Base
    10xPC9M
    5XBAe Hawk 127 (trainers and poss display team?)
    2xBritten Norman BN2T-4S Defender 4000
    2X UH60 Blackhawk
    6X C130J Hercules (Trainers and active ARMY CO-OP)

ALL ABOVE TO BE BASED AT BALDONNEL FOR TRAINING PURPOSES.

CORK-ACTIVE AIRCORPS BASE
    5X BAe Hawk 127 (QRA)
    4X UH60 Blackhawk (Troop CO-OP)
    2X CASA CN 235MPA (SAR,ANTI DRUGS,SURVEILLANCE ALL SOUTH AND EAST COAST)
    2X Britten Norman BN2T-4S Defender 4000 (C.I.T, Troop CO-OP)

SHANNON-ACTIVE AIRCORPS BASE
    5XBAe Hawk 127 (QRA)
    4X UH60 Blackhawk (Troop CO-OP)
    2XCASA CN 235MPA (SAR,ANTI DRUGS,SURVEILLANCE ALL NORTH WEST AND WEST COAST)
    2X Britten Norman BN2T-4S Defender 4000 (C.I.T, Troop CO-OP)

........................................................................................................

As you can see it would make sence to de-centralise the IAC and let alot more have the chance to become pilots bar cadets as some NCO's already have Civvy Jet ratings thus increasing the activity to make it cost effective and not just a token air arm but something credible and effecient that we could all be proud of and that would have the capability to deal with any problems be it a search and rescue or a stray aircraft we would also not have to rely on the RAF to help us as it would prove we can do things for ourselves and also there is no point in having the CASA's at Baldonnel when all their work takes place off the west,southern coasts of Ireland.

Here ends the lesson once and for all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

i think i speak for everybody when I say........wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

tbh wrote:
    i think i speak for everybody when I say........wtf?
    Seconded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭IrishAirCorps

your a few days shy of a huge discussion had about the IAC with regards to the easter parade

You mean YOU are a few days late posting in that thread

well when you work unsociable hours you get that dont you....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Why do we need an Air force?

We need Air for coast gaurd but why an Army Air Force with blackhawks?

kdjac

KdjaC wrote:
    Why do we need an Air force?

We need Air for coast gaurd but why an Army Air Force with blackhawks?

kdjac
    But who else would fly in air shows?:p

because we are a soverign state and should be able to secure our airspace the exact same as any other nation.

Secure from what? You must be joking if you think that the Irish Army could withstand an invasion/attack from another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

Where in the name of God would they come up with the dosh for all that equipment? I'd imagine the black hawks are pretty expensive pieces of gear, no? And going from an air force with zero jet aircraft to 15?!? I dont know dude, I dont think the figures add up tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Ok here it goes in order for the IAC to be able to satisfy everybody here is what i have come up with i think its viable and cost effective and well makes sense!

...or we could all stop pissing about and outsource the whole operation to the RAF. Their Seaking helicopers already perform search and rescue duties in Irish waters. God save the Queen! Hurah!

Why are you seriously suggesting that we waste money on the Irish Air "Corpse" when there are many more important and vital things to spend money on, such as E-Voting machines, PR consultants, new Ministerial 06 E-Type Mercs, Management Consultants, and last, but not least, the up-coming lavish state funeral for Charles J. Haughey.

God knows your proud to be irish..................................................:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Well, I think you are right on some things in your post and some of the things in your post I agree with you on like the need for a transport aircraft of some sort like a Hercules or C-27 Spartan or something along those lines. Or an Airbus or something similar that could be used in a multi-purpose capacity (for both MATS and could then also be converted for troop transport, air ambulance, etc. where necessary). And, I agree, the Blackhawk should have been selected all along ahead of the AB139 (and was the aircraft recommended for selection) but, let's face it, the politicians want something fancy and "sporty" looking to go flying around the country in and Bertie obviously wouldn't want to be seen dead climbing out of a proper military chopper like a Blackhawk. :rolleyes: I agree with you on those issues.

However, I don't think we need as many aircraft as you're proposing. A smaller, much more efficiently run Air Corps equipped with decent, modern, well-maintained and easy to maintain, multi-purpose aircraft (aircraft that also have commonality of parts such as engines and the like would also be preferred and is the route the Air Corps seems to be currently persuing) I think is what we need to be looking at, not an Air Corps with a large number of different classes and types of aircraft.

Read my post and suggestions here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51223595&postcount=76

and let me know what you think.

God knows your proud to be irish..................................................:mad:
    Yes, BECAUSE IRELAND IS NEUTRAL!

Ud be amazed how cheap a UH60 can go for......i went for economics and safety records and we down right good "can do" aircraft

But fighter planes make baby jesus cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Blowfish wrote:
    Secure from what? You must be joking if you think that the Irish Army could withstand an invasion/attack from another country.

I guess it depends on who they are. Bring on Liechtenstein!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭patbundy

But fighter planes make baby jesus cry.
    do ye knew that we are leagelly responsible for our own airspace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Blowfish wrote:

Why are people always thinking that the purpose of the army is to be there in times of invasion??

Our army is used for security purposes.. bank money escorts etc, as an assistance force to the Gardaí, and as UN contributors.

Ask the kids in the orphanage in that little village in Lebanon that was practically funded and maintained by the Irish army if they think we have good soldiers.

Our army do good things all over the world. Enough of the negativity!

Trotter wrote:
    Our army is used for security purposes.. bank money escorts etc, as an assistance force to the Gardaí, and as UN contributors.
    Exactly! And you don't need a fully fledged up to date aircorps for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

While we are at it the Navy could do with a few aircraft carriers.
    won't they need a few planes too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

The Correct Term is the Irish Defence Forces, IAC the most we need is Troop Carrying Helicopters and Possibly 1 or 2 hercules for UN and NATO Deployment....

The Defence Forces are here to defend the state againist both Internal and External Agression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Dont worry, NATO will kit us out when the time is right:D

patbundy wrote:
    do ye knew that we are leagelly responsible for our own airspace
    Shure, who'd be up to anythin' up dere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Personnally I think that all of the Irish Defence Forces should be consolodated into one large coast guard.

Trotter wrote:

...and reserve bin-men when the councils go on strike!

Some of us are old enough to remember the 70's.

Bus Drivers aswell remember the 80's

Shure, who'd be up to anythin' up dere?
    you never know esp after the shannon fiasco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Muggy Dev

4. KingAir disbanded as it serves no purpose.

....but its lovely:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Definitely agree with the UH-60 talk. Is a great all rounder. Is used in like a million different roles from troop/cargo transport to coast guard roles. Legendary chopper.
    let's face it, the politicians want something fancy and "sporty" looking to go flying around the country in and Bertie obviously wouldn't want to be seen dead climbing out of a proper military chopper like a Blackhawk
    You can deck it out for exec transport. VH-60N. Can look pretty sweet and professional.

Check out - http://www.sikorsky.com/details/0,9602,CLI1_DIV69_ETI254,00.html
    Trotter wrote:
    Our army do good things all over the world. Enough of the negativity!
    I second that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Muggy Dev

Heres a pic......

0920400.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Vulpiner

I have to say I was a bit ashamed seeing those turbo-props flying in formation on Easter Sunday.

I mean its true that Ireland doesnt need a large defence buget or anything but they should have some fighters. Just in case theres a twin-tower-hijacking scenario.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

There is no talking to the 'neutrality' pushers mate im afraid. They are living in cloud cuckoo land labeling us neutral when we cant defend our neutrality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

have u checked ebay? You might find a bargain there..

Lol @ Femmy another one of the Joe Public who would not know Irish DPM from british DPM and if seeing an Alouette fly by would prob say ah look at the airplane................Nonces every last one of you Joe i dont care types we dont need this or that id rather live in the sea types have a bit of pride you sods why dont you just talk seriously gone are the stupid days of "were irish sure who would hurt us yadda yaddda yadda" twats aaarrrggggghhhhhh so many people post stupid things about which they know nothing of.......fools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Chopperdog

Lol @ Femmy another one of the Joe Public who would not know Irish DPM from british DPM and if seeing an Alouette fly by would prob say ah look at the airplane................Nonces every last one of you Joe i dont care types we dont need this or that id rather live in the sea types have a bit of pride you sods why dont you just talk seriously gone are the stupid days of "were irish sure who would hurt us yadda yaddda yadda" twats aaarrrggggghhhhhh so many people post stupid things about which they know nothing of.......fools

I read your thread starter and thought you to be a member of the walter mitty brigade but decided to let it pass and leave you in your own happy delusional world.
    Yet since your last little outburst I just had to voice my opinion and give you an invitation to come back and join us in the real down to earth world.
    That invitation still stands.......

Ya wha, have you ever served in the defence forces, most of us consider it a job and not a Glorious,macho driven or romantic career, it is generally a hard and most of the time unthanking career...

As for the Aircorps it is more the gentlemans flying club than anything else and most of the members have more regimental army duties than flying and officiers cannot fly oversea's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭LikeOhMyGawd!

4. Baldonnel turned into part Military part Civillian base ( it works at RAF Aldergrove Northern Ireland and is simple, Tornado's, Harriers etc turn off the runway to military part on the right, commercial traffic turn left to civillian base! AND Civvy stuff pays landing Fees therfore easing tax payers easy peasy )...

I don't think RAF Aldergrove has ever seen a Panavia Tornado or a Harrier, except for the airshows donkey's years ago. Also, aircraft entering the base don't necessarily exit the runway to the right; that would depend on the runway used (07/25 or 17/35) and the respective approach direction.

Just a minor point. Over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭blueshirt

If we are a sovereign state, why do we not have an air force to defend us? You don’t seriously imagine that what we have at present constitutes an air force? It’s an embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

oh my god IAC congrats you are now the person that annoys me more than any on boards. 3 threads now you've gone on and on and on about the Air force and how much it's needed and now you in all your mighty wisdom and infinate knowledge have managed to solve the problem that wasn't even there in the first place.

congratufeckinlations to you let us bow and bend over in front of you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

blueshirt wrote:
    If we are a sovereign state, why do we not have an air force to defend us? You don’t seriously imagine that what we have at present constitutes an air force? It’s an embarrassment.

What do you mean 'If we are a sovereign state'? We are a sovereign state!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

I was kinda goin along wit ya at the start... Some alright points. Some bad ones too but some good ones in there. And then you come out with tripe like this. Why the hell post on a forum like this if you cant take an ebay joke?? And so the f*cking hell what if someone doesn't know the difference between an alouette and a cessna?? Just because some of us do doesn't mean everyone should? For instance - what the f8ck do you know about, say, heart attacks? or the FSB of a computer? or the social reconstruction after the Boer wars?

Listen mate, and this is important, you are an ignorant moron. Get off boards and go shout your tripe somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

What age are you? o.O

irishaircorps,,,,you are preaching to the braindead buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Well we're not going to secure it with a beech kingair or a poxy fouga!!

The casa is only good for carrying a few lads home for tea in donegal and kerry for the weekend to see their mommys ;)

Sizzler wrote:
    Well we're not going to secure it with a beech kingair or a poxy fouga!!

The casa is only good for carrying a few lads home for tea in donegal and kerry for the weekend to see their mommys ;)
    true but the casa is a good plane,its ideal for rescue esp for long range rescue

Sizzler wrote:

U so wish it was u! Thanks Pat mate! :-) Twats here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

U so wish it was u! Thanks Pat mate! :-) Twats here.
    Only three pages in and already spitting vitriol at people who disagree with you. If you are indeed in the IAC (as your name seems to suggest some kind of representation) you are a wonderful advertisment.

EDIT: You're not. I'm crushed. I was mislead into thinking you might know what you're talking about.

Hang on Aidan il go change my nick alright my son..yawn you bore me.

aidan what irishaircorps is saying isnt about time we dont risk people lives by putting them in the air in very old aircraft,feck sake they put their lives on the line for us.isnt about time we back them cos looking at some of the ****e posted here ,,,,dont think they have much pride in being irish