Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things I hate in the gym

• 03-04-2006 7:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭

After a few months off, I started training again 8 weeks ago, I joined a gym (Crunch in Temple Bar), its a nice gym, but I have a few gripes, so here's you spot to b!tch about your gym, pool or sports club.

(Just remember no abuse or personnal insults)

So what I hate about my gym is;
    > The way people stay on the weights machines after they've finished actually using it and chat to their mates, while it's obvious that other people are waiting to get on the machine
    > Muscle men; Kinda fits in with the one above just because you are 10 times the size of me YOU DON'T OWN THE GYM
    > Mobile phones; ok I know some people need to be in touch 24/7 (doctors, company directors, emergency service) for most people voice mail will do. It's bad enough to bring it into the gym, but the sauna also??? Had to laugh last week when some girl tried texting while on a tread mill and went flying off (sorry to the girl but you asked for it)
    > Finally, does anyone else notice a certain pervy element who have a habit of leering at girls in the pool/sauna/spa

Ok, thats my rate over, feel free to join in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I hate all the fat people that hog the jacuzzi they're like a bunch of hippos wallowing in the mud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

There's this bloody weirdo who hangs out in the swimming pool looking at all the girls then when he goes into the steam room he starts doing all these ridilulous,noisy breathing excercises and stretching against the walls...he makes the flesh crawl off my back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

In Jackie Skellies, Swords, the weights are always left on the floor, right beside the rack. If you have to get to the rack, you frequently have to navigate a minefield of free weights left haphazardly lying around. Its an accident waiting to happen.

Also, they charge 8.50 for a lock. WTF is it made of???!! Diamond?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭grahamor

in Westwood Clontarf:

guys who dry their skin with a hairdryer whilst checking themselves out in the mirror, tossers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 LordBeeflington

In woodlands in Waterford, there's a chap who goes to the pool wearing sunglasses-type things, completely black. he wears black leather gloves, and swims up and down the pool sideways with one clenched fist out in front, and one hand on his hip, in a kind of superman-esque pose. i am not making this up!

Ah c'mon!Are you serious?Can you get a pic?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

Oul' wans taking up the threadmills to WALK in the Neptune Beach, Bettystown. Why do they take the bloody things up for walking when there's a perfectly long flat beach putside to do it?! One woman rang her husband while walking on the threadmill to tell him to put on the spuds, I had to laugh. Why pay the membership if all you're going to do is walk? Waste of money and just going to the gym to 'feel good' IMO.

honestly, me and me mate were just standing there in disbelief looking at him.
    Hey, no way can i get a pic i'm way too scared of this fella to be taking photos of him!

honestly, me and me mate were just standing there in disbelief looking at him.
    Hey, no way can i get a pic i'm way too scared of this fella to be taking photos of him!

Do ya reckon he's dangerous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Hmmm, Westwood Clontarf.
    1. People who don't use sweat towels
    2. People who take 6 dumbells to their bench to work with.
    3. People who don't bring their towel to the pool and when they come back upstairs they just drip all over the floor. One time I even saw a guy wring his shorts out on the floor.

That's all I can think of I guess.
    But I also have to laugh at the people who dry them selves with the hairdryer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Easygainer

faigs wrote:
    Oul' wans taking up the threadmills to WALK in the Neptune Beach, Bettystown. Why do they take the bloody things up for walking when there's a perfectly long flat beach putside to do it?! One woman rang her husband while walking on the threadmill to tell him to put on the spuds, I had to laugh. Why pay the membership if all you're going to do is walk? Waste of money and just going to the gym to 'feel good' IMO.

Maybe because Irish weather is crap and walking is an optimal way to burn fat? Walking on an incline kicks ass for burning fat - low intensity, saves muscle and can read while doing it. Take into account the fact that if you go for a walk and it's sunny and there's a chance it could snow in ten minutes and I don't see the problem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

This should be a stickie of some sort, seems to crop up every fourthnight or so!

I hate all the dumbells and plates being left all over the floor, along with the usual people talking etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭slicus ricus

What drives me insane is when people bring 6-8 (or more) dumbells to their bench for about a half an hour! Whats worse is when they dont put a set back that they're finished with back - how is anyone to know which they're finished with and which they're not! This happens in every gym - i couldnt tell you how many times ive gone over to a guy to ask could i borrow a set of dumbells for a set for the guy to say - "im finished with them mate" - how the f**k am i supposed to know that!!:mad:

Another thing that used to really annoy me when i was in total fitness was when a group of big gunter bodybuilders used to take up half the changing rooms with their ENORMOUS sportsbags (why anyone needs one of those huge backs to fit their gym gear in, i will never know) and towels, shakers, gym gear etc all over the place while they'd sit there chatting for ages. The rest of us need to chance as well!!:mad:

Lads that shave in the sauna despite there being a million signs up telling them not to is another one - disguisting!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Another thing that used to really annoy me when i was in total fitness was when a group of big gunter bodybuilders used to take up half the changing rooms with their ENORMOUS sportsbags (why anyone needs one of those huge backs to fit their gym gear in, i will never know)

The contents of my gym bag, at this very moment in time:

2 Towels
    2 changes of underwear
    2 changes of socks
    ( thats for 2 showers over the course of the day after both gym sessions )
    2 by t-shirt ( one for each sessions)
    tracksuit pants
    3 tubs filled with mixed veg, brocolli and chicken.
    2 small tubs filled with "test" shake
    1 small tub filled with Cell X
    Shaker
    Small tin containing assorted tabs for the day ( multi vits, glucosamine, CLA, Flax etc )
    Lock for locker
    assorted shower gels and smelly thinks to make me pretty.

And thats a quiet day!!!!!

All in all though, i make sure i'm pretty tidy with my stuff. I hate when people get in my way with all there **** so i make sure i keep it in check!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Women who walk at like 0.5kph on the treadmills...like what is the point!....unless I sweat I don't see that I'm gaining anything....
    Also as mentioned above....people who sit on the weights machines...personally as soon as I am finished I move on to the next.
    Good lookin guys too....they're so distracting! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

The most disgusting thing in my gym is those ignorant people who don't wipe down their machines after use.

Geld

Dragan wrote:
    ( thats for 2 showers over the course of the day after both gym sessions )
    2 by t-shirt ( one for each sessions)

2 sessions a day - that's pretty hatdcore!
    Dragan wrote:
    2 small tubs filled with "test" shake

Whats "test" shake? - Is that just a protein made by a company called "test"? Is it a good supplement?
    Dragan wrote:
    assorted shower gels and smelly thinks to make me pretty.

Possibly the most essential things to bring with ya - particularly if you're going anywhere afterwards (work, college etc)!
    Dragan wrote:
    All in all though, i make sure i'm pretty tidy with my stuff. I hate when people get in my way with all there **** so i make sure i keep it in check!!!! :D

Fair play for making an effort to keep your stuff tidy - wish everyone would do the same!

fletch wrote:
    Good lookin guys too....they're so distracting! :D

Sorry about that! ;)

Whats "test" shake? - Is that just a protein made by a company called "test"? Is it a good supplement?

Sorry about that, i'm just used to calling them test shakes in my head!

I do some product testing for Nutrition X, and i am currently testing something for them. I should be free to let you all know more about it in a few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Is he on his side or his front when doing the "superman pose". If front, then funny. If side, then it's the "side stroke", a stroke you learn in lifesaving classes that allows you to swim while carrying someone.
    fletch wrote:
    Also as mentioned above....people who sit on the weights machines...personally as soon as I am finished I move on to the next.

Yup, hate them. Many gyms as well put up signs to say "please vacate the machines between sets" but most people ignore them. Instead they just sit for 5 minutes on the machine letting their sweat drip onto it.

I also hate the muscle marys, guardians of the free weights.

Stark wrote:
    Is he on his side or his front when doing the "superman pose". If front, then funny. If side, then it's the "side stroke", a stroke you learn in lifesaving classes that allows you to swim while carrying someone.

Yup, hate them. Many gyms as well put up signs to say "please vacate the machines between sets" but most people ignore them. Instead they just sit for 5 minutes on the machine letting their sweat drip onto it.

I also hate the muscle marys, guardians of the free weights.

Ah,but that doesnt explain yer man's "phantom of the opera" get up!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

this superman guy sounds cool

Maybe he's a superhero in training..there's one of them in my gym,you can tell by the way he studies himself in the mirror he's destined for greatness!

I'm not sure how to quote from other posts, little help?

I'm not really sure, yeah he's on his side so you're probably right about the stroke he's doing. Dunno what part of his training taught him about the leather gloves though.

Did I mention he wears a cape?*

*OK, that's a lie.

...or the black shades...does he wear a swimming hat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

...or the black shades...does he wear a swimming hat?

So he wears dark goggles, swim gloves for resistance training and practices stroke and balance drills to improve his technique?

Clearly a freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

This may be exclusive to Crunch in ucd, but anyway....guys (it's always guys) who proudly wear their county jerseys (it's always a county jersey) and forget to wash them between sessions. Ever. Have you any idea what they smell like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Brooks

gillo wrote:
    After a few months off, I started training again 8 weeks ago, I joined a gym (Crunch in Temple Bar), its a nice gym, but I have a few gripes, so here's you spot to b!tch about your gym, pool or sports club.

(Just remember no abuse or personnal insults)

So what I hate about my gym is;
    > The way people stay on the weights machines after they've finished actually using it and chat to their mates, while it's obvious that other people are waiting to get on the machine
    > Muscle men; Kinda fits in with the one above just because you are 10 times the size of me YOU DON'T OWN THE GYM
    > Mobile phones; ok I know some people need to be in touch 24/7 (doctors, company directors, emergency service) for most people voice mail will do. It's bad enough to bring it into the gym, but the sauna also??? Had to laugh last week when some girl tried texting while on a tread mill and went flying off (sorry to the girl but you asked for it)
    > Finally, does anyone else notice a certain pervy element who have a habit of leering at girls in the pool/sauna/spa

Ok, thats my rate over, feel free to join in
    also a member in this gym and I have stopped using the pool - due to the whole pervy thing!
    there are gangs of lads who just lie in the sunloungers staring you out of it !
    freaks me out!
    i used to use the pool alot before they started overcrowding the gym with new members!
    the fact that there are only 2 toilets for the girls...more than likely you have to queue

the crappy shampoo they leave in the showers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

this might sound like a minor gripe but it irritates me and a few friends no end.

theres a guy in my gym (i wont name which gym cos this is a little specific) who uses two green elastic exercise rope things for EVERY SINGLE EXERCISE he does.

At first it was amusing, but when we started seeing him tying up the equipment doing to the most bizarre and pointless exercises i've ever seen, it just got annoying. I've even seen staff stare at him in disbelief.

For a few examples:

Tying a very light dumbell to his leg and lifting it a foot off the ground and down again (maybe 3 or so reps).

using the green strap things to tie onto a chin up bar and then kinda just hang there for a few minutes.

using all the different machines with the straps, even if they are totally unneccessary. bicep curl machines, lat pull down machines... everything... its really just bizarre.

The reason it's so distracting is that while your trying to exercise this guy comes along and then stands beside you attempting some of the wierdest, useless most unusual crap, its different every time. You can't but sit and wait to see what unique use of these straps he'll find next.

mloc wrote:
    this might sound like a minor gripe but it irritates me and a few friends no end.

theres a guy in my gym (i wont name which gym cos this is a little specific) who uses two green elastic exercise rope things for EVERY SINGLE EXERCISE he does.

At first it was amusing, but when we started seeing him tying up the equipment doing to the most bizarre and pointless exercises i've ever seen, it just got annoying. I've even seen staff stare at him in disbelief.

For a few examples:

Tying a very light dumbell to his leg and lifting it a foot off the ground and down again (maybe 3 or so reps).

using the green strap things to tie onto a chin up bar and then kinda just hang there for a few minutes.

using all the different machines with the straps, even if they are totally unneccessary. bicep curl machines, lat pull down machines... everything... its really just bizarre.

The reason it's so distracting is that while your trying to exercise this guy comes along and then stands beside you attempting some of the wierdest, useless most unusual crap, its different every time. You can't but sit and wait to see what unique use of these straps he'll find next.

Maybe he'll string himself up!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Brooks wrote:
    there are gangs of lads who just lie in the sunloungers staring you out of it !
    freaks me out!
    i used to use the pool alot before they started overcrowding the gym with new members!

Maybe it's just the fact that I hate sitting still, but I've only managed to side on those loungers once, it's unbelievabley boring.

As for the new people, thats me, only I don't stare at girls, I'm afraid you'll stare back!! But seriously though, I've seen them do it, it must be so head wrecking- surprised none of them have camera's.

When do you normally go?
    The pool is very quiet during the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Hippo wrote:
    This may be exclusive to Crunch in ucd, but anyway....guys (it's always guys) who proudly wear their county jerseys (it's always a county jersey) and forget to wash them between sessions. Ever. Have you any idea what they smell like?

Ugh, that's horrible! Especially since gaa shirts are synthetic, not cotton. Yuk and double yuk.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 retrograde

1 Guys who stand in front of the dumbell rack doing bicep curls so you have to wait till their finished to use the dumbells. Thats just ****ing stupid.

2 Lockers that are too close together. I know this is a space saving idea but god its annoying when some dude is in your face when your trying to get your **** together

3 Guys who throw weights on the floor. Doesnt seem to be a weight limit either. Ive seen 50k plates been launched onto the floor off the squat rack.

Oh and stupit ****ing gym instructors who think they know proper technique when they clearly dont know their ass from their elbow.

I hate the folowing:

People (normally old ones) making up exercises and acting like they're geniuses...the typical one is grabing a handle at a cable station and practising a golf stroke - good job putting out your hip old man.

Guys who throw the weights down and shout like they are breaking the pain and intensity barrier with their hardcore 40kg clean and pulls... (actually saw this and the guy, who was giving "advice" to someone else started walking off saying "I have to go - gotta keep up the intensity").

Following on from this, there are two tossers in my gym (Total Fitness Sandyford) that shout at eachother when lifting and seem to do bench every day. They are weak but lift way more than they can handle. To give you an idea, they both struggle out reps with 140kg completely assisted by the spotter. Without a spotter, 100kg would be lucky to go up 4 or 5 times. Then they shout and psyche eachother on yet week in, week out, they look the same and lift the same.

People who use crap form, claim that it's right, and demonise people who use proper form. In my old gym (Loughlinstown), some fat loser with a mop used to always "squat" (bend his knees 3-4") with about 180kg. During my sets with +200kg for full ROM he'd be mouthing off to some other weiner about how it's "suicide for the knees" to squat full depth. :rolleyes: He also does 1/4 ROM on every conceivable exercise, even calf raises.

People who play the genetics card to suit whatever they're saying. This can take on a number of forms, but it's normally:
    -I'm too tall to squat (bs)
    -I have a crazy metabolism (eat 1 meal a day and weigh 10 stone)
    -Dieting doesn't work (normally some fat lady for whom, mysteriously, the rules of thermodynamics break down)

Personal trainers who put new clients on an exercise ball while doing cable movements... yeah, that'll make them huge.

Armchair experts...

Easygainer wrote:
    Following on from this, there are two tossers in my gym (Total Fitness Sandyford) that shout at eachother when lifting and seem to do bench every day. They are weak but lift way more than they can handle. To give you an idea, they both struggle out reps with 140kg completely assisted by the spotter. Without a spotter, 100kg would be lucky to go up 4 or 5 times. Then they shout and psyche eachother on yet week in, week out, they look the same and lift the same.

Is one of these guys a tallish dark haired fella, he will have kinda spikey hair, with the other being a shorter ginger fella with a close shaved hair cut????

I've seen a guy like that in UCD. Doing "body curls" swinging dumbells far too heavy for him around the place. And the 3 inch ROM bench press. Good luck with that. There's another guy who is seriously on the way to killing himself doing deadlifts.

As for people thinking full ROM squats kill your knees, ive heard the same bs... wait til they get nice and heavy with their restricted movement and develop some nasty potentially disasterous ligament strength imbalances. If it wasn't for proper squatting my knee would be in much worse condition after a recent injury. Strong, flexible ligaments helped prevent me doing my cruciate... thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Wow it might become a name and shame thread! Go on :)

Anyway for me its those idiots in their county's GAA jersey sitting around on benches in the weights room. Furthermore when they do their "Bench Press" all tehy do is take it off the rack, bring it down 3" or so and push it back up wiht a big loud sigh. Them be the real men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭bbbbb

grahamor wrote:
    in Westwood Clontarf:

guys who dry their skin with a hairdryer whilst checking themselves out in the mirror, tossers.

I've noticed the same in WWC. In fairness some of them have more hair on their bodies than on their heads:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

I dont really go to a gym as i have all my equip at home but when in college i would use the gym there and the sheer amount of swaet some people left behind was unbelievable! Especially in the summer!
    Similar to the swimming one, there used to be areas where passers by could see in and i swear some would just gawk at you as if you have 2 heads..but nothing can beat the people who think they are mr olympia! one chap must have been about 5'6 or so, not even really stocky, more so fat but wud walk with his chest out and arms stiff to the side thinking hes the man...but all in all it balances out, there are always gonna be people there who are nice to help if you ask a question or they ask a question of you and actually say a simple thanks! thats my lil gripe:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

4. Douche bags in the pool who swim in the fast lane when they should be in the baby pool. One dude today rushed to get his goggles on and push off just as I was getting to the end of the length. So I had to actually swim on the wrong side to pass the spa out.
    5. Dudes who use a barbell from the rack and then stand right there so you can't get at it. Three times I had to ask him to move.

MicraBoy wrote:
    So he wears dark goggles, swim gloves for resistance training and practices stroke and balance drills to improve his technique?

Clearly a freak.

*shrugs* whatever, he still looks funny, that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Brooks

gillo wrote:
    Maybe it's just the fact that I hate sitting still, but I've only managed to side on those loungers once, it's unbelievabley boring.

As for the new people, thats me, only I don't stare at girls, I'm afraid you'll stare back!! But seriously though, I've seen them do it, it must be so head wrecking- surprised none of them have camera's.

When do you normally go?
    The pool is very quiet during the day
    usually between 4 and 5 in the evenings, occasionally at 7.30am ( only in the summer though )

mloc wrote:

For a few examples:

I think i know the guy you're talkin about - crazy stuff altogether. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

One thing that annoys me is when Im using a piece of equiptment and theres someone else who wants to use it, but instead of asking to work in on it with me (which, of course Id gladly agree to) they stand a few feet away from me, staring right at me. The other day this happened while was doing cable rows, so I offered the guy to work in with me, but he said he didnt want to share it with me, so he waited there til I was finished. I did an extra 3 sets in the end to spite him :)

I think i know the guy you're talkin about - crazy stuff altogether. LOL.

I know this is terrible but I have a feeling he might have some sort of mental condition. Besides the fact that it's the only thing that could explain his behaviour...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Easygainer wrote:
    -I'm too tall to squat (bs)

I was adviced by several "armchair experts" not to squat because I was too tall. As a result, I was left with an underdeveloped core and a back which was prone to injurys and "tweaks" while lifting milk out of the bottom drawer of the fridge. I now squat, and love it (love it when I'm finished the bastards, not before or during!!). I can squat 100k now, when I started I could do 30....ahem....

I do think that its harder for taller people, basic physics right?

Oh, I dont really hate much in the gym, just the basic stuff that gets in my way

1) Smelly people
    2) People who make the "Im in labour" noises that make take off my headphones to check if they are trapped under an olympic bar with 200kilos welded to it.
    3) Taking too many weights
    4) Not putting the weights back on the rack, and leave the weight number facing up please.

Thats all really, Ive started going to the gym in the mornings now which avoids most of the offenders listed above.

There was this freaky-looking hippy bloke in our gym one day wearing pumps and a pair of manky tracksuit bottoms pulled up to his chest.He wandered around for a while looking at the girls on the treadmill,did a few weird-looking strteches then promptly began doing chin ups on the bench press machine in spite of a sign not a foot away saying its not allowed.The instructer went up to him,pointed out the sign and explained the rule,whereupon yer man grabbed his pumps(which he'd taken off),threw his filthy hair over his shoulder and minced out.

Dragan wrote:
    Is one of these guys a tallish dark haired fella, he will have kinda spikey hair, with the other being a shorter ginger fella with a close shaved hair cut????

No, one is chewing gum all the time and seems to always wear a green tank top. He chews gum at 100mph, and looks like a total scrote.

The other has darker skin and looks kind of German. He has black hair shaved at sides and back (had a pattern shaved in there too) but a greased back mop on top.

Both have awful ILS too (imaginary lat sydrome)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭base2

Both have awful ILS too (imaginary lat sydrome)
    haha. Are the symptoms of that arms that stick out at 45' ?

For me it has to be....

1. Unfit people who do weird/complicated/pointless exercises with a smug look on their face. Ever wonder why nobody else does those exercises?
    2. The people who come in full GAA regalia with the socks down and the underdeveloped milky legs that seem to be the standard with these types.
    3. People who stink really badly. I can come to the gym and break a really good sweat and it will not smell one bit. So why do you come to the gym, not sweat but still smell so bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

"2. The people who come in full GAA regalia with the socks down and the underdeveloped milky legs that seem to be the standard with these types."

Eh? Where have you been tanning yourself then?