Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy days - Clocks going forward at the weekend

• 22-03-2006 5:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭

This Sunday the clocks go forward from 1am to 2am 'giving' an extra hour of daylight in the evenings. Happy days - it was sunny all day today in Dublin and you could really sense summer on the way :) .

However in 7 months time at Halloween the clocks go back as the dark nights roll in (:(); Which would you do if you had the choice; Leave time set on "summer time" all year round? Or keep with the regime of changing the hour in October and March? Or - just to be anarchic:D - decimalise the lot?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Good call.

o_O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

Oh no an hour less sleep. Decimalisation sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

we should stop ****ing with the clock and leave it summertime style. Its nice to get out of work in the evening without it being bloody pitch dark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

Stephen wrote:
    we should stop ****ing with the clock and leave it summertime style. Its nice to get out of work in the evening without it being bloody pitch dark.

If they stopped adjusting the time they would have to leave it at winter time as that is the "real" time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

homah_7ft wrote:
    Oh no an hour less sleep.

A study of traffic accidents throughout Canada in 1991 and 1992 by Stanley Coren of the University of British Columbia before, during, and immediately after the so-called "spring forward" when DST begins in April. Alarmingly, he found an eight percent jump in traffic accidents on the Monday after clocks are moved ahead. He attributes the jump to the lost hour of sleep.

Comes from http://www.standardtime.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Bring on the summer :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

it really doesnot make a difference to me, this time forward /backward crap is a waste of time:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

It should stay on summer time all year round. In fact it should go ahead two hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

So, we lose an hour of precious weekend and that's good? By what strange ethical system could this be so?

Man, we should all go by pulsar time.

Anyone want to do an Eerie Indiana and reject this temporal intrusion on our lives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh yay

an hour less sleep :mad:
    they should do away with all this clock changing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

they should put the clocks BACK an hour every sunday night. i.e sunday would have 25 hours.

Q.E.D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Litcagral

Extra hour's pay on Saturday night :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Yay..that means that it's getting closer to the summer...come on teh summer!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ODS wrote:
    This Sunday the clocks go forward from 1am to 2am 'giving' an extra hour of daylight in the evenings

Thanks, I've programmed the phone accordingly. Can never get that right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

The weather seems to be finally improving....I noticed the first breath of summer today. Just the thought of summer makes me all warm inside!

I'm all for whatever the hell system that gives me longer & brighter evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

The weather seems to be finally improving....I noticed the first breath of summer today. Just the thought of summer makes me all warm inside!

I'm all for whatever the hell system that gives me longer & brighter evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Didn't they introduce day-light savings because it was too dark in the mornings? That's what the mother told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Lenny wrote:
    Shut up.

...it's got to be said, of all the shite on After Hours, this kind of "I've been here an age, STFU noob" rubbish really is the most irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Stephen wrote:

Aye, the bright evenings are nice alright. I was eyeing the daily dusk times for a few weeks now so I'd know what time I'd have to leave work at so I could cycle home safely. (Leaving earlier means being in earlier :( ).

I hate the winter when it gets dark at 4:30 :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

9 months to Christmas from Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

leave it in bloody summertime!!! all these eejits go around at halloween saying 'but its brighter in the morning' who cares?? Id rather it was dark when I go to work then dark when I come home - leave it along I say! does every other country do the whole 'clocks back' thing or is it just some countries? Just wondering cos if we put our clock forward then it would change how many hours behind some countries are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Basically means you have to get up an hour earlier on Monday morning. Yeuch!

Luckily I'm taking a day off.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

i wonder if i could use that excuse for being late to work on sunday morning... hmmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

mandz wrote:
    i wonder if i could use that excuse for being late to work on sunday morning... hmmm....

Yes! For 4 years running, the only time I would go to mass was on the Sunday after the hour went forward (or back.. I'm confused) cos eveytime it happened the priest wouldn't show up. Classic mayhem always ensued.. ah them were the days :rolleyes:

They should leave the goddamn clocks at summer time - feck the peeps who have to get up early in winter:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I agree. Unfortunately the "default" time is winter time. Though given the extremely valid justifications they gave for introducing summer time, then it would make sense to have summer time all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

woohoo.........brighter evenings, summer is coming :)! Which is great for people like me who finish work at 4 in the afternoon so have a nice long and warm evening to look forward to everyday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

This was in the Guardian yesterday - it'll be interesting to see whether it passes. If it manages to make it to the House of Commons and gets passed there, I wonder if Ireland would follow suit?
    In praise of ... single double summer time

Leader
    Wednesday March 22, 2006
    The Guardian

If a beleaguered Mr Blair wants to make the government more popular at no cost to the public purse then he should throw his weight behind a Lords' private members bill on Friday which aims to lift the dread imposition of an extra hour of darkness in the winter evenings when the clocks change. There really ought to be no argument about this.
    Research shows that if we had an extra hour of daylight during winter evenings (at the expense of an extra hour of morning darkness) then almost everyone would gain. Most people would feel a bit cheerier, tourism would get a boost, energy would be saved and there would be more than a hundred fewer deaths (an increase in fatalities during the mornings being offset by far fewer in the evenings). Previous attempts to get rid of this masochistic anomaly failed because politicians declined to put their weight behind it. They claimed that, contrary to the opinion poll evidence, there was no demand for it. But this was just a shorthand way of saying that the government did not want to stand up to vociferous opposition in Scotland where mornings would be even darker than they are now.

Two things are different about this initiative. First, the bill gives Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales the opportunity to opt out if they want to. Isn't that what devolution is all about? Second, it proposes that single double summer time (SDST) be adopted as an experiment for three years from October 29 this year. Let the people decide.