Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the longest time youve ever spent in a pub???

• 21-03-2006 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭

Have any of you out there in boardsland ever spent a day (opening to closing) in a pub??? A few of my friends and I used to threaten it a couple of years ago...at bout 4 am at a house party! :p If not a day, what would be the longest time youve spent in a pub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Lindaloo

Gone to pub loads of times for breakfast and never quite made it home! A few times the pub wasn't serving food so the person living closest would run home and make sambos and bring them back, same if someone rang to see what the craic was, they'd have to bring up a rake of food with them.

We stayed in Achill Island one time and were staying in the house attached to the pub. We went in for brekkie at about 10-11o'c, sat at the bar, started drinking as soon as they opend for booze and stayed there til stupid o'clock mainly playing cards at the bar. Then we started a debate about 'would you sleep with someone of opposite sex for 1 mill' the whole pub got involved and soon enough there were some who were sleeping with same sex for curiousity, I tell you, it was an eyeopener all right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Close to an entire day alright, was bored in college one day, went to my mate "hey fancy going to the pub" "yup"... this was at midday, stayed till closing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Lindaloo wrote:
    We stayed in Achill Island one time and were staying in the house attached to the pub. We went in for brekkie at about 10-11o'c, sat at the bar, started drinking as soon as they opend for booze and stayed there til stupid o'clock mainly playing cards at the bar. Then we started a debate about 'would you sleep with someone of opposite sex for 1 mill' the whole pub got involved and soon enough there were some who were sleeping with same sex for curiousity, I tell you, it was an eyeopener all right!

:eek: :eek: :eek: Achills where its at!!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm, three days, morning to night. It was a three day concert.

:eek: Is your liver still intact???:p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I had it tested recently, unrelated.
    It's healthy. cheers all round. :)

I had it tested recently, unrelated.
    It's healthy. cheers all round. :)

:D cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Stayed in my old local from about 1pm til closing time on Stephens Day back in 97 or 98.

Though I did nip out for two minutes at about 8pm to get more money from the auld drinklink. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Around this time last year I was playing in a pool tournament that started at 3pm. Our team won it after many years trying (the pub we were playing in was the pub we were representing and the owner was on our team). Some of us managed to stay up all night and then next morning reach the early house. Went home to bed around 12/1 p.m. in a bad way.
    Great night though. The team (7 players) won €500 and it was gone in around an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭branners69

I went out to an xmas work do on the Thursday.. started off at 6pm in Capital Hotel on Pearse St... ended up in Club M on the Friday Night until 3am..

I had to burn my shirt at the end of it!!

Another great all nighter was in 'An Chistin' in the @rsehole of Galway where I was on a Gaeltacht course for Civil Servants/Garda.. we landed in the pub at 2pm and played pool and drank until midnight then moved onto the Hotel bar up the hill were we drank until 7am!!

They were the gud aul' days!! A big session these days takes me 2 days to recover from:( Damn you old age;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

was at fleadh ceoil in listowel and wsa in the one pub from 12 to 4am for three days running!!!!!! and we were sitting beside a group of 8 guards who were on duty too!!!!we estimated we drank 86 pints each over the three days judging by the money we had leftover. i ate a 12inch quiche all by myself on the way home

what craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 draftdispenser

Used to go to college in killybegs, Co. Donegal. Made way to pub one day after lunch with a bunch of lads, Drank all day til about 1am. We got chating to a load of russian sailors who were docked at the port. We all ended up back on their ship, in a bar and stayed there well into the next evening. Only got kicked off by customs because the ship was leaving again for russia!
    That would have been interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

amateurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Paddys day, went to the pub at 2pm, stayed there till we were kicked out at closing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Ag marbh

I've drank from the afternoon on a Friday solidly drinking til Saturday morning then into the early house and out in town for the night and continue drinking cans until Sunday afternoon.

This happens a bit too regularly with the aid for drugs.