Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bupa 10k Run

• 28-03-2006 10:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

On April 9th in the phoenix park. I will be running for Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children, Crumlin. Just wondering are there any other boards members running that day?

I should be fine, I did 4k last night on a treadmill before becoming deathly bored and heading for the weights room. I prefer road running, I just dont understand how people stay on a treadmill for so long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

Yep, I'll be doing it too. Mind you, I have only recently recovered from a muscle problem on my lower back, so I have only 12 days to get myself prepped for it. I intend to do it in under 40 mins, touch wood.

I had a blast at it last year - found the atmosphere nice, relaxing and casual. Fingers crossed the weather stays decent (at least it should be warmer then last year).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

I've done it the last three years - whens closing date for registration? I hope to do it this year - started to quick last year and pulled a muscle so was in under 50 minutes - hope to be a bit faster this year, if I do it.

I see its live on RTE aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Sorry guys - going to a fitness convention in england that weekend and was all set to do it in about 36mins!!

Wish all those that attend all the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

how do u enter this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Sonderval

http://www.greatrun.org/

Don't know the closing date. Remember, if your going for a good time, get as close to the top of the starting grid as possible. Otherwise, you'll be slowed down avoiding other runners who are on a different running tempo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

I'll be there. Are there any problems getting parking in the park on the morning of the run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

Closing date is Friday - should not be trouble getting parking if you are there at least an hour before hand - parking on Chesterfield avenue before the phoenix monument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭full forward

I did it on 59 minuets last year cos I walked for a fair bit. I always get a stitch in my side. This year Im hoping for under 50. Has anyone got the pack in the post yet? Less than two weeks to go and still nothing.

As for training on the treadmill, the only thing that makes it bareable is podcasts / music. Before you know it your there an hour.

No haven't recieved my race number either.

Do they organise groups of people at the start based on the times you expect to run? e.g less than 40 mins, less than 50 etc..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭thetrickykid

They will have signs after the start line in an effort to allow people organise themselves, i.e. sub 40mins, 50 mins, etc.

I ran it in 2003 and 2004 and have registered to run this year. Never managed to get under 40 minutes though - a combination of the hills in the Phoenix Park and the fact that there is still some 'Christmas belly' left over! Its the first race of the year for me so I usually haven't done too much training.

Registration closes on the 31st by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭timeout

Well I'll be there. My first time going for it and i've managed to do the 10k in the hour on the treadmill but doubt i'll be much faster then that, maybe 55min if i get in group or something. First big run in a long, long time. Should I be out road running especial in the these final 2 weeks before the run?

Timeout

I'm not sure what the best approach is when training for a 10k. this will be my first one. I run 10+ miles regularly, fairly slowly though. I reckon I'll take it handy for the first 7-8K then if i feel good I'll try speed up to the finish. Apparently ronan keating came in in 48 minutes last year. So I have to beat that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Brooks

sickened, I really wanted to do this one, but I have a case of shin splints at the moment that just wont go away!
    maybe next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Best of luck to everyone but does anyone share my opinion that the entry fee is far too expensive? Eur 28 is a lot to pay for a run around the park. Compared to the BHAA race in At St Anne's Park on the 8th (Eur 8 for members or Eur 10 for non-members) it is poor value for money.

Geld

Best of luck to everyone but does anyone share my opinion that the entry fee is far too expensive? Eur 28 is a lot to pay for a run around the park. Compared to the BHAA race in At St Anne's Park on the 8th (Eur 8 for members or Eur 10 for non-members) it is poor value for money.

Yeah, the 28 Euro is steep alright, you're probably suffering cause of the cost of the chip timing system. But Hey, will you get to abuse George Hamilton in St. Annes? I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Yeah, the 28 Euro is steep alright, you're probably suffering cause of the cost of the chip timing system. But Hey, will you get to abuse George Hamilton in St. Annes? I think not.

Ah in fairness lads its for a good cause.

Jaysus I put in 1 hr 30 mins as my expected run time, I have no idea how long it will take me to run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭sillysocks

Just wondering if anyone has gotten their race pack with number etc yet? I still haven't received anything and only a week to go now!

Only started running in Jan , never having run before, so hoping for under an hour - off to do a 5k race now so guess I'll have a good idea of my time after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

A friend of mine got their pack on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭lardboy

I got my pack on Friday, so they are on the way. The postage address on them is in The Netherlands, so no doubt An Post will be taking their own damn time with them.

This will be my first organised run, so I'm still a bit wary. My training got completely killed off by the cold snap in Feb/Mar, so I'll probably end up walking much of the 10K. Are there many walkers? I don't want to be the only one stumbling across the finish line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Synkro

does anyone know if it might be possible to register to run at this late stage? Apparently closing date was only last friday. Went onto greatrun.org but no helpful telephone numbers or email addresses. Are there any contact details included in the race packs? If registration isnt possible, does anyone know if it is possible to run along side?

cheers

Adrian

Synkro wrote:
    does anyone know if it might be possible to register to run at this late stage? Apparently closing date was only last friday. Went onto greatrun.org but no helpful telephone numbers or email addresses. Are there any contact details included in the race packs? If registration isnt possible, does anyone know if it is possible to run along side?

cheers

Adrian

Adrian,

Probably not at this late stage. In fairness to the organisers a race with this many runners needs to get organised.

However check out the BHAA's race in St Anne's park on Saturday. 4 mls and an entrance fee of €10.00. See www.BHAA.net. Recommended as I said in a previous post much better value. You even get a cup of tea afterwards.

Geld

I got my pack yeserday with a t-shirt that could fit my car. Looking forward to it now. Should be getting my pack for the New york Marathon soon :eek:

New york marathon? I though that was in November? Have you registered for it?

StaggerLee wrote:
    New york marathon? I though that was in November? Have you registered for it?

Yeah I am doing it for Beaumont Hospital. Have to raise €4500 but well worth it. Im just going to pimp myself at every given oppertunity from now until then.

You may see me asking for money in a slurry voice at the nightlink base in the early hours of any weekend night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭timeout

Got my back too yesterday, including my tshirt with county colors :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Synkro

geld wrote:
    Adrian,

Probably not at this late stage. In fairness to the organisers a race with this many runners needs to get organised.

However check out the BHAA's race in St Anne's park on Saturday. 4 mls and an entrance fee of €10.00. See www.BHAA.net. Recommended as I said in a previous post much better value. You even get a cup of tea afterwards.

Geld

Cheers, BHAA site is very interesting, training links are very helpful

Got a t-shirt yesterday in post - feckin FERMANAGH colours?!! Must've missed the Dublin box when clicking on my county!

Looking ahead does anyone knwo of any other races coming up in the next few months? I know Goal have a 10k run in Phoenix Park on May 27th.

Anyone know of other events?

Got a t-shirt yesterday in post - feckin FERMANAGH colours?!! Must've missed the Dublin box when clicking on my county!

Looking ahead does anyone knwo of any other races coming up in the next few months? I know Goal have a 10k run in Phoenix Park on May 27th.

Anyone know of other events?

...you should be proud to run for Fermanagh. Take inspirations from their footballers!!

Try these links for upcoming races....

www.imra.ie
    www.bhaa.net
    www.irishrunner.ie
    www.athleticsireland.ie/calendar2006.htm

Also some of the Athletic clubs have good fixture lists

Geld

Those of you aiming to do the 10k in and around 40 minutes, what kind of training do you do. How many runs a week? What distances? What times?

Did it in about 41 minutes. Conditions were excellect. Bit stiff today but very happy with my time considering I did it in 57 minutes last year.
    It started a bit late and that annoyed me a bit as I needed to go to the toilet by the time we got underway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Well done, excellent time. I'm attempting a 10k myself soon and would love any time under 70mins :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

It started a bit late and that annoyed me a bit as I needed to go to the toilet by the time we got underway.
    They started a little late last year too but this year it was ridiculous - almost 30 mins late.
    I think the organisers knew that it would start at nearly 1:30 because of the RTE coverage. There were interviews with Bertie/elite runners/celebs which would not have been possible if we started on time (coverage started at 1pm with scheduled run time of 1:05pm).

Yeah it was a great day for a run. Over 7000 runners, its was a bit conjested at the start. Why do people insist on starting from the front and walk the race, I spent the first 3k dodging walkers.
    I came in in 50 minutes. Hope to shave a couple of minutes off that for the calcutta run in May.

StaggerLee wrote:
    Yeah it was a great day for a run. Over 7000 runners, its was a bit conjested at the start. Why do people insist on starting from the front and walk the race, I spent the first 3k dodging walkers.
    I came in in 50 minutes. Hope to shave a couple of minutes off that for the calcutta run in May.

Whats the story with your calcutta run? Sounds good!

I did it in about 50 mins, I was going insane with all the walkers getting in my way. I got there late so started close to the back. My first 4 k was dancing around people and jumping onto the grass banks which made it alot harder. We also stopped because a guy infront of us collapsed at the 9k mark. Great day, a little stiff today but it was well worth it.

The walkers did my head in though.

http://www.goal.ie/fundraising/calcuttarun.shtml

Theres some info on the calcutta run, looks good, there'll probably be fewer runners. Adidas also do organised runs throughout the summer which lead up the the marathon, a 5 mile, 10 mile then a half marathon in september.

Yeah jumping on and off the grass verges did me no good either. I seen that guy at 9k, hope he was alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Yeah, I concur about those walkers, a bit of a pain. My own opinion is that walkers should start at the back. We were luckly that the rain stayed away, I don't mind running in the rain, but that delay would have been a killer if it was raining. I'm not sure why that run has become so popular, I remember the first year there was only 2000 running, and I thought that was a lot. However, it great to see so many running. Done it in 44 mins so I'm pleased with that.

Results here.

http://www.scotpay.co.uk/results/quickresults.php

The time on my stopwatch does not match the time on the website though.

StaggerLee wrote:
    http://www.goal.ie/fundraising/calcuttarun.shtml

Theres some info on the calcutta run, looks good, there'll probably be fewer runners. Adidas also do organised runs throughout the summer which lead up the the marathon, a 5 mile, 10 mile then a half marathon in september.

Yeah jumping on and off the grass verges did me no good either. I seen that guy at 9k, hope he was alright.

Ahhh bad date for me! Would love to do it though.

I did it in 53 mins accroding to the website above. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

joejoem wrote:
    Ahhh bad date for me! Would love to do it though.

Any particular training schedule you followed joejoem, and how long did you train for ?

joejoem wrote:

Well done. Is this the time you expected? WHat was on the clock as you went under it at the start and end?

My time seems a bit off. Its as if my starting time was ignored. 9:30 had passed as I went over the start line and about 50:30 as I finished. Yet that site says I did it in 53 minutes.

zabbo wrote:
    Any particular training schedule you followed joejoem, and how long did you train for ?

Not really, I do about 20 mins on a treadmill on a high incline 4 times a week before weights and then fit in a road run where I can. I will be starting a harder cardio routine now though to train for the summer runs. (5, 10 & 13 mile runs)

Well done. Is this the time you expected? WHat was on the clock as you went under it at the start and end?

My time seems a bit off. Its as if my starting time was ignored. 9:30 had passed as I went over the start line and about 50:30 as I finished. Yet that site says I did it in 53 minutes.

On the clock was around 7 and when I finished it was just turning an hour. I had no idea what to exepect, I put 1h 30 mins down as my expected time because I dont have a whole lot of running experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

I did it in 42m31s. I was running behind sonia and eamon for the first 5-6K and then they upped the pace. It was a great day out apart from the late start. I passed Keith Duffy in the first couple of Km. He came in at about 46-47 mins compared to Ronans 48 a couple of years ago