Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is that a runway i see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

oh dear god :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

I laugh now, but Im flying with Ryanair in the near future!

me too, let's hope they don't make taht mistake again :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

LOL!!!

I am a pilot-in-training and I must tell you it ain't easy to make a mistake like this

Surely the pilot must have known that he wasn't on a visual appraoch (VFR), not listening clear to ATC. If he was on VFR, then at least ATC should have made sure that the clearance for Derry Airport would have distingushed from the two if he wasn't on IFR (instrument flight route, guided down to the runway, not relying on sight (used when weather is not clear, or just when VFR is not available)

Stupid :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

It's happened before. Scary when you consider that a pilot should be cross referencing up to three different navigational aids while on approach, (VOR/ADF, ILS where applicable, and secondarily GPS), to verify where he/she is on the final stages of flight, be it a visual or instrument approach.

The pilot not flying is supposed to be cross checking his/her colleagues actions at all stages in flight, which makes this instance doubly unnerving.

What if the approach runway was active?

Demeant0r wrote:
    me too, let's hope they don't make taht mistake again :(

Let me guess, Dub to Paris?!! €115 return?!

the day before Champions league, will meet you there :D:p

[edit] ah wait, I'm Shannon to Paris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

When I heard the story, I honestly thought something happened the plane and it was an emergency landing and some sort of botched cover up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I know

Though 6 miles is not far in a plane, but still :eek:

Although not all instruments will work in a small airport like derry it is still no excuse to land at the wrong airport :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

You pay for a no-frills service, the least they can do is get you to the right airport

Demeant0r wrote:
    the day before Champions league, will meet you there :D:p

[edit] ah wait, I'm Shannon to Paris

Shannon to Paris = Shannon to Marseilles!

I just looked at Google Earth, and the layout of the two is surprisingly similiar, right down to runway orientation and coastal location!

Still though, his DME must have been well out of whack...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

Anyone see the ads in some of todays rags with Mike Tyson in it?
    Seems he arrived late for a Ryanair flight and they would not let him board,the ad read something like "nobody will delay you" and then they gave a table of the best time keepers in the industry which of course they were on top of
    What smart slogan are the gurus in Ryanair gonna come up for this one i wonders

Shannon to Paris = Shannon to Marseilles!
    hmmm... Shannon and Dublin both go to the same airport, Beauvais.... sooooo... (sorry slightly off topic)

Reminds me when Dublin Airport put Santa's Sleigh on the arrivals list on chirstmas night, that was nice, i guess, surprised when I saw it on the screen in arrivals :) lol

Luckily it reported that he was ontime :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Maybe the instruments were fúcked.... fair play he didn't fly it IN TO the ground, instead he landed it above the ground ;)

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Already posted in Commuting and Transport (Which in fairness is a more relevant forum for it) this evening.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054910054

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Eirjet? WTH?

...and the livery even looks like a green version of Easyjet; surely some form of plagiarism...never heard of em till now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

thats not too bad.
    I mean it would be worse if he was supposed to land at Dublin and landed in Derry...
    5/6miles off and a safe landing...not bad :D

I'd say the army lads were bemused at seeing a passenger jet on their radar.
    I'd say it was a bit of a ...wtf...situation..
    They probably thought it was a hijack..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

It's happened before. Scary when you consider that a pilot should be cross referencing up to three different navigational aids while on approach, (VOR/ADF, ILS where applicable, and secondarily GPS), to verify where he/she is on the final stages of flight, be it a visual or instrument approach.

The pilot not flying is supposed to be cross checking his/her colleagues actions at all stages in flight, which makes this instance doubly unnerving.

What if the approach runway was active?
    This is a serious error. Imagine the carnage if a military ac was on the runway. He couldn't have been listening to ATC correctly. How come ATC didn't confirm a visual on him?:confused:surely ATC would be watching the airfield. Its been reported that the pilot was on a visual approach so surely ATC would have attempted visual contact?

crosstownk wrote:
    This is a serious error. Imagine the carnage if a military ac was on the runway. He couldn't have been listening to ATC correctly. How come ATC didn't confirm a visual on him?:confused:surely ATC would be watching the airfield. Its been reported that the pilot was on a visual approach so surely ATC would have attempted visual contact?

Absolutely. I'm reminded of some ATC gems (from PPRUNE);

Rather dotty student lost on dual navigation exercise with instructor. Instructor knew position but was waiting to see how said student dealt with the problem. They were north of Cranfield in the UK. They were ex Luton which is well south of Cranfield. Student called Luton Approach, they quickly identified her position and suggested she call Cranfield on xxx.xx. Conversation that followed:

Student: Hello Cranfield.
    ATC: Hello
    Long pause
    ATC: Go on give us a clue.

A DC-10 had an exceedingly long roll out after landing with his approach speed a little high.

San Jose Tower: “American 751 heavy, turn right at the end of the runway, if able. If not able, take the Guadalupe exit off Highway 101, make a right at the lights and return to the airport."

A student became lost during a solo cross-country flight. While attempting to locate the aircraft on radar, ATC asked, "What was your last known position?" Student: "When I was number one for takeoff".

Saw this one a while ago on the net about a cargo plane doing the same route night after night and after while went in with approach of destination airport (around dusk) with :

XXX tower, guess who's coming ?

Each time the Tower asked him to identify himself clearly on the frequency instead of joking, never succeded...

until that day during winter period :

XXX approach, guess who's coming ?

Tower controller (turning off the runway lights, still no daylight)

Flight XXX, guess where...

A Beechcraft from a farm strip in Norfolk, returning home..

"G-xxxx, what is your destination?"

"Stradsett, sir"

"Say again your destination?"

"Stradsett, sir"

"Say again?"

"Norfolk!"

I was visiting the twr at ESxx (a quiet little airport in Sweden) one evening in april 2001. Darkness was creeping in on us, when the evening ScandinavianCommuter Dash8 called in.
    He asked for, and was cleared for the Visual 27. After a while we could spot him coming in from the south.
    The cockpit-dane in charge of the radio that night (probably the Cap.) came on the air;

SC: - "Twr, SCxxx – Lights on, please "
    The twr-guy looks at me, as if , since the lights had been on for a while.
    TWR: - "SCxxx, Twr – Lights are on"
    By now he had gotten so close, that he should've been able to see the runway.
    SC: - "Twr, SCxxx – Lights 100%, please" (His voice is starting to sound irritated.)
    TWR: - "Lights 100%, …..there you go!" (…tower-guy, shaking his head.)
    SC: - "Twr, SCxxx – Please check and verify: Lights on 100%" (…with a tone implying that the twr-guy is some sort of retard!)
    TWR: - "SCxxx, twr – Checked and verified" (…as we're both looking at the rwy, lit-up like a christmas tree.)
    The Dash is getting really close now,…..well within 15 degrees from final.
    SC: - "Twr, SCxxx – I need those rwy-lights,…PLEASE!!!" (Voice getting agitated…)
    Twr-guy being fed up with this cr*p, replies…
    - "SCxxx, Twr – Check: Ray-Bans OFF!"
    A moment of silence follows…..
    SC: - "Uuuhhhh….OK………...sorry…………dim lights, please"

Flying a Chieftan to "County Kerry International Airport":

CORK: Contact Kerry Tower on xxx.xx
    several abortive attempts to call them, then back to Cork
    ME: Cork, xxx123, unable to contact Kerry on xxx.xx, please confirm the frequency.
    CORK: Standby, I'll call them on the landline.
    CORK: xxx123, Try Kerry again on xxx.xx
    ME: Kerry this is xxx123
    KERRY (Strong Kerryman accent, very out of breath) xxx123, sorry about that, I was downstairs having me tea.

And finally,

Student pilot to ATC: Unidentified airport, please identify yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

Karoma wrote:

lol!
    Flying a Chieftan to "County Kerry International Airport":

CORK: Contact Kerry Tower on xxx.xx
    several abortive attempts to call them, then back to Cork
    ME: Cork, xxx123, unable to contact Kerry on xxx.xx, please confirm the frequency.
    CORK: Standby, I'll call them on the landline.
    CORK: xxx123, Try Kerry again on xxx.xx
    ME: Kerry this is xxx123
    KERRY (Strong Kerryman accent, very out of breath) xxx123, sorry about that, I was downstairs having me tea.

Classic story! I'll have to tell that one to my Kerry pals! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Rockdolphin

The pilot was only out by six miles, a number of years back an American transatlantic flight landed at Brussels instead of Paris. Makes you wonder eh. More worrying was the pilot who tried to land his Jumbo on the A4 instead of the runway at Heathrow.

I would dread to think what would happen had the Eirjet tried to land at a US military airfield in the UK ! Just look at what happened an Iranian commercial airliner in the Gulf. Gung ho American sailors got spooked when it appeared on their radar and blew it and all souls onboard to smithereens.

Wertz wrote:
    Eirjet? WTH?

...and the livery even looks like a green version of Easyjet; surely some form of plagiarism...never heard of em till now...

Its amazing how Eirjet sounds so close to Eejit.. and then something like this happens. Hrm.

Damn.

Karoma got there first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Similar happened at Belfast International where a captain made a visual approach but landed his commuter turboprop on the runway at Langford Lodge, a tiny civil aviation place a couple of miles away. He lost his job and AFAIK the plane had to be removed by road as the airfield was not certified to handle a plane like this. When it comes to flying and silly mistakes there are two groups of pilots;those who have and those who will...

el tel wrote:
    Similar happened at Belfast International where a captain made a visual approach but landed his commuter turboprop on the runway at Langford Lodge, a tiny civil aviation place a couple of miles away. He lost his job and AFAIK the plane had to be removed by road as the airfield was not certified to handle a plane like this. When it comes to flying and silly mistakes there are two groups of pilots;those who have and those who will...

Is this a fullsized passenger jet that you're on about? How on Earth did they manage to bring it along the road? Must've been some sight to see though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

A turbo Prop plane is rather small, I assume they'd have taken the wings off.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Lump wrote:
    A turbo Prop plane is rather small, I assume they'd have taken the wings off.

John

It wasn't that small -BAe 748- but I think the wings did eventually had to come off the plane (as well as the skipper)

Langford Lodge airfield is 3 miles south west of Aldergrove with one runway lined up with that of Belfast International. Other passenger planes, including a DC9 jet have made the same mistake of landing there. The approach plates and charts have a warning on them now.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Tower: "Delta 351, you have traffic at 10 o'clock, 6 miles!" Delta 351: "Give us another hint! We have digital watches!"

"TWA 2341, for noise abatement turn right 45 Degrees." "Centre, we are at 35,000 feet. How much noise can we make up here?" "Sir, have you ever heard the noise a 747 makes when it hits a 727?"

From an unknown aircraft waiting in a very long takeoff queue: "I'm f...ing bored!" Ground Traffic Control: "Last aircraft transmitting, identify yourself immediately!" Unknown aircraft: "I said I was f...ing bored, not f...ing stupid!"

Control tower to a 747: "United 329 heavy, your traffic is a Fokker, one o'clock, three miles, Eastbound." United 239: "Approach, I've always wanted to say this.... I've got the little Fokker in sight."

A military pilot called for a priority landing because his single-engine jet fighter was running "a bit peaked." Air Traffic Control told the fighter pilot that he was number two, behind a B-52 that had one engine shut down. "Ah," the fighter pilot remarked, "The dreaded seven-engine approach."

Allegedly, a Pan Am 727 flight waiting for start clearance in Munich overheard the following: Lufthansa (in German): "Ground, what is our start clearance time?" Ground (in English): "If you want an answer you must speak in English." Lufthansa (in English): "I am a German, flying a German airplane, in Germany. Why must I speak English?" Unknown voice from another plane (in a beautiful British accent): "Because you lost the bloody war."

Tower: "Eastern 702, cleared for takeoff, contact Departure on frequency 124.7" Eastern 702: "Tower, Eastern 702 switching to Departure. By the way, after we lifted off we saw some kind of dead animal on the far end of the runway." Tower: "Continental 635, cleared for takeoff behind Eastern 702, contact Departure on frequency 124.7. Did you copy that report from Eastern 702?" Continental 635: "Continental 635, cleared for takeoff, roger; and yes, we copied Eastern... we've already notified our caterers."

One day the pilot of a Cherokee 180 was told by the tower to hold short of the active runway while a DC-8 landed. The DC-8 landed, rolled out, turned around, and taxied back past the Cherokee. Some quick-witted comedian in the DC-8 crew got on the radio and said, "What a cute little plane. Did you make it all by yourself?" The Cherokee pilot, not about to let the insult go by, came back with a real zinger: "I made it out of DC-8 parts. Another landing like yours and I'll have enough parts for another one."

Allegedly the German air controllers at Frankfurt Airport are renowned as a short-tempered lot. They, it is alleged, not only expect one to know one's gate parking location, but how to get there without any assistance from them. So it was with some amusement that we (a Pan Am 747) listened to the following exchange between Frankfurt ground control and a British Airways 747, call sign Speedbird 206. Speedbird 206: "Frankfurt, Speedbird 206 clear of active runway." Ground: "Speedbird 206. Taxi to gate Alpha One-Seven." The BA 747 pulled onto the main taxiway and slowed to a stop. Ground: "Speedbird, do you not know where you are going?" Speedbird 206: "Stand by, Ground, I'm looking up our gate location now." Ground (with quite arrogant impatience): "Speedbird 206, have you not been to Frankfurt before?" Speedbird 206 (coolly): "Yes, twice in 1944, but it was dark,...... and I didn't land."

Allegedly, while taxiing at London's Gatwick Airport, the crew of a US Air flight departing for Ft. Lauderdale made a wrong turn and came nose to nose with a United 727. An irate female ground controller lashed out at the US Air crew, screaming: "US Air 2771, where the hell are you going?! I told you to turn right onto Charlie taxiway! You turned right on Delta! Stop right there. I know it's difficult for you to tell the difference between C and D, but get it right!" Continuing her rage to the embarrassed crew, she was now shouting hysterically: "God! Now you've screwed everything up! It'll take forever to sort this out! You stay right there and don't move till I tell you to! You can expect progressive taxi instructions in about half an hour and I want you to go exactly where I tell you, when I tell you, and how I tell you! You got that, US Air 2771?" US Air 2771: "Yes, ma'am," the humbled crew responded. Naturally, the ground control communications frequency fell terribly silent after the verbal bashing of US Air 2771. Nobody wanted to chance engaging the irate ground controller in her current state of mind. Tension in every cockpit out around Gatwick was definitely running high. Just then an unknown pilot broke the silence and keyed his microphone, asking: "Wasn't I married to you once?"

In his book, Sled Driver, SR-71 Blackbird pilot Brian Shul writes: "I'll always remember a certain radio exchange that occurred one day as Walt (my backseater) and I were screaming across Southern California, 13 miles high. We were monitoring various radio transmissions from other aircraft as we entered Los Angeles airspace. Though they didn't really control us, they did monitor our movement across their scope. I heard a Cessna ask for a readout of its groundspeed."

"90 knots" Center replied.

"Moments later, a Twin Beech required the same."

"120 knots," Center answered.

"We weren't the only ones proud of our groundspeed that day as almost instantly an F-18 smugly transmitted, 'Ah, Center, Dusty 52 requests groundspeed readout.'

"There was a slight pause, then the response, 525 knots on the ground, Dusty".

"Another silent pause. As I was thinking to myself how ripe a situation this was, I heard a familiar click of a radio transmission coming from my backseater. It was at that precise moment I realized Walt and I had become a real crew, for we were both thinking in unison." "Center, Aspen 20, you got a groundspeed readout for us?"

There was a longer than normal pause.... "Aspen, I show 1,742 knots"

"No further inquiries were heard on that frequency"