Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banning iPods on Public Transport

• 29-03-2006 6:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

Anybody think personal stereos should be banned on public transport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Why should they be banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

No, but stupid threads like this should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Bungalow Bill

No frickin way, I have to get two buses and two trains everyday, i'd go out of my mind without it!!

I couldn't really give a **** if people can faintly hear my music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This is a spin-off of "Banning mobiles on Public Transport", yeah?
    Poll it, my vote is No!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

...and they would enforce that how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

sturgo wrote:

But then I'd have to listen to the inane chatter happening around me. Why on earth would I want that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Hurray, lets ban them for everyone cause a minority use ****ty headphones at stupid volumes ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

we also require similar ban for those who speak on mobile for the whole bus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

You could always try asking the noisy headphones person to turn it down. You'd be doing their ears a favour.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

sturgo wrote:

Depends. Are they
    • Taking up too much space?
    • Making you insanely jealous?
    • Bugging you they way they make people dance, even when they can't?
    • Too small? Should we all carry hi-fi systems?
    • freaking you out, they could all be listening to your thoughts with their funky headsets?
    • a little bit audible and you don't want to hear it
    If the last is the case, you'd prefer if we all sat silently, listening to people like you moan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

The OP got scared methinks... Ridiculous question tbh. Thats like saying lets ban stereos in cars in case everybody doesn't want to listen to it. Or lets ban PA's on planes cos not all of us wanna hear what the pilot has to say. :rolleyes:

EDIT: Wait lads! I've got it! He's Bill Gates! Notice the targeting of iPods...but other mp3 players are fine? We're on to you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,198 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Feckin' nonsense... couldn't live without it on my bus home!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

EDIT: Wait lads! I've got it! He's Bill Gates! Notice the targeting of iPods...but other mp3 players are fine? We're on to you...
    LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

ok, maybe they souldn't be banned, but there should be a notice up about how they are use on public transport. i.e.appropiate volume levels. there's nothing more annoying than having to listen to other peoples music. the luas seems to particularly bad for this. dopey looking students with white noise pumping out so their ipods. it's about having respect for your fellow passengers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

No, of course they shouldn't be banned.
    What a stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Hey, it's not our fault if Apple supply iPods with crap headphones. The amount of background noise that's let in is ridiculous, so I'm forced to turn up the volume. Maybe you should listen to music while on the Luas/Dart/bus yourself OP, it might solve your problem.

And yes, I have bought another set of headphones, which are currently broken, so I'm back with the iPod ones.

sturgo wrote:
    ok, maybe they souldn't be banned, but there should be a notice up about how they are use on public transport. i.e.appropiate volume levels. there's nothing more annoying than having to listen to other peoples music. the luas seems to particularly bad for this. dopey looking students with white noise pumping out so their ipods. it's about having respect for your fellow passengers.
    Most people don't mind, as they are such common items these days that the majority of people are too busy listening to their own music to notice anyone else's!

Besides, if your so uppity about it ask them to turn it down rather than relying on the government to print thousands of signs to do that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

thats such a stupid question.why would ipods be banned from public transport.its on the irse you Mu**et.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

sturgo wrote:
    there's nothing more annoying than having to listen to other peoples music.

Er, yes there is.

In fact, on a scale of 1 - 10, with 10 representing the most annoying thing in the world, "listening to other peoples music" would barely register a 3.

So there.
    drdre wrote:
    its on the irse

What? What does that mean? "It's on the rise"? If so... Just because the use of MP3 players is "on the rise" doesn't actually make it okay to play them at annoyingly loud volumes, you know.

But no, they shouldn't be banned. People should just buy better headphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

If we all gave in to peer pressure, and everyone owned an iPod then we wouldnt have this problem. Then everyone could control their own music.
    The OP should either fork out for an iPod ranging from 99 to 400(ish) euro, or a pair of foam ear plugs available from builders providers for 20-30 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

If we all gave in to peer pressure, and everyone owned an iPod then we wouldnt have this problem. Then everyone could control their own music.
    The OP should either fork out for an iPod ranging from 99 to 400(ish) euro, or a pair of foam ear plugs available from builders providers for 20-30 cents.
    Save your money. Foam ear-plugs sound better than iPods :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

No waaay. I'd be bored ****less on the LUAS or bus without my Zen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yes, let's ban them, ipods and then what next? people not able to read a paper, not being able to check the time.

banning ipod's/mp3 players/phones on public transport, just blowing something way out of proportion (mohammad cartoons anyone? (not serious)).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

yeah save and get an ipod they are the best:D

Bard wrote:
    Save your money. Foam ear-plugs sound better than iPods :p

iAudio? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

sturgo wrote:

Respect? lol, most people who let their tinny sh*t spill out of their white headphones are too busy trying to let other people know how cool their particular musical taste is...."Oh look at me, I'm listening to [trendy up and coming band] and will be deaf before I'm 30"

ban them? Bit extreme...get your own and get a pair of 'phones that don't leak....either that or sit out the entire journey with your two fingers stuck in your earholes going "lalalalalala"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

lets ban more than one person being on a bus or luas at a time. its like personalised public transport. basically everyone travels on their own. we could make up a name for this strange new system, i suggest the name TAXI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

What is annoying is people, who have music on their mobile, and they play it at a high volume from the tiny speaker, so them and all their friends can listen to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

sturgo wrote:
    Get your own iPod and you won't hear a thing.

www.apple.ie/store

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Aporia

Noooo God no that would be absolutely terrible. I need my music to cope with buses everyday.

When my headphones break or something it's unbearable to listen to screaming children, annoying teenage knacker girls bitching or grannys gossiping about crap.

why on earth would this be sensible?
    nearly everyone has one and most people need music to make the journey pass by faster

if you are annoyed by the various sounds of music from the different headphones
    get an ipod
    ..or a car

Blisterman wrote:
    What is annoying is people, who have music on their mobile, and they play it at a high volume from the tiny speaker, so them and all their friends can listen to it.

Oh ho ho! actually today when I was getting the bus home a guy had 50 cent blaring from his MP3 PLAYER!!! I wanted to kill him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

ewwwwww 50 cent, there's no excuse for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Anybody think sturgo should be banned from After Hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Aporia wrote:
    Noooo God no that would be absolutely terrible. I need my music to cope with buses everyday.

It's all me me, me me, me :rolleyes: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Wertz wrote:
    It's all me me, me me, me :rolleyes: :D
    Haha actually the others get to listen to my excellent music taste too so it's not just about me y'know!
    ewwwwww 50 cent, there's no excuse for that
    I know, I know terrible stuff indeed. I mean I like rap but that's just taking it too fay I tells ya TOO FAR!!

In the end people who get buses (like myself) shouldn't be complaining. After all it's the lowest of low when it comes to transport. It's public transport - get used to it...it's not exactly royal transport.

Aporia wrote:
    In the end people who get buses (like myself) shouldn't be complaining. After all it's the lowest of low when it comes to transport. It's public transport - get used to it...it's not exactly royal transport.

This post makes the most sense in the entire thread (seriously). Closing time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

No way put of my daily fun is sitting on a bus playing Metallica's cover of "So What" as loud as possible while sitting near a mature person while the gasp for air and pray for my mortal soul.

So English would be a second language then yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Anybody think sturgo should be banned from After Hours?

that's not very nice, mod boy. :mad: what could i be banned for? did i upset u?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

qz wrote:
    So English would be a second language then yeah?

Yeah why not makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭shroomfox

I don't believe people are actually posting up serious responses to some daft question posed without any reasoning.

I know - I'm gonna go set up some threads right now!

"Should we force-feed babies excessive amounts of spinach?"
    "Pool tables - Health & Safety officers should regulate them!"
    "Does the letter W have an excessive amount of syllables? And if so, should we restrict or illegalise its usage?"

Gave me a laugh though, and that's all that matters. Ha ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

while i certainly don't think they should be banned on public transport, on trains and such a "quiet car" like in the US might be an idea (they might already be in use here, i'm not sure). No phones, no loud conversations, no portable audio, no young children. It gives those who want to doze or have some silence an option during long journeys, by simply moving to the appropriate car.

But for the vast, vast majority of public transport, no, of course a ban would be plain silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

sturgo wrote:
    that's not very nice, mod boy. :mad: what could i be banned for? did i upset u?

mod boy? you put up a thread and gave no basis as to why they should/shouldnt be banned. the thread is very pointless just like my response. and dont worry i am not upset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

No!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I haven't read this entire thread because I didn't want to waste too much of my time. Maybe what I am about to say has already been said here, if it has, I'm sure it needs to be said again, and if it hasn't well then it's all well and good.

What gets me about this thread is, in the title the OP uses the world iPod, yet in the post he uses 'personal stereo'. Now, not every personal mp3 player is a feckin iPod. I think iPod's are rubbish, but that's for another thread. I own a Creative Zen Touch, the 40 gig model - and I am very happy with it.

It's all down to the choice of headphones. I have the noise cancelation earbuds, with these I can have my music as loud as I want, and nobody can hear it. And thankfully, even with the music on very low, I cannot hear most people talking, or the radio on public transport - mainly buses. If bus drivers did not have their radio's so loud, then people would not have to have the volume on their mp3 players/walkmen/whatever turned up to the max. Although, some people just do this anyway whether there is a radio on or not.
    Sitting beside someone with their mp3 player/whatever turned up very high does not get to me, it's just the same as listening to the radio on the bus.

These devices should not be banned on ANY form of public transport. Please proceed to lock this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

sjones wrote:
    What gets me about this thread is, in the title the OP uses the world iPod, yet in the post he uses 'personal stereo'. Now, not every personal mp3 player is a feckin iPod. I think iPod's are rubbish, but that's for another thread. I own a Creative Zen Touch, the 40 gig model - and I am very happy with it.

Oh, I agree! Brainwashed by "trendy" ads much, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Perhaps we should try banning smoking on the busses first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

/me strokes iPod

My iPod is sanity on the bus in the mornings. If I didn't have it then I'd have to listen to the annoying little commerce girls on the 17, and that wouldn't be good for my rage.

Now if I really wanted to be a bitch... *takes out DS, puts Super Mario 64 DS in and cranks up volume* :)