Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

electric picnic drugs bust - HELP!

• 19-04-2006 9:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

Hey everybody.

I realise that any advice given here is not legally binding and all I want are peoples THOUGHTS and IDEAS on what course of action ye think I should take with the following situation:

I was at the electric picnic last year and caught by DS with a tiny amount of hash (less than 2euro worth). The undercover cops assured me "if you hand over what you have on you nothing further will happen, but if you make us search you, we will prosecute you"

I handed over the doob and got a summons in the post last week (posted to my home address even though I gave them my dublin address from my driving licence). I've to appear in court in portlaoise on may 5th. I know the same thing happened some people last year and they all got a fine/"voluntary" contribution of 500 euro, but no record.

The main thing I'm worried about is that I'm travelling the world in september and am kinda bricking it incase I get a record and wont be let into the states.

The 500 quid fine is enough of a kick in the knackers (on the saving front) without having to fork out for a solicitor, so I am just wondering is it worth my while to get official legal advice or representation on the day. I'm sure there'll be at least 200 people there and the judge will fly through the cases handing out fines as s/he goes.

Any advice or ideas on what actions I should take? What is the law on possession of hash for personal use? (again - all I want is peoples THOUGHTS on the matter - I realise the advice given here is not binding or anything)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I was told by a law lecturer that most people don't get a solicitor for district court cases as then the judge will see that you're able to afford larger fines! :D

On a more serious note - post should probably be edited or else Hullabaloo may ban you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

okay I've edited the post so it wont be deleted - could I get some replies?!

Please!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Just because you don't plan on bringing your solicitor to the district court doesn't mean you shouldn't go and see one before going there.

He might know what the local judges are like and try and advise you how much to bring for the poor box.

How long did John Gilligan get for possession? 28 Years? Thats the law really, thats how far it goes.

here's what happened last year anyway - hopefully the same thing again this year (ie no records)

http://www.laois-nationalist.ie/news/story.asp?j=19528

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Your guess is as good as ours to be honest. Judges in the District courts can effectively choose from a broad range of options. A fine would be a light penalty. Drugs are looked upon in a bad light by most, if not all judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

I second Hullaballoo's post here, but I have heard of people getting off very lightly for similar offences so you could be in luck. I would imagine you will be fined but as to the amount, I would only be speculating if I suggested an amount

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Evil_Bilbo wrote:
    here's what happened last year anyway - hopefully the same thing again this year (ie no records)

http://www.laois-nationalist.ie/news/story.asp?j=19528
    Jesus that sounds like judge judy... bit of a wise-cracking pr*ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Justice Mary Martin is well known for her opinions on drink and drugs. I advise seeking legal help soon for your own sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

^^ Lol! Who was the judge that said that anyone with a drink driving charge will be put in holding for x amount of hours?

That would be the one and only Justice John F. Neilan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Cantab.

Evil_Bilbo wrote:
    Hey everybody.

I realise that any advice given here is not legally binding and all I want are peoples THOUGHTS and IDEAS on what course of action ye think I should take with the following situation:

I was at the electric picnic last year and caught by DS with a tiny amount of hash (less than 2euro worth). The undercover cops assured me "if you hand over what you have on you nothing further will happen, but if you make us search you, we will prosecute you"

I handed over the doob and got a summons in the post last week (posted to my home address even though I gave them my dublin address from my driving licence). I've to appear in court in portlaoise on may 5th. I know the same thing happened some people last year and they all got a fine/"voluntary" contribution of 500 euro, but no record.

The main thing I'm worried about is that I'm travelling the world in september and am kinda bricking it incase I get a record and wont be let into the states.

The 500 quid fine is enough of a kick in the knackers (on the saving front) without having to fork out for a solicitor, so I am just wondering is it worth my while to get official legal advice or representation on the day. I'm sure there'll be at least 200 people there and the judge will fly through the cases handing out fines as s/he goes.

Any advice or ideas on what actions I should take? What is the law on possession of hash for personal use? (again - all I want is peoples THOUGHTS on the matter - I realise the advice given here is not binding or anything)

Fine and probation act I'd say. You might be lucky and the Garda doesn't turn up, in which case your case should be thrown out all together. (I know a chap caught urinating on thestreet in Dublin who got off because the arresting Garda wasn't present).

Garda not showing up, that won't happen in Portlaoise as they will probably have a full docket of drugs charges on that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Evil_Bilbo wrote:

I'm surprised that the amount you were allegedly caught with suffices a court appearance. Is there not a cautioning proceedure in place for this tiny amount of drug?

There is one way of getting off on minor possession charges I know of, however I am not going to announce it on the WWW, but from reading your thread it appears you have blown that oppertunity. Speak to a brief would be the best way forward.

TJ911.

thanks for the help - talked to a solicitor who said the most I'm looking at is a 500 quid fine, same as last year, but if I hire him he'll make sure I dont get a record if the judge goes sour.

It seems they're more on a "get the youngsters off the gear" buzz now - I'll probably have to do a day in some "rehab" course.

Yes - its ridiculous that I'm up in court over such a tiny amount, but thats Ireland for you. the fact that its declassified over in britian is pretty annoying.

I'm sure the guard will be there with a big gommy smile on his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

Evil_Bilbo wrote:

I'm sure the guard will be there with a big gommy smile on his face

Ah yes. I gather its the guards fault you were caught.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Aid the Blade

1. guards are lying, manipulative scum and should never be co-operated with.this will work more in your favour than against.
    2.get the solicitor on legal aid.go to court on a day off and see solicitors in action.choose the most aggressive/professional one that you see ripping a guards evidence assunder.
    3 if you go to court without one the judge will fúck you out of it for not takin it seriously enough even thought every1 in the court knows its only a ****in notch.(inc the filth)
    4 never ever co-operate with a guard(within reason,the uniforms are generally ok,its the plain clothes that are on a mission)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Who decides to waste taxpayers money on sending plain clothes coppers (on weekend overtime) to music festivals to bust people having a joint?

Seriously, is there nothing better they could be doing?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

1. guards are lying, manipulative scum and should never be co-operated with.this will work more in your favour than against.
    2.get the solicitor on legal aid.go to court on a day off and see solicitors in action.choose the most aggressive/professional one that you see ripping a guards evidence assunder.
    3 if you go to court without one the judge will fúck you out of it for not takin it seriously enough even thought every1 in the court knows its only a ****in notch.(inc the filth)
    4 never ever co-operate with a guard(within reason,the uniforms are generally ok,its the plain clothes that are on a mission)
    Good God, you put down four "pointers" of advice and not even one of them, not one, was any use. In fact, you put down the same ráiméis in points 1 and 4.

I don't appreciate flaming in this forum. This is your first and only warning. Any more posts like that, and you'll be met with a ban.

Edit: If I were you, I'd expect to see a few very angry replies to that nonsense you posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

I think this thread has run it's course.

Good luck in court Evil Bilbo