Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Poker Tour

• 06-04-2006 12:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭

This crowd is holding a tourny in Athlone tomorrow night, im thinking of going. Just wanted to know if anyone has been to one of their tournies, what are they like and is any boardsies attending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Here we go again....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Hi Optikus, some links from my blog:

http://www.redmurray.com/blog/?m=200509
    http://www.redmurray.com/blog/?m=200510

The links for some of the Boards posts can be found there as well.

That looks like one powerful set-up, btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

bohsman wrote:
    troll

Dont think so, Oscar. His posts in the tweaking/modding forum give him a good reputation, I think.

Fair enough, in that case I suggest a forum search as well as reading your links.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

Hi Optikus, some links from my blog:

http://www.redmurray.com/blog/?m=200509
    http://www.redmurray.com/blog/?m=200510

The links for some of the Boards posts can be found there as well.

That looks like one powerful set-up, btw!

Thanks for the links Lenny, excellenet read. Love the comment on Westmeath women.;)
    I really considering giving this one a miss now but its seems to be the only poker tournament frequenting athlone these days. So i might just go and have a look as i have a few mates who are attending.

As for being a troll, i had no idea there had been so much controversy over CPT on boards. So bohsman, sorry for not using the search function, im at work at the moment and it is not something i generally do before posting for some helpful information, please forgive my post hastiness!

On another note, I play on Boylepoker.com and and heard they were doing a tourny in athlone before anyone know if this is still currently going on? (boards search function didn't turn up any useful info, btw Bohsman)

It wouldnt be the poker forum if people didnt feel unwelcome, sorry about that theres 2 or 3 topics that generally lead to war on here the cpt being one.

The Boylepoker event would have been run by pokerevents but no sign of anything on their website or the tournament section here.

Other than that Im told theres a new casino open/opening in Athlone who should be doing poker.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

We have not had a good fight in a while on here,I taught this was the one.We can all go back into the long grass again,our day will come.

Welcome to the forum Optikus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

[On another note, I play on Boylepoker.com and and heard they were doing a tourny in athlone before anyone know if this is still currently going on? (boards search function didn't turn up any useful info, btw Bohsman)[/QUOTE]

Living in Ballinasloe I played it a few times started off with about 75-80 players ended up with less than 50 by the time I left while the CPT was getting nearly 200. Hard to travel 13 miles and payI played poker events after reading this website but despite the warnings here I have to say the CPT does invest a lot of money in marketing, posters everywhere and adds on local radio which poker events never did. Hence the lack of interest and why there not there anymore. Feck all else around apart from some pub in Athleague. Big opening there for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

Pokerevents will be back in Athlone from the 1st week in May for a weekly event.
    Will post full details tomorrow when all details are confirmed.

Fintan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Heh, you certainly didn't waste any time their and rightly so, if CPT are the only option available to players, I feel for these players...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Optikus

Thanks for the info guys, decided i am going to give CTP a miss seems like even if you don't need the re-buys, most will be availing of the half time top up, so it seems hard not to be tempted by it, which will bring the amount spent to e80. And to battle through 200+ players for 5k, doesn't seem worth it imo. Gonna stick to Boyle online for the moment and try and win myself one of those seats in their grand final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Optikus if you go please don't sit there with the lambs and let CPT screw you over.

Ask them what the reg fee is for.
    Ask them how many rebuys and top ups there were.
    Do the math and ask them wher the **** the rest of the prizepool is.
    Spread the word and get other players questioning CPT's prizepools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I see they are in Clondalkin on Sunday at Green Isle Hotel.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Culchie wrote:
    I see they are in Clondalkin on Sunday at Green Isle Hotel.

Looks like they are getting closer to competing with the card clubs in the city,the chancers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Move to the sub-forum. Of course all new posters to the poker forum are welcome but like many other forums lets read the charter first please.