Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

April 15th Investigation - Charleville: Post-Investigation Discussion

• 16-04-2006 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

hey lads , I know its early days and most of you are not even home yet but i got a bit of a shock at the ammount of Orbs in this photo I took looking out into the garden while in the Chapel with Mark and Paul. Id also like to thank Andy and Mark for the adventure. Good crack had by all.

S3010030.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

Cool pic, and no problem btw :)

We can convert this to a post-investigation chat thread now... feel free to rate the investigation by rating the thread. Any comments, questions, etc can be said here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

ok Well have gone through all my digital photos and some of my video (with some interesting results), will be getting my film developed before thursday too.

Anyway just gonna post a couple of non-paranormal pics first.

The first just of the front of the castle:
    Charleville150406.jpg

And the 2nd of europes only triangular tower (allegidly):
    TriangularTower.jpg

My next post is a bit more interesting!

btw Grimes, no problem, was great to have you along and one you one for filling the spaces that came up last minute. Was great that you brough along people who wouldnt normally be into this stuff - means there are 3 more eople out there with a story to tell and questions to be answered.

Ok well most of my digital pics show up nothing interesting, sure there are orbs but i tend not to get too excited unless one shows up in a photo i've taken in an area where i felt somethings there.

But the first pic below was taken early enough in the night (9.09pm). There seems to be some sort of shadow on the top of the stairsm the only source of light is from the front and nothing seems to be there to be casting a shadow?
    StairsShadow.jpg
    Here it is a bit brighter:
    StairsShadowbrighter.jpg
    And here it is in negative:
    StairsShadowneg.jpg

Am not making any claims other than i can not say what it is for definate - ghostly or not.
    To avoid arguement over this image can anyone who has a suggestion to what it is please state that it is only their opinion.

6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

that is amazing. havnt gone through my video footage yet. I cant think of anything but id love to know what could it have been if not some sort of spirit.

I got very bad vibes on the top floor and hence i only went up once. That is also the area both siobhan and I got the feeling of falling

PS: The "Shadow" or figure seems to be around the same height as a 8 year old girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Kennett wrote:
    We can convert this to a post-investigation chat thread now... feel free to rate the investigation by rating the thread. Any comments, questions, etc can be said here as well.

I split the thread and stickied the post investigation posts.

Just in case anyone new comes along, saves them reading through the pre-investigation stuff.

Hope this is ok, if not I'll re-merge them.

psi wrote:
    I split the thread and stickied the post investigation posts.

Just in case anyone new comes along, saves them reading through the pre-investigation stuff.

Hope this is ok, if not I'll re-merge them.

Perfect. Best way to have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

That is an interesting photo alright.

Any chance of getting a look at a higher resolution of it?

Really dissapointed that I couldn't make it along. My fever didn't break until Sunday morning unfortunetly.

That is an interesting photo alright.

Any chance of getting a look at a higher resolution of it?

Really dissapointed that I couldn't make it along. My fever didn't break until Sunday morning unfortunetly.

Everytime I put it up on photobucket it makes it smaller. I will mail you a original of it tomorrow and pop it on my site when i update it thos week too.

Theres talk of another trip in early June being led by Stevenmu and myself so we should get you on another trip soon monkeyfudge!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I think it might be a better idea to have a seperate after the event thread ? (if not I'm sure it can be merged back in anyway).

To start with I think it's fair to say we all had a very enjoyable and very interesting night, and thanks have to go to Dublin6th and Kenneth for organising everything, and to those at Charleville Castle for having us down. I think everyone left the next morning having experienced something they couldn't fully explain. Altough the night didn't get off to a great start, there was another event taking up some of the castle for some of the night, and we only had brief access to some of the other areas, I suppose it's a learning process and next time we can try to ensure we have more free access to the building as a whole.

The night started off slowly enough, possibly because of the reduced access which meant we ended up wandering around as one large group with all of the commotion that inevitably leads to. It was only later on as we split into smaller groups that things began to happen. As of yet I'm not sure if any good objective evidence was collected, I still have photos to go through but so far have nothing but some very iffy orbs. I think there's also some video and audio to be gone through. As I'm sure Zillah will be extremely frustrated to hear, there's a lot more to talk about from a subjective point of view.

The dungeon proved to be a very active spot, and I think everyone who went down there experienced something. I went down there twice myself. The first time, with a group of 4 sitting in a circle, 3 of us began to feel a presence at one side of the room, with the person furthest from that side not feeling anything. There was an apparant drop in temperature from that side of the room and we felt what seemed to me to be fingers pulling back on that side of my head, but very light, almost how spider webs would feel. After a few minutes the person sitting nearest where we thought the presence to be and the person furthest away, who was still feeling nothing, swapped positions and immediately the person now sitting nearest began to feel the presence and the person sitting furthest away could no longer feel it. We associated this presence with the jailor, whom many people have experienced down there and we've come to know as "O'Reilly", a nasty, menacing presence.

The second time around with just myself, 6th and one of Grimes' friends (who I'll just call X for now unless she wants to come on and identify herself), nothing seemed to happen for a long time. There were a few times myself or 6th thought we felt or saw something, but for my part anyway looking back I think it was more my mind starting to play tricks. Then after we decided to give it just a few more minutes, there was a very sudden and very noticeable temperature drop. Unfortunatly we didn't have a thermometer at the time but we all felt it go from quite comfortable to being very cold very quickly, and the really unusuall thing is that the coldness seemed to be centred between the three of us. That we were sitting in a small circle (feet touching) and I could feel it on my knees, my hands which were on them, and my face, but not on my back, the back of my neck or the back of my head. The other reported it similarly. It was as if there was a presence in the middle of us radiating the cold outwards, or draining the heat from the air between us which would make more sense. Around this time, 6th started recieving the word "Prior", and both of us felt that the presence we were experiencing this time wasn't O'Reilly, it didn't have the same 'evil' feel to it. We continued to feel this presence for a few minutes, I think perhaps it seemed to be growing stronger, but it's equally likely that the longer we experienced it, the more attuned to it I was becoming. After a few minutes all three of us (I think, I'm not too sure about X) felt what seemed to be another presence entering the back of the room. This presence had much more menace about it, O'Reilly was back. I was quite surprised by the amount of contrast between the two presences we could feel, the original presence being if not pleasant then at least calm and peacefull, the other feeling much more malevolent. At this point 6th felt that we were possibly bringing trouble upon the first presence in the room so we decided to leave, altough on reflection I believe that what we were experiencing was more a replay of an event than spirits reacting to our presence. I'm not sure why I think that, it's just the impression I get.

Others mentioned other experiences, from hearing unexplained noises to seeing hooded figures walking around but I'll leave it to them to come on and explain them. Hopefully the others who experienced what I did will add their sides too so I'll know if I'm completely crazy, or just a little bit :)

Oops, sorry Psi, I didn't spot this thread and just started another one, maybe you could merge it in when you have a chance.

That's a pretty incredible photo 6th, I can't think of anything that would be there to cause a shadow like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Merged! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Very interesting photo 6th! Count me in on the "wanna get a full resolution copy soon" trolley. :)

Nice summary Stevenmu, although it sounds like the night was kinda short?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Rachelann

stevenmu wrote:
    Around this time, 6th started recieving the word "Prior", and both of us felt that the presence we were experiencing this time wasn't O'Reilly, it didn't have the same 'evil' feel to it. We continued to feel this presence for a few minutes, I think perhaps it seemed to be growing stronger, but it's equally likely that the longer we experienced it, the more attuned to it I was becoming. After a few minutes all three of us (I think, I'm not too sure about X) felt what seemed to be another presence entering the back of the room. This presence had much more menace about it, O'Reilly was back.

Rachel here (X!), new to boards so bear with me. When I went into the dungeon I was very skeptical. However, I did feel the temperature drop and I did feel like there was something behind me to the back of the room that made me feel uncomfortable. I didn't say it initially because I wanted to make sure I wasn't imagining it but then 6th picked up on it. I began to feel uncomfortable after that and we left shortly after that. I had no distinctive sensations apart from that in the dungeon,oh and a tingling in my forehead. But again, that could've been tiredness.

My photos came out well, quite a few of them had orbs although being a skeptic Im not so sure if they are in fact orbs. I'll attempt to attach one with this post.

Well seeing that Stephen did it I think Ill do the same . Starting from when we were split up into teams.

Myself , Mark, Paul and Stephen took off around to the stables to find the doors locked and decided to head out towards the mounds Mark had seen on the way in. We "detoured" through the forest and as far as I know none of the group had any bad feelings in the forest even I felt very calm however I did find the odd orb on my pictures.

We got back to the castle and organised ourselves. I popped up to the top floor and looked down Harriet's staricase and got a dizzy feeling. And then a lightheadedness like I was falling. I put it down to disorientation but later Siobhan reported she felt the same thing. The group rejoined and off up to the roof we went.

In the group things wern't so bad. Lots of fun was had hanging around on the roof until we went up into the larger main tower where i cought a picture of a white shadow or "smoke" on my camera. I know full well there was nothing there when I took it. We headed back down and i got a bad feeling on the upper floors. Very bad, then Andygot out his dowsing rods and while I was watching him somthing pushed my right shoulder then I felt I had to get out of there and off the top floor as fast as possible. And I did.

I think we headed off to the stables next. We were all in the courtyard and i heard somone banging very loudly on the main doors. Myself and Dave opened the door and there was nothing outside. One of the group wasnt there but this really creeped me out.

The Dungeon was a bit creepy to say the least. Paul, Stephen , Mark and Myself went down. I put all my defenses up and sat down with the lads determined not to succumb to my mind playing tricks in the dark. Paul began to panic a bit and I felt nothing. The other lads reported a few feelings. Then I swapped with Paul and my body temp dropped and I began to shake all over. I then felt 4-5 points of pressure on my head like (and i know it sounds funny) fingers and /or a feeling of cobwebs on the right upper cheek). We got out of there pretty sharpish. Trying to dig stuff up on this O'Reilly Chap and all I seem to get is a name in the geneologies "Domnick O'Reilly"

After that we headed out into the chapel which was suprisingly calm with alack of any activity on the interior or in the "workers" yard however i did poke my camera out a window into the back garden and got about 13 orbs in one photo. No bad vibes at all in the 30-40 mins we were out there.

Then onto the Red Room where Rachel and I spent 1/2 hour on the bed :rolleyes: in the dark with nothing to report other then what seemed -20 degrees. Id love to know If mark cought anything on his camera.

So its now about 4am and myself , rachel and nicola are having a smoke. We are discussing the fact that rachel is still sceptical after all thats happened. A moments silence and from the direction of the stableyard a scream. A loud piercing womans scream that terrified me. We all heard it a we all ran. A fox? It seemed a bit loud, i was actually suprised those in the octagnal room didnt hear it. It had the same effect as nails on a blackboard.

Most active seemed to be , in my opinion were The Stables ,The Dungeon and the Rear Garden and obviously the upper floor.

Plenty of Orbs were taken, and for the record i went through ALL my outdoor and indoor night time photos of archaeological and regular sites and got no Orbs taken with the same camera in the Same conditions. Cant wait to get back to that place.

Here are some Pics.

BestPicoftheNight.jpg

AfewOrbswhereiwaspushedintheshoulde.jpg

Dungeonwherepeopleweretortured.jpg
    Grimes

Wow, 6th im impressed, I did some enhancing and this is what I came up with.

my.php?image=stairszil5uz.jpg

Obviously its heavily edited, but only with whole-photo changes, nothing specific. Bringing the "head" area out from the background was tricky but there is a slight tonal difference there.

There is no doubt in my mind that that is the perfect size and shape for a young girl. Now whether it is or not I couldn't possibly know, but I am very interested. If you zoom in you can distinctly see it narrow where the head/shoulders would be.

(On a possibly related note, do Douglas and Bonnie have any children?)

EDIT: How the hell do you make the image show up in the post? I used the IMG tag...

Zillah wrote:
    (On a possibly related note, do Douglas and Bonnie have any children?)
    There was two young girls (14 to 16 I think) there the first time we were down but there was no sign of them this time, unless someone else saw them.
    Zillah wrote:
    Nice summary Stevenmu, although it sounds like the night was kinda short?
    It did seem a bit shorter than last time, but I also skipped over all the non-paranormal bits, like the triangular tower, forest etc.

What's with the orange bit on the step near the bottom in your enhancement btw ? I can't see anything in the originals that would translate to it ?
    Grimes wrote:
    We got back to the castle and organised ourselves. I popped up to the top floor and looked down Harriet's staricase and got a dizzy feeling. And then a lightheadedness like I was falling. I put it down to disorientation but later Siobhan reported she felt the same thing. The group rejoined and off up to the roof we went.
    It's very interesting that you mention that, the first time we were down I got a feeling there that was very similar to having a kind of flashback of falling down, and a few others felt weird there too.
    Grimes wrote:
    I think we headed off to the stables next. We were all in the courtyard and i heard somone banging very loudly on the main doors. Myself and Dave opened the door and there was nothing outside. One of the group wasnt there but this really creeped me out.
    I'd forgotten about that. Donal was the one missing, and he isn't really the type to do something like that and not own up to it afterwards.
    Rachelann wrote:
    My photos came out well, quite a few of them had orbs although being a skeptic Im not so sure if they are in fact orbs. I'll attempt to attach one with this post.
    They're all orbs, it's what actually causes them is the bit you're supposed to be sceptical about ;) . Thanks for posting by the way, it's good to have someone sceptical stopping us getting too carried away with ourselves.

Just one more photo id love anyone to take a look at and explain the orange glow to the right of the staircase.

ornge.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Rachelann

stevenmu wrote:
    it's good to have someone sceptical stopping us getting too carried away with ourselves.

Anytime,I would certainly be up for going again. Really enjoyed it. Will keep in touch.

What's with the orange bit on the step near the bottom in your enhancement btw ? I can't see anything in the originals that would translate to it ?

Its the reflection from the flash, made look wierd by the curve manipulations. Its there, just not as noticeable.

EDIT:
    They're all orbs, it's what actually causes them is the bit you're supposed to be sceptical about . Thanks for posting by the way, it's good to have someone sceptical stopping us getting too carried away with ourselves.

Speaking of which, Rachelann's orb is almost certainly a flash back from the glass scattered around. In the rop rightish area theres a whole pile of it.

would it be worth leaving a night vision camera running in the dungeon for a night including when people are down there?

Grimes wrote:
    would it be worth leaving a night vision camera running in the dungeon for a night including when people are down there?

That would have been the plan only the night vision on my camera wouldnt show up the whole room. I had bought a infrared torch on ebay but its lost between hong kong and ireland. The torch will light up the whole room - well we wont see the light but the camera will. I should have it for the next one but dont forget, the tapes only record for 1.5 hours so would go through a few in a night.

I will have the torch by the next investigation, a new battery (which will last alot longer), alot of tapes (3 put aside already) and a portable tv so someone can watch what is happening on a larger screen in the next room.

I'll be checking out the date for the next trip but i think we're looking at the first saturday in June?

6th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭mysteria

Congrats to Kennett and 6th, sounds like a very interesting and enjoyable investigation. I also experienced the dizzy feelings several people described during my previous visits to Charleville. I'm fascinated by the photos, especially the "shadow on the staircase" which in my opinion seems very spirit-like. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Grimes wrote:
    I think we tried that last time.

I only scanned through a bit of the tape but it didn't come out great.

I know its not Paranormal but as the resident archaeological "expert" on this trip just wanted to let you know that the weird triangular fort thingy is known as Camden Tower and there is not much information on it in any of my books or on the web. What I did manage to find is that in 1863 the castle gamekeeper resided there however I'd assume its construction would be around the same time or shortly after the main castle itself.

This is very interesting,close to the site of the Current Charleville caslte was an original structure built in 1641.

Thats all i got right now on the history of the place. Im waiting to hear back from the Tullamore Archaeological Society on Camden Tower and The Pre 1801 structure at Charleville

Grimes wrote:
    I know its not Paranormal but as the resident archaeological "expert" on this trip just wanted to let you know that the weird triangular fort thingy is known as Camden Tower and there is not much information on it in any of my books or on the web. What I did manage to find is that in 1863 the castle gamekeeper resided there however I'd assume its construction would be around the same time or shortly after the main castle itself.

This is very interesting,close to the site of the Current Charleville caslte was an original structure built in 1641.

Thats all i got right now on the history of the place. Im waiting to hear back from the Tullamore Archaeological Society on Camden Tower and The Pre 1801 structure at Charleville

Grimes, you're a handy guy to have around! stick around. You get a mention on my site btw!

Might be an idea to stick a camera by that staircase too, the more I see that picture the better it looks, some moving footage would be incredible.

dublin6th wrote:
    Grimes, you're a handy guy to have around! stick around. You get a mention on my site btw!

Agreed, apart from the site mention... I'm working on a report sorta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ClaireDoco21

O My God i would of been scared ****less lol.......im really enjoying this site

It's not all that scary.... or is it? muhahahah-- *coughing fit* :p

Seriously, I'm glad you enjoy the site :)

I just had a quick look at my photos and I have found a lot of orbs in many of the pictures, many of them really well defined! I think I also managed to find a greenish orb too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭terbo

Hi All,

A very interesting nite had.
    Havent had time to review footage and fotos yet as im working 6 nites a week on 12 hr shifts.
    As soon as i have ill post them:D
    Thanks to all concerned for a great nite:D

I've uploaded my pics, feel free to have a browse, comment, etc. Note that as always, not all of these pics are paranormal, or even of the castle! Some aren't even in focus, which I apoligise for...

http://www.irishparanormal.org/pics/categories.php?cat_id=10&page=3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Hi guys. I just had a read through this thread and I'm very fascinated to say the least. I would love to join you lot on one of these investigations if that would not be out of the question. Do you plan on going back to Charleville Castle before going to some place else? Do you have any ideas when the next trip is planned for? I'm a semi-skeptic but that photo with the shadow on the stairs has amazed me. I'm pretty new to this paranormal stuff, and I'm not quiet sure what orbs are but I'm about to look them up. My apologies if this is the wrong thread to post this message in.

sjones wrote:
    .......I would love to join you lot on one of these investigations if that would not be out of the question.......Do you plan on going back to Charleville Castle before going to some place else?.......Do you have any ideas when the next trip is planned for? ......I'm not quiet sure what orbs are but I'm about to look them up.......

Well trips are open to all members of boards though there is not always aspace so luck plays a part in it.

I'm trying to get a trip organised for the 3rd June (bankholiday weekend) but am waiting to hear back from the castle.

Good luck looking up info on orbs - take everything with a pinch of salt, its a mine field of mixed up ideas and fantasy.

6th

There's a strong chance I won't be at this investigation, due to prior engagements, but I'll leave you all in Mark's and Stephen's more than capable hands.

Remember to take proper notes down this time ;)

Ill lead a group in Andy's absence if your stuck.. Just a thought.

Grimes wrote:
    Ill lead a group in Andy's absence if your stuck.. Just a thought.

Actually its gonna be a smaller group if it happens - 2 groups of 5 including Steven and myself - but will be counting you in Grimes. Not sure how open this one is going to be and i know its only 4 weeks notice but what the hell i'll try bring it together.

Grimes you think you'll dig up any interesting info on the castle or surrounding area?

13 was a little too much the last time, wasn't it? Hopefully this time, you won't have the problems that we experienced last time!

I wish ye guys the best of luck with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I won't be able to make the 3rd of June as I'll be in Malaga. Best of luck with it though!

I'm organising an investigation in August sometime if you're able to make that. I'll post details up in due time. Hopefully by then, things shall be a little better organised regarding some aspects that I'm not currently happy with, that I've got some control over...

6th wrote:
    Grimes you think you'll dig up any interesting info on the castle or surrounding area?

I have been looking into it as much as I can but a detailed history of the castle and the grounds is difficult to come across. I have exams next week but in the two weeks leading up to the investigation I promise Ill head to Tullamore and compile some sort of decent history of the place from public records and other sources down there.

Grimes wrote:
    I have been looking into it as much as I can but a detailed history of the castle and the grounds is difficult to come across. I have exams next week but in the two weeks leading up to the investigation I promise Ill head to Tullamore and compile some sort of decent history of the place from public records and other sources down there.

I think I need to give Dudley a bell sometime, and talk to him, as it seems that there's more records about the castle in the UK than there are in Ireland... if that is the case, then I might do some mooching around, and see if I can dig up anything. There's a strong possibility that the info is somewhere within a university (from my recollection), so I might be able to use the fact I attend one to get some info. If I find out anything, I'll let you know...