Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

when u felt mature

• 15-04-2006 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭

I amnt sure what direction I want to take this thread, cause the following could be be discussed from many angles but I really feel good about how I handled it,

Anyway I was walking down the road today and this group of kids start mimicing my walk, I have cerebral Palsy, I just looked and shook my head and said idiots(not terribly loud, more to myself), and kept walking..... I dont encounter this very much, did more as a kid, but always ended up getting myself in trouble over how I'd react, but today i felt, them kids probably doing maybe Junior Cert this year, probably wont go very far in life unless they change there mentality, while I will walk away with my degree this year......whos laughin now :)

Anyway today I felt very mature in the way I handled it and kept my cool, my wife on the other hand.....well she was mega pi**ed off when i told her.

Then I thought I should have said, if i had the time......" When you go through years of physio, get a college degree, get married, be expecting your first kid, travel the world, be able to discuss current affairs intellegently, be able to fix computers, write java code (then you'll be catching up on me), after that....laugh away cause you'll actually have bypassed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Then I thought I should have said, if i had the time......" When you go through years of physio, get a college degree, get married, be expecting your first kid, travel the world, be able to discuss current affairs intellegently, be able to fix computers, write java code (then you'll be catching up on me), after that....laugh away cause you'll actually have bypassed me.

They wouldnt understand :p

Just let them. They'll be put on the right track one day, they'll pick on the wrong person and get the heads bet of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭red_bairn

Would the state of being mature be when you are jammed in that time that you know that everything is sorted and that you are in total control of your life? I'm only nineteen and can't discuss this topic greatly but I suppose that is where my mind is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 danielbr

Well I think the way you handled it was very mature and dignified. You didn't bow down to their level of immaturity and that is to be commended. Hats off to ya.

I know, to a certain extent, what its like to be at the receiving end of kids taking the pi**, but at the end of the day they are still only kids. As much and all as we would like to think that their parents are of good nature and teach them that to do such a thing is in bad taste on uncalled for, it is not going to happen, when kids are in a group they do pretty much anything to be seen as the joker to fit in. Sad and all as it is, thats just the mentality they operate on.

As for the older groups of "lads" and indeed the ocassional lady, well thats a whole different kettle of fish, they need to be shot with their own sh*t for their own stupidity. I think i have ranted on enough about this so I will leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

reminds me of a story (for whatever reason), whose source i don't recall, where some kids were scraping some guys nice car. same kind of kids OP would have encountered - knackers. so they comes out, spots them, goes over to his car as they point and laugh, he takes out his keys, and puts a nice fat scrape down the side of his car and says "this is what it's like to have money"

dbnavan-It may happen that your children will act this way or it may not. It's in a childs mind to act like that I think. Influences would be from tv, other media or peer pressure etc. But well done in shrugging it off! I believe I'll do a "Jim Carey" one day and end up goin' crazy coz I bottle it in too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

red_bairn wrote:
    dbnavan-It may happen that your children will act this way or it may not. It's in a childs mind to act like that I think. Influences would be from tv, other media or peer pressure etc. But well done in shrugging it off! I believe I'll do a "Jim Carey" one day and end up goin' crazy coz I bottle it in too much.

Well I would hope the fact that their father has a problem, would make them even more concious not to do it, cant imagine any of my young cousins or infact any kids that know me, to act like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hehe fair playing for handling it so well. Me..well I would have probably said nothing but someday Im going to snap..anytime now :mad:

Well I can't say that I didn't laugh at the common "odd" person ("odd"-refering to wat i would have thought of odd in my youth) i.e walkin down the road in a strange manner.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

red_bairn wrote:
    Well I can't say that I didn't laugh at the common "odd" person ("odd"-refering to wat i would have thought of odd in my youth) i.e walkin down the road in a strange manner.:(
    Kids i guess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

You have achieved alot in life. Kids will be kids. Fair play for handling it well. I know I wouldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

dbnavan wrote:
    When you go through years of physio, get a college degree, get married, be expecting your first kid, travel the world, be able to discuss current affairs intellegently, be able to fix computers, write java code (then you'll be catching up on me), after that....laugh away cause you'll actually have bypassed me.
    Are you going to add student president to that list? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

Are you going to add student president to that list? ;)
    Hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

I'm mid 20's *shudder* and recently on the bus there was a pack of girls about 15-16 'talking' but screaming at each other. I was very pissed off with the noise. I felt mature right then and I was scared by it :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

This is an old cliche - but I think the first time I saw a guard and thought - no bloody way ! that guy looks 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

although, i do hope if it wasnt for the cerebal palsy, you would have kicked the heads of them...

im not sure about maturity, but i do know there comes a time when you just cant be arsed any more, because you already know the outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

In the literal sense I felt mature when my dad died and I was the Man of the House! Okay I was 24 but as his death was sudden I was'nt expecting it of course.

In the general sense I think WWM is onto something about not getting excited as you've seen it before and it was'nt much good the first time round. Ah contempt 'Will Self/Gumpy Old Man' style!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

kids sometimes shout stuff. its because kids are idiots. a second spent thinking about their semi coherent gruntings is a second wasted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

ChityWest wrote:
    This is an old cliche - but I think the first time I saw a guard and thought - no bloody way ! that guy looks 15.

Funny, my mother kept saying that the other day, he's too young to be a guard, I'll have to ask her if she feels old/mature (43). LOL

But anyway, I reckon when I hit about 22 I felt 'groun up' and at 26 I still wish I didn't!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

But anyway, I reckon when I hit about 22 I felt 'groun up' and at 26 I still wish I didn't!!!

i wouldnt bet on it.

im 32 and yet i still feel and act like im 18 most of the time.

sorry, double post

i wouldnt bet on it.

im 32 and yet i still feel and act like im 18 most of the time.

Nah, I think I went straight from being a teenager to middleaged!!:(