Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O'Dwyers GAA, Balbriggan

• 24-03-2006 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭

poster5np.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭sgarvan

Great win for O'Dwyers on a very wet and misserable day.

O'Dwyers 1-07 Fingallians 2-00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Shaque attack

what was the signifigance of that match(if any)?

odwyersleaguematch7ts.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 CountryBoi

Hey sgarvan,

Recently moved to the Balbriggan area and am very interested in playing football. I played at senior level in Cork with some success. I don't like to blow my own trumpet but I am handy enough. Just happened to come across you post and wondered would your club be the one for me. Any info would be much appreciated.

Paul.

CountryBoi wrote:
    Hey sgarvan,

Recently moved to the Balbriggan area and am very interested in playing football. I played at senior level in Cork with some success. I don't like to blow my own trumpet but I am handy enough. Just happened to come across you post and wondered would your club be the one for me. Any info would be much appreciated.

Paul.

Hey Paul

If your living in Balbriggan of course O'Dwyers is the club for you. If you are interested in playing football, why dont you come down to the club to meet the managers of the first team on a Tuesday or Thursday evening @ 7.30, and you can find out if you like it or not. The club is located at the bottom of Hamlet Lane. If you dont know where that is, it is the first left turn after the traffic light at the garda station and is opposite Cardy Rock housing estate.

Hopefully we will see you around

Hey sgarvan,

I'm actually living closer to the Naul rather than in Balbriggan but they only have a junior team afaik and I want to play with something better than them. I don't mind coming in the road a bit to play senior football. Do you play yourself??

CountryBoi wrote:
    Hey sgarvan,

I'm actually living closer to the Naul rather than in Balbriggan but they only have a junior team afaik and I want to play with something better than them. I don't mind coming in the road a bit to play senior football. Do you play yourself??

I do play myself for the first team in O'Dwyers. We are in the same league as Clann Mhuire (Naul) which is AFL4.

Ok I thought the Naul had a junior team I didn't know they were senior aswell. Anyway when are the games played it seems to be all Saturday evening. Is that right? Is training at the same time every week or does it change? Sorry for all the questions.

CountryBoi wrote:
    Ok I thought the Naul had a junior team I didn't know they were senior aswell. Anyway when are the games played it seems to be all Saturday evening. Is that right? Is training at the same time every week or does it change? Sorry for all the questions.

No bother man. The first team train every tuesday and thursday, generally doesnt change but may do coming into the summer as mid week games will start to take place. Matches at the moment are Saturday evening, and as I said some Wednesday games will start. And nearer the end of the season we will have a couple of Sunday morning games.

Well thanks for your patience. I'm not doing anything tonight. Would it be OK if I dropped in and took a look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Division 4 is not senior. Its effectively the intermediate second division.

St Maurs (Rush) are the only senior team in the surrounding area. They play in Division 2.

Skerries Harps are in Division 3, a good intermediate team who'll be hoping for promotion this season.

Maurs, Harps and O'Dwyers are all good clubs, and each would welcome new players.

Division 4 is not senior. Its effectively the intermediate second division.

St Maurs (Rush) are the only senior team in the surrounding area. They play in Division 2.

Skerries Harps are in Division 3, a good intermediate team who'll be hoping for promotion this season.

Maurs, Harps and O'Dwyers are all good clubs, and each would welcome new players.

OK I was under the impression that O'Dwyers was a senior side. How do O'Dwyer's rate in comparison to sides like Maurs Skerries and the Naul??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

Maurs are a decent competitive afl2 side which is a lot higher than the standard that O'Dwyers are playing at. Skerries are a decent side and have the likes of Bryan Cullen and his brother Graham, along with youngsters like John O'Hara and Donnacha Reilly who are in or around the Dublin panel as well, so they are a strong side for an afl3 side. My club is playing them on saturday evening so i should know a bit more about them then for you.

CountryBoi wrote:
    Well thanks for your patience. I'm not doing anything tonight. Would it be OK if I dropped in and took a look?

Even after reading above, if your still interested pop down tonight anytime between 7.15 and 7.30 to meet the managers and take a look.

Hopefully we will see ya there

sgarvan wrote:
    Even after reading above, if your still interested pop down tonight anytime between 7.15 and 7.30 to meet the managers and take a look.

Hopefully we will see ya there

Yeah sure I might as well. Is there any one I should ask for?? (Yourself maybe??)

CountryBoi wrote:
    Yeah sure I might as well. Is there any one I should ask for?? (Yourself maybe??)

Ask for Pat Lynch. I will tell him that you are coming down.

Thats grand! See ya then.

CountryBoi wrote:
    Thats grand! See ya then.

hey man, what happened we didnt see ya there on Thursday

Hey,

Sorry I didn't make it down on Thursday night got held up at work. Decided to venture up to Ringsend on Saturday for a look. Thought you were unlucky with the goals and there was some good players especially the little full forward and the half back with the black hair looked very handy. Unlucky overall.

CountryBoi wrote:
    Hey,

Sorry I didn't make it down on Thursday night got held up at work. Decided to venture up to Ringsend on Saturday for a look. Thought you were unlucky with the goals and there was some good players especially the little full forward and the half back with the black hair looked very handy. Unlucky overall.

yeah their first goal knocked the stuffign out of us. We had a lot of possession in the first 20 minutes or so and couldnt put the points on the board. There is some quite good players on the team, the ones you mentioned and then there was others that played there and didnt show what they can do.

Hopefully we may see ya around on Tuesday

sgarvan wrote:
    yeah their first goal knocked the stuffign out of us. We had a lot of possession in the first 20 minutes or so and couldnt put the points on the board. There is some quite good players on the team, the ones you mentioned and then there was others that played there and didnt show what they can do.

Hopefully we may see ya around on Tuesday

What position were you playing in yourself? Trying to put a face to the name!

CountryBoi wrote:
    What position were you playing in yourself? Trying to put a face to the name!

I wasnt playing on Saturday, I was one of the subs. I was wearing the O'Dwyers fleece with no. 14 on the sleave.

What position do you play in yourself?

I think I remember you. Do you have blond hair?

I can play in midfield or in the forwards. How strong would you reckon you are overall in these positions? It was very hard to tell on Saturday.

CountryBoi wrote:
    I think I remember you. Do you have blond hair?

I can play in midfield or in the forwards. How strong would you reckon you are overall in these positions? It was very hard to tell on Saturday.

aye i do indeed.

In the midfield we have one good midfielder, the skinny blond lad, think he was wearing no. 9 on Saturday. We have a fair few forwards at the moment, but we don’t have an established forward who will hit 4 or 5 points a game for us or we don’t have a quality free taker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 OutsidethePale

I have been down to watch o'dwyers a few times...there are a few more country lads playing there too, I think there is a lad from Sligo and from Kerry playing? when is next game?

sgarvan wrote:
    aye i do indeed.

In the midfield we have one good midfielder, the skinny blond lad, think he was wearing no. 9 on Saturday. We have a fair few forwards at the moment, but we don’t have an established forward who will hit 4 or 5 points a game for us or we don’t have a quality free taker.

I used to take the frees for my club in Cork and was consistent enough. Definately gonna come down tomorrow night. Are you injured at the moment??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 OutsidethePale

Who did you play for in cork...I might go training myself tomorrow night, looks like they need a few players

I have been down to watch o'dwyers a few times...there are a few more country lads playing there too, I think there is a lad from Sligo and from Kerry playing? when is next game?

aye we have them 2 blokes playing for us. very good additions to the squad. You should defo come down to us. We are not playing this weekend but we are training monday night coming, meeting in the clubhouse at around 6:45 ready to be on our 2nd pitch for 7.

Our next league match is Wednesday of next week at home against Noamh Mearnog.

untitled17bf1.jpg

CountryBoi wrote:
    I used to take the frees for my club in Cork and was consistent enough. Definately gonna come down tomorrow night. Are you injured at the moment??

i aint injured at the moment, but am just back from an injury where I smashed my ankle playing a third team game last year.

sgarvan wrote:
    Our next league match is Wednesday of next week at home against Noamh Mearnog.

match is now changed to Tuesday 11th April at 7pm

sgarvan wrote:
    match is now changed to Tuesday 11th April at 7pm

O'Dwyers 0-09 Naomh Mearnog 0-07

very hard fought game. Mearnog could of snatched it when their full forward ran around the keeper only to blast wide in front of an empty goal

x6ezcy.jpg

O'Dwyers 0-10 Naomh Fionnbarra 0-9

Brilliant win for O'Dwyers last night. A very hard fought game. Finbars came looking like they where only down for a stroll in the park, but they got a shock quick enough.

O'Dwyers into 2nd round of Championship

bingo1sq.jpg

championshipmatch5mm.jpg