Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hoodies

• 17-03-2006 2:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭

I have to say my club are always asking "Why don't we get hoodies? They'd be great for basket ball"

My answer is, Hoodies are all about vanity.

The amount of people i see wearing boxing hoodies that I've never seen training is unreal. However, they do bring a lot of club revenue in.

Hoodies

Fair play, they look good, build college spirit?
    Hack attire?
    Cloths for fakers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I love my DURNS hoodie and I'm always rocking. We're getting neuroscience hoodies. I can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

I've my surf club hoodie, do go on lots of the trips.... though like i've seen a fair few that have never been on a trip with em...but eh.... promotes the club at the end of the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

They bring in money for the clubs, they give people a sense of being part of the team and in some cases they look damn good. I don't see what's wrong with them - even if some people just use them to try and make themselves look cool (which, what? "I joined a college society! Have sex with me now!"? Does that work?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

It could be a case that people give their hoodies to their significant others? I've never been to one of these leprecon gaming things, but I've two T-Shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

My DUPHYSOC hoody is on its way, paid for it last month. So chuffed, I don't own any hoodies that have non-american universities on them...

I don't have enough clothes.

you've enough so you've something to wear while something is washing? how can ye need more than 2 of everything? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭osd

:eek: 4th year Chemistry have seen fit to have their own hoodies! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

ApeXaviour wrote:
    My DUPHYSOC hoody is on its way, paid for it last month. So chuffed.
    :mad: *whittles stick* ;)

Edit: A spear would probably be better but you can't whittle it though. You can throw it at society folk though. Damn hippies (somehow, definition is blurring).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MaxBax

Yeah, I think I might get a hoody and give it to my signficant other. It may be a big though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

LiouVille wrote:
    It could be a case that people give their hoodies to their significant others? I've never been to one of these leprecon gaming things, but I've two T-Shirts.

Me too.

Hoodies are also practical for wearing around college, they're really warm and the pouch is handy. Hmmm, i need more hoodies.

How about a tcd boardsie hoodie? If the boards-powers-that-be were ok with it, we could all wear a hoodie that would proclaim to the world "i spend a lot of time on an internet message board".

Although, i don't know if they'd be all that successful in convincing other people to have sex with us.

It would be better than a bebo hoody.

**** getting boards hoodies, let's get a TCD forum hoodie. A huge one that we'll all live inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

John2 wrote:
    A huge one that we'll all live inside.
    My inner hippy finds this idea very intruiging indeed.

John2 wrote:
    **** getting boards hoodies, let's get a TCD forum hoodie. A huge one that we'll all live inside.
    YES, and stroll defiantly through english shopping centres, cos we're too big for security to say a damn thing!

Edit: ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!

Dead Ed wrote:
    YES, and stroll defiantly through english shopping centres, cos we're too big for security to say a damn thing!

Edit: ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!

We could start with Dundrum as I believe said policy is being implemented there. I've often wondered, if you go to one of these shopping centres, can you try a hoodie that's on sale there in the dressing rooms or will you be asked to leave?

John2 wrote:
    We could start with Dundrum as I believe said policy is being implemented there. I've often wondered, if you go to one of these shopping centres, can you try a hoodie that's on sale there in the dressing rooms or will you be asked to leave?
    Indeed. But what if you've just finished putting the hoodie on? Obviously, being a reasonable type and not wanting to cause any trouble, you'd leave as soon as possible? even if it means you're wearing said hoodie.

Dead Ed wrote:
    Indeed. But what if you've just finished putting the hoodie on? Obviously, being a reasonable type and not wanting to cause any trouble, you'd leave as soon as possible? even if it means you're wearing said hoodie.

My thoughts exactly. I can't wait til they ban bringing in CDs in cases into shopping centres...

John2 wrote:

Would we be able through the doors at Dundrum wearing said uber-hoodie? There may have to be a mass exodus of the hoodie, group folding of hoodie into convenient fit through door size, formation carrying of hoodie through doorway and then we put it back on.

i was in cambridge a couple of weeks ago walking around in a hoody and one of the lads said it was against the law etc., it was news to me at the time, some sort of youth anti-social order. had to keep it on, gives me good luck.

Because hoodies are the root of all evil. Hitler had four hoodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

I don't have a problem with decent-looking club/society hoodies. It's good advertisement for the organisation. I immensely dislike the Nike/Adidas/Reebok scanger-look hoodies though.

Ah i've had some nice nike hoodies.... warm/comfey...

I love my GAP and AbERCROMBIE hoodies despite how stereotypical and possibly old fashioned they've become.

Hoodies cause bird flu.

i heard blonde hair caused that....

You're both wrong, a virus causes bird flu :rolleyes:

thats only what the establishment would have us believe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

The LGB(T, I think; it MAY have been before the T was added), had hoodies and tshirts, for a while. We planned to sell them, though I don't think we ever did; they remained a committee thing. I think I'm the only person who has one (I opted for the tshirt) left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

I got my paintball hoody last week and now all my othe rhoodies just arn't as good. Knee hoodie particularily society hoodies have a special kind of magic which makes them difficult to take off and they enevr need to be washed. *
    But also before that my only hoody for being involved was a UCD one which was kind of sucky to wear round trinity.

* this may be exagerated due to lack of sleep

I got my paintball hoody last week and now all my othe rhoodies just arn't as good. Knee hoodie particularily society hoodies have a special kind of magic which makes them difficult to take off and they enevr need to be washed. *
    But also before that my only hoody for being involved was a UCD one which was kind of sucky to wear round trinity.

* this may be exagerated due to lack of sleep

yeah i noticed that. you don't look like a paintballer.

MaxBax wrote:
    yeah i noticed that. you don't look like a paintballer.

I'm on the IV team but this may be more to do with the fact that i was a human target during rag week and freshers week rather than to do with any actual skill.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭wheresthebeef

where does one get these hoodies made? i know the SU uses some place called Colours, does anyone have a website addy for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ilovemybrick

t i was a human target during rag week and freshers week rather than to do with any actual skill.:D

i shot you good and proper. i cant believe they turned the pressure down though. was v dissappointing. i also love the way you asked the guy with firearms training and two marksmanship medals to shoot you. silly poppet. ah the good oul killing T. i did however manage to shoot you in the only visible skin seeing as they specifically asked me not to shoot you in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

where does one get these hoodies made? i know the SU uses some place called Colours, does anyone have a website addy for them?

we got ours in edge promotions very nice emboridered hoodies... think they are at edgepromotions.com but im way too lazy to check...

I've heard mixed reviews for colours.

One place that i've dealt with (happily) is:

http://www.camdenclothing.com/

they're based on camdem street, near the palace.

cuckoo wrote:
    I've heard mixed reviews for colours.

One place that i've dealt with (happily) is:

http://www.camdenclothing.com/

they're based on camdem street, near the palace.

Our class hoodies are coming from there. Seem cheap enough, I'll let you know when I get mine how it compares to the mighty DURNS hoodie.

i shot you good and proper. i cant believe they turned the pressure down though. was v dissappointing. i also love the way you asked the guy with firearms training and two marksmanship medals to shoot you. silly poppet. ah the good oul killing T. i did however manage to shoot you in the only visible skin seeing as they specifically asked me not to shoot you in the face.

well its no fun if people are going to wuss out and not be able to aim, and i knew they'd turn the pressure down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭osd

rsynnott wrote:
    The LGB(T, I think; it MAY have been before the T was added), had hoodies and tshirts, for a while. We planned to sell them, though I don't think we ever did; they remained a committee thing. I think I'm the only person who has one (I opted for the tshirt) left.
    I'm pretty certain it was the year after T was added. I think it was a lack of organisation that they weren't sold because there was a definite interest afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Does anyone else think it looks really weird seeing people walking down Grafton Street wearing those electoral commission hoodies with a big Masonic symbol on the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Does anyone else think it looks really weird seeing people walking down Grafton Street wearing those electoral commission hoodies with a big Masonic symbol on the back?
    I haven't seen them, but I think that would be cool!