Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upstairs..down the back!

• 30-03-2006 9:40am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

Why is it that scumbags allways head straight upstairs and down the back on busses?You often see them clustered down the back on a completely empty bus roaring,shouting or just being "bogey".I actually heard one tracksuited lowlife telling his four year old as he was paying to go "upstairs,down the back",the kid duly obeyed and from that moment on will probably allways sit there as well.There seems to be some sort of psychological reason for this predictable behaviour but for teh life of me i cant work it out..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Cause they want to have a good view of everyone and everything on the bus incase they miss something *slagable*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

It is the best position of attack. It is that simple.

It is hard for people to turn around and look back to see what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

They should ban the upstairs back of the bus and just have a void there instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Have the back on a hinge that fecks them off into the road as soon as there's enough of them to make it worth doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Have a large wrestler type that grabs skangers as they appear and fecks them off the bus. Clearly they may be a problem with windows but after a few skangers meet windows (mid-air) its only a matter of time before windows no longer pose a problem. Little extreme but extreme measures are needed to rid dublin bus of skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

I blame bush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Then you're in danger of being subjected to "Wat da foook is sheey bleeedin steeeeerin a'"

Little Bastards :mad:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Degsy wrote:
    scumbags
    Username: Degsy
    Sig: "Where's yer tool?"

I think we have an undercover spy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭CoolGuy2006

mysterious wrote:
    I blame bush?

is that a question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Southern Man

mysterious wrote:
    I blame bush?

Hey there's nothing wrong with a bit of bush!
    On the bus or otherwise....

Username: Degsy
    Sig: "Where's yer tool?"

I think we have an undercover spy.

What kind of a spy?Is there some conspiracy to infiltrate boards with people who post stuff?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Education in the answer!

...nevermind...

The Gardaí should announce that they're putting plain-clothes officers on buses, and maybe put 1, or 2, on every month or 2, and make an example of some fools down the back.

Then they might be scared to act the bollix! :D

(ahh who am I kidding, they'd need to train more Gardaí in order to do this, and that's not allowed!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Well,maybe it's because,in their minds,it's ok to smoke on buses as long as you're behind everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

I agree with the wrestler stance taken earlier, except it would have to be someone skilled in the martial art of skanger.

To be able to take them on at their own game. Sit on their lap maybe and flick their ears. Then when they get mad, he would get out a big plank and chase them off the bus.

Better still, just employ someone at the bus stops to chase skangers with a big plank.

I heards a bloke telling three young wans to shut up one time..they gave him abuse for twenty minutes but shut the fcuk up when as if by magic an inspector got on,in spite of yer man telling the inspector to throw them off he didnt and when he got off the scumbags continued giving it to this poor bloke.Just toward the end some blolke turned around and said "Yiz were very brave when the inspector got on werent yiz,yiz tramps yiz" and everyone started laughing and they actually did shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Degsy wrote:
    Have the back on a hinge that fecks them off into the road as soon as there's enough of them to make it worth doing!

Haha, makes a splendid image, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

there are no toilets on the bus its where the bus drivers take a piss ,

they just like the smell i suppose

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

it is by far the best place to roll a joint
    you cannot take a trip on the 78a without seeing/smelling this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Beruthiel wrote:
    Doesn't the joint rolling take place in the middle.... the shooting up of herion takes place down the back on that bus.

brrrr.... I used to have to get that bus every morning... bad memories...

Beruthiel wrote:

Or the 17a...or ANY of the 40 series..at ANY time of the day or night,especially after 1 in the day when they've got thier "scratcher" and they're on the way to get thier "phy" off the "doctor".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

I predict that in the next year or so there will be a major news article as follows:

- Scum misbehaving down the back of bus

- Person uses video functionality built into mobile phone to video scum breaking law in some way or another without needing to turn around

Hopefully, this will lead to :

- Scum arrested, tried, found guilty on basis of video evidence. Public made aware of how to deal with such scum in future.

and not:

- Scum attacks person to take phone off them, having noticed/suspected they were filming, and people now become afraid to even answer their phone when on the bus.

SBB (Swiss rail) had a similar problem in their smoking carriages on a number of trains.....joint-smoking was the least of it. There was also harder drugs being used, and - on an increasingly frequent basis - ticket inspectors being beaten up.

Solution implemented : regular police patrols on trains, coupled with video surveillance with data stored seperate to camera in all smoking carriages.

They've since gotten rid of the smoking carriages, but the cameras and police remain.

An alternate solution, though I can't see it being terribly practical in Ireland, is to get rid of double-deckers.

jc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

I think it has something going back to school days. It was always a certain crowd who went to the back of the bus. On school trips and the like. Stupid people more often than not and it is a sign of eliteness in skanger circles I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

ooops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭zag

This is excellent. It's like "The Rough guide to Tallaght"

I often sit down the back nowadays to piss the scumbags off and i remember one day this skinny yoke in a tracksuit sat in the seat right in front of me(on an otherwise empty bus) with her feet up on the chair,going out of her way to turn around every so often and give me a dirty look for taking "her" seat.I'd recccomend this tactic..the face on her was priceless!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Degsy wrote:

That's fantastic, it mentions Dundalk's own class of scumbags and all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Well I have to admit if it's free, I always sit down the back of the bus upstairs, usually on the left hand side, and so would most of my freinds i think. So Degsy if you really are looking for an awnser to your question and not just trying to get people to have a go at "scumbags" then I'll try to awnser it for you. These are the main reasons.

1. Theres more room down the back. If you sit in the middle then you have more leg room as there isn't a chair infront of you. If you sit near the window then (unless there are four other people already in the back seats) there will be more room to your side, so you wont have some fat smelly oul fella sitting right on top of you, like sometimes you would in the two seaters. I would of thought this was fairly obvious.

2. The company. I don't know exactly why it is but people always seem to be more talkative when they are sitting down the back of the bus. I've tried striking up conversations with people sitting infront or behind me in the middle seats but alot of the time its hard going. I can't understand those people that sit on a bus full of people and chose to spend a 40 minute bus ride staring blankly out a window instead of at least attempting to strike up a conversation. Also with the back seat being a four seater it means four of you can be talking to the people beside them instead of having to talk to the back of the person in front of you's head, or have to turn around in you seat to talk to someone behind you.

3. The veiw. As some one mentioned in another post there, you can see the whole of the bus from the back seats and everyone thats on it. Theres nothing worse than when you've been sitting on a bus for half an hour bored, and you see this gorgeuous (can someone let me know how to spell that please) girl thats been sitting just two seats behind ya, get up and walk off. If you had of been in the back seat you would have seen her and sparked up a bit of chat with her and who knows your luck might be in. Also the biggest windows are at the back, meaning you have the best veiw of the passing scenery. Apart from that some people instinctually just like to be aware of things around them and naturally gravitate to places that give them the best veiw of there surroundings.

4. Chronic Nicotine Addiction. Some people just can't sit for an hour and a half on a bus without having a smoke. Naturally upstairs down the back is the best place to have a sly smoke, obviously less people will notice you smoking if they can't see you as all the seats face foward. Aswell as this if you wan't to be as considerate as you can to the non smokers on the bus, down the back with the windows open on either side of you is the best position to allow
    the majority of the smoke to be dispersed outside.

5. Drugs. If you have been working like a dog all week and you decide a joint would go down nicely on a Friday on your way home on the bus, then the back seats mean that you are out of the direct line of site of most people and are less likely to be sitting near children as most kids like to sit near the front.
    And as mentioned in point 4 its the best spot to let the smoke outside.

6. Habit. Again like someone mentioned in another post, if you are use to sitting at the back of the school bus and at the back of the class when you were in school (in other words if you were one of the cool kids) then you do tend to get into the habit of sitting at the back and will do it without even thinking about it.

Hope that helps. Next week I'll explain the complexities of the hooded jumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

slipss wrote:
    4. Chronic Nicotine Addiction. Some people just can't sit for an hour and a half on a bus without having a smoke. Naturally upstairs down the back is the best place to have a sly smoke, obviously less people will notice you smoking if they can't see you as all the seats face foward. Aswell as this if you wan't to be as considerate as you can to the non smokers on the bus, down the back with the windows open on either side of you is the best position to allow
    the majority of the smoke to be dispersed outside.

You f*cking inconsiderate, selfish [bad word]... People who smoke on buses should be thrown off. And I mean off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Cause cool kids sit at the back....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

A1 slipss.

Spot on, same as meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

Degsy wrote:
    hahahaha
    "skanger cuisine"

Weirdly enough, when ever my (non-skanger) friends get on the bus then get on at the back of the bus, just so all 10 of them can easily face each other and talk. But normally there can be some lone tracksuited idiot sprawled apon the back seat, looking a little drugged, and everybody's too afraid to go back there just incase one of their senses burn up.

But when ever I'm coming back from town, there will always be a few urchins crouching at the back upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Degsy wrote:
    I heards a bloke telling three young wans to shut up one time..they gave him abuse for twenty minutes but shut the fcuk up when as if by magic an inspector got on,in spite of yer man telling the inspector to throw them off he didnt and when he got off the scumbags continued giving it to this poor bloke.Just toward the end some blolke turned around and said "Yiz were very brave when the inspector got on werent yiz,yiz tramps yiz" and everyone started laughing and they actually did shut up.
    Great story that! If everybody just ganged up on them and laughed at them all the time they'd start walking instead of taking the bus!

slipss wrote:
    Theres nothing worse than when you've been sitting on a bus for half an hour bored, and you see this gorgeuous (can someone let me know how to spell that please)
    Close! It's "gorgeous"

Merrick wrote:
    That's fantastic, it mentions Dundalk's own class of scumbags and all!
    What I loved was the picture of a group of 4 of them in Henry Street. I can just imagine some Japanes fellow going "Ahhh! So that's what they look like!" :p

Close! It's "gorgeous"

Cheers Steffano

Lump wrote:
    Cause cool kids sit at the back....

well in my schools and college and the schools and colleges of my friends or anyone I knew it was generally exepted that the cool kids sat at the back, the geeks sat up the front and the stoners and the narcaleptics sat in the middle so they could fall asleep in between the geeks and the cool kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

Slipss there are no opening windows on the back of a bus so the smoking one is inncorrect. I sit down the back on occasion, but my favorite seat is the one behind the stairs on the upper teir, you can put your feet up on that rail and it interferes with nobody.

I ment the two windows in the seats directly in front of the back seat blu, but well spoted you should be like a detective or something.......no wait not a detective, what do you call those people?....ahh yeah a volvo bus engineer, you should be one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭blu_sonic

no i do the alexander busses, you know them, next bus you get check the front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

That's how they have sex too... or so rumour has it.

[yakka smiley]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

simu wrote:
    That's how they have sex too... or so rumour has it.

[yakka smiley]
    So that's how it happened...
    How romantic ;)

rb_ie wrote:
    So that's how it happened...
    How romantic ;)

Pfft, not at all. The full exposé is only available in the Sexy Sexuality forum tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

simu wrote:
    Pfft, not at all. The full exposé is only available in the Sexy Sexuality forum tbh.

*raises an eyebrow*

You could have consulted me first....

blu_sonic wrote:
    no i do the alexander busses, you know them, next bus you get check the front

lol yeah blu Volvo Alexander ALX400 , check the front more carefully next time maybe, if theres one thing I know its Volvos, well and class A drugs but mainly Volvos

exposé exposí

exposo?