Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any information?

• 19-03-2006 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭

Hi...This might have been posted before, but I'm just wondering if anyone knows anything about a ruined house in Co. Wexford, near Rathnure.

I'm not majorly into the paranormal, but would have an interest, but my reason for asking this was a friend found a house there today, got some odd photos. I haven't had a chance to talk to him in person yet, just read his story on a forum.

Anyways, I'd love to head back up there, and see what it's like, but I'd like some more information before I did.

Basically... The house had an underground hallway, which led to holding cells, then to a garden, and then to what my friend found out was a morgue. There was some odd stuff lying about down there, and apparently people were hung there. He had alot of problems with his camera not working, mobiles switching off etc. He also has 2 photos of the same doorway, one of which is in dark light, the next is fully lit up with a white fog. Both pics have the same shutter speed, iso and ap. and didn't use a flash.

So...I was wondering if people had information about it before we head back up. Apologies if this is a stupid question - I don't know how else to describe or ask it.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, that one of the people that went up today, at one stage, found great difficulty in breathing...If that means anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 sussie

hi be cearful with this sounds like you could be getting into something you might not understand .Do you know anything more about this place? my advice is to bring someone who has experience with the paranormal ,if you call out and invite whatever is there you should be ready for what can happen .do some research on the place and see what you come up with ,will you please let me know whatever you find out .take care ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Lol, yeah, I'm defo not going up there without plenty more research, it's only asking for trouble. The photos of the place are pretty freaky...the tunnel between the cells to the garden has what looks like drag marks on the floor. I'd imagine that what is 'there' would be giving off quite a bad vibe like...

If/when we go out, it will at least be pretty well documented and there'll be someone that knows something with us...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Floyd Soul

You got the link to the original thread with photos for people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

The below link was posted somewhere on here before with regards to Luftus hall in Wexford, I dont know much about the place but is it the same building?

http://www.creativecopy.com.au/loftus.html

6th

No, I know Loftus Hall, it's definetly not it - It's a much older looking building, and further in from the coast, I'll post the link with the photos on it!

http://www.underground1.net/viewthread.php?tid=1478&page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Hey all,

I be Paddy and I was the tool who went for a stroll through the house. The house is hidden from the main road and can only be reached by a mile gravel road across a huge clearing. As I was telling Fajitas, as scary as it may seem, a feeling of pure peace came over me down there. My cousin was getting a little freaked out there so I want to go back either alone with no one to disturb me or with someone experienced in this field.

I cant find any history on the house but from my own visit I can tell you that the house has been around for about 200 to 300 years. Due its size it's clear that the house was not owned by an Irish person but more than likely an English landowner. Some people may be aware of the 1798 rebellion in Co.Wexford, I personally believe that someone was harmed there or something major happened for the house just to be completely abandonded like it is.

There is also a courtyard and stable out the back that we didnt get to reach as the light was fading fast and several other dark doorways that were supposedly for gaurd patrols ?

Here's the photos from the other board and the acommpaning words ...

"So,

Got a bit bored today so headed up to the cousins house in Co.Wexico. Being the nice evening that it was, went for a stroll through the countryside with my cousin.

countrysidetoday.jpg
    Countryside - Today

We went up this real open laneway and I spotted this ruined house.

mansion.jpg

We said f**k it sure, we'll go closer for a bit of a laugh and when we got to it we HAD to go inside ! Fantastic on the inside, could of spending weeks photographing there !The roof has been gone for over a 100 years so it was pretty much just all nature growing inside ! There was still the remainder of a stairs there, still attatched to the wall ...

stairs.jpg

Spent a few minutes walking from room to room, until we spotted this in one of the rooms. At first it appeared to be where the ground caved in around the foundations. Until we noticed the steel bars and then we went a little closer ..

dungeon.jpg

We crawled through a hole in the bottom of this, er hole, and we came out into this PITCH DARK corridor.

main-underhall.jpg

Using the light from our phones (just two of us) we established an archway at one end of the corridor, a window at the other and several doors. Forward we went and we found this in the first room ...

wheel.jpg
    Exposure is bumped in Photoshop to bring it up

We had a quick look around this room and found a wee window that led to a garden, remember that we are below the house now and we found a garden. We struggled back into the corridor, firing shots of flash to see where we were going. We were walking past a room and I was taking photos or trying to when a hot flush came over both of us. My camera stopped working. Flash wouldnt fire. Both phones turned off. After about 30 seconds this passed but my gear was still ****ing up.Flash wouldnt sync with the camera on the odd occasion my cousins phonewith full batterywouldnt turn on and my signal went from full to weak every few seconds.

We continued on until we found what we now know as what was a morgue equivalent.

morgue.jpg

Turns out over a 100 years ago people were hung in the gardens of this "house," we came across cells, and holding rooms aswell but my camera was acting up ta ****. We then noticed that there were drag marks on the floor. You can only kinda make them out in this pic ...

drag-marks.jpg

So we exited this hallways by climbing out the window frame and we were outside again in daylight but still below the front door level of the house. As we decided to think of a way out, I setup the camera looking down the corridor with a remote on 30 second exposures..

This is the 1st one.

hallfirst.jpg

This is the second one, Same aperture and shuter speed but just came back on the focal length to fit things in ...

hallsecond.jpg

I just cant explain whats happened in that photo. There was no flash, no extra lights, or changes in camera settings but there is just a white fogfrom the bottom up.

We decided to head back as there was only about 20 minutes of daylight leftso we headed thriugh a door and off down this twisty corridor as we got to the end it turned out it was a dead end. Out of nowhere my cousin started sweating and bam, couldnt breathe. I sat him down on the floor, just a ****ing light off a phone in pitch darkness to illuminate things and steadied him till he got his breathing back. He's not claustrophobic and he doesnt have asthma or any blood pressure problems. We had no choice but to get out the way we came in.

deadend.jpg

I can assure you we got out of there fairly ****ing lively, once we climbed out of the basement we booted it out of the house and walked straight back to the house. I'd be the last superstitous people you'd meet but by **** that place gives me the creeps.

I can honestly say hand on heart that place is haunted. No Doubt."

Hi Guys,

I've gotten in touch with Wexford CoCo and the tourist board down there hopefully someon ewill be able to point me in the right direction about this place. I'd definatelly be up for heading down and maybe even an over night?

Anyway, any gets any info post it here and i'm sure we'll have it sorted before long!

6th

I can get to it anytime no hassle, I'm just worried about upsetting local landowners. Theres a house right beside the road that leads to it and as my cousin and I were walking up it a car passed by to check who we were, luckily enough they know my cousin. I can try to a rough hand-drawn route & plan of the grounds that I have explored so far ?

Paddy@CIRL wrote:
    I can get to it anytime no hassle, I'm just worried about upsetting local landowners. Theres a house right beside the road that leads to it and as my cousin and I were walking up it a car passed by to check who we were, luckily enough they know my cousin. I can try to a rough hand-drawn route & plan of the grounds that I have explored so far ?

Sure Paddy, local knowledge is a great thing.

There are lots of places like this around ireland that the general public dont know about until they stumble across them.

6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Hey man hows it going?I have always been interested int the paranormall but i havnt really researched it that much and with the 2 recent events posted on underground I feel now is the time to look into this are.Are there any particular website that are generally good for the beginner?As i have mentioned on underground if you are going to this place i love to come along.

Well this place is the best site to find out anything, someone here will always have something helpful to say. There's http://paranormal.about.com/ (when the site isnt acting nuts) and of course my own site http://www.6thsensitive.com ... but i ahve to mention that dont i?

6th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Yeah i was looking at your site,is the mahezine sold anywhere in waterford?i didnt find there to be much info on your site actually about the paranormal though.

Just found out that the house was burned out between 1916 and 1921 by the IRA during the rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭rondeco

This is really interesting stuff. Top marks to you paddy@cirl. Would love to visit the place. It looks magnificent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

dublin6th wrote:
    Hi Guys,

I've gotten in touch with Wexford CoCo and the tourist board down there hopefully someon ewill be able to point me in the right direction about this place. I'd definatelly be up for heading down and maybe even an over night?

Anyway, any gets any info post it here and i'm sure we'll have it sorted before long!

6th

I don't mind popping over for an investigation of the place provided I'm available to do so...

Paddy: Those pics are quite interesting, especially that "foggy" one... I had similar experiences in another location that I mentioned to 6th...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭terbo

Excellent find lads, looks a very promising place for paranormal investigations.
    any one pinpoint this place on a map for us?
    we love to take a trip down to have a look, although how long this would last if the locals get spooked by visitors?

ps by us i mean www.soulsearchers.org
    Ta
    Terry

Can someone get an architectural historian or someone with that knowledge to have a look at the photos and give a rough date for the building?

Fajitas, what do you think? Its like a cross between a castle and a gothic cathedral or something.

Most likely just gothic designs on a newer building, some landowners prefered the european look on their property.

I was wondering though, the 7th picture, this could easily be for wine storage...

I'd love to get a closer look...must be a fascinating place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

I am far from local but I think its Castleboro house... Has a history alright - I'll look into it for you... :)

My apologises on closer inspection it is actually Coolbawn.

It took Francis Bruen twenty-five years to build this Tudor Revival fantasy. He resided mostly in England and the estate was run in his absence by his much-hated agent Mr Routledge, who would pay the rent arrears of the Protestant tenants rather than let the land fall into the hands of the Catholics. If the Catholics could not pay, their land was given to the Protestants.

Every Friday fifty horses were shod in preparation for Mr Bruen, but he seldom, if ever, came. According to John Hennessy, son of the present local blacksmith, the end for Coolbawn came late one winter's night during the Troubles. Some family retainers were awakened and held at gunpoint by the Republican Army at a smaller house on the estate. Their commander thought the house was Coolbawn and ordered his men to set fire to it. He realized his error when he saw the unremarkable contents of the interior. So he sought out the great house and torched it.

Hope this is of help. If I can be of any more assistance please say...

Sorry mis post

That's quite interesting, wonder if there were people in the house when it was being burnt down?

I think you could be right about that apparent "morgue" Al, my cousin was getting a litle freaked out and I didnt get to see how deep those shelves were, could easily of being a pantry of some sort !

Thanks for the Details Macers !!

No problem - I'll keep digging and see if I can find anymore details for you

Fajitas! wrote:
    Lol, yeah, I'm defo not going up there without plenty more research, it's only asking for trouble. The photos of the place are pretty freaky...the tunnel between the cells to the garden has what looks like drag marks on the floor. I'd imagine that what is 'there' would be giving off quite a bad vibe like...

If/when we go out, it will at least be pretty well documented and there'll be someone that knows something with us...!
    would you let me know when you are going ,as i would luv to see it myself .iam part of a paranormal team called soulsearchers our web address is http://www.soulsearchers.org/index.php?categoryid=3 hope to hear from you soon take care :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 mitchhendrix

i dint think that is it i doesnt look like it to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 mitchhendrix

sorry mispost

I'll know today if we would be allowed back in more numbers ...

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Not familiar with the house, as I dont usually go ghost busting. But this is my locality (well within 20 miles) so would love to tag along with whoever is going. Would give me a chance to meet a few of yiz, cos I never get to the Greet N Grub.

PS Those drag marks look like rain channels.

KatieK wrote:
    .....PS Those drag marks look like rain channels.
    Yep, just what i thought, would put mponey on it.

Seems to be a fair amount of us looking to go Paddy! Thanks Macers for all the info. This is just fascinating!

KatieK wrote:
    Not familiar with the house, as I dont usually go ghost busting. But this is my locality (well within 20 miles) so would love to tag along with whoever is going. Would give me a chance to meet a few of yiz, cos I never get to the Greet N Grub.

It'd be good to meet you at long last, given we've talked quite a few times in PM ages ago... I've been exposed to 6th for so long now, I tend to refer to you as Kitty Kat (sp?) as well, whenever you're mentioned.. lol

meeoow...;)

dublin6th wrote:
    Yep, just what i thought, would put mponey on it.
    This is what happens when you let a city boy loose in the country !! TBH, I was going to put it down to be other people going through !

And Dumping their rubbish :(

Someone, tho cant find where, seems to have mentioned that your morgue was a cold cellar. Thats what it looks like to me... Muckross House has something very similar, that was used as a wine cellar. No fridges in them days, city boy...:D

Another point, tho I know this place was burnt, is that a good few years ago, not sure when, rates became unsustainable on big houses like these, if they werent used the roof was often removed as rates were only payable when the roof was intact.

KatieK wrote:
    meeoow...;)

Nice kitty ;)

Anyway, I have another place in mind in the SE region, though I need to chase it up, so I'm keeping schtum... need to talk to 6th about it, but there will eventually be info posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Talaghn

There is the same kind of room under gaterlane in waterford and that used to be a library so i kinda doubt it was any kinda morgue!

Kennett wrote:
    Nice kitty ;)

Anyway, I have another place in mind in the SE region, though I need to chase it up, so I'm keeping schtum... need to talk to 6th about it, but there will eventually be info posted.
    Oh, go on PM me on it, a bit of local knowledge never went astray. I wont steal your thunder...:D

KatieK wrote:
    Oh, go on PM me on it, a bit of local knowledge never went astray. I wont steal your thunder...:D

I'll bribe you with some catnip to be sure ;)

Seriously, I'm not at home at the moment, and the link is on my computer, so I'll send you the place I had in mind when I get back home... I'm a little iffy on getting it as a location to visit however...

hi all i hope to take a trip down to wexford next weekend to see this place and maybe Castleboeo house .will post any findings here .

Best of luck with it!

Be interesting to see what you find :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭strangepaddy

hey lads! not sure if its been mentioned yet.....but just to clear it up...its def NOT a morgue is a wine cellar.....we have one very similiar at home(dont even ask what kinda "house" i live in...ye wouldnt believe me if i told ye)....also i passed on the info to a friend of mine who from the areasm and knows all about this stuff...ill get back to ye asap

ok thanks didnt look much like a morgue to us anyway,:)

Fajitas! wrote:
    Best of luck with it!

Be interesting to see what you find :)
    hi would you be able to let us know where abouts in Rathnure the house is ?we know its near Rathnure but not sure where .hope to hear from you soon :)

I'll have to wait until Paddy gets back online, I don't know the area at all!

ok thanks .we have a trip this weekend ,so we will not be going down to wexford for a few weeks yet. thanks for getting back to me .talk soon :)