Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tig vs nrg games

• 09-04-2006 5:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭

We'll need to be flexible about these games and try and get them out of the way tonight if possible. Also I'm gonna start work on a ladder system so if any of the NRG/BTC/1stIB/Boards guys would like to help then please let me know.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

Good game tonight lads, i could only play karkand due to lag issues i was having tho. Well played to all! But just a suggestion, see if you can figure out some way to pause your server guys, we were a man short for the last quarter of the second round and it did kinda bugger us not bein able to pause to get him back in :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

BF2CC is a steaming phile of turd tbh lads. I do all admin from ingame and it doesnt include pause. I had to fire up laptop after first round and was able to pause then.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Yeah i had a really good game too.

Enjoyed myself.

Thanks for the game guys:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 PREjuDiceD

BF2CC does have a pause button but CB rules at least state that the admins dont have to activate it until you are 2 men down;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Bring Back Kamikaze!!!!!!!!!!111111111111

You stirrer :p

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Second match was bloody great. There was good tactics deployed by tig and karma saved the game at one stage for ya with a handy grenade. But well played to all on both sides was a great laugh. Have to say I was a legend in the first round :D not so much in the second.... hate the Ak-101!!

Aye might sort out the demos if they are wanted ;)

Fairy

Aye might sort out the demos if they are wanted ;)

Demos?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

PREjuDiceD wrote:
    BF2CC does have a pause button but CB rules at least state that the admins dont have to activate it until you are 2 men down;)

1) I'd imagine that's when its 16 v 16, or 32 v 32, not 6 v 6 where one player can make a big difference.

2) This isn't CB league

3) Shutya mouth.

Silverfish wrote:
    1) I'd imagine that's when its 16 v 16, or 32 v 32, not 6 v 6 where one player can make a big difference.

2) This isn't CB league

3) Shutya mouth.

Exactly what i was gonna say :p

(sans the shutyamouth comment..lol)
    But yeah if demos are available id love to see em..especially after the ****in slaughter i did with the RPK in the second round...cause tbh i was useless in the first :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

PREjuDiceD wrote:
    BF2CC does have a pause button
    He never said it didn't, but it is a complete POS. used it on windows and linux and well its crap.

OK demos didnt record. Sorry, i really wanted to see them as well. And new release of BF2CC will inlclude an in game !pause command.

Also watch this space for a new boards.ie league.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

too bad about the demos, there were a couple of intense moments in the mash round, i remember a nade bouncing close to my head as i recapped our main...very very close.

as for the pause, losing one man shouldnt matter too much and the pause feature in bf2 is so fcuked up you cant even communicate ingame to the other team and it ruins teh demos..so meh.

NRG - you might have won that match last night, you have to loose your habit of having 3 active snipers tho, fair enough i know you like to play that class but in those inf games there are fairly pointless..

any good games, really enjoyed the games.

NRG - you might have won that match last night, you have to loose your habit of having 3 active snipers tho, fair enough i know you like to play that class but in those inf games there are fairly pointless..

I dunno about that.. Yeah they're not great for attacking but evd and scrapper are brilliant snipers - they held their own last night. Plus the claymore is the best defensive weapon in the game.
    any good games, really enjoyed the games.

Yeah - twas brilliant. Was competitive and good tactics were employed by both teams...

as for the pause, losing one man shouldnt matter too much and the pause feature in bf2 is so fcuked up you cant even communicate ingame to the other team and it ruins teh demos..so meh.

TBH karma losing one man in a 16 v 16 match doesnt make much odds but in a 6 v 6 one man can make or break a match. We were short a man for over 6 mins, mad e apretty big difference to us i can tell ya :(
    Still it was fun all round, i gotta sort out my lag tho..i get horrific lag when using TS and bf2 at the same time, its feckin sh!te :confused:
    I agree with Archy about the snipers too, scrapper and evd are complete f*ckers when they get thier hands on an m24 lol. And im not even gonna mention the bloody clays...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

i don't know, i dont play anything over 8v8, losing a man should only mean you stop your pushes and hold your flags until he gets back - depends. its not ideal i know but its one of those things that unfortunately happen in gaming, in previous bf series, pausing was a doddle, but its a complete mess in bf2 :(

as for snipers, i know the NRG guys can use them and drop claymores in the most annoying places, but in a 6v6 and you have 3 snipers and you need to assault a flag, then a sniper isnt much help tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

i don't know, i dont play anything over 8v8, losing a man should only mean you stop your pushes and hold your flags until he gets back - depends. its not ideal i know but its one of those things that unfortunately happen in gaming, in previous bf series, pausing was a doddle, but its a complete mess in bf2 :(

as for snipers, i know the NRG guys can use them and drop claymores in the most annoying places, but in a 6v6 and you have 3 snipers and you need to assault a flag, then a sniper isnt much help tbh.

yeah but who says you have to be a sniper for the whole round, I think snipers are a very good defensive player and if ya want to make a push to cap a flag jus spawn as support or medic. Once flag is capped then spawn as sniper again.

ps haven't played battlefield since oblivion came out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

imo atlest one sniper is needed to hold one flag and to try and eliminate the threat of people flanking in open terrain maps, plus clays are just brilliant....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Silverfish wrote:

2) This isn't CB league

3) Shutya mouth.

Hehe, i whole heartedly endorse this comment :D
    Vegeta wrote:
    ps haven't played battlefield since oblivion came out.

Sham on you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Some of the knife kills i got in them matches. Think was a couple in the warm up :rolleyes: Woulda liked the demos for em all & make a movie or sumfin ;)screen059.th.jpg screen051.th.jpg screen052.th.jpg screen053.th.jpg screen054.th.jpg screen055.th.jpg screen056.th.jpg screen057.th.jpg screen058.th.jpg

ive said it before and ill say it agian..sneaking up behind another man and inserting your weapon into him...theres freudian in there somewhere

I would hope that c4 kill in the last image was in the pregame stage :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

RE: First match..Karkland. Wow this was a fecking great game....Flags changin all the bloody time. TiG i gotta say your use of nades was bloody fantastic. Never di one arrive , It was always bloody two or three:mad:

I was wrecked after that match(massive hangover also) But deffo the most intense game i've played in a while. Did some one knife scrapper in-game...thought i heard him ffffing and other such nastys:p

And even better no slagging, Just handshakes all round :D

My hangover cleared very quickly during that game. I was playing a stormer in the first round and ye's went and full capped us. Lets set up an 8 v 8 for some night soon. Also a few of us have got dod:s and we have an Irish DoD:S server up. Its way more fun than bf2.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

I sold my copy of hl2 here on boards.. God knows why.:mad:

Also a few of us have got dod:s and we have an Irish DoD:S server up. Its way more fun than bf2.

Fairy

Feckin nades were annoying me all night, it wasn't the knife kill that berns got that sent me fffing it was an ak-101 kill after i had killed a few lads and then it was like boom one shot and im down. Evd was cursing alot though hehe, tis all fun though, i played in all 3 games and they were all great craic. I really must DOD:s i have the first one but ill need to buy the source version which animal keeps insisting i do. :D gg and pld to all :D:D:D

i kept getting lag and then id get shot it was wrecknig my head altogether, also those damn nades if ya see 1 ya can be guaranteed that there was another 3 on the way...

got karma with a couple of clays i think, that was my payback....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

First off ..twas a brilliant game ,unlucky Nrg nearly had us til Sir Karma of Tig saved or ass's ,and berns too defened our flags like pualo maldini

second .... Nrg you twats :mad: ....i had a nightmare about being chased around my town by snipers .:D
    man i need to watch more Tv and less pc

hehe thats me and scrapper for ya...

Yeah one of the higlights of the inf league for me so far i gotta say, but were onto your nade spamming now!! :D
    Great game guys, as for Dod:s ill keep an eye out, is your server still up? I played with yas for a bit during the free weekend and had a good laugh, but a warning, im even more of a whore with the MG42 than i am with the SAW :eek:
    Any of you lads play CS:S? I know its got a bit of a bad reputation but we setup our own CS:S server on the weekend and were playing some really fun games, we should have a bash of that some night too :D

And agreed with fairy yet again dod:s is more fun than bf2, i only enjoy infantry games in bf2, playing with arty/helis/planes can just get frustrating imo..

I dunno... I love the inf but I gotta say I love choppers and tanks and planes and all of that!!

Running around a corner and there being a tank in front of ya.... SRAW out - kneel - shoot - bamm... oh yeah... then realising that it did no damage to the tank... it swivels the turret and turns ya into a flyin swiss cheese thingy.... hmmm... cant beat it!

hah yeah i do love that too Archy, but theres soemthing about BF2 i cant put my finger on, maybe its the artillery, but i seem to spend half my games spawning and dying, spawning and dying, spawning and dying...
    But yeah you cant beat the feelin of takin down a chopper with a SRAW...unless youre taking down a Huey with an SA-7 :D

enough beating around the bush who won overall?????

Second match - NRG2 - Tig(dont know which one...) - don't know the exact score - was around 200 to 140? In the end some legendary defence led them to win but was a great match. Flags goin back and forward. Some great unit tactics by both sides... I think everyone had a brilliant game and twas well played by all on both sides... specially karma, sorry to single out anyone but in the end it came down to him saving the game for tig. But everyone played well!!!

By rounds then it was 5 - 1 to tig and over all matches is was 3 - 0 to tig but nothing in the games.

Fairy

ok so i guess TIG have the league won then, ah fairy ya crafty bugger starting a league just so ya could come first. We're on to you :p

Oh yeah... forgot there was another match on before that so NRG2 played in the third match!

actually veg i think theres still one more tig & nrg match to go..i though tthey were all over meself and sunday was the last day of the league but a chap in our clan informed me last night nrg1 have one more match vs tig. im still pickin shrapnel outta me hole from sunday ffs.. :D

LOL we where truly prawned by a boards.ie team on Masthur. I'm working on a ladder now at the moment. You will be able to challenge a team within 3 places of you etc.

Again it should be run as a fun competition and will be teams of 8. I am just putting together a temporary site at the moment.

Fairy

LOL we where truly prawned by a boards.ie team on Masthur. I'm working on a ladder now at the moment. You will be able to challenge a team within 3 places of you etc.

Again it should be run as a fun competition and will be teams of 8. I am just putting together a temporary site at the moment.

Fairy

My graphics card is dead and I don't know can i afford a new one, seriously I can smell burning components every time it crashes. The error i get from windows is to install the latest drivers but have done that already.

So now I have to decide what is a decent amount of money to pay for a graphics card to take part in the above ladder match, my pc gaming career could be over :(:(:(

Veg check your molex connector, the one that supplies power to the card. i had a similar problem with a 9800 pro, turned out the connector was loose and electricity was arcing over one of the pins and slowly frying it. I just reseated the connector and it worked fine afterwards, even if it was a little blackened

Vegeta wrote:
    So now I have to decide what is a decent amount of money to pay for a graphics card to take part in the above ladder match, my pc gaming career could be over

Noooooooooo!!
    Also I'm gonna start work on a ladder system so if any of the NRG/BTC/1stIB/Boards guys would like to help then please let me know.

Whats the story with this? Any more info? Need help and a million other questions....

I'm hoping to have the site live in the next few days. It'll be hosted on our domain for simplicity. I intend reging a domain for this, or better still if boards.ie can give us some then sweet. Something like ladders.boards.ie would be cool.

The php script I have isnt ideal as it doesnt cater for teams, ie lists of players, so you'll have to register like nrg as a player etc.

Teams will be 8 v 8 and will include all maps and all vehicles. You will be able to challenge teams and they have to play within so many days etc.

Fairy

Veg check your molex connector, the one that supplies power to the card. i had a similar problem with a 9800 pro, turned out the connector was loose and electricity was arcing over one of the pins and slowly frying it. I just reseated the connector and it worked fine afterwards, even if it was a little blackened

I'll try that mate cos it is also a 9800 pro and I have it slightly underclocked and everything. Probably not the right forum but did ya ever notice that no matter how much money you earn you are still in some form of debt. I blame my gf

Also Fairy quality idea