Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noice in the cinema

• 13-03-2006 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭

Do you know what really really annoys me???? Your sitting in the cinema watching a movie and the volume is competing with some retard yapping away as if he/she is in a bar. Why do some @ss holes go to the cinema at all??
    The vast majority of fcukwits that make noice are gangs of teens who go there just to mess. Why don't cinemas have staff go into the various screens to check if these dick heads are acting the maggot.
    I go to the cinema at least 4 times a week and pretty soon when you are sitting down watching the 9 o'clock news and hear that some one was beaten to death in a Cork cinema then you know that I have lost the plot and killed someone.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

You're pretty :)

(*noise)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ssshhhh, I am trying to watch the film!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

In fairness the guy is right. I think it really depends on the cinema and the movie you go to see but ys when you get a group like that it totally ruins the movie. It was very bad the time i went to see Final Destination 3 in cineworld. there was a group of about 6 teenagers sitting in front of me and all they did was lean across one another for the whole movie chatting away and throwing popcorn at each other. Me and a few others told them to stfu but they just kept messing until one guy went and got someone that told them to shut up. This kinda crap totally ruins the movie.

I sympathise with ya mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It depends where you go really.

Living in Galway, the last few months I've mostly gone to the Oranmore Omniplex or increasingly lately, the Eye cinema in Galway city. Never had any problems with either cinemas whatsoever.

I did however recently go the Galway Omniplex, which is right in the city. It was the first time I'd gone in about six months or perhaps even longer and I could see why. Sat down into the movie, the trailers had barely started when groups of young teenagers started shouting and laughing, throwing popcorn, etc....really does my head in.

I definately sympathise with ya! Maybe you should look into a different cinema...if thats possible.

What's the worst thing you've ever seen? While watching a movie once, some guys phone rang quite loudly. He took it out - then answered it. He was a good 3 minutes on the phone - now that may not sound like a long time but it sure as hell is when you're sitting down trying to watch a movie and some jackass is talking on his phone like he was in a bar - "Oh howya, yeah I'm grand, oh yeah, yeah, oh yeah, yeah, um-hum, yeah, oh definately up for a few pints later, yeah, hmmm, yeah, etc etc"

The ignorance of some people is truly astounding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

When I'm in the cinema I always check out the people who are sitting in my vicinity so if I have to tell them to stfu I know what type of person I'm directing it to and if they look like they might actually heed me. I hate having paid good money for my time to be spoiled by ignorant people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

Try going in the afternoon if you can. It's always quieter than in the evening, less little prats hanging around. But I know that's not the point, you should be able to go when you want and enjoy a film you've paid a tenner for in peace. Physical threats might sort out potential troublemakers if you're feeling a bit brave!

HavoK wrote:
    It depends where you go really.

Living in Galway, the last few months I've mostly gone to the Oranmore Omniplex or increasingly lately, the Eye cinema in Galway city. Never had any problems with either cinemas whatsoever.

I did however recently go the Galway Omniplex, which is right in the city. It was the first time I'd gone in about six months or perhaps even longer and I could see why. Sat down into the movie, the trailers had barely started when groups of young teenagers started shouting and laughing, throwing popcorn, etc....really does my head in.

I definately sympathise with ya! Maybe you should look into a different cinema...if thats possible.

What's the worst thing you've ever seen? While watching a movie once, some guys phone rang quite loudly. He took it out - then answered it. He was a good 3 minutes on the phone - now that may not sound like a long time but it sure as hell is when you're sitting down trying to watch a movie and some jackass is talking on his phone like he was in a bar - "Oh howya, yeah I'm grand, oh yeah, yeah, oh yeah, yeah, um-hum, yeah, oh definately up for a few pints later, yeah, hmmm, yeah, etc etc"

Im glad that you choose the Eye cinema over the others. I think it has something to do with the clientel (thats spelt wrong, but oh well). Think about it, the Omniplex gets all the young idiots and the knackerwannabe's. They go there because they know that they get away with it. I personally believe they dont go to the Eye because they know they wont.

As for the people talking in the cinema, recently I was in the Eye watching Two for the Money (boo, hiss) when there were people who were talking behind me. I had to leave the movie early (not because of them making noise, but because of the movie itself). Had I stayed there longer, I'm sure I would've screamed at them.

I find it's easier to go during the week for any film rated 16 or below and to go on a Friday to any 18s films.

Most screenings at my local cinema are usually empty. There was only seven people at The Hills Have Eyes on Friday night.

There's only been two times that I've been really inconvenienced. The first was when a couple across from me were having sex during Dawn of the Dead, the second was during I-Robot when some kids spent half the film talking about which of the female cast they would like to rape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Metacortex

People who talk in the cinema is one of my pet hates. Its so ignorant, do they not understand that the people around them have paid money to be there too to watch the movie.
    Its not like its cheap to go to the cinema these days, if they want to sit around and chat they can do it at home.

There was only seven people at The Hills Have Eyes on Friday night.

Probably more to do with the fact that that film is supposed to be brutal (Is it?)
    There's only been two times that I've been really inconvenienced. The first was when a couple across from me were having sex during Dawn of the Dead.

Can you blame them?? Zombies are sexy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Probably more to do with the fact that that film is supposed to be brutal (Is it?)

I personally thought it was absolutely brilliant. Even if there are those who find the plot/acting/direction lacking, I can honestly say I'd find it hard to believe anyone could say it didn't at least entertain them. :)

Although I went to see it a day after it was released, Friday evening show, and there were only about ten people there with us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Other people don't have to talk to be annoting.

When I went to the cinema last week, there was a fat teenage girl in the row behind me and a couple of seats to my right.

She spent most of the film continually kicking and tapping her foot on my row of seats. Because the seats all joined my seat was vibrating for most of the film.

Was fit to kill her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

HavoK wrote:

Exact same thing happened to me. Girls phone rang and she answered it. Was talking for about 3 minutes too. I told her to go outside but she just ignored me. If it was a fella I would have taken him outside.:mad:

I'm not racist but......:rolleyes: , firstly I would like to point out that all kinds of Irish people are bastards in the cinema, but the girl above was Chinese. Another time a Chinese couple talked down the back, as in literally having a converstion like in a pub. I had to tell them to stop (which they politely did:eek: ) Other times haven't been so bad but I do generally find that it is Chinese people. I've heard that in Korea (yes, I know its a different country but they all look the same to me;) ) to go to the cinema is an experience, that they will jump up and down and shout at the screen!! So maybe its a culture thing. Has anyone else noticed this??

Oh, and its not always crap films that people act the prick in. I was in the Savoy watching Cinderella Man and 2 lads about 21/22 started throwing m&ms around. There is no predicting where you'll find these morons....:(

BTW, increased use of smilies due to slightly racist comments:-):-/ :-(

micmclo wrote:

When I went to the cinema last week, there was a fat teenage girl in the row behind me and a couple of seats to my right.

She spent most of the film continually kicking and tapping her foot on my row of seats. Because the seats all joined my seat was vibrating for most of the film.

Was fit to kill her

This is one of my all-time pet-hates. I absolutely abhor it when someone kicks my chair or makes it vibrate at all. I don't know how you stuck it for the duration of a film, you shoulda said something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Morrigan

(Carfeful, OP, or the Spell Czechs will get ya...)

People eating noisily in the cinema annoys me, too. *crunch* *crunch* *slurp*
    Whoever thought nachos were appropriate cinema food? >_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I was in the Gate Cinema in Cork last week at a screening of Syriana. About 10 track-suited youths come in at the start of the film and start talking and messing. The audience all get really pissed off at them and give them glares and one guy even goes to fetch a cinema official who warns them to behave. They are silent from then on but they begin to leave the cinema in groups of twos and threes, heads hung low, as they realise the film they are sitting in on really isn't one for someone who just wants to pass the time in a brain-dead way.

Revenge of the Nerds! Oh how sweet it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

Partitions down the middle of the cinema.
    You have to be in a special Serious Cinema Goers club to get into the silent section.

Also, anyone who makes a noise over a certain decibel level gets ejector seated out of the cinema.

I thought it was excellant. It's up there with the Dawn of the Dead remake. If Hostel and Slither are as good (Which I know they will be), then this could be a great year for horror cinema.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

This is a real hobby horse of mine (example here from 2003) that I can't rant about enough. It's the one thing that threatens to turn me into a violent person, to descend into the blood haze. I cannot stand:

* People talking to each other
    * Mobiles going off
    * People kicking my seat
    * People commenting on what's happening on screen
    * People eating loudly
    * People shifting constantly/getting up

and many more. Hell, I even dislike inappropriate laughter. I don't even want people whispering to me - wait till the damned thing ends if you want to make noise.

My personal solution is to equip staff with night vision goggles and a poison dart gun. Any offenders are shot dead. Instantly. Otherwise the morons will just come back and re-offend if they're merely rendered unconscious. Who wants to join my new cinema?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

ixoy wrote:
    Hell, I even dislike inappropriate laughter.

Most annoying thing ever. Especially when it's very obvious that their laughter is linked to a complete and utter lack of understanding of the plot, theme or subject matter.

Brokeback Mountain being the last film I saw this in. It was annoying yet cringe-worthy. All those people so insecure about the idea of a gay couple on screen laughing to break the "tension".

<continues ranting>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

The_Banker wrote:
    Do you know what really really annoys me???? Your sitting in the cinema watching a movie and the volume is competing with some retard yapping away
    Did you complain, there and then (not at the end of the movie) to a member of staff, or ask them to "shut up"? If no, get used to it, tbh.

As for screen checks, in my experience, the messers tend to calm down if a member of staff walks in, only to start messing once we leave. If you tell us who is messing, and where they are seating, we can walk up the asile, ask them to shut up, and they usually do. If they continue to mess, we throw them out.

=-=

Oh, I laugh at most of the violent bits (arms, heads, etc, being chopped off in a stupid way: see FD3).
    ixoy wrote:
    My personal solution is to equip staff with night vision goggles and a poison dart gun. Any offenders are shot dead. Instantly. Otherwise the morons will just come back and re-offend if they're merely rendered unconscious. Who wants to join my new cinema?
    /me shoots ixoy for the craic :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

i havent had this happen to me in awhile the last time was when i went to see Sideways the cinema was fairly empty and two lads came in and proceeded to talk at some ridiculously unessecary volume a very quick "oh shut the **** up" managed to quieten them fairly quickly

best thing to do is not allow people to get into their stride get in there quickly and tell them to shut the hell up, why people pay the comically expensive price of a cinema ticket and then dont even watch the film will always mystify me
    Whoever thought nachos were appropriate cinema food?

so true, get that stinking cheese sauce out of my face :)