Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boards.ie inf competition

• 26-03-2006 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭

I tried to set this up for a bit of fun, with a minimum of rules etc. As it seems there are going to be issues about times of matches etc tig will no longer take part in the competition.

Good luck to all the other teams in the competition.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

And you have the cheek to call us children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

See theres the problem. You said you couldnt play as it was past 9pm yet there where loads of you on IRC and on here posting. We'd rather not get into a crappy argument each week, we'd rather just walk away. So thats what we will do.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

We had another match at 9 and alot of players had to go to bed etc, its like 11 over in finland and sweden not nine....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Sgt. Politeness

Well Fairy tbh we had offered to reschedule, tjarn offered a match on weds-thurs which was ignored.
    Yeah our team were on irc but 2 of the swedes had to go as theyre an hour ahead of us, and couldnt stay any longer. Glippo was up at 5am for work and couldnt stay, so half our team was unavailable to play after 9. Wed been in irc since 6 and noone told us the match was gonna be any later than 8, 8 being the time all inf matches we'd played started at.
    But you know, if thats what yous wanna do that okay and thanks for the games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Fairy look, both sides have a good point. We tought it was at 8pm(unoffical i suppose now) When we heard you lads were playing another game without anyone telling us we were a bit p'd off.

Then scrapper and Tjarn had to leave and play thier game so we couldn't play at nine. And i asked for a reschedule and was told no way. But with a few narky comments coming from both sides i suppose at that point you were right to say no.

We were genuinely up for this match, It would be a shame to call it a day on this comp, You did put together a great compo. I've personally never seen boards battlefiels light up as much as it has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Glippo

I dont get it we offered to reschedule, why dont we just play the match at a later date and forget about all this, then we all go home happy

K, good to see some sense shining through there. There where never times agreed. We finished a match and joined battlefield.ie to sort out the next game only to get a load of stuff thrown at us about not playing matches etc.

Its not worth it lads. We had all this ****e before and deffo couldnt be arsed with it again.

GG's

Fairy

Well we could also say we've had all this crap before also....So thats it i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Ffs

NRG you do realise its a fun league? For the last 3 weeks you have done nothing but whinge about anything. With the Boards teams it was very plain there would be player issues, afaik only once has Boards 6 played with the same team Boards 5 hasnt once. Every week we have subs or general player hunting.

Every other clan has accomadated it and seen the league in the fun way its meant to be. If you want to be in a serious league join clanbase if you had of read the iniatial posts and general feeling this was a fun way to play Bf2 then you really shouldnt have signed up 2 teams.

Tig have organsied this and gave their servers when needed and players on occasion.
    Where possible the matches will be on a Sunday night and will be hosted on the TiG match server or other clan server as long as it can be passworded.

Not everyone can and has made it or complained about delays or timing problems.

kdjac

kdjac wat have nrg been moaning about?

tonight was all just one big mess up from both sides....

evd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Am gonna throw my two cents in here.... as someone who's a recent edition to NRG and as someone who's as laid back as the next guy.

The inf league is for fun. And thats all the NRG guys see it as. A bit of a laugh and a way to while away the hours on a sunday evening. The practice sessions are nothing more than clamore/knife competitions. They're a sound bunch of lads. But for the last few weeks... it seems that anything that went wrong has been NRG's fault. Server pausing/not pausing, players leaving, rematches, postponments? There was loads of confusion the last weekend becuase nobody knew what server everyone was playing on, and then while on another server it wouldn't pause. So a rematch was played and twas a great game. But twas played on a thursday and as was mentioned above people from both sides couldn't make it for various reasons. but it was still played. And nobody had any complaints after.

But in the posts people were saying the rematch was our fault? which of course the lads got a bit annoyed about because they thought they were helping people by giving them the chance to rejoin etc.
    kdjac wrote:
    Not everyone can and has made it or complained about delays or timing problems.

Sunday is the best day in the week for this kind of thing. Most of our clan(And everyone elses) is available early on a sunday. But if its starts to get late - more and more people are put under pressue, work, school, college, wives, kids, etc.

But what it all boils down to is communication. And the lack thereof. A bit of fun still needs proper managment. Suggestions were given and most were taken on board. Everyone seemed to have representatives on irc and the like. If people had known that the managemnet was getting to some of ye then it could have been spread about???

The idea in the first place was brilliant and I enjoy greatly the craic I have wit the NRG lads, and the since this started, lads from some of the other clans(BTC to name but one.). Twas really all good fun. And I know all of the NRG lads have a laugh playin BF2 (the TS sessions are bloody hilarious).

Anywho, if this is end of the inf league then, to everyone in 1st-IB, BTC, Boards, NRG, and tig, thanks for the laughs and hopefully inf league 2 will come around soon!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

I agree Archy.

I also had a really good time in the league.

I think it a pity for it to end(or be reduced).

I haven't whinged yet.
    (only about my dissconnects every 10 minutes:()

Evd-Burner wrote:
    kdjac wat have nrg been moaning about?

tonight was all just one big mess up from both sides....

evd...

Eh yeah Kdjac id also like to see where NRG have been moaning in the last 3 weeks? Perhaps you can enlighten me and point it out, Cause as far as i can see tonights been the only hiccup ive seen. If youre gonna lay the blame for this at our door, at least back it up.
    NRG have had as much fun as anyone else in this league and every game weve had has been in good spirits, i dont think anyone whos played us will complain about us being bad sports or anything, and weve played all the boards teams, BTC, 1st IB, etc, had a great laugh and good games with all.
    Scrapper has been on here every week updating the league table, getting everyones scores, and weve offered our own server for matches aswell, so dont make out that its tig who are the only ones trying to make this league work, everyone was helping out. Tonight was just a foul up cause

A)we were left waitin an hour for a match (thats gonna irritate anyone no matter how light hearted the league is)
    B) we couldnt reschedule for tonight cause as our memebers had to go cause it got so late
    C) We offered a rematch on IRC and were told to 'feck right off'

Yeah, its not a rule that all matches had to start at 8, but we were in irc from 6, and asking for ages, scrapper was kicked any time he went onto the TiG server to ask.
    scrapper wrote:
    83.219.211.103:16567 we have our good server back up and running i can give in game admin to 1 player from each team if needed or i can get an admin to run around also. Give us a shout if you guys need a ts server or whatever say around 8 or 9 for the match lads?
    Offering a TS server and admin rights to our server to the opposing team? Doesnt exactly seem like the actions of a bunch of moany c*nts who are only out to spoil everyones fun, does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

Was a good fun this comp
    Pity things have came to a halt as they have.i was witness to how & why things got delayed tonight,and i must say things could easily have gone ahead only for stubborness and childishness.
    Tig even had to rush the matches that needed to have been played before the Nrg one,even had to summerise a Tig V Tig score as the server crashed.
    It was 8:45 we said that we were ready and all that was returned was moans & groans.
    For something that could have just taken 30-45 mins to finish
    Tut tut Nrg :mad:

Jackabo wrote:
    It was 8:45 we said that we were ready and all that was returned was moans & groans.
    For something that could have just taken 30-45 mins to finish
    Tut tut Nrg :mad:

Jack, we were ready at eight(thinking that was the normal time) NOONE told us you guys were playin a match. When it got closer to nine Scrapper and Tjarn had to play Boards 6 as part of NRG 2. Two of our other lads are in Finland and had to go....We asked for a rematch and were told and i quote '''Like feck we will''. We were on our own server since seven, We were rearin for this game all week.

Certain people are trying to take the 'Moral high ground' here, trying to make us look bad. Ahh sure **** it, who cares in anyway, it's only a bloody game.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭jonski

Maybe it should have been communicated to the other team earlier on that it was going to be late .
    On Sundays someone from BTC is always on the IRC channel early to meet with the other team and work out times , not that hard to do and saves a lot of hassle later on .

I can't understand the lack of communication or the blow up in IRC ( I was there reading it while admin'in our game ) , is there history here that I don't know about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

WTF is all i can say.

All the posts seem to be TIG V NRG and all I can say is lads make peace. TIG pulling out kills the league and I was really enjoying it and taking it for the fun that it was. 1st-IB have never entered a competitive BF2 league and this was our traing ground for such things. We never won a match but still really enjoyed every miniute of it. It was a grea idea by Fairy and I was even hoping that after every one had played each other we would start over again or continue on with the same schedual. We even went a man down V BTC for a whole round and played on regardless and had the match of our lives. I have no regrets in this league and am really happy it happened, so im also sorry to see it starting to end. We dident have a game this week but im hoping that TIG and NRG can make peace and keep it going for the rest og us that are still learning the game. Sure we even had to reschedual on game due to the fact that 33% of our team had IBB and there were not problems we played it mid week no grumbles from anyone.

Come on lads dont through in the towl.

TIG are schlaaaagss and NRG are mofo`s.\
    There I started the row now pick on 1st-ib and make peace but at least keep a good thing going.

Oh and on a personal note scrapper is a real whore, he knows what i mean the knifing whore! :)

Hehe damn right and you know it! :D

The problem posed to me and the rest of NRG atm is that all the matches we have left are against TiG (Or am i wrong?) thus if they pull out we have no more games, im all for continueing the league but im making plans in case it is over. I know i used a bit of harsh language on IRC but when the words "so its a forefit then" were said i think i almost exploded (Sorry Jackabo i think it was i cursed at). Anyway i really hope tig reconsiders their decision on this matter but if they don't im not going to keep this arguement going. Now over this league ive made a few mates that i really enjoy playing bf2 with from various clans and a few clanless players too ([BTC]Ghost ftw!) , fairy the idea you had is excellent and i know you wanted to start a larger conquest version of the league which would be interesting. If this is the end of the league Good games and pld to all the teams, tiggers, boarders, 1st-ib's, BTC's and NRGer's alike. :D

Listen I knew that with this many teams and public teams involved etc that we would need to be tollerant of delays etc. If you hadnt noticed yesterday was mothers day meaning that a lot of people had been out etc and where only getting in after 7. We tried to get our game out of the way and even closed up the game short after we got kicked due to network issues as we didnt have the time to replay it.

The first I knew about NRG asking to start was as we finished our game and joined IRC. I told the lads to join the match server asap to get started and the next thing we know you wouldnt join because it was too late. This was at 8:45! Now I start work early etc as well, most of TiG are all working guys, but 8:45 was not late by any means.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Ziycon

Im only new to NRG myself and all i knew about what happened i learned from this thread, now all i can say is, what happened happened! Theres no point im getting into more arguments bout who said or done what, the best thing to do is for everyone to move on from this! TiG said they want out, they should'nt be abused or anything, they gave a legit reason and thats there opinon and feelings, you gotta respect it.

Move on everyone, theres always gonna be more matches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭fightin snr

Ya know something Fairy,I wasn`t gonna post in this thread for various reasons..........but there`s a thing called common courtesy(sp),a simple by "the way lads would you mind if we get our outstanding match out of the way before we play you lot tonite", would have allowed NRG2 go ahead with their match against boards on time and we could have sorted something out with regards our match.
    what with family commitments, personally I find it difficult to justify spending time playing bf to the missus..so the time I have is precious,as such I would hope you could appreciate how annoying it was personally to be left hanging on for the best part of an hour,not knowing when the game would go ahead.Unfortunatly for me 9pm was too late to start,we had subbed a member from team 2 for this match but alas he had to go and play the pre-arranged delayed game against boards,as for whatever comments flew afterwards.............1)no I`m not afraid to play you
    2)I don`t have to ask my mammy can I plz stay up late...the wife told me my time was up.
    3)I would actually be very disappointed if this tourney ended on such a sour note(but hey it`s not my ball;) )
    to everyone else thanks for the games,I have really enjoyed this competition,thanks to the two boards teams who made our ts turn blue on more than one occassion:D
    cheers,
    Snr.

Can you do me a favour and post up where it was agreed that we would play you at 8pm. This seems to be the central part of this argument. I dont ever remember agreeing it nor does any other member of tig. It might help get this sorted.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭fightin snr

thats exactly the problem here Fairy..every game we played has been at 8pm except for prior arrangement,customer practice would dictate that this would be the time for all our matches,
    regardless of what time we thought we were to play,what time on a sunday do TIG consider reasonable to organise a match,surely you can understand that coming on at 9pm telling us that you are now ready to play is not suffecient(sp) notice,I was talkin to Berns last nite, when I told him we were available from 6pm onwards on all forms of comms xfire,irc etc... and no attempt was made to inform us of your plans for the evenings entertainment ,we were only to assume that you would go by the infantry league schedule and play our good selves.
    look at the end of the day 9pm was too late for some of us,had you made an attempt to inform us of your intentions to play at 9pm earlier we could have avoided all this bull****,I sincerely hope you can reconsider you stance on the issue and accept our invitation to play at a date and time arranged to suit everyone,think of all the poor boardies who`ll miss out just because we`ve had another one of our by now infamous spats:D

yours in war
    Snr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

Come on lads, suck it up and finish the competition.

If TIG leave it will take any good out of the finishing positions of the remaining teams.

I want Boards Team 5 to earn their 2nd last place, not be handed it :D

Seriously, Suck it up and finish. Too many Sundays gone into this now.

Wavey.

Wavey wrote:
    I want Boards Team 5 to earn their 2nd last place, not be handed it
    No that place is reserved for NRG2 ! :D

The last thing we want to do is let the community down. Clans will come and go but the Irish gaming communtiy will always be here.

We will be happy to continue to play out the final matches however everyone will need to chill and accept that things sometimes wont happen on time etc.

Also if future leagues and ladders are orgainsed dont join them on the basis that they will run like clock work. They wont, thats a promise.

NRG let us know when you would like to play this match. We are all at a lan this weekend starting midday on Friday until Sunday afternoon so between then is out. We have also a CB match on Wed evening.

Fairy

Played Fairy. :)

GAME ON :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Archytas

Also if future leagues and ladders are orgainsed dont join them on the basis that they will run like clock work.

I don't mean to keep this going but this point needs to be stressed because its the main point of this whole thing. I KNOW that things will not run like clockwork. But a bit of communication to that fact(or any fact - maybe a heads up that you were playin two games last night) would have been welcome to all involved - somebody on IRC/Xfire or whatever.

But more importantly welcome back and I look forward to playing against ye all in the future!

The last thing we want to do is let the community down. Clans will come and go but the Irish gaming communtiy will always be here.

We will be happy to continue to play out the final matches however everyone will need to chill and accept that things sometimes wont happen on time etc.

Also if future leagues and ladders are orgainsed dont join them on the basis that they will run like clock work. They wont, thats a promise.

NRG let us know when you would like to play this match. We are all at a lan this weekend starting midday on Friday until Sunday afternoon so between then is out. We have also a CB match on Wed evening.

Fairy

thursday maybe? :D (I haven't asked anyone else yet, but thursday is practice so they better be around or ill have to get the whip out again. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

Yesssssssssssss I get the chance to kill more Southies !!!! :D

yay more headshots for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Lads unfortunately i couldn't make the game last night....yes I am whipped by a woman.

Both clans need to chill. I know as both of you are serious clans these games would be super competitive, hence NRG not wanting to sub key players and therefore ask for a rematch.

Saying that I can see how hearing nothing til 8.45 could upset you and completely understand that people have to be elsewhere.

Its all about the fun, I never care if I lose playin for boards. I can see how you guys would rub it in each others faces if you won though.

I suppose you need to communicate before games and not take it so seriously. If you have to sub players, then feckin sub players, even if its some non clan guys I am sure there are guys who would only be happy to play with both clans.

I hope this isn't the last inf comp as I look forward to improvin and beating all hte clans next time round

Vegeta wrote:
    Lads unfortunately i couldn't make the game last night....yes I am whipped by a woman.

Both clans need to chill. I know as both of you are serious clans these games would be super competitive, hence NRG not wanting to sub key players and therefore ask for a rematch.

Veg the problem was that all our subs were playing a match against boards team 6 at 9, not that we didnt want to sub important palyers...hell weve had subs in almost all our matches at this stage.
    Anyway glad to see this silly sh!t is sorted and win lose or draw all that matters is get to tear sh!t up with my SAW :D
    Hey..that rhymes....

sh!t is sorted and win lose or draw all that matters is get to tear sh!t up with my SAW

uh... yeah...

sh!t is sorted and win lose or draw all that matters is get to tear sh!t up with my SAW

uh huh uh huh

c'mon y'all

(apologies.. quiet day havent spoken to enough humans yet)

Wavey wrote:

uh... yeah...

uh huh uh huh

c'mon y'all

(apologies.. quiet day havent spoken to enough humans yet)

Congratulations..youve just recorded your first NUMBER ONE! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

awww all made up, clans still suck, wavey xmas no 1.

kdjac