Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any night shot people in dublin.

• 13-04-2006 9:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭

is there anyone who wants to try and get a few night shots ,but can't manage to get out on their own??.
    I'd love to get into the city centre and get a few slow shots of the luas ,crossing O'connell street.
    I drive so I could pick whoever wanted to do it up.
    Or we could meet on O'Connell bridge.

The first things I bought when i bought my camera where a tripod and an remote button, that's before i ever used a dslr.

Another shot i was hoping to get was across from busarus of the luas as it curves, I thought the stream of light would be nice behind the front of the luas if I am facing at the right angle when I release the button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I'd be more than willing. Been dying to do it lately, and safety in numbers is the way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

yeah sounds like a great plan...and going for some drinks afterwards :)
    But it'll have to be another weekend as I'll be leaving for Holland on Saturday for the Easter (and get my 50mm) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭EireRoadUser

cheers fajitas ,it's hard now you'd only want to be in town at 9pm i wreckon and during the week so theres not too many scars on the shots.

Plus theres not as many dutch courage soldiers walking around.

No worries Dimy ,hopefully when we get a chance.
    I presume your in waterford fajitas for the weekend.

I've waited long enough to get shots in town , a while longer won't harm.

cheers fajitas ,it's hard now you'd only want to be in town at 9pm i wreckon and during the week so theres not too many scars on the shots.

Plus theres not as many dutch courage soldiers walking around.

Yer not taking the piss out of the dutch now are ye? :D

Yup, back here for the break, but I'm up and about again on Tuesday onwards!

I'd say if we started out about 8, try get in the sunset and last light too!

If i was pissed and in a good mood and i seen a couple of blokes with tripods I wreckon i would get a case of arachnaphobia.

I'll come back on tuesday as well, in the evening though.

right on fajitas ,I haven't done it before so i don't have a clue.

How did your dad get on doing the photos at the christening ?

Quite good actually, I've only seen a few of them, look quite good now!

Ah night photography is great, nothing better than a 30 second exposure!

Heres that snap shot in the bat cave in pitch dark.

Remember ,i think the settings are shutter 1/4 ,aperature 1.4,iso 1600 and AWB.

Not bad without a tripod , you can actually see the vessells.

Lol, is that the one I took?

Haha, not too bad at all, maybe ISO 800 would have been a bit more athmospheric!!!

Heres that snap shot in the bat cave in pitch dark.

Remember ,i think the settings are shutter 1/4 ,aperature 1.4,iso 1600 and AWB.

Not bad without a tripod , you can actually see the vessells.

Not bad... makes you wonder what kind of pic you could have made with a tripod.

I wasn't sure if you wanted me to say you took it ,it was only a snap.

I'm glad you liked the lense ,it's the only lense i didn't buy on the strenght of a review .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

cool, i might be up for that, could be good fun

I wasn't sure if you wanted me to say you took it ,it was only a snap.

I'm glad you liked the lense ,it's the only lense i didn't buy on the strenght of a review .

I adore that lens! It's next on my list. Before the Zigviewer I think!

Melekalikimaka, come along, it's good craic! The more the merrier (And safer) I say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm in... although you get much more colourful Luas shots on Stephens Green, with Dandelion and the Stephen's Green hotel lights in the background. And there's always Dawson St....!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

wreckon if we all met up it wouldn't really matter where we went.
    we could all go for a pint afterwards ,hence i think i'll get the bus in :D

Would thursday be anygood or would there be too many people about ??,could get a couple of blurred shots of people coming in and out of pubs.I'm probably getting a bit ahead of myself ,don't really know how bright street lighting is and how it effects long exposures .probably keep the iso down to 400 or something????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Do you reckon that going around town with camera gear etc. could attract undesirables (persons who might be the target of ASBOs in the future) and geeks with cameras might get attacked? Do you need bodyguards?

Thats why i thought maybe thursday would be better ,late night shopping and the beginning of the weekend for a lot of people . But not as many people as saturday night.
    How would someone intend on running down the road with a camera and a tripod attached underneath it.
    If theres more than 4 of us then there is plenty of eyes to warn of any trouble in advance.

Anyone got any experience of this in dublin city centre?

Yeah that should be alright with a couple of people, i don't think we'd get any trouble. Just stay away from the dodgy places and alleys at night. Thursday would be ok for me.

Basically, common sense prevails, stay away from dodgy areas, and stick together. If we stay as a group, people tend to stay away. Tripods have other uses anyways ;)

Thursday would be grand, as you said, late night shopping et al.

Eire, I usually keep my ISO to 100 at night, and compensate with long exposures, less grain, and the street lights won't burn out the shot with orange!

*bump*

Is it still on for Thursday? I'm safely back in Dublin now :rolleyes:

I'm good for Thursday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭ChityWest

Hi

I would love to tag along on that too (have also been dying to do this for ages) and this thursday is fine with me.

I'll do my best for tomorrow ,hopefully.

Bollocks.

I won't be able to go, just found out this morning. :(

Dddaaaaammmnnnn you irish ;-) I was all set and go hehe. Ah well, since Eireroaduser ain't sure as well we might as well postpone. Wouldn't be too bad for me either as I have 252 raw's to go through from my visit to Holland.... *sigh* :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

googd good thurs was gonna be tough for me too, late night study for me. a sub forum for trips might be an idea

It would actually!

Hmmm...Next Thursday do for anyone?

Im completely wrecked just back from portmarnock and tomorrow I don't know where I'm working ,It was suppose to be crumlin ,but now it could be ashbourne.

Put the night shot thing into fajitas expeditions thread ,more or less the same people doing the night stuff anyways.

Dimy hows all back in Holland ,hope everything went well for you.

Cheers ,eire.

Im completely wrecked just back from portmarnock and tomorrow I don't know where I'm working ,It was suppose to be crumlin ,but now it could be ashbourne.

Put the night shot thing into fajitas expeditions thread ,more or less the same people doing the night stuff anyways.

Dimy hows all back in Holland ,hope everything went well for you.

Cheers ,eire.

Yeah had good craic there! And most importantly... I picked up my f/1.8 50mm lens which is massive! Love the lens, but need some more practise with it... the DoF is very very thin at 1.8 aperture! Made a few nice shots with it though... I also tried some landscape photography as my parent live in a very nice place in Holland surrounded by woods and heath. However...turns out I'm crap at landscape photography! That's definitely not my thing.... but I'll try some more of it when I'm back there for a longer period. Will probably take a while before I finished editing my photo's and put some up here as I came back with 252 shots.... but I have to admit a lot of them are crap photos, so I'd be happy if I can keep about 50 reasonable ones with a few good shots worthy of posting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Dimy wrote:
    I also tried some landscape photography as my parent live in a very nice place in Holland surrounded by woods and heath. However...turns out I'm crap at landscape photography!
    Out of interest and very OT but whereabouts in the Netherlands? I spent 13 years living in Veldhoven, near Eindhoven. Lots of woods and heathland there too!

Looking forward to seeing your shots dimy.

Alun wrote:
    Out of interest and very OT but whereabouts in the Netherlands? I spent 13 years living in Veldhoven, near Eindhoven. Lots of woods and heathland there too!

Oh it's quite far from Eindhoven.... I'm from Ermelo in the province Gelderland more to the north. It's right on the centre point of Holland basicly as illustrated on the map below:

323403.jpg

It's in the "Veluwe" the biggest woodlands area of Holland, very nice out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

I find I prefer to take night shots on my own. Never really had any hassle. Worst I had was one night I asked loads of drunken knackers to take their picture. They all thought it was for the sunday world or mirror. Had a few chips thrown at me. One chick replied with " jasus no, I'd bleeding piss me crack". Her friend obliged but when she started pulling her top up I had to ask her to stop.

hey dimy how much was your 50mm, your a canon boy tho aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Dimy wrote:
    Oh it's quite far from Eindhoven.... I'm from Ermelo in the province Gelderland more to the north. It's right on the centre point of Holland basicly as illustrated on the map below:
    It's in the "Veluwe" the biggest woodlands area of Holland, very nice out there.
    Yes, I know ... I commuted from Eindhoven to Apeldoorn for my work for several months! I did visit the Hoge Veluwe on several occasions ... one of the few areas in the Netherlands that can be vaguely describe as "hilly" and along with the Utrechtse Heuvelrug one of the nicest areas of Holland I always thought. It's a pity most tourists only ever see Amsterdam and the bulb fields.

More on topic though ... I always remembered that photo equipment in Holland wasn't that cheap and you could always save quite a lot by popping over the border to Germany. Is that still the case?

FX Meister wrote:
    I find I prefer to take night shots on my own. Never really had any hassle. Worst I had was one night I asked loads of drunken knackers to take their picture. They all thought it was for the sunday world or mirror. Had a few chips thrown at me. One chick replied with " jasus no, I'd bleeding piss me crack". Her friend obliged but when she started pulling her top up I had to ask her to stop.

Your probably 6 foot or over and can see whats coming.

The last time i was in town ,I can't remember how i crawled home.

Alun wrote:
    More on topic though ... I always remembered that photo equipment in Holland wasn't that cheap and you could always save quite a lot by popping over the border to Germany. Is that still the case?

Oh yeah still the same, I ordered my lens online from Digital Wonder World (Germany based) but had it shipped to my parents place as there's nobody here at home to sign for it during working days/business hours. So that's why I had to pick it up in Holland... :)

melekalikimaka: about 100 euro + a few euro's for shipping and yes...I have a Canon.