Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Gothic question

• 03-04-2006 11:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭

My girlfriend wants to dress as a Goth. How should she go about it? Are piercings a prerequisite? Does she need to go plastering make-up about the face? And finally is died (sorry) hair a necessity? Thank you in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

you dont need anything to dress as a goth. She should know herself what clothes appeal to her. I never realised my dress sense was gothic until my mother started commenting on it and girls in school started calling me Wednesday Addams.
    I just pick out clothes I like, whether it be from Asha, Penneys, Bershka or River Island.
    There is no particular "uniform" for someone to fit into the "goth" label.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Diarmiud

Interesting. Wednesday Adams. She dressed in black all the time didnt she? Hmmm...

why does your gf want to start dressing in a gothic style? Is it a fashion craze at the moment? Anyway she should just wear what she likes, nothing is a prerequisite and most people dont really set out to dress to conform to a particular label.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Diarmiud wrote:
    My girlfriend wants to dress as a Goth. How should she go about it? Are piercings a prerequisite? Does she need to go plastering make-up about the face? And finally is died (sorry) hair a necessity? Thank you in advance.

No, no need for piercings, or dyed hair, and as far as make-up goes, definetly don't go overboard.

Clothing wise, the best possible thing would be a corset. Then go with a long skirt.

Here's some examples:

Lolitagothcorset.jpg
    Picture-20036.jpg
    pic40.jpg

Go with some deep, rich colours. Deep reds, blues and purples work best. Same with lipstick.

Just remember to avoid the whole '14 year old Marylin Manson fan' look. Nothing worse really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

One can wear all black, or can wear dark colours. Many goths like to wear something striking (a dark veil like scarf, for example), but not all do so. It does look damn hot, tho:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Black with various bits of red/white/green work well.

Plenty of ideas to keep her busy. Thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Why is she doing it?
    She should know what she likes!
    Tell her to cop on.
    Your soul must be black like mine to pull off always wearing black. :v:
    Well, maybe get her the clothes, just because they rock my pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Diarmiud wrote:
    Plenty of ideas to keep her busy. Thanks

Happy to help, but I think we should have pics of the finished product. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I used to be called Morticia as I wore a tight black laced up velvet top and black velvet skirt. I did put on white powder but could never fully feel a goth as I have blonde hair...I have dressed like that a lot of the time since I was 16 but I also vary it just to be shocking (plus I like the rock look also). I have a black lace crochet dress on today, makeup minimal and will be wearing a black cape. I do not deliberatly dress in a gothic style but it is the style that I have always liked - see the Pre Raphelite Brothers paintings (eg Gabrielle Rosetti) and you are getting close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Morrigan

>_<
    So she wants to dress as a goth...? is it for a costume party?
    I recommend she tries listening to some music - Joy Division, Bauhaus, Christian Death, Fields of the Nephilim, Sisters of Mercy...

She should feel comfortable enough to find her own style, then. There are no rules, really. Advise her not to shell out for overpriced, branded crap from Asha and goth fashion websites. A waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Banphrionsa

Diarmiud wrote:
    My girlfriend wants to dress as a Goth...is died (sorry) hair a necessity? Thank you in advance.

"is died hair a necessity"? Only if she's a ghost.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

its a bit wierd of her to want to suddenly dress like a goth. Its better to just follow your own sense of style. some days i look like a rocker, somedays a hippy, sometimes a bit goth etc just depends on my mood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

Diarmiud wrote:

lol, she should know herself how goths dress doesnt she go out and about and see them for herself? anyway she should just dress how she likes and her own style wills suit her the best.

but trying to anser ur Q most goths have certain common traits, like a lot of them dye their hair black and other colours or streaks of other colours in their hair, a good few have piercings (ears/nose mostly) and most of them seem to like being pale looking (they aint into having a tan that for sure!) a lot of the girls put that white powder on and it cakes then into the sides of their noses.. not nice.. i think that part of the goth look aint nice at all..

oh and a pair of doc martens wont go astray! (i still have my docs from my hippy teen days (not goth sorry), they are decorated with my own graffiti, ah i loved them boots)

hmm any way Diarmuid wouldnt u prefer your girl to dress the way she feels comfortable and not try to conform to a stereotype on purpose? Cheers

its a bit wierd of her to want to suddenly dress like a goth. Its better to just follow your own sense of style. some days i look like a rocker, somedays a hippy, sometimes a bit goth etc just depends on my mood

It is. I dont know whats after getting into her. Although I have the feeling she wants to observe the Goth in its natural environment. See what makes the average Goth tick.

eh...would it not be cheaper to just ask a goth what makes them tick, as opposed to forking out on clothes, and eh...tattoos like you mentioned:confused:

That would be the conventional way of doing things. However, one sometimes has to obtain a different perspective. Approach it from a different angle.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nightwish wrote:
    eh...would it not be cheaper to just ask a goth what makes them tick, as opposed to forking out on clothes, and eh...tattoos like you mentioned:confused:
    She has to infiltrate your group of goths and gain precious goth info.

Diarmiud wrote:
    That would be the conventional way of doing things. However, one sometimes has to obtain a different perspective. Approach it from a different angle.

Perhaps she thinks that your attraction for her would be greatly intensified if she were to dress Goth? Maybe a piercing someplace to draw your attention?;)

Perhaps she thinks that you're attraction for her would be greatly intensified if she were to dress Goth?;)
    I know it works for some of us.

Oh, it can, indeed! In many species the male is the center of attention, with plumes and colourful feathers. But for homo sapien sapiens, the female must decorate themselves to attract the males. Yes, there are clothes, jewelry, and makeup, but there's also that walk, that talk, and, what the French call "long live the difference!"

The poor, plain heterosexual male. Have pity on him. Hes just a...pea-hen

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Diarmiud wrote:
    The poor, plain heterosexual male. Have pity on him. Hes just a...pea-hen

Guys got it good! They can roll out of bed in the morning, run a comb through the hair or not, brush teeth, and forget to shave, claiming a designer beard and look cool.:cool: While gals got it bad with hours of prep just to look good for the guys. Brush teeth, shave the legs and arms, pluck the eyebrows, shower, cream from head to toe, shampoo, condition, blowdry if lucky, comb out hair, coat the pits, do hygiene things, perfume, do the face, sand and paint the twenty nails, repair cuticles, the list goes on and on. And all that time you spent putting up your hair for that special occasion goes to shame with the first hint of rain, when it falls like a cake or a wet rope.:eek: Like get real!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Aziraphale

Guys got it good! They can roll out of bed in the morning, run a comb through the hair or not,...
    So can girls! If they all stopped the face-painting standards would go down generally, and the boys would go after them anyway.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Aziraphale wrote:
    So can girls! If they all stopped the face-painting standards would go down generally, and the boys would go after them anyway.

No offense, but what you're saying aint going to happen, like girls in our superpower country outnumber the guys with registrations at the polls, but like what happens when elections occur? In over two hundred years of history, like when allowed to vote, the girls vote for the guys time and time again, without a thought for the fact that they outnumber them and could have all women in the presidency, both houses of congress, the supreme court, when all the coggers die off, and all the governorships and state houses, like get real! If we don't put a face on, even a little eyeliner and cream, all the other f*****g vixens will try to take advantage and steal your date, like with a big smile on their faces as they walk away on his arm.:rolleyes:

No offense, but what you're saying aint going to happen, like girls in our superpower country outnumber the guys with registrations at the polls, but like what happens when elections occur? In over two hundred years of history, like when allowed to vote, the girls vote for the guys time and time again, without a thought for the fact that they outnumber them and could have all women in the presidency, both houses of congress, the supreme court, when all the coggers die off, and all the governorships and state houses, like get real! If we don't put a face on, even a little eyeliner and cream, all the other f*****g vixens will try to take advantage and steal your date, like with a big smile on their faces as they walk away in his arm.:rolleyes:
    How about people vote for who is best for the job and not because of some inane view you have on sexes?
    We have a woman in the presidancy too, tahnk you very much.
    Tis true, I don't care for girls doing themselves up with all that makeup, although some like it. More will follow the example!
    Although I do like when they use the aul GHD.

but remember the damage the GHD does to a girls hair. No matter how many treatments I put in mine, what heat protection spray I use or how bloody expensive the shampoo and conditioner I use (20 quid each)...it still fries your hair!

And on the subject of make up...you'll never see a goth girl in orange facepaint...she'll go au natural or use pale foundation, which when applied correctly looks wonderful.

Nightwish wrote:
    but remember the damage the GFD does to a girls hair. No matter how many treatments I put in mine, what heat protection spray I use or how bloody expensive the shampoo and conditioner I use (20 quid each)...it still fries your hair!

That is damn expensive shampoo and conditioner. I don't even know what a treatment is.
    Is there a suitable alternative to the GHD that doesn't damage hair?! :eek:
    I need my straight haired ladies!

How about people vote for who is best for the job and not because of some inane view you have on sexes?
    We have a woman in the presidancy too, tahnk you very much.

Tar.Aldarion, you sound like an upstanding Irish guy who believes in fair play, and I certainly appreciate that, like the reference to a female president in that fine country of yours, but in superpower Bushland, current U.S. Senator, successful attorney, and former first lady of eight years Hilary Clinton, like her or not, probably has the most notice as a woman candidate for 2008, but like get real, do you honestly believe that she has a skirt's chance at the polls, unlike your more civilized nation? Get real!! I too believe that the most qualified should seek and be elected to office, but do you know anything about our superpower Senate, that has like 100 seats, two for each state, and how disproportionate the ratio is between men and women?? Like get real and tell me that there are no qualified women in each of those states that would have an equal chance of being elected to one or two of those seats in each state, when in fact there are only a small handful of them in the hundred, get real, men rule the superpower, and it's not just because they are more qualified to rule than women, who by the way, outnumber the guys in university enrollments and graduation rates in the states, making them less qualified than their less educated males?? No offense, but don't talk ideals, look at the numbers then like get real!:rolleyes:

Surf's up on the web and the beaches, strip off that face and get a tan, like a real one, not one of those chemical jobs the guys drive you to do to stay competitive.

Tar.Aldarion, you sound like an upstanding Irish guy who believes in fair play, and I certainly appreciate that, like the reference to a female president in that fine country of yours, but in superpower Bushland, Hilary Clinton, like her or not, probably has the most notice as a woman candidate for 2008, but like get real, do you honestly believe that she has a skirt's chance at the polls, unlike your more civilized nation? Get real!! I too believe that the most qualified should seek and be elected to office, but do you know anything about our superpower Senate, that has like 100 seats, two for each state, and how disproportionate the ratio is between men and women?? Like get real and tell me that there are no qualified women in each of those states that would have an equal chance of being elected to one or two of those seats in each state, when in fact there are only a small handful of them in the hundred, get real, men rule the superpower, and it's not just because they are more qualified to rule than women, who by the way, outnumber the guys in university enrollments and graduation rates in the states, making them less qualified than their less educated males? No offense, but don't talk ideals, look at the numbers then like get real!:rolleyes:
    How many times is that that I have to get real?

Hmm, I assumed you were Irish, not an odd thing on an Irish board, excusé moi.
    I have no allusions about America, a women is not likely to get voted in, as things stand. As you say, women out number men. How about you 'get real' about the numbers and do something about it, as you seem so fervently committed to the cause?
    If she is equally or better suited to the job then do something about it.

women, who by the way, outnumber the guys in university enrollments and graduation rates in the states, making them less qualified than their less educated males?
    What is that about?
    It does not matter if some men are less educated than women, how does that take away from the male canditates education?
    They are likely to be the educated men.

Hey Blue Lagoon, take it to Politics. Some of us wanna discuss beautiful gothic ladies here.

Nightwish wrote:
    Hey Blue Lagoon, take it to Politics. Some of us wanna discuss beautiful gothic ladies here.
    A talk with pictures hopefully!
    I suppose truly...I like 'half goths', as it were.

Hmm, I assumed you were Irish, not an odd thing on an Irish board, excusé moi.

No apologies necessary, like I hope you dont kick me off now that you know I'm from the states. And I'm not Irish in the slightest, except on St Patrick's Day when we all go out and enjoy the real beer that you produce over there and not the s**t we drink over here. I'm pure 100 percent So Cal and got the blonde hair to prove it, along with the tan and the ability to hang 10 on a board not much bigger than me.:cool:
    I have no allusions about America, a women is not likely to get voted in, as things stand. As you say, women out number men. How about you 'get real' about the numbers and do something about it, as you seem to fervently committed to the cause?

You should be talking to my new roommate if you want an activist that breathes fire and smoke and can kick my a**, and has in sparring recently. And she is very Irish, so maybe you will let me stay on the boards with one of your own sharing the same apartment, please, like I just joined the boards and all of a sudden I'm in a chat with a guy who can dump me if he likes, please, this is fun, and I dont mean to offend, and I'm really not a ugly American, honest, or trying not to be.;)

No apologies necessary, like I hope you dont kick me off now that you know I'm from the states. And I'm not Irish in the slightest, except on St Patrick's Day when we all go out and enjoy the real beer that you produce over there and not the s**t we drink over here. I'm pure 100 percent So Cal and got the blonde hair to prove it, along with the tan and the ability to hang 10 on a board not much bigger than me.:cool:

You should be talking to my new roommate if you want an activist that breathes fire and smoke and can kick my a**, and has in sparring recently. And she is very Irish, so maybe you will let me stay on the boards with one of your own sharing the same apartment, please, like I just joined the boards and all of a sudden I'm in a chat with a guy who can dump me if he likes, please, this is fun, and I dont mean to offend, and I'm really not a ugly American, honest, or trying not to be.;)
    Hey, There is no problem with you using boards!
    If you want to talk about politics there is a politics forum under the soc category.
    Enjoy your stay.

Some half-goths for u Tar....I'm wearing the exact same check skirt as the 2nd girl from the left.
    gothic-girls.JPG

I have to say I approve, shock!
    OP, dress like these ladies!

*mumbles about lovely clothes*

Hey, There is no problem with you using boards!
    If you want to talk about politics there is a politics forum under the soc category.
    Enjoy your stay.

Thanks, but inspite of all the ranting and raving, like I really am not all that political, just get fired up sometimes and say a little too much, like way too much at times. If you find me saying too much in the future, can you PM me and chew me out, then give me a second chance before you dump me? My roommate told me about the boards, which I have never tried, and she was right, they are fun, Thanks!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Aziraphale

the aul GHD.

Um. What's GHD?

Thanks, but inspite of all the ranting and raving, like I really am not all that political, just get fired up sometimes and say a little too much, like way too much at times. If you find me saying too much in the future, can you PM me and chew me out, then give me a second chance before you dump me? My roommate told me about the boards, which I have never tried, and she was right, they are fun, Thanks!;)
    Your room mate isn't Sheila by any chance! :eek:

As regards boards, there are different moderators for each forum. I can only ban you from one etc. There are users who can ban you from them all, but as long as your transgression is not too severe you won't need to know about them!
    People are usually banned for a week or two if they mess up, so you get more chances, but sure ya, if I notice something, I'll give you a shout.

Aziraphale wrote:
    Um. What's GHD?
    They are things for straigtening girls hair.Ie, A hair iron.
    http://www.ghdhair.com/index.php?c=uk

Nightwish wrote:
    And on the subject of make up...you'll never see a goth girl in orange facepaint...she'll go au natural or use pale foundation, which when applied correctly looks wonderful.
    Pale pacepaint, black lipstick... RRRRAAARRRR!!!:cool:

=-=

Unless you get a woman who can, without remorse, goto war, press the button to nuke the enemy, and still smile and talk general BS to the public, there'll be a man in the Whitehouse for a while to come. But, as said before, take it to politics. Here, we're talking about how to dress the OP's gf as a vampire :o)

I very much like this girls outfit. I've had this picture for a while on my pc as I'm piecing together the outfit. The only thing left to get is the black fitted lace top under her shirt...I cannot find them anywhere!
    ggrl57.jpg

Nightwish wrote:
    I very much like this girls outfit. I've had this picture for a while on my pc as I'm piecing together the outfit. The only thing left to get is the black fitted lace top under her shirt...I cannot find them anywhere!
    ggrl57.jpg
    Amazing outfit, really fantastic dress but the whole package works very well together. :eek:
    /me daydreams

Not the best looking girls but nice outfits.
    Brown_2004_028.sized.jpg

Your words ring true. :P
    My local 'asha', chaos, as it were is just basically all for girls, stuff like that. If only I could usher girls in there.

Nightwish wrote:
    ggrl57.jpg
    /me asks ranoms people on mIRC
    (02:13:24) (orla) top shop, awear

I have to say I approve, shock!
    OP, dress like these ladies!

*mumbles about lovely clothes*

I will indeed. Thanks.

here's another nice oufit

92-111.jpg

Here are some ladies from the music industry who have great style

Diarmiud wrote:
    I will indeed. Thanks.
    here's another nice oufit

Here are some ladies from the music industry who have great style
    Today
    indeed, rawr.
    Christina has the same sword as me. :eek:

That just sounds wrong:D:p