Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Cars to be restricted

• 01-04-2006 5:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭

I hear that Classics are only going to be allowed on the road at weekends and are to be limited to 60 k/h. Anyone know when it starts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Thats ridiculous :eek:

What moron came up with that idea ?? Have you got any links or hard facts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

K-TRIC wrote:
    Thats ridiculous :eek:

What moron came up with that idea ?? Have you got any links or hard facts ?

Yeah It's part of a new EU directive being championed by German MEP April Furst.

this is crazy, I've seen more classics on the roads in Germany than anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

shagman wrote:
    Yeah It's part of a new EU directive being championed by German MEP April Furst.

Good ol' EU, fascism at work. In all fairness, anyone here who has a big block V8 muscle car is NOT going to do 60km/h (40mph).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭camarobill

They can kiss my a88,there must be some sad old fart with no life,no friends and no understanding of THE PASSION,off classic car owners:rolleyes: borrrrrring old germany fart,:D my cars are taxed insured and pmo,and me and me alone will decide when il use them,or when the wife lets me:D :D:D

German MEP,
    April Furst............

April First............

1st of april.........

April Fools.
    Come on guys wake up yiz are runnin on empty here!!!

Obviously a wind up, nice one Corktina!

Very good :D

I was too busy being annoyed to notice the obvious joke.

I must say that this has to be the most original April Fools joke on boards today, unlike that silly Eircom one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Good one, I was just waiting for Classic Car Weekly to get hold of that one, they always seem to have dramatic news of classic cars being scrapped or similar. For a minute there this one looked like it was gaining credibility fast.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

sorry fellers......:) if it's any consolation, you aint alone....ive done about 6 other forums too!!!! easy to catch people early in the morning isnt it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Flips sake lads, don't you know Martin Cullen browses this forum?!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

He won't leave here alive!:)

Hi Martin :p

Ya big fecking muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Geez - that woke me up quick - as I face into a 16 hour tour of duty:rolleyes:

Still - its something I do worry will/could happen some day. Some 'green' people see the museum or the crusher as the only suitable place for classics.:mad:

regretably you are right there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Very good prank :D The best ones are the ones that are believable which this is unfortunately....

Anyone remember the old BMW april fool ads where they announced new innovations for their cars. One of them was a little wiper to keep the BMW badge clean :) AFAIK though one of the prank innovations did actually make it into production cars which is ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

The VW Polo Harlequin was an April Fools prank originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

junkyard wrote:
    Good one, I was just waiting for Classic Car Weekly to get hold of that one, they always seem to have dramatic news of classic cars being scrapped or similar. For a minute there this one looked like it was gaining credibility fast.:D
    Don't worry - it'll be in Monday's Indo as "Cullen vows to ban classics " or some such rot. I wouldn't trust the Sudoku from the Indo these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Citroen Guru

Your almost had me going on about the war and how my father fought against the fecking Germans so we could drive our classics. Nice one. Second time today I've been caught

a big thank you to shagman who made this one doubly enjoyable.....almost had me believing it!!!!

Indo headline news .....Martin Cullen to marry April Furst ....Ban on classics only to come into effect after they've used their wedding car.

Silly I know...not even a non existant German would marry that MUPPET!!!!

Corktina > Cheers your welcome.

BTW if you are interested in a supercharged V6 cortina unfinished project let me know and I'll put you in touch with the seller.

oooh yes...sounds like an idea to me...(sounds familiar though......could there be two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Mr. 'H'

LOL, you had me goin'...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

I recall about 10 years ago when Dick Spring was in Government he came on the radio to discuss the crash of an American bomber just off the west coast of Ireland.
    It was alarming to say the least especially when he stated he was unaware whether it contained nuclear bombs.

I thought it was a stupid irresponsible silly thing to do.:rolleyes: