Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone here do Kenpo?

• 04-04-2006 3:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭

If so which level are you at? I'm going for yellow belt next monday. Single grab attack is an asshole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭kenpo_dave

Hey EFC-4eva.

I train in this place www.rathdownkenpo.com. I am currently on blue belt. I could be on green but training has been slow due to work. Which club do you train in?

"Single grab attack is an asshole"

Which one would that be...:confused: Theres loads of techniques against grabs :D

Good Luck in your grading.

Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭EFC-4eva

I train with Blessington Karate Club. The single grab for yellow belt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Hey EFC,

You have made your first step into the world of Kenpo, fair play! I'm sure you'll do fine in your grading. I do a bit of the aul' Kenpo myself. I've been doing it on and off for a good while now. I currently have my first degree black belt. But I don't really train in a club any more per se, I'm becoming a recluse in my old age:) . Although I do go to for private lessons the odd time, just to keep up to date. I'm very much into “Cobatives” at the moment, and have been for the last few years.

As Kenpo Dave said, which grab?? There are sooo many, and you will be pleased to know that there even more when you start getting those belts down:D . But don't let that put you off, you will get the hang of it. It's just practice, I was the same! If you need any advise just let me know, and I'll try my best to help you out (not that I'm a kenpo guru or anything).
    Nice talking to you.

Hi Kenpodave,
    And you're on the old blue belt? Nice one. The blue belt is tough, but it's a lot of fun. Loads of freestyle tho'. Phew! Hope you get to green soon.
    Cheers guys,

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭padraigcarroll

I did Kenpo for a couple of years, got to brown belt.....
    what a waste of time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I did kenpo for about 7 years, a couple with John Kavanagh as my instructor... hahah

I havent done kenpo in about 8 years.

Peace

No they are both made up styles that are ultimately American in origin. They claim to have there origin in the early practicle boxing methods or "fist methods" of shaolin kung fu. In reality, in Ireland your gonna be learning something Ed Parker or Larry Tatum or anyone else, just made up, it may have "come from" Japanese JJ and Karate and Akido mixed in but I think it is the poorer cusin of all of those.

here is the answer your probably looking for: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenpo

hope that helps

Peace

I have a leather belt with "shaolin kempo" and "the" 2 fists on it. Its deadly and is older than me. I swopped it from the son of one of the first Irish kempo black belts for a six pack of bud or a bottle of wine years ago. I have worn it ever since! Hell yeah, this belt has more lineage than most kenpo or kempo! Haha

Hey padraigcarroll,

That's not exactly a very helpful remark for some guy who's just starting out. If you don't like it fair enough, but there is no need to slagg it off. After all there are pitfalls in every Matial Art.

Also doing any form of Martial Arts will give you the a great sense of body control and motion. Once you know these principles you can apply to any art as you see fit.

B.

Baggio,

I have to agree with padraigcarroll

Had I spent those 7 years boxing, I'd be boxing for Ireland, if I spent them wrestling I'd be wrestling for Ireland (something I hope to do next year) if I did Thai I'd be doing thai for Ireland, but instead I had to go and start everything from scratch. Sure doing Kenpo helped my coordination, timing etc etc and luckily I had one of the good kenpo instructors but honestly you can invest your time far more wisely than doing kenpo... with the usual proviso; you are talking about functional fighting, not just fun. I have no doubt kenpo is great fun for hundreds of thousands of people.

Peace

Yeah, Fianna I know what you are saying. I guess I just wanted to give the guy some encouragement. But point taken.

Cheers,

Bagg.

Sorry Baggio,

I meant to say in my post but didnt, I agree with you about encouraging a beginner rather than discouraging one. I suppose the whole martial arts community should welcome all new commers, to what ever martial art the choose. We are all one. haha

I also forgot...
    kenpo_dave wrote:
    "Single grab attack is an asshole"

Which one would that be...:confused: Theres loads of techniques against grabs :D

I think this is the one where you do a cat stance, grab the wrist with one hand, up strike to the elbow with the other (which straightens the arm) then you twist the hand around to do a straight arm bar then side kick the the head and back off (read soccer kick haha). Amazing htat I thought that would work for so long.

Peace

Hey Emu,

We did a bit of that stuff as well. It's a good laugh. Although I gotta' say I hated the Bo staff. Ewww!

Really liked the old Numchuck. Although they are feckin' dangerous. I had loads of bumps on my noggin'. I never got round to the double Sai's though:D . Just as well, I'd prolly stab myself.

Bagg.

Hey Fianna,

No worries... but I hear ya'.

Aye, were are one big happy family here;) .

Later bro',

B.

PS - man, there are way too many wrist grab stuff, in Combatives we have just the one! OK maybe 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I agree with Fianna and Padraig. My only advice to anyone doing Kenpo is that if your aim is to be able to be a competent fighter give it up. If its to get fit, give it up. If it's because you like the flashy techniques and people, then train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭EFC-4eva

thanks all the same but as far as Im aware there are World Kenpo Championships as well.

THere are world championships for kenpo. Loads of them, so many infact that they are pretty much meaningless. Unlike Wrestling where if you are the olympic LW champion you are alone. Not like kenpo where someone with the same "title" lives in the next county.

Also, Boxing, Wrestling and Mauy Thai are really effective Martial Arts. And are applicable in "Ulitmate fighting". I, like many on this board, are trying to excel at the sport of "Ultimate fighting" (knows as mixed martial arts) and had I spent the time I did kenpo doing boxing, mauy thai or wrestling I feel there is no doubt I would be vastly more competative than I am now.

I do freestyle wrestling.

Peace

Baggio... wrote:
    Hey padraigcarroll,

That's not exactly a very helpful remark for some guy who's just starting out. If you don't like it fair enough, but there is no need to slagg it off. After all there are pitfalls in every Matial Art.

Also doing any form of Martial Arts will give you the a great sense of body control and motion. Once you know these principles you can apply to any art as you see fit.

B.

Hey Baggio!

Ah I wasn't slagging it off now, I really enjoyed it when I was doing it, but it just wasnt functional, and at the time i didnt know any better.

I learned almost no striking skills (unless you consider learning to lose inhibitions regarding sticking ur fingers in peoples eyes a skill, which i sometimes say i do if im looking for a verbal/textual argument!), no grappling skills, in fact..... it really didnt even get me fit in the least little bit.

Im not slagging it off, just saying it was a waste of time for me in my experience, I did a lot of privates too, all wasted money. Bought videos & belts and patches...... worthless.

I'd advise anyone in Kenpo/new to Kenpo/considering taking up Kenpo, to pay close attention to what Colm & Fianna are saying, they are both experienced teachers of functional fight training/Martial arts/MMA with experience in training in Kenpo, so they speak with a very valid point of view!!!

Hey EFC-4eva,

If your enjoying the Kenpo stick with it. You've taken your first step into Martial Arts and fair play to you. You can always check out the other stuff at another point (I recommend you get some concepts down from RBSD.), but at least get the basics of your Kenpo down first.

The guys on the board are very non-traditional, and I'm guilty of it myself. Fianna is right, Boxing is great (one of the best in my opinion), and would really add something to your training. I do a bit of boxing myself, and the combatives mechanics are very similar (Praise be to Jack Dempsey for the Falling step!!).

Best thing is to:
    1.Don't listen to the Bulsh**
    2.Forget the politics
    3.Enjoy your training

P.S. - Not too sure why Colm said it's not good for fitness??:confused: Try doing those "flashy" techniques a couple of hundred times and let me know how you feel after it?

Hey padraigcarroll,

Again like Fianna I know where you are coming from. I don't regret my time in Kenpo, its been a laugh and helped me through. But I'm really glad I got into the other stuff at the same time. MMA, Boxing and BJJ are excellent arts and there is no denying their merit, especially if you want to toughen yourself up. However, I have chosen my own path as you guys all know. But I still have a soft spot for the old Kenpo. I thought it was great going for my yellow belt.

We all gotta' start somewhere.

Later,

Bagg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

Baggio... wrote:
    MMA, Boxing and BJJ are excellent arts

MMA is not an 'art' - its an idea, a concept. its a training method which will lead you down the road to certain unavoidable conclusions. what are they? well thats something you gotta find for yourself:D

Apologies... Figure of speech.

I'd say the same thing with combatives:) .

Bagg.

I really should have stickied my post on fitness.

So if I do a whole load of techniques over a long enough time I'll eventually build up some low level endurance skills. Sorry, I've got to go answer the door.

Back now.

If you're doing an ma for fitness (and we'll use the bastardised I can run all day =fitness concept here) you need to be physically active at a high enough level every class for that to happen. The arts/sports/ideas that have been mentioned fulfil that purpose.

For **** sake!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can someone not ask a simple question about a style on here without you MMA ***** style bashing. In my opinion John Kavanagh, Pearse, and most others one here that CLAIM to have black belts in Kenpo got them in MCDOJOS.

Now Im sorry for losing my head here but this is the lack of respect and decency that others have mentioned that exists in the bull**** modern "martial arts" that some claim to be doing. You guys are a disgrace to the Martial Arts community...SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

For **** sake!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can someone not ask a simple question about a style on here without you MMA ***** style bashing. In my opinion John Kavanagh, Pearse, and most others one here that CLAIM to have black belts in Kenpo got them in MCDOJOS.

Now Im sorry for losing my head here but this is the lack of respect and decency that others have mentioned that exists in the bull**** modern "martial arts" that some claim to be doing. You guys are a disgrace to the Martial Arts community...SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dave you rock. Seriously. Brilliant!

If someone gives an honest opinion about kenpo/kempo/kempoo...

1) Call it MMA style bashing

2) Ask about there qualifications in Kenpo

3) Contest whether those who have blackbelts REALLY have blackbelts

4) Dismiss those qualified as being from bs schools. "They have bad kenpo. Not like mine."

5) Accuse anyone who knocks kenpo as being disrespectful

6) say what other people do is "bull sh1t modern martial arts" thus invalidating point No. 5

So Dave who's to say you aren't from a kenpo MC DOJO? What rank are you Dave? What are YOUR kenpo achievements.......

Look, I lost my head and I apologise for that. But the fact remains that based on the posts in this thread it is clear that most have little knowledge about the various styles of Kenpo. Theres is Chuan Fa in Ireland. And any American Kenpo system in Ireland is going to be Ed Parkers system, despite what the club claims it is...be it Larry Tatum Kenpo or what ever. You sports people need to WAKE UP and see the difference between sports fighting and self defense, and the vast difference in the opponents in each type of fighting. Guys on the street are NOT going to be able to fight as well as a fighting athlete, and are certainly not going to have any decent grappling. From what Ive seen theres very little difference in the techniques that are taught in Combatives and what we do in Kenpo. I fully agree that the training methods are important for any type of training, but you cant judge an entire style based on your experiences in a few clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Dave you haven't addressed any of my points or answered any of my questions...

One more question: Why did you take it personally when Kenpo was criticised?
    You sports people need to WAKE UP

That my friend would be you. How's your standup going? Now that you're doing some realistic sparring rather than that Kenpo drivel I mean. :) I would imagine starting Kyokushinkai sparring you were like a beginner for all the good your kratty did you.

Also considering YOUR ignorance throughout your stay on boards.ie (I was looking back over many of your posts) you really have no right to tell others that they are ignorant to your Kenpoo ways.
    Guys on the street are NOT going to be able to fight as well as a fighting athlete, and are certainly not going to have any decent grappling.
    That shouldn't be used to excuse any poor grappling or striking on the part of the "street" interested person. You want to be able to unarmed streetfight? Take a leaf out of Millionaire's book and go get the crap knocked out of you at a thai gym. Paul Kelly, Paddy Clint and Dave Joyce (amongst many others) all produce excellent standup fighters). Maybe get your grappling and striking skills to a decent level before you start telling everyone else how little they know.

Does your charlatanry know no bounds?

My qualifications:

Second ever Junior Black Belt with the IKKS (one month after my friend at the time)

First ever person in IKKS to go from Junior Black Belt to Senior Black Belt in IKKS.

Kenpo Instructors: John Birch and Danny Gilligan - both very well respected in Kenpo circles, trained under Barney Coleman and Shay Paget (sp?)

Taught in Drimnagh, and brought children to competitive level (even travelled to Killarney were incidentally JK was competing in the grappling)

Got drunk with fellow instructor, starting watching UFC 3 because some Kenpo guy was in it (Keith Hackney)

Said: Hey, let's have a look at this ground stuff, saw ad for Ian Freeman seminar.

Went along, was exactly what the doctor ordered, ground n pound. Which was great because "we've got our stand up covered with the Kenpo" - actual quote myself and Ian said on the way home!

Went to second one a few months later, decided needed to learn this ground stuff.

Brief break for leaving.

JK pulls me kicking and screaming out of The Matrix (though in my mind I've erased that and embraced alive training immediately)

BSc (Sports Management)

So I'm more than qualified to talk about whether Kenpo is effective

Morning Colum. Sorry about my posts last night. Reading over them now, Im saying to myself 'Man Im an asshole when Im drunk' :o
    My qualifications:

Second ever Junior Black Belt with the IKKS (one month after my friend at the time)

First ever person in IKKS to go from Junior Black Belt to Senior Black Belt in IKKS.

Kenpo Instructors: John Birch and Danny Gilligan - both very well respected in Kenpo circles, trained under Barney Coleman and Shay Paget (sp?)

Taught in Drimnagh, and brought children to competitive level (even travelled to Killarney were incidentally JK was competing in the grappling)

Got drunk with fellow instructor, starting watching UFC 3 because some Kenpo guy was in it (Keith Hackney)

Said: Hey, let's have a look at this ground stuff, saw ad for Ian Freeman seminar.

Went along, was exactly what the doctor ordered, ground n pound. Which was great because "we've got our stand up covered with the Kenpo" - actual quote myself and Ian said on the way home!

Went to second one a few months later, decided needed to learn this ground stuff.

Brief break for leaving.

JK pulls me kicking and screaming out of The Matrix (though in my mind I've erased that and embraced alive training immediately)

BSc (Sports Management)

So I'm more than qualified to talk about whether Kenpo is effective

Hey Colm. Ye thats a good background. Thing is though, Ive used Kenpo and so have most people I know in Kenpo. Now, we all accept that a Thai Boxer, or whatever, would own us. But were not training to fight Thai Boxers or Kyokushin fighters. To me Kenpo is simply for people who have no interest in competing full contact or in MMA, but just want to defend against attakers when out with their friends/family, and Kenpo does give this, provided that the training methods are sound. Also, as far as I understand it, the Karate in American Kenpo is just a base and that in the higher grades it becomes more like JKD.

Im sorry if I pissed anyone off, or offended anyone with my previous posts...I never want to do that. It was all really just a drunken ramble. :o

Regards,

Dave.

Kenpo Dave has a point & I can see why he lost his head.

Look here's a guy new to Martial Arts and is looking for anyone else who's done some Kenpo. He did not ask for a critique. I just think it's bad form for someone new to hear that type of negative talk. If someone posted “here lads what do you think of Kenpo” that would be one thing. We should encouraging guys who take their first step into Martial Arts. Even if you YOU think it's not the correct path.

Yeah, Colm you been around and I'm sure you know your stuff. Remember not everyone wants to get in a ring like you guys. Your into that sort of thing, cool... I personally find the sport side not to my particular taste. Again that's just my opinion. Not every one has to be “Ring fit". Some people just do it for sheer enjoyment, so what's the big problem?

Cheers,

Bagg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

kenpo_dave wrote:

Now Im sorry for losing my head here but this is the lack of respect and decency that others have mentioned that exists in the bull**** modern "martial arts" that some claim to be doing. You guys are a disgrace to the Martial Arts community...SHAME ON YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:

lol! ah the true colours shine:D yes I'M the one with 'lack of respect' because i make a point using logic, reason and good mannors - but you can come on screaming, using bag language etc now who's the 'disgrace to the Martial Arts community'?

Hey John. Yes I know you were civil and your post actually had nothing to do with Kenpo. But as I said, my original posts were just a drunken ramble, and I am ashamed for losing control like that :o

Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

This thread really epitomises why I usually don't post on the martial arts board... its full of childish tit for tat... your martial art is crap, mine is better because blah blah fvckin blah. Why does every thread turn into a pissing contest on here, are you all feeling slightly inadequate?

Seriously, at what stage did the OP ask if kenpo was good/bad/better/worse that anything??

To the OP: You'll do fine in the grade, you're not expected to master the techniques at this stage. Best advice is the same as for all exams - relax. You wouldn't be going forward for the test if your instructor didn't feel you were ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Hits close to home when Kenpo is the topic. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Just on a point of interest...

Any time any of you use the term "Kratty" on these boards or in your day to day lives, you owe me a fiver. I've decided to make some money out of my coinage (coin out of my coinage? Anyone.... no?)

Colum, €5 please, I accept paypal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

I did kenpo way back for a month. Up in Rathgar.

They taught an older "style" of kenpo, the style 1st introduced in ireland in the 60s.

I was on a kickboxing buzz, and only took up kenpo because I lived not too far away. to one day , one of them lunged at me with a big reserve punch, I stepped to the side, and clipped him in the mouth with a left hook. BANG!

That was the end of me and kenpo!!!

Still it got cool stance with all those hand movements!!

Howdy',

For me Kenpo was my first really good experience in the Marital Arts, I had checked out a few other styles, but could never really get interested. I owe it a lot, as if it wasn't for Kenpo I'd probably never be doing Combatives or any form of RBSD.

It's very easy to pick holes in any traditional system, but when I started back in the late 80's there was nothing else. Okay, combatives was technically around but was totally unheard of over here.

It was only due to people like Geoff Thomson who started to wake people up to the reality of street fighting in the 90s. But even then, it took a good five years for it to be cemented over here. But I don't regret any of my experience and I will continue to practice Kenpo as I enjoy the training.
    But for real violence if I'm ever forced to use it (hopefully never) I will use combatives.

Baggio.

Peace wrote:
    This thread really epitomises why I usually don't post on the martial arts board... its full of childish tit for tat... your martial art is crap, mine is better because blah blah fvckin blah. Why does every thread turn into a pissing contest on here, are you all feeling slightly inadequate?

Seriously, at what stage did the OP ask if kenpo was good/bad/better/worse that anything??

To the OP: You'll do fine in the grade, you're not expected to master the techniques at this stage. Best advice is the same as for all exams - relax. You wouldn't be going forward for the test if your instructor didn't feel you were ready.

Dude! you wasted one of your few posts here, by whinging about rants etc....... by having your very own little rant!

The OP asked what level anyone who did kenpo was at & that it was his view that a technique was 'an asshole'.... I replied with my opinion, that it pretty much all was 'an asshole'!!

I don't think there's anything wrong with trying to give advice or even the benefit of your experience. Maybe he doesnt want it or care.... but arent the boards for discussing topics,sharing info, debating, disagreeing and so on.....?, which everyone here has done.....for the most part politely.

You should take note of Baggio's last response, he likes and trains in Kenpo, and explained why in a way that can't be argued with.

Baggio... wrote:
    Howdy',

It's very easy to pick holes in any traditional system, but when I started back in the late 80's there was nothing else. Okay, combatives was technically around but was totally unheard of over here.

Baggio.

Thats a very true point. I started in '84 down the country, and all you had was the local "karate" club in the parish hall(everything was referred to as "karate" back then).

Often the local karate club, was run my a green belt, who maybe did a few years of training in dublin or something, and no one knew how to teach, or train. I even remember when I was like 14, the instructor not showing up for weeks and I had to teach the classes full of older men!!! :confused:

We talked about this on another post, and Dave Joyce back me up on this too. training was basic, sparring was often full contact or uncontrolled. guys sparring full out with light bag gloves as there was a lack of gear. unsupervised sparring. injuires!

It easy these days to put down that old way of training, or laugh at it or whatever.

But as Baggio, and me and Dave and probably others on here...it was all there was available to us back then.

Ok I know the Dubs and others in big towns had more choice etc. but down the country you had very limited options, and kickboxing was the cutting edge back then.

So point is, these TMAs, or badly coached Free for All kickboxing clubs, was what put alot of us where we are today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

I'm probably beating a dead dog here but anyhow:

I've studied American Kenpo Karate under Ed Downey in Celbridge for the past two years. I'm currently a blue belt, roughly three months from getting my green. In reference to all the give out over how other systems are better than Kenpo, I've never seen or heard anyone at our club who claims that Kenpo is better or worse than any other art/style/training system.

Kenpo in my mind is a very accessible self-defence art, there is a huge range of ages, fitness levels, abilities and dedications in our class. This is something I feel that the "better" styles have trouble with. I personally am quite fit, I run, rockclimb, do bag work and weights regularly. I could probably study BJJ and Thai Boxing, though I doubt somehow that some of the older and less fit people in my class could handle such strenuous physical work (My opinion anyhow).

On the issue of Kenpo getting you fit, it does...... if you want it to. You aren't forced to endure a lot of physical work but if you want to you can. It won't be spoon-fed to you.

I've got nothing against any other arts or styles, actually I plan to start BJJ or Aikido in college next year. Increase my vocabulary of motion and all that jazz. On the original poster's topic, go for it, the Yellow Belt grading is fine, just remember to watch your face when you're sparring!

My two cents.

Bobby

I could probably study BJJ and Thai Boxing, though I doubt somehow that some of the older and less fit people in my class could handle such strenuous physical work (My opinion anyhow).
    Bobby,
    That's a misconception, and an ageist one at that! (though I'm sure you didn't mean it;) ). Sure, age has an effect on your fitness, but all this does is limit the intensity of your work, not whether you can do it or not. The "less fit" become fitter in a good art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 MarkBrophy

cool post bobby
    Kenpo in my mind is a very accessible self-defence art, there is a huge range of ages, fitness levels, abilities and dedications in our class. This is something I feel that the "better" styles have trouble with. I personally am quite fit, I run, rockclimb, do bag work and weights regularly. I could probably study BJJ and Thai Boxing, though I doubt somehow that some of the older and less fit people in my class could handle such strenuous physical work

what you say is very true. also even those who are physicly able to train muay thai or even boxing may not enjoy the high inytensity these clubs tend to train at. Bjj on the other hand should be a more laid back affair and open to all ages. It is however a different fighting range.

Roper wrote:
    Bobby,
    That's a misconception, and an ageist one at that! (though I'm sure you didn't mean it;) ). Sure, age has an effect on your fitness, but all this does is limit the intensity of your work, not whether you can do it or not.

Hmmm, fair enough. I can honestly say the only experience I have of BJJ and Thai boxing are watching the odd training session from the Gym in Belfield. It always looked like you needed to be exceedingly fit and strong for it, but obviously not, you no doubt know more than me so I'll take your word for it.
    Roper wrote:
    The "less fit" become fitter in a good art

Thats an interesting point. I don't believe its the art but more so the teacher who influences the fitness level of the classes. In Celbridge at least, if you attend classes from different instructors you will notice that some prefer to take forty minutes for a good work out at the start and have a high intensity session whereas others prefer to have a shorter warmup and work more on the technical or theoretical aspect of the Art. I'm sure something roughly the same equates across in other arts and systems.

I don't believe its the art but more so the teacher who influences the fitness level of the classes. In Celbridge at least, if you attend classes from different instructors you will notice that some prefer to take forty minutes for a good work out at the start and have a high intensity session whereas others prefer to have a shorter warmup and work more on the technical or theoretical aspect of the Art. I'm sure something roughly the same equates across in other arts and systems.
    Well I won't go too deep into my own opinions on people who do short warm-ups and loooong "technical" sessions. If you do a good warm-up that includes some basic calisthenics, followed by a training session in which you are physically challenged, followed by sparring at a level that pushes you with a resistant partner, you're going to get fitter. That applies to damn near everyone.

Next time you're in Belfield in the gym you should pop down to the BJJ or Thai boys. They post here.

The Shane was once a student of Ed Downey, until I freed him from The Matrix (well, you can't free anyone, all you can do is offer them the choice :D )

Now he regularly kicks my ass. Funny how life works out.

The Irish Fighter a while back had an article by someone who trains with John and only took up ma in his later years. He boxes, wrestles, does some zhoo zhitsu. It's a great article if you can source a copy, and Ed probably would have one.

I'm confused, who is "The Shane"?
    Roper wrote:
    Next time you're in Belfield in the gym you should pop down to the BJJ or Thai boys

I don't have much free time at the moment, the weather's getting too nice not to hit out rockclimbing but I'll give the BJJ a go in September.

Speaking of age...

There is a Kickboxing gym in Meath Street run by Fillippo Fusco who must be near 67 68 now!! well Fusco did not start Kickboxing until be was 46 or something. I remember him at courses with a white belt and 2 black tags on it about 20 years ago.

Age does not matter!

Millionaire,

Your dead right! I remember “Karate” back then, in some cold parish hall taught by a “red belt” or something like that. Up and down the hall doing the reverse punch. Ewww!:D

Hi Bobby,

I can see where you are coming from in you previous post, but in my opinion Kenpo is very “unaccessible”. It has a steep learning curve like other TMA, and takes years to lean. You also spend lots of time learning material that is not that usable in combat. Stuff like Jumping back spinning kicks, cat stances, forms, etc. (that stuff takes years to be able to do properly). Also, despite what Kenpoists say, the body mechanics are not really all that natural or efficient (although I don't know any kenpoist who will actually admit to it). Again I really enjoy my Kenpo training and I'll keep doing it, as you said it's a great way to stay fit, etc. But when people ask me what's the best way to defend yourself in the shortest amount of time, I always reply Combatives or Boxing. Now I'm not saying that Boxing or Combatives are a piece of cake by any means, and could take years to master, but the befits are virtually immediate (within 6 months of hard training you could defend yourself). I personally think they much more logical and streamlined for the mind to learn. Plus the body mechanics are perfect. You can develop huge hitting power in over a very short distance. You could also say the same thing for kick boxing, but I feel kicks are not very reliable for the street, great to have in the arsenal, but punching should be the first priority. Again, I'm not trying to bash TMA or Knepo by any means, but that's just my personal opinion on the subject of S.D.

Cheers guys,

Baggio.

I back that up ...combatives are excellent....
    but must be backed up with hard hard training.

and yes within 6 months or so, you will develop "basic" and effective skills.
    back that up with hard boxing, kickboxing or Thai boxing,,, and you are rocking!

Cheers M,

But it's like you said, any stuff has got to be backed up by hard training.

Later,

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 flufferama01

Hi EFC-4ev,
    In response to the question you asked before it all descended with dull predictability into the usual bolloxology, I’ve been training in kenpo for a couple of years now.
    I have a fantastic instructor and I really enjoy it.
    Far more importantly, kenpo works as I found one evening when a particularly nasty piece of scum lunged at me.
    I’ve no interest in most of the crap on this board, I’m a woman who wants to be able to defend herself in a worst case scenario and then get the hell away from the situation.
    Stick with the kenpo if you’re enjoying it and good luck with the belt grading.

Hi flufferama01

Where do you train and who with?
    What the deal with your screen name mean?

Peace

Oh yeah bolloxology? The study of Bollox?