Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Weeks Off Baby

• 10-03-2006 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

This is it. The last day for three weeks going to these ****ty lectures and balls tutorials. Anyone got any plans? Im going to head up to Donegal for a few days and see some Archaeological mumbo jumbo up north. Party On Wayne. Party on Garth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Hmmmmm lets see...

I have two history essays to do, my english seminar essay (title yet to be decided) and a hell of a lot of studying to do.

Oh but I have my sisters hen weekend in Edinburgh on the 24th \o/ The limo is booked, the stripper is currently being organised.... should be fun.

After that I'm sure I'll have a nervous breakdown when it finally dawns on me that I have to sit my finals in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Doing a mini college tour.. headin to mates in galway, limerick and maynooth. I also have 3 assignments to do and I'm going to study my psychology... no really I am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

Working at the two Open Days, then USI National Congress in Ennis...

I'm more worried about my 18%-of-the-year Management Accounting exam in an hour though! Honestly, what a sh1te way to end the term...

ooh thats not good... Best of luck i'm sure you'll ace it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

Two late essays to catch up on, one seminar essay, and some hard core studying. Then I reward myself by going to a house party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

i planned my year really badly, ended up having college for the next three weeks. bahhh. do you know what this means? do you? DO YOU? I am never going to have three weeks of do-nothing studenty holidays for the rest of my life. My fun is officially over. Roll on paying taxes, shudder. Take heed meandering first years. And drink!

*takes heed
    poor LH... Come to the next beers that'll cheer ya up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

swap places? please ill give you all of my notes and book(s).... youll pass.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Hmmmmm lets see...

I have two history essays to do, and a hell of a lot of studying to do.

After that I'm sure I'll have a nervous breakdown when it finally dawns on me that I have to sit my finals in May.
    Ditto.
    (Too lazy to post my own list of stuff I'll be doing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Well for the 3 weeks off I've got... one heinously long Data Structures practical, 3 Maths for Computer Science problem sheets (which I've been putting off until now), quite a bit of project work and assloads of studying in general to do. Also working as much as I can so I can afford to go clothes shopping. Stupid fees loan. Hopefully grabbing people to go to Dragonforce on the 18th, but given how close that is to final year project deadline for most of my friends that sounds like a non-starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭GusherING

I've got a **** load of studying to d but I'm off to Estonia for a week with the lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

i have two 2,500 word history of art essays to write and aprox 6 months of lectures to catch up on in order to pass my exams, shud be fun!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Hmmmmm lets see...

I have two history essays to do, my english seminar essay (title yet to be decided) and a hell of a lot of studying to do.

Oh but I have my sisters hen weekend in Edinburgh on the 24th \o/ The limo is booked, the stripper is currently being organised.... should be fun.

Ah edinburugh-what a place-u have to go to Frankeinsteins and the three sisters-there the best pubs ever!Also little tip to get free into edinburugh castle-just say you are going to visit the war memorial and they have to let you in for free;)

I came back home to Limerick last night-ah it's so nice to be back home-really needed the fresh air and a bit of home cooking-went to feed the cattle with dad this morning,then went for a little swim in UL,mums just cooking a roast before I head to clohessys to watch the Ireland game!!ah this is the life:)

panda100 wrote:
    Ah edinburugh-what a place-u have to go to Frankeinsteins and the three sisters-there the best pubs ever!Also little tip to get free into edinburugh castle-just say you are going to visit the war memorial and they have to let you in for free;)

Yea we're sending the stripper to the three sisters. Had a look at Frankensteins too. Looks cool. Can't wait for it. Although I doubt we'll be doing any sight-seeing.....unless you count Blade, the Scottish stripper. Yummeh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I've pretty much had the last 6 months of college off so 3 weeks is nothing to me!

Heading up to Belfast on Monday to see the Linfield/Shelbourne match which should be good fun (not the football but the craic!) Going to Spain for a week with Mummy and Daddy just to basically get the hell out of this country for while and drink cheap beer and buy cheap clothes. My work days have been cut from this week so I'll probably just arse around for the other days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

the irish dept stole a week of my holidays with the obligatory trip to the gaeltacht.
    also i have a friends birthday in lahinch to go to, then rush home for studying and essays to be done.

on the bright side, my parents go away for a month on the 23rd. no more annoying sister or people bothering me about.. things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I was sick for last day of term. Getting doctor's cert for the Economics Dept as I missed the MCQ, due to illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Boring three weeks of study and essays and such, but I get easter in Latvia for a hen do, so I can cope!

Hoping to babysit for Paddy's Day. Don't see the point in going out that night.

The bar staff, bouncers and manager in D|Two are lovely - pity about the clientele!

Blush_01 wrote:
    Boring three weeks of study and essays and such, but I get easter in Latvia for a hen do, so I can cope!

Hoping to babysit for Paddy's Day. Don't see the point in going out that night.

The bar staff, bouncers and manager in D|Two are lovely - pity about the clientele!
    What?D2's gone great recently-it's the new coppers apparently!Always meet loads from home when you go there.But spose its the same old chitchat that you always get in those sorta nightclubs.

D¦Two aka 'The Foundry on Tour'.....

panda100 wrote:
    D2's gone great recently-it's the new coppers apparently!

There is so much wrong with that sentence I don't even know where to start! :p

I wont hear coppers being knocked!It's the only place you can go in Dublin and have a good laugh and a decent chat with people.The best thing about coppers is that it's not about looks-people will chat to you regardless of what you look like as long as your having the craic.Wheras in Bondi and such places it's all about what you look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

So basically it's of the non-Bash variety, then?

I'm with Panda on this one... Coppers is great! In fact I think we should go there next beers!!

Scraggs wrote:
    I'm with Panda on this one... Coppers is great! In fact I think we should go there next beers!!

Oh I would like to see this one happening!!I bet the boardies would have a great time there!

o_0

Coppers is a meat-market. You get molested just walking to the loo.

Its fine when you're drunk but never ever ever when sober.

As for a boards beers there.........*whimpers*

Thank sweet mother of fcuk that at least the mod of this dear forum has some sense...

Copperface Jacks?

Over
    My
    Dead
    Body

/doffs cap
    Good day

Ah it'll be fun.... c'mon ya know ye want to!!

Scraggs wrote:
    Ah it'll be fun.... c'mon ya know ye want to!!

Yeah, alright.

How about we have the beers in a nice place and then yourself and panda and all the rest of you Coppers fans can head off to that hole afterwards? :p

SebtheBum wrote:
    Yeah, alright.

And you call yourself a man!

I was kidding.

This is what Karlitosway1978 said about the place in the thread entitled Your Fave Pick-Up Spot in Dublin:
    Coppers???? Jesus people have some self respect. If your not a guard, nurse or teacher your trying to pull one and its always jammed to the rafters with fat cows (some arent even guards :D )
    He put it better than I ever could...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Gawd, dunno what I'm gonna do for all this time...!!! Hopefully I'll get some more hours in work, I don't wanna be sittin at home all day listenin to my mam whingeing!

But at the same time, it'd be good to have a free day or 2 :) I might start a thread tomorrow to get ideas of a project to do or something :D ...or I could study... ¬_¬ ...

...so I'll get right on that thread in the morning!

know how ya feel Dave... havent a clue what to do with all this free time! Like when I finished work this evening I normally leg it to the train... but I didnt have to tonight and I was so bored hadnt a clue what to do with meself! [so i went on boards of course...]

Scraggs wrote:
    I was so bored hadnt a clue what to do with meself! [so i went on boards of course...]
    Ah boards.ie... The graveyard of many a promising academic career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

This is going to be a long three-weeks.... ;)

Well, I'm off to...do somethi...oh ****.

And it's wet and cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just got my extra hours from work...

6.30am - 11am, weekday mornings
    6pm - 10pm, Thursday evening
    2pm - 6pm, Sunday afternoon

Doing warehouse work -_-

So now I'm out of the house by 6 O Clock, and back in by 11.30, so I still have most of the day to be bored, only now I'll be TIRED as WELL!!! :mad:

Kill me, kill me now!

I've got 8 extra hours in work this week... the usual weekend, plus Friday afternoon and Wednesday and Thursday evenings. I need the money, I'm SO broke! Damn fees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Syth

I'm in final year. I get no 3 week break. Right now I'm in college in the 4th year computer lab. It's full. I was in college yesterday and the day before. I'm going to be in college 7 days a week for the whole break. Us 4th year computer science students get a project in September. It's due in 12 days.

I hate 4th year computer science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Have 3 essays due- english seminar essay and two history essays- about 8,000 words in total. Also must study because I haven't attending anything all year. This is not a three week break- it is the last chance I have to pass second year without repeating in August...yet on this, my first day of study, where am I? On boards. That's right, I'm screwed. I'm particularly screwed for 1st semester 2nd year english....I went to three lectures. If anyone was actually there (because my grand total of 7 friends that do english certainly weren't) and wants to give me their notes, they're welcome to my soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Larien

3 weeks off...:o it sounded so good. until I remembered the 2 history essays and offered to do a presentation on a 329 page novel I have yet to read the week we get back. That was one of my less brilliant, or sane moments!! I came to the library to work on something...and here I am. It's going well so far (note sarcasm). I have a few nights out planned, but basically I'll be pretty much studying for the entire break!

Please don't use coloured fonts... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I'll second that - they hurt the eyes!

Elmyra, what courses were you in? I know someone who will most definitely have taken amazing notes, I'll see what I can do for you.

Right, fcuk all this for a laugh, I never got into college today.

No, not because I'm lazy, just due to my incompetence. Got all the way into town before realising that I'd forgotten my folder. With at least half my notes in it. I think the phrase rhymes with "Clucking Bell"...

Still, tomorrow's a new dawn, a new day, a new life for me...

Or something.

P.S. The coloured-font-users will be the first up against the wall come the revolution... So watch it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭elmyra

Blush_01 wrote:
    I'll second that - they hurt the eyes!

Elmyra, what courses were you in? I know someone who will most definitely have taken amazing notes, I'll see what I can do for you.

Oh wow, really? Everyone in second english had the same core course in the first semester so if that person was there, that's the notes I need, and if you could swing that, my eternal love is winding its way to you as I type...