Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A muppet at school

• 13-03-2006 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭

I taught that this was an appropiate forum to post it in, seen as it is a sort of personal issue.

Well, to get to the point. There is this fellow in school that is really bothering me. He keeps calling me during class and says these stupid words to me, eg. "Shamone, he he, penis," and so on. I think they are a bit childish for a 15 year old boy to be going on with, but there you go:rolleyes: . But when I tell him to shut up, I get in trouble by the teacherfor talking. So I am screwed in that sense. I know I should explain the problem to my teacher, but if she gives out to him, I will be classed as a rat.

I have a few probs with this individual. Another one being that, when I do evening study, he writes notes. On the notes he includes the words that I have wrote above. He throws them at me. I read the first couple, but soon got sick of listening to them, or I should say reading them. When I ignore them, he throws pens or pieces of rubber at my back to catch my attention. But yet again when I go to defend myself, I am been given out to by the teacher. If I tell the teacher, I will be classed as a rat. I know it is not the teachers fault, all they want to do is have quiet and they are quite entitled to it. But this fellow keeps bothering me.

The same person was prank phone calling the AA and other freephone numbers. He was also ringing me during class. I had my phone on silent, but you could still hear it vibrating away. I did put a stop to this. I rang up 02 and said I was him. I stated that my phone had been lost and I wanted my sim to be locked. They did lock it and the calling stopped. It was my best friends phone that he was using, so I felt a bit guilty about it. He got the phone unlocked anyway. I have found out today that the person has got the principle of the school's home phone or mobile phone number. He is claiming that he is going to start calling him, you know the usual crap. I would love to see him getting done on this one.

At the break of evening study the same individual goes down to the staff room and robs biscuits and cups. The staff room is in the other building in the school and there are never any teachers in that part of the building at that time. He keeps making fun of me because I won't rob biscuits and other stuff. I am going to stick to my grounds on this one and not rob, as I feel it is wrong.

I would like a bit of advice on this matter, bearing in mind that I don't want to tell the teacher. Also this person is the principal nextdoor neighbour, so the principal likes him. The person has not been suspended at all and gets away with murder in school. I would like to know what would be the best possible way to play him at his own game, if you know what I mean;) .
    Thank in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

A person like that is just going to get himself seriously in trouble sooner or later, so just try and ignore him untill it happens. Which it will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭40YardScreamer

talk to your teacher about him. tell the teacher that you dont want to be picke don afterwards because you told on him. the both of you can work something out. I guarantee it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

talk to your teacher about him. tell the teacher that you dont want to be picke don afterwards because you told on him. the both of you can work something out. I guarantee it.

Yeah I know that but I would sooner see him get into trouble on his on account, rather than me telling on him. Becasue I want to be there to p*ss myself laughing at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭40YardScreamer

Yeah I know that but I would sooner see him get into trouble on his on account, rather than me telling on him. Becasue I want to be there to p*ss myself laughing at him.
    ok, understandable, you're 15, thats what 15 year olds do. but come on, its not right. you either want it fixed or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

He sounds like one of those weirdos. From my experience (which is not extensive by any means), it's 50/50 whether he will be a normal human being by the time he's 20. As Karl says, he's doomed to get in trouble sooner or later, so just try and ignore him?

P.S. That phone trick was class, if only it wasn't your best mates!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

No offence but even when I was 15, someone passing me notes with quotes from Bo Selecta on them, would have had me laughing in their face.
    Simple way to fix the situation is to stop being "bothered" by them, ie. laugh at them or ignore them. I'd go with the laughing as it'll make them worthless, he's clearly only continuing with the crap because it's obvious that it's bothering you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Indeed, looking annoyed or deliberately ignoring them tends to make people want to do the more. Look at them, smirk and throw them away or just brush them away as if they weren't there. Don't respond directly to him, and he'll get sick of trying to get a response.

He doesn't sound like an actual bully, more like a bit of a strange guy who actually thinks you're sound but is a bit touched.

There are always a few teachers in a school whom you know to be completely sound. Mention to one of them about the robbing thing, and see if he'll agree to "catch" this guy in the act of stealing stuff from the staff room. Once he's caught once, he won't do it again.

I taught that this was an appropiate forum to post it in, seen as it is a sort of personal issue.

Well, to get to the point. There is this fellow in school that is really bothering me. He keeps calling me during class and says these stupid words to me, eg. "Shamone, he he, penis," and so on. I think they are a bit childish for a 15 year old boy to be going on with, but there you go:rolleyes: . But when I tell him to shut up, I get in trouble by the teacherfor talking. So I am screwed in that sense. I know I should explain the problem to my teacher, but if she gives out to him, I will be classed as a rat.

I have a few probs with this individual. Another one being that, when I do evening study, he writes notes. On the notes he includes the words that I have wrote above. He throws them at me. I read the first couple, but soon got sick of listening to them, or I should say reading them. When I ignore them, he throws pens or pieces of rubber at my back to catch my attention. But yet again when I go to defend myself, I am been given out to by the teacher. If I tell the teacher, I will be classed as a rat. I know it is not the teachers fault, all they want to do is have quiet and they are quite entitled to it. But this fellow keeps bothering me.

The same person was prank phone calling the AA and other freephone numbers. He was also ringing me during class. I had my phone on silent, but you could still hear it vibrating away. I did put a stop to this. I rang up 02 and said I was him. I stated that my phone had been lost and I wanted my sim to be locked. They did lock it and the calling stopped. It was my best friends phone that he was using, so I felt a bit guilty about it. He got the phone unlocked anyway. I have found out today that the person has got the principle of the school's home phone or mobile phone number. He is claiming that he is going to start calling him, you know the usual crap. I would love to see him getting done on this one.

At the break of evening study the same individual goes down to the staff room and robs biscuits and cups. The staff room is in the other building in the school and there are never any teachers in that part of the building at that time. He keeps making fun of me because I won't rob biscuits and other stuff. I am going to stick to my grounds on this one and not rob, as I feel it is wrong.

I would like a bit of advice on this matter, bearing in mind that I don't want to tell the teacher. Also this person is the principal nextdoor neighbour, so the principal likes him. The person has not been suspended at all and gets away with murder in school. I would like to know what would be the best possible way to play him at his own game, if you know what I mean;) .
    Thank in advance.

Wow jesus was in same boat (pm me if you like).

My god in school i was stuck with a complete loser similar to your "mate". if i sat infront of him he annoyed me, behind him he pulled faces, or if i was stuck next to him he f*cking annoyed me all way through class. i didnt want to blow the whistle on him for fear of a backlash as i was stuck in a classful of nasty losers from 1st to 3rd year just like him. if definately affected my concentration during class. i couldnt get away from this jerk.

unfortunately some of my mates seemed to tolerate him and not put in or out with him as i have to say i did. Resistance, as they say, was futile. thankfully i dont see the idiot now

the only advice i could give is to ignore him and not feed him the attention he craves. isolate yourself from him as much as possible. weirdos like this play on your reaction. best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Thank in advance.

Dude this is bullying. It SHOULD NOT be tollerated. Talk to the teacher, year head, whatever. Most schools have a zero tollerance pollacy on this matter. Don't take it. Teenage years are hard enough without having to take this. Don't worry about being called a rat, you might get a little abuse but in the long run people will show you more respect. Stand up for yourself in the best way and this will soon stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

What a twat. As one guy said, it's a 50/50 chance whether this guy will be a normal guy by the time he is 20, or will he be adding the country's crime rates. In my experience, these guys get worse and worse, because they feel invincible as no-one is stopping them.

Well done for not joining in robbing the biscuits etc.! This may seem a little alarmist, but he could quickly move from biscuits to money, to handbags, to car stereos etc. So don't let him drag you down with him.

What to do? Hard to say. You could have a 'quiet word' with the principal, explaining what you have said here, stating that you want to be remain anonymous. A possible novel idea, would be to create a hotmail account etc., forward on this thread link to the principals email, along with explaining who this guy is.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

also, keep some of his notes and give them to the teacher.

if you just ignore him, or laugh it off, then he has nothing on you and he's just wasting his time.
    While he sees it's bothering you, he will not stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭hepcat

Can you ask him to stop sending the notes? If that doesn't work, Could you ask him out loud in front of your class, as a big joke, (when the teacher is not around) why he keeps sending you notes about his penis? Then again, maybe thats too cruel...

Does he annoy others in your class? Maybe cos he sees its getting to you, he keeps at you. Just ignore him or laugh at him, but don't let it bother you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭alfa147

hepcat wrote:
    Can you ask him to stop sending the notes? If that doesn't work, Could you ask him out loud in front of your class, as a big joke, (when the teacher is not around) why he keeps sending you notes about his penis? Then again, maybe thats too cruel...

I know what it was like to be in an all boys school, theres alot of macho sh*t going around.. I don't wanna incite violence here but i had the same problem in school, and not to sound big headed but i had lots of friends and was the class clown but still some Ahole would piss me off alot.

If u want it to stop i suggest u bring it up a notch, grab the guy and throw him into some lockers where alot of other people will see. If he trys to hit u im afraid if a fight happans it happans. Up to u but its going to keep going on if u dont do something about it. He'll cop on after u show him up in front of others.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

alfa147 wrote:
    If u want it to stop i suggest u bring it up a notch, grab the guy and throw him into some lockers where alot of other people will see. If he trys to hit u im afraid if a fight happans it happans..

alfa banned for suggesting violence
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I'd go with the bring up the note while the teacher isn't around ....

"Just becuase you can spell Penis doesn't mean you have one" and so on.

But don't do it all the time.

As someone said , I'm sure you get on decent with at least 1 teacher. you could talk to them without the need for names , they should give you a better idea of what can be done with out names.

I used to be bullied in sk00l alot when i was still in sk00l , i found that if you accept what is being said ( slagged off) and make a joke of it then they will just look for someone else to annoy , it worked for me , so just a idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

if it were me, the next time he passed me a note, I would say (in front of teachers and class) - loudly - "Can you PLEASE stop bugging me with this stuff? For God's sake, its not funny!" or words to that effect. Try and embarrass him in front of everyone, it sounds like he enjoys annoying you for the reaction it gets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

well this is very similiar to what happened to me.

What I say, should not be repeated, this is how I handled the situation and it could turn out very, very different

I was getting hassled, by the more popular people in school - GAA players, school team players, etc.

It was very similiar to the OP - in that I was getting things thrown at me, etc.

This built up over time, and I felt I couldnt approcach any teacher about it - not because I would have been classed as a rat (first and foremost, you should never care about that) - but that these guys are normally untouchable as they "play for the school" - old school thinking, but thats the way it was.

So after a while of this torment, it culminated in chewing gum getting thrown into my hair - which is a bastard to get rid of.

Nothing was done, the offender wasnt punished, etc - so I blew a fuse literally. During lunch I beat the guy from pillar to post, in short I lost my temper and beat the living snot out of him.

I did get into trouble - however I was never tormented again after that.

I repeat - do not do or even attempt what I have done - as in these more modern times, you are just as likely to get expelled, sued for assault, etc.

What you need to do, OP, is talk to someone - seriously screw this "classed as a rat" - its either you or them, and if I were you, I wouldnt give a **** about them at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Does he throw things at just you or other people too? I know its hard but try and not let it bother you, at least not in front of him and he will keep it up like others have said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭shabbyroad

What this person is doing is bullying. The school are obliged to act on this.

PM me if you want to be put in touch with an anti-bullying co-ordinator who can advise you on exactly how to deal with this idiot.

In the meantime:

1. Keep a diary of what is happening.
    2. Keep anything thrown at you or passed to you.
    3. Keep out of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

Cheers, thanks very much for the advive given. I should have added that I am ignoring him and that I don't get bothered around him. I like the suggestion about the hotmail thing, and I might do that alright. The one I found most interesting and that would probablly work is to embarris him. I don't want to use violence because I am not that type of person. But once before someone really and I mean really annoyed me, and I had no choice but to do him in. Know don't get me wrong, I can take a fair amount of abuse and slagging, I ussually am very calm, but if I was forced to I would have to hurt him. But only as a final option. The thing about hurting him is that he knows the principle very well, and I would be the one to get in trouble for it, not him. Just one more example of how he gets away with murder. Himself and another person went down town, when it specifiaclly says that you are not allowed down town till after 5th year. Anyway, they went into a shop, the 2 of them robbed hats and ran up on the roof of the shopping center. They started throwing stuff at pedestrains. The guards caught them and brought them back to the school. The principle suspended the other fellow and let this muppet away with it. The two of them did the exact same thing. I would like to hear a few more suggestions because I think embarrsing him would be the best way to get at him. I am not very good with words in that sense, so I would appriciate a bit help, if it is allowed. If not I am sorry.