Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wednesdays Nap

• 18-04-2006 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

Tolpuddle at Newmarket.

Wayne Lordan / Tommy Stack. I doubt if they are going over for the good of their health :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I reckon they have alot on their hands tbh.

Cornish Sett in the 3.30 at Cheltenham. Nicholls has three runners in this race and the jockey bookings suggests this is the one to be on. Couldn't trust Our Vic as far as i could throw him especially at Cheltenham. He will be favourite but is hardly dependable. Monkerhostin has run two stinkers and will be giving 20lbs to the selection. With the reliable Ruby on board Cornish Sett looks the one to beat. Had been running very well before last race and should bounce back to form today.

Chiaro in the 5.45. Looks the one to beat here. Didn't get the trip lto but drop back should definately suit him. Twice a listed hurdles winner in France, i think he will have too much for todays opposition. with R Johnson on board.

Visionist in the 4.20 at Newmarket. Ran a cracker lto after six month layoff. Won going away and should be on the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

I'm with Red Peppers on two counts, first I couldn't have Tolpuddle at all, he is not in the same class on a couple of these. I think Romamadour if fit could be a good thing, any horse that can get with 3/4 length of Shamardal and Hurrican Run in a group 1 deserves a lot of respect in an average looking race look this.

And secondly I'm another in the Cornish Sett camp, gets a huge weight concession off a horse who looks like he's feeling the exertions of a long season in Monkerhostin and I couldn't have a cent on Our Vic on Good ground at Cheltenham.

Kieron Fallon's booking on Johannes at 2:35 Newmarket is very eyecatching, on last seasons evidence it is wise to pay attention when he rides for Dandy Nicholls. Never out of the first 2 including when beaten close home by classic hopefuls Sir Xaar and Palace Episode.

And finally back at Cheltenham Unleash looks the most likely winner of the 4:40. He weighted to reverse a close defeat by Napolitain, has had a nice break and will relish the good (and drying) ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

I wouldn't be too keen on discounting Our Vic because of the ground. He's beaten Monkerhostin on goodish ground at Cheltenham so it's hard to rule him out with any confidence on that reason alone. He really is the form pick of the race, especially in receipt of 9 pounds from Monkerhostin. Cornish Sett is the obvious danger.

Totally agree about Rocamadour, that run behind Shamardal and Hurricane Run puts him head and shoulders above these. When his closest rival in the market is a handicapper, you'd have to wonder whether there is something amiss with the horse.

One at a big price today that looks interesting is BA FOXTROT. You have to forgive horses every now and again and if this one is back in the mood today it would be right up there. Currently 25-1.

Visionist N/R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Redlancer

I think Our Vic is great value at 9/4 and Lough Derg would be one I like too. Pipe's back in form too

And I see our old friend Parson's Legacy ran out a good 4-1 winner today...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Redlancer wrote:
    I think Our Vic is great value at 9/4 and Lough Derg would be one I like too. Pipe's back in form too

I agree, I've both of them in my system. Coincodently (sp?) the last day I ran the system Lough Derg won at 9/4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

KINGS GAIT has a good price in the 3:55 at beverley.
    he was fancied in his last race so there must be something going for him and although he came third he ran well. 5 furlong seams to be ideally suited for him and ground not a problem so he should have a better chance this time at 6/1

im also going to go for pace shot in the last at cheltenham. it a two horse race and i think he edges it over the favourate who is odds on. pace shot is 9/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

I'm just judging by the betfair market, but it looks like Our Vic won. Good call again by FTB and others :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Did cornish Sett fall, it went from being favourite to 1000/1 on the Betfair in running?

Seemed to be pushed along from an early stage. Just wasn't a going day for him today.

Cornish Sett never travelled and nothing else was ever going to beat Our Vic. Fair play for picking him lads. Now how will i recoup what i lost??

RedPeppers wrote:
    Cornish Sett never travelled and nothing else was ever going to beat Our Vic. Fair play for picking him lads. Now how will i recoup what i lost??

Howle Hill must have a super chance in the next at Chelts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Just had an e/w punt on Spectrometer in the next at Chelt at 9's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

KINGS GAIT has a good price in the 3:55 at beverley.
    he was fancied in his last race so there must be something going for him and although he came third he ran well. 5 furlong seams to be ideally suited for him and ground not a problem so he should have a better chance this time at 6/1

Unlucky there, second, beaten by a shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

fade2black wrote:
    Howle Hill must have a super chance in the next at Chelts.
    Sounded as if he had a good run. As for my last minute punt, never really got started.

Fancy Paper Talk in the next a newmarket. But I may just take what's left of my winnings from Our Vic and cut a dash.

unleash for me in the next and that will do then for the day...

Unlucky Fade thought it might get up.

Ah well, a gallant second for unleash and a nice treble on the day for Ruby. Could be time we started following the Nicholls yard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

6 bets and five second place finishers for me today. this flat season is starting off too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭trojaneater1

spread the word then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Sizzler wrote:
    Tolpuddle at Newmarket.

Wayne Lordan / Tommy Stack. I doubt if they are going over for the good of their health :-)

3rd at 12's...not too bad ...:D

Not too bad at all. Well done.