Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Out of curiousity.

• 21-03-2006 3:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭

Where could one take flying lessons, how much per hour, and how many hours does one need behind himself to gain a flying licence.

Thank you please. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

LundiMardi wrote:
    Where could one take flying lessons, how much per hour, and how many hours does one need behind himself to gain a flying licence.

Thank you please. :cool:

http://www.greatdaysout.ie

In the Air
    Flying Lessons
    Learn to Fly - 1 hour

Reach for the skies with your first flying lesson and soar away into the wide blue yonder.
    From €200.00

not sure about the licence, i'm sure they could tell you though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Try the following link

http://www.nfc.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Femmy wrote:
    http://www.greatdaysout.ie

not sure about the licence, i'm sure they could tell you though.
    mmm, i saw that already, i think that's more of a novelty day out rather than proper flying lessons, plus there's a weight restriction and i'm not eligible:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

http://westonairport.com/
    just off the n4 past lucan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

costs about 100,000 euro to become a commercial pilot. thats what the guy said who did my flying lesson. i did it in weston aerodrome in the leixlip/lucan area. it costs 85 for a half hour and 160 for an hour. that nfc link above tells you all about it

Try the following link

http://www.nfc.ie/
    that's great thanks.

I'm a little confused though, you're not allowed to earn a profit under a Private Pilots Licence, so why do people do them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

A private license would cost about €8000. I think it's about 50 hours in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

LundiMardi wrote:
    that's great thanks.

I'm a little confused though, you're not allowed to earn a profit under a Private Pilots Licence, so why do people do them?
    for the fun of flying i suppose. same reason people learn to kayak etc

jaysus! that's one expensive thing to do just cos you like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

A mate of mine has done a few of them and is tryin to convince me to do some too.
    Really thinking about it too. He said it's great craic. A pretty cool hobby.
    Expensive yes, but a great one.

yeah i'd say it would be a fantastic hobby, don't know if it's worth that much though. If you could make a living with a PPL then i'd do it no bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Ah cool.

Go for it, if you can at all. Flying is an amazing way to spend an hour or two (or more).

You cannot carry passengers for reward with a PPL so that knocks earning on the head. AFAIK you can carry first timers up for an introductory flight (on behalf of a school or club) but you have control of the aircraft at all times (this is after you get the PPL), which can be a handy way to fly for free and build up your time, owners of the 'plane and insurance permitting of course.

Lessons will run to under or over 100 an hour (in some cases considerably more) depending on where you go. A very good student may solo after 8 hours, but you would want to budget on at least 50 hours before you make the grade, maybe more.

The PPL is an excellent stepping stone to better things, if you choose to fly as a career. If you intend to fly regularly, the IR (instrument rating-which means you can fly IFR-when you can't see the ground etc.) and night flying ratings are a good idea. The night rating can be achieved during PPL training, whereas IR proficiency takes a bit more time, effort, and expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

A very good student may solo after 8 hours, but you would want to budget on at least 50 hours before you make the grade, maybe more

I flew solo after 11 hours, one of my friends did it in 7, the gung-ho RAF cadet way. As a hobby it's very expensive and you'd be surprised at how boring flying around in light aircraft becomes after a while. I endured 80 hours of Cessna 172 on my way to a commercial license. If you want to learn to fly go to the USA; it's cheaper, the weather is better and the women more impressionable :D

el tel wrote:
    I flew solo after 11 hours, one of my friends did it in 7, the gung-ho RAF cadet way. As a hobby it's very expensive and you'd be surprised at how boring flying around in light aircraft becomes after a while. I endured 80 hours of Cessna 172 on my way to a commercial license. If you want to learn to fly go to the USA; it's cheaper, the weather is better and the women more impressionable :D

I'm told US flying schools are the business (in all of the above ways). If I was in a more flexible home situation, I would have gone there to start and complete mine. Happily, I'm not at the stage yet where it's all become mundane. I'll happily swap jobs/qualifications with you if what you're doing now ever gets old though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Would you like a map of New York with those lessons? ;)

Guided tour FTW

I'm a lover not a fighter...