Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photography Session Advice Needed

• 27-03-2006 2:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭

Well people.

I'm doing my first 'photography session' to to speak as one of my girlfriends friends have
    asked her to ask me about doing the photos for her daughters Holy Communion.

I'm a little nervous as I've never really gone out and done a session like this for somebody
    else.

Can anyone, if been in the field before give me a little idea of what I should/shouldn't do,
    or any advice really?

The info already I have is it's going to start around 10am, at Church photos being taken, aswell
    at there home. Should I bring my Tripod, will it be handy?

What would be the best lens to use? I've the 18-55mm EF-S f/3.5-5.6 and a Sigma 28-300 f/3.5-5.6 Zoom.

I don't have a my 430EX flasgun so only my pop up flash.

Camera I'll be using is a Canon EOS 300D D-SLR, and I'll be taking a 1GB and a 128MB CF Flash cards.
    How many shots do you think sould be rounded off for the day?

Lastly how should I present the photos to her? I've mentioned I could give her a CD and she
    could decide what prints she wants but she wants to leave it with me to get developed.

Should I let her view photos on laptop before getting devloped so she can pick what she likes
    and what size(s) she would like, and should I get a complimenary photoalbum for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I'd be inclined to use the sigma maybe, definately no pop up flash. take as many shots as you can without pissing people off

Normally what I'd do is give people a selection of shots on a cd and print out a contact sheet so they can see at a glance what's worth looking at. I wouldnt bother bringing a tripod, it'll only slow you down and more than likely be a huge pain the in arse when inside the church.

Well, that's what I'd do anyway :D Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

I have done a few of these before...here is a list of stuff I done,

1. Take load of candid shots of the girl on her own, these usually turn out the best. Head shots of the veil and all that.

2. These shots take outside the church, usually at the back were there is some grass. Take shots of the parents and child, then include brother or sister and then include the rest of the family. If grand parents are still alive take some shots with them on there own with there grandchild.

3. Some churches don't allow flash, so have a fast prime handy, the canon f1.8 would do fine. If your are able to use flash I would set your flash to ettl and flash exposure to -1, camera exposure manually, (this is a guide, although I find it does the trick most of the time so you won't be far off and the shots will look natural) set the focal length to 50mm, 1/60, f/4 iso400 and no more than 12feet away, check your histogram all the way and you will be fine.

4. During the communion usually each child has a role, doing readings, bring up gifts etc. Just make sure you capture all that. At the side of the alter is usually a good spot, you will know on the day.

5. Take shots of her with her class mates, best friends and all that. The school usually has a photographer on hand for the class group shot, so be quick and have your camera ready and shoot will he is shooting, as they will be on a ladder or ask him can you take a shoot up the ladder...they usally don't mind (just make sure you have a good dof f8 - f11 should be fine).

6. For the rest of the day I would just do candids.

I would take at least 400 shots, so would be handy if you could get your hands on some more cf memory or dump them all onto a laptop and reformat the card each time. Then narrow it down to about 50 or 60 of the best ones and let the parents pick from them and decide what format they want, album, picture sizes etc.

It would be handy if you know the church and can get access before the communion and this will give you a better idea of your exposure setting inside the church.

Anyway goodluck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Progen

Great advice from ye. It's building up my confidence anyway!

I've jotted down on a notepad a few pointers.

If they want a cetain photo say poster size, am I best shooting at Large > Fine throughout the day rather than what I usually shoot at (Medium > Fine)

I'd say I'll pick up another 512mb CF card in a few days.

Also, the Church is at viewing distance from my house, so not far away. Is it worth heading up and wandering in and speaking with the Priest for vantage points and where the 'ceremony' will be actually taking place?

Do you think it's best to shoot head on, while following the thirds rule, or maybe slightly to either the left or right of them.. (Indoors)

I wouldnt even consider shooting this in jpeg. I stick to one general rule for my own events & stuff like this; if it's an unrepeatable shot, shoot RAW. If I have the space (which I normally do) I'll shoot RAW & Medium jpeg.

I'd head to the church beforehand no matter what kind of distance it is. Preferably while theres something on there so all the lights & all that will be on the way they'll be on the day. If nothing else, seeing the place and what the lighting is like will give you more confidence on the day.

Buy a Canon 70-200 IS. If people think you're a pro they'll stay out of your way with their feckin point & shoot cameras :D

rymus wrote:
    Buy a Canon 70-200 IS. If people think you're a pro they'll stay out of your way with their feckin point & shoot cameras :D

I like your way of thinking :D I just don't have that money at the mo :(
    I'll just spray my sigma lens white and write L on it in red :eek: :o:p

is that the sigma hyperzoom lens? I was thinking of picking one up as a kind of walkaround telephoto but I've been hearing differing opinions about the sharpess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭FinoBlad

Progen wrote:

I don't have a my 430EX flasgun so only my pop up flash.

Flash would be the first thing I'd pack. I'd reconsider leaving it behind imho.

rymus wrote:
    is that the sigma hyperzoom lens? I was thinking of picking one up as a kind of walkaround telephoto but I've been hearing differing opinions about the sharpess

I actually find it a great walkabout! I was only out yesterday taking snaps of birds/nature kinda theme. I havn't had chance to put any good ones up from it, but I will tomorow so ya can see for urself.

I find it sharp enough for what it is.

http://www.sigma-photo.co.jp/english/lens/standardzoom/28_300_35_63.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

rymus wrote:
    I'd head to the church beforehand no matter what kind of distance it is. Preferably while theres something on there so all the lights & all that will be on the way they'll be on the day. If nothing else, seeing the place and what the lighting is like will give you more confidence on the day.

very good advice rymus -
    Flash would be the first thing I'd pack. I'd reconsider leaving it behind imho.

I second that - having shot at a wedding or two I find good flash is crucial inside a church. It may mean the differnce of binning or keeping a lot of your shots. try and get one if at all possible.

Get an assistant if possible. It's always nice to have someone minding your gear so you can concentrate on taking photos. I've missed a good few shots because I was fumbling with this or that.

I would get a reflector for the outdoor shots (small investment)....queue assistant here as well..

I find an important thing in group setups is to take charge. Don't be shy about telling people how to pose or putting them in best light etc. I find sometimes it's harder to do with people you know than strangers.

anyhow, keep us posted on how you make out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

All very good advice, but just be careful you don't go over the top. It's a Communion, not a wedding and expecially in the Church, be aware that all the other parents will want pictures of their kid's special moments too. Even if you're being paid as a 'professional', that doesn't give you any more rights than the Mam next to you with her disposable camera. The snootyness aspect for your girlfriend's friend of having hired a pro can change if you affect how other families remember the event and she gets stick for the guy with the big camera hogging the good positions. Having lovely pictures may not be worth her kid getting slagged in school, etc. I'm not saying you won't be perfect, just be aware.