Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An Idea

• 27-03-2006 3:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

Okay heres an idea that inspired from the infantry league, maybe it could work maybe it won't but its an idea all the same. In the infantry I myself didn't like the 6 vs 6 overly im a man thats likes a larger game. Anyway ive mentioned this to one other person who seems to think it was a good idea but i haven't revealed by full idea to that person or anyone.

Okay so the boards.ie vs btc game turned out to be a nice game a bit of a shambles due to lack of organisation (on both sides) but fun nonetheless. Anyway this got me thinking of what would it be like to play, say on a map like oman 32 or karkand 16 or even Mashtuur 32, with the infantry rules with maybe 16 a side or even 32 a side if possible, i think the best way for this to work is instead of (and this is the part i haven't thought out too much) a clan vs clan or forum members vs a clan we could just get a butt load of people on a server (whatever we can get) and just have a great fun ole time regardless of disconnects or the like, maybe a huge pistol/knife fight or sniper war or whatever. Now instead of having say NRG & BTC vs 1st-IB,Boards & TiG etc, we just have a big mix of players from any clan.

I know most people may think a screw this ill just go on a ranked server and play a load of other people its the same thing. Maybe it is but why not try this?

Any comments or suggestions please post here/pm me/or contact me on the clannrg.com forums whatever you like. Id rather not see this thread turn into a slagging match one way or the other. This thread has nothing to do with NRG or any other clan its just a little idea from my mind. Variations on the rules could be decided maybe allowing transport vehicles only or an AT war only (actually that would be fun) Anywho this is Scrapper saying night night and have a wee think about this. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Im in total agreement about the incresed size. However, Im dying to try some organised full BF2 with tanks and choppers (hehehe :D) and commanders, the whole shabang. I don't think the whole "lets all jump on a server and play randomn stuff" will work very well; its far too unfocused to keep people's attentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Zillah wrote:
    Im in total agreement about the incresed size. However, Im dying to try some organised full BF2 with tanks and choppers (hehehe :D)

You were ment to be there for the btc vs boards match weren't you? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Actually im very unclear on that matter. My understanding of events went like so:

Kdjac posts saying "Lets have a big TiG versus boards thing soon"!
    I say "count me in for now".
    Much later people are talking about some BTC vs boards thing and im confused and far far to busy in not computer land to worry about it. And before you start with "posting at 6:40 in the morning isn't busy!", well it is, if you just spent the last few hours doing a college project. I love my life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

R0ot wrote:
    Okay heres an idea (etc.) Maybe it is but why not try this?

Why not indeed? [personal opinion]I'm all for that, as I'd rather play with Boards/TiG/NRG/BTC people, people I can 'relate to' through Boards and the few recent INF Compo games, than total strangers - organised or not. So in that respect, no I'm not bothered about joining any other ranked server if there's a 'Boards' server with people on it (there's never anyone on 'the' (TiG) Boards server :( ). [/personal opinion]

I do believe that as and when this 'mixed Boards/TiG/NRG/BTC playground' gets some momentum (i.e. 1st game's craic, leads to 2nd games which is also craic, leads to 3rd game -etc.) then (@Zillah, this) you can start looking at organising things a bit more formally and then maybe contemplate Boards Infantry Wars #02 on that template/setup.

(PS: that other thread makes a real sorry read, lads - and personally, I couldn't make head or tails of what went on on IRC last night. Tempers flared far too easily. I'd put it all down to adrenaline at the time, and now shake hands, a peck on the cheek and make up ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

Well heres an idea scrapper, instead of throwin people together in a big hodgepodge, we keep the exsisting teams from the inf league, and just mix them up. Say one week you could have Boards team 5 & NRG1 versus BTC & 1stIB, that would be a 12 v 12 match, we could play on a 24 player map, and allow the use of tanks, jeeps, and MAYE...helis ;) but no fuggin planes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Good Idea and all.... I like the mix and match thing... As was said above I prefer playin wit folks I "know" and can laugh at the next day...:o

BUt and this is probably the main point of my post - what the hell were ye all up in the wee hours of the morning? and posting on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Well heres an idea scrapper, instead of throwin people together in a big hodgepodge, we keep the exsisting teams from the inf league, and just mix them up. Say one week you could have Boards team 5 & NRG1 versus BTC & 1stIB, that would be a 12 v 12 match, we could play on a 24 player map, and allow the use of tanks, jeeps, and MAYE...helis ;) but no fuggin planes!!!

Yeah i like this one because theres no hassle in organising teams etc..just put existing teams together. And i'd love to see tanks for sure, Not to keen about choppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Zillah wrote:
    Actually im very unclear on that matter. My understanding of events went like so:

Kdjac posts saying "Lets have a big TiG versus boards thing soon"!
    I say "count me in for now".
    Much later people are talking about some BTC vs boards thing and im confused and far far to busy in not computer land to worry about it. And before you start with "posting at 6:40 in the morning isn't busy!", well it is, if you just spent the last few hours doing a college project. I love my life...

The Boards VS Clans post was there for a week, the game was meant for a certain day, we found out TIg were playng inf league game we hastly got BTC to fit in, we got mashed but had fun ;p

We could play NRG next wed if they up for it.

kdjac

Yeah i'd love to do that. Kdjac would there be viechles involved or as it is at the mo, either way i'd love to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

THe more matches the better. THis can only be a good thing me thinks.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I am a member of TacticalGamer.com and is the closest thing I have to a clan. Their unranked server is one of the most popular in the US due to the way it's run and organised.

There have a website/forum where members can choose a squad to be in. Squads have from 6 to 24 members and matches are organised where squads play with each other against other squads, filling up the 64-player server.

It's amazing fun and easy to do once the ball get's rolling. Once a squad leader is using VoIP to give orders people love to follow even if they don't use their mic.

thats interesting ponster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

Ponster wrote:
    I am a member of TacticalGamer.com

I had that server in my favourites , but it was nearly always empty at the time and my ping to it was in the 200's

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

jonski wrote:
    I had that server in my favourites , but it was nearly always empty at the time and my ping to it was in the 200's

Yeah, the problem is that as it's an unranked USA server, it doesn't get much traffic for 'normal' European hours. At 9pm you may only find 6 people on it though connecting anyhow will always help the server fill up faster.

But every Thursday night is for Euro players

*** Announcing TG EURO NIGHT Regular Event ***

Thursdays 20:00 GMT (21:00 CET, 15:00 EST)
    TacticalGamer.com - BF2 SRV #1
    70.86.19.218:16567
    http://www.tacticalgamer.com/battlefield-2-general-discussion/69020-tactical-gamer-euro-night-every-thursday-2000-gmt-2100-cet.htm

What they do is make sure that if someone with a |TG| prefix creates a squad then that person needs to act like a good squad leader and it's amazing how people love to play when they're being led properly and feel like they're in a unit rather than just using the SL as someone to spawn on. I'd love to see this gameplay, with non-clan BF2 players, on the Boards.ie server.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I agree with R0ot but on the fun side of things, knives and shock paddles only would be some laugh, grenades only :D Would also give players like me a chance to learn from clan members

Vegeta wrote:
    grenades only :D

Never thought of that, /me is intriguied :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Ponster wrote:
    Yeah, the problem is that as it's an unranked USA server, it doesn't get much traffic for 'normal' European hours.

Most players with brains in Europe dont play on US servers. Trying to play across the pond will result in ugly pings and suchness. Compared to when playing on local European servers you would need to actually be insane to *want* to play so far away..

imo

Winters wrote:
    suchness

??? :D

I can invent words :D

\o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

With the weekends ripples out of the way :D I am in the process of organizing a ladder for BF2. Basically open to the same teams but for 8 v 8 with all vehicles and choppers in.

As its a ladder it will be played on the basis that teams can challenge other teams who have to play them or be deducted points. I'm trying to get a php scipt for this so that its all automated etc.

Fairy

PS I also considered allowing matches in the old BF games. So you can challenge for a match in BF2/BFV/BF42 etc. I think this would be mental fun but would need real dedication from all players concerned to get the games installed and patched. We have a 42 and BFV server installed so its just a matter of starting them up.

With the weekends ripples out of the way :D I am in the process of organizing a ladder for BF2. Basically open to the same teams but for 8 v 8 with all vehicles and choppers in..

I like the idea but fear some chopper l33t skills ruinin whole games. I am in what the hell I have no life anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Instant Karma

what about the next one we do an 8v8 or even a 10v10 normal conquest on the 16plyr maps (selection of the best ones). Also only need one team each and would rule out all the rushing for matches and getting players etc.

R0ot wrote:
    ??? :D

Suchness... is a buddhist thingymajigger...

"If you wish to realize Buddhahood quickly or be born in the Pure Land without fail, you must think that your own mind is precisely the principle of suchness" - quote from below...

http://www.gakkaionline.net/Myths/Suchness.html

/me thinks of a conquest league with choppers......

Alright ill get my Eryx and SRAW ready :D

weapon unlocks or not????

Vegeta wrote:
    weapon unlocks or not????

No for 2 reasons:

1. If we are following the standard league rules then we can't use unlocks
    &
    2. (The most valid reason) Not everyone has all or even any of the unlocks.

(Oh and id rather not have a support player cutting up a whole team single handed with a pkm :D )

understandable, dam there goes my PKM dream anyway :rolleyes:

R0ot wrote:
    No for 2 reasons:

1. If we are following the standard league rules then we can't use unlocks
    &
    2. (The most valid reason) Not everyone has all or even any of the unlocks.

(Oh and id rather not have a support player cutting up a whole team single handed with a pkm :D )

But I want my MG36... the best gun in the game!!! Support Rules!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

I wholeheartedly approve this product and/or service. BF1942 matches? For the f*cking win. I still think it would be great to do it inter clan tho, play 12 v 12's with 6 players from one clan and 6 from another on one side, would eliminate all pointless 1upmanship and make it all about 'teh fun'.

Aye, I'm up for anything that generates some fun. We'd need to work out how many have bf1942 firstly though.

Fairy

Aye, I'm up for anything that generates some fun. We'd need to work out how many have bf1942 firstly though.

Fairy

Ill start a wee poll on boards.ie here :D

no unlocks plx

I think about two years ago (when BFV came out)i lent my bf 42 to a six year old. He has no BB and just plays single player...everytime i go down ther he's always playing it on single player(god bless 'em).

Never missed it until now, Think i'll have to do some covert ops to get it back:D

just make him an image and leave the image so he can still play sp, he wont need key for that, all you need is the key.

or the Mini Image if one existed ;)

just make him an image and leave the image so he can still play sp, he wont need key for that, all you need is the key.

/me thinks this kind of talk is illegal :D

Thanks Karma, Didn't know i could do that. This kinda talk makes scrapper aka root nervous:D

so nervous you cant even wet yourselves. O_O

How about he just buys it him for his Birthday or some other occasion instead?

It's not as if the title's not in the budget range atm, or as if it can't be picked up in the FS Forum for a few quids... You'd think pirating software was the norm these days :mad:

ambro25 wrote:
    How about he just buys it him for his Birthday or some other occasion instead?

It's not as if the title's not in the budget range atm, or as if it can't be picked up in the FS Forum for a few quids... You'd think pirating software was the norm these days :mad:

how is having a game you bought installed on 2 systems piracy? all my bf games runs off images....

Pirate Pirate, you make people out of work, shameful!!!! :eek:

Fairy

You get less lag from your system using a no-cd image :D

Pirate Pirate, you make people out of work, shameful!!!! :eek:

Fairy

i lol'd :D

how is having a game you bought installed on 2 systems piracy? all my bf games runs off images....

It depends on whether you own the 2 systems, or whether that 6-year old is your neighbour and your copy of BF1942 is installed on his/his parents' PC.

I run BF2 off an image as well. Just so I don't have to take the DVD out of its box. Nothing wrong with that.

But both matters are not related. Just so you know.

Fairy - tbh, pretty little incentive to keep developing anything at all, if people in the main are gonna play your game without paying for it. Common sense, is all.

ambro25 wrote:
    Fairy - tbh, pretty little incentive to keep developing anything at all, if people in the main are gonna play your game without paying for it. Common sense, is all.

Sorry have I missed something here........I dont get your point :confused:

Fairy

lol 'pirate pirate' is a private tig in joke. (if thats what your refering to)

Sorry have I missed something here........I dont get your point :confused:
    lol 'pirate pirate' is a private tig in joke. (if thats what your refering to)

I took it a face value, not being a TiG member and therefore not knowing about the private joke (if that's what it was).

If that's not what it was, the point is elementary: there isn't any incentive for a game developer to be developing new & better games, if most players are not going to buy their existing games in general. To begin with, there won't be a revenue stream to pay for any new development anyway, never mind the lease on the softco's studio :rolleyes:

I'll lay it on thick, for the sake of clarity: I developed BF2, sold 1 copy, yet 50 people are playing it, 49 playing it with an *.MDS and a piece of freeware and 1 playing it with the retail DVD from which the *.MDS were made.

i actually feel bad now because i have bought all the bf series and packs and what did EA do with all the money i gave them? delevoped bf2142.....

Well, you can't say you didn't vote with your wallet, can you? :D:p

lol havn't looked at this tread for a day...man it got serious:p