Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thursday

• 13-04-2006 12:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18

Lads I know I'm new to this forum, but I have good info about a horse tomorrow at Wincanton. It's in the 2.20 and it's called made in montot.I've been told that without a doubt is out for the run and I've also been told by the owners that maid in montot is "gonna run really well" and " i'll be OUTRAGED" if he doesn't win.

Good luck:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

top jockey on board but no form at all,think i`ll give it a miss but good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Owned by The Honourable Mrs Townshend. (That's her full title)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

shure....it's a nice price, won't kill me to have a little flutter on this.

Well the only way you could back this horse is if you had information about it. beat Marcel (which in the context of this race is the best form on offer) but then was reported to have bled from the nose on his British Debut. If recovered and 99& fit, I'd be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

Culchie wrote:
    shure....it's a nice price, won't kill me to have a little flutter on this.
    What price is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Risky betting today but I'll chance it.

2.30 Ludlow Piran fell here last time, and I'm willing to forget that. Taking it's last run out of it the animal has lovely form. It's carrying a bit more today, but I expect it to be fresh enough for this. The major danger is Darn Good who seems to have found itself, but if Piran can come back to it's best then it should be game over.

4.00 Ludlow She's Our Native had a disaster of a run over at Cheltenham but I didn't expect much if it over there to be honest. Bottom weight, out of the handicap, and really has a fine chance here. I'd be surprised if it was out of the top two.

4.30 Ludlow Pseudonym should win this with ease, and is my NAP of the day. Cracking form and the handicapper is being generous today. If it can reproduce anything near it's best it should win by a country mile.

2.20 Wincanton Without A Doubt is my NB of the day. As the racing post says, it suffered a narrow defeat to Jack's Craic, who won every well at Aintree (and who I tipped on here) so the form is there and I expect it to run a big race again today. The last two times Pardishar has ran I've went with it, it won two runs ago, when Moore was on it, and if you saw it's awful run lto, you can appreciate what Moore had to do with it to win when he was last on it. He's back in the saddle today, but I still don't see it beating Without A Doubt. The biggest worry in this race is Made in Montot, if it has recovered from it's bleeding problems it will be a major challenger, as stated above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

What price is he?

3-1 with PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I dont think P Nicholls would be running Made in Mantot again if he wasn't 100%. therefore i will be on him today, the favourite will do well to win this if he is back to his best imo. Thrashing Marcel is no mean feat and he should be in the firing line today.

She's Our Native in the 4.00 at ludlow. Im with Sjones on this one. rated 29lbs higher over hurdles and should win this one if gets a clear round. Loves the track, has won round here three times before.

Martha's Kinsman in the 3.00 at Ludlow Won here in February over same distance and ground conditions. Only horse in race to have won over c&d. Henry Daly is doing well at the moment and with R Johnson on board a big run looks assured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Every tipster and newpaper under the sun seem to be going with Red Brook Lad today (5.00 Ludlow). He won at Ludlow 3 weeks ago in what the racing post described as not at his best. If he's at his best he'll certainly win today and make it 5 wins on the trot. I think 11/8 is a steal.

eirebhoy wrote:
    Every tipster and newpaper under the sun seem to be going with Red Brook Lad today (5.00 Ludlow). He won at Ludlow 3 weeks ago in what the racing post described as not at his best. If he's at his best he'll certainly win today and make it 5 wins on the trot. I think 11/8 is a steal.

Form like a picket fence. 6/5 now. It will be interesting to see how Eskimo Jack runs in this. You can't fault that favourite though.

sjones wrote:
    Form like a picket fence.

This means ?????

spikey form??

3:20

Tom Sayers is forecast to be 25-1 in the RP. If he's this or bigger he'll be huge value. Partucularly likes this track and this is his time of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

He's `14's on pp.. Is anyone worried about the odds on fav "without a doubt" when betting on made in montot?

Well obviously Without A Doubt is worthy of being favourite on recent form. But prior to Made In Montot's bleeding problem he was in great form. He beat Marcel (reliable yardstick by 5 lengths when conceding weight to that rival). If he is back to that sort of form which i suspect he is , then he has a great chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

11111111111 <form line

series of consecutive wins Culchie (looks like a picket fence?)

11111111111 <form line

series of consecutive wins Culchie (looks like a picket fence?)

Exactly! :)

Repli wrote:
    He's `14's on pp.. Is anyone worried about the odds on fav "without a doubt" when betting on made in montot?

This was always going to happen, Ruby on board, and the horse was doing great before the bleeding incident, if it's back to perfect health then it should run well. I'd find it hard to bet on this horse because I don't exactly know the extent of it's illness, or how it has been doing in it's recovery. Is it in the same health it was before the bleeding? If it is AND it's fitness is good then it's a threat to the favourite, especially with Ruby on board. Does it need a run to get it's fitness levels back up? We've been told it's out for a run, but that doesn't mean much. When I hear that phrase, I immediately take it as "We're going to test it's fitness with this run". How will it handle this run after being absent is the question. I'm still with the favourite. Too many questions regarding montot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Nice one beaker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

One up for Ruby, very tight.

Well I think the tip has won in a photo. Well done Beaker!!! Great tip from a nice and polite source! Do stick around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

ah just saw the tip, went to back it but they were off and it wins :(

well done that man

and the rube is a legend!

Fair play beaker21, a great tip that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

Good Man beaker.

Welcome to the forum. nice tip.

Piran does the business in the 2.30

sjones wrote:
    We've been told it's out for a run, but that doesn't mean much. When I hear that phrase, I immediately take it as "We're going to test it's fitness with this run".

Happy Days :) Nice One Beaker

sjones... I think the 'out for a run' comment was with regard to the favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

3:20 wincanton - JIVER

I dont understand why it is 18/1 i think it is crazy. he was previously running in class 2 and 3 races and was finishing 4th and 2nd. this is a class 4 race and should be one of the favourates. i had him when he came second at 25/1 a bit back and he ran an absolute stormer in a class 3 race to come second and if he runs a similar race he should have a great chance of winning.

18/1 worth a bet

and im going to throw in a tip i got from someone who has given me 2 tips in the last two days and both have won at godd prices.
    3:10 - PEREZ in wolverhampton. 8/1

Culchie wrote:
    sjones... I think the 'out for a run' comment was with regard to the favourite.

Hehe, was close alright :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭mickawallace

cheers for the tip,
    iloveireland : i think mite do it, worth a E.W shout

Well done beaker, i was on it too will be keeping tabs on this horse.

3:20 wincanton - JIVER

I dont understand why it is 18/1 i think it is crazy. he was previously running in class 2 and 3 races and was finishing 4th and 2nd. this is a class 4 race and should be one of the favourates. i had him when he came second at 25/1 a bit back and he ran an absolute stormer in a class 3 race to come second and if he runs a similar race he should have a great chance of winning.

18/1 worth a bet

I think the reason for it's odds is because it hasn't performed well in it's last three chasing runs, however it did well in it's last three hurdle runs - which are infact it's last three runs. I do agree, 18/1 is great value, but it needs to prove it can perform while chasing. If can carry on it's hurdling form then this really is a good e/w bet. I think Lord Anner should do this, with Ruby on board. Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭qzy

Well done beaker, keep 'em coming....

and im going to throw in a tip i got from someone who has given me 2 tips in the last two days and both have won at godd prices.
    3:10 - PEREZ in wolverhampton. 8/1

Unlucky there iloveireland. Nice e/w value though. The jockey won that for Sir Bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Had a Canadian going with Montot and Piran. Martha's Kinsman left me down. Still have She's our Native and Pseudonym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Sneaky6

Great call on Tom Sayers Fade!
    This is turning into a pretty good day ;)

Sneaky6 wrote:
    Great call on Tom Sayers Fade!
    This is turning into a pretty good day ;)

Yep....Thanks for that one....only put €2 on him...but still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

fade2black wrote:

Tom Sayers is forecast to be 25-1 in the RP. If he's this or bigger he'll be huge value. Partucularly likes this track and this is his time of the year.

Fair play ! =D

fade2black wrote:

Backed into 9's and wins. You're a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

fade2black wrote:

damn meetings... missed this one :mad:

but had a few quid on made in montot... so cheers for that beaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Excellent ride and win there by Ruby on Colorado Pearl @ 6s. Rode that horse perfectly.

Nice to see that horse back in action too.

She's Our Native third, 1/3 so far today, not good enough :o

sjones wrote:

Yup.....I need Pseudonym to break even on my Canadian.

Any interest in Princess Riba 6:15 at Tipp?

zuutroy wrote:
    Any interest in Princess Riba 6:15 at Tipp?

It's a maiden race, and a bad one at that. I couldn't pick a winner on that card, I'd be better off closing my eyes and sticking a pin in the card mate. Terrible racing at Tipp today, the going is heavy, too many maiden races for me to get involved. Princess Riba is 20/1 with William Hill, according to the racingpost website. Don't let what I say turn you off it though, best of luck :)

sjones wrote:
    It's a maiden race, and a bad one at that. I couldn't pick a winner on that card, I'd be better off closing my eyes and sticking a pin in the card mate. Terrible racing at Tipp today, the going is heavy, too many maiden races for me to get involved. Princess Riba is 20/1 with William Hill, according to the racingpost website. Don't let what I say turn you off it though, best of luck :)

Cheers, I'm a bit of a noob. Got a nice tip for Stolen Summer the other day at Limerick, and the same source fancies Princess Riba today. Same jockey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

sjones wrote:

bummer... had my winnings from the 2.20 on She's Our Native

come on Pseudonym, put me in the black for the day :D

Pseudonym never jumped well at all and finished third. Well beaten, never had a chance really. Disaster of a day for my selections, fade's selection today saved me quite a bit it has to be said.

zuutroy wrote:
    Cheers, I'm a bit of a noob. Got a nice tip for Stolen Summer the other day at Limerick, and the same source fancies Princess Riba today. Same jockey.

Go for it then mate, I really wouldn't know what to do with the racing there today and I should not be followed, I had a terrible day today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Nice one Beaker, I owe you a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Its a terrible thing when work gets in the way of making money ;)
    Got a text from a mate this morning about beakers tip, but have been up to me eyes all day and missed the boat completely
    Nice one lads, you've got an admirable record this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

fade2black wrote:

excellent tip. i was so close to doing it instead of jiver because the ground was puttting me off but that just wraps up my last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 beaker21

Cheers lads, hope yous made a few bob off it. It was a bit close for comfort though! I only put half what I was I intended putting on it as he drifted and the fav came in...typical. It was a friend of mine (owns horses) that met someone involved with this horse in aintree so when I saw it drift I questioned it a bit. Think we were lucky Ruby was on board as he really nursed him around and he jumped well for him and surely he will come on for that run.

Another pal of mine has horses and meade told the trainer of them (don't really want to name him) that khetaam is "a bit of a machine" and not to bother runnning his horse in the same race as him. That was when he won in Wexford but he was 4/9. He said he was going to run him over the Easter weekend in Fairyhouse and reckoned he has plenty in hand over the handicapper. I think he is entered on Tuesday but not sure on price/jockey or even if he will definitely run. I presume Carberry will ride it if it runs. Not sure how helpful this is but I'd just say keep an eye on him if he runs.