Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

muay thai

• 09-03-2006 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

who is the superheavyweight irish muay thai champion?
    where can i find the bastard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MaxBax

alright bad boy. i've no idea. how long you been muay thaiing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

:) Best post ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

lol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

Bad Boy wrote:

Why you calling people out with your use of colour full language? i.e. bastards, bitches !!!!!! :confused:

Why not be a little more polite and ask your question

ger - cos he da man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

MaxBax wrote:
    ger - cos he da man.

With a handle like that and living in Santry he must be ard as nails. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Ger Healy

MaxBax wrote:
    ger - cos he da man.

I don't know that yet to be proved ;)

ger - good point

bad boy - have you got pics or videos of your fighting/training? Can paddyc confirm you're the no1 contender? or are you just a naughly boy, or the bold boy.

I'm originally from Santry, what's the beef with that lovely part of the world. We like to call it San Tor é by the way.

roper did you do kratty in santore?

The Irish heavyweight champion was a Bridgestone Fighter named Max
    Wasn't me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Bad Boy wrote:
    The Irish heavyweight champion was a Bridgestone Fighter named Max he was from Romania...but he has not been around for a while, so I rekon the title should be up for grabs for those who meet the title criteria.

Where do you train Muay Thai in Dublin and have you had any ThaiBoxing fights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Well you've found him. Meet me in the park in santry at midnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

well fat lad how are you :D

the title is vacant at the moment, as max is long gone, you need to geet onto sean Dillon the head of the IMTC in ireland he will point you in the right direction as to who to fight......

Bear in mind fatty, I got a new gym starting soon, and i also got a fella ear marked to train him up for that very title, so you might be in for a rough aul time cos he got the moves :)

paddy

paddy any news on when this training will be? how many days a week etc?

All good things come to those that wait.....

.... so you just gonna have to wait :)

fair enough so.

Max,
    Did Taekwondo in San Tor é alright, but not Kratty.

Paddy, whats the story. I've been crocked so not down at Bridgestone (or anywhere) since the New Year. I'm planning to get going again next week if this knee of mine holds out. Great news about the new gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I just started doing Muay Thai 2 weeks ago at the bridgestone. good set up, good instructors. im liking it a lot..

it's not massive though is it.

No its not huge. but that doesnt make a difference. as long as ya get what you want out of it. doesnt have to have all the bells and whistles to be a good gym.

I'm a big fan of bells and whistles. I like brand new shiny pads and big windows and digital clocks telling you how long is left in the round. it all adds to the occasion.

oh yeah bells and whistles are grand if you need them. im only starting out .. no need for me at the moment

Gbx you done any other MA before MT? How did you hear about bridgestone?

years ago ... cant remember .. did a bit of kempo. Mate of mine in work told me about it. he's been going a few months.

once again we meet i seem to be running over these boards defending thai :D

It dont matter what the gym is like, it reputation preceeds anything that has come before it in thai in Dublin.... We got hard as nails fighters, we got super pad men, we got several irish champs, and lads fighting over the country uk and thai land, so i think the place is doing ok...

blood dirt and sweat make for good fighters

All dwelling in a dungeon.

no bridgestone is great. i wish they got some lotto money and got a bigger place though. or bill gates sponsored them some millions.

they working on it matey, tis all about good rent in a good place

good to hear, i hope it's in swords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Bridgestone is a great place. good hard training there!

It smells like a real fighters gym should smell, sweat and thai oil!!!

hell!!! the camps over here in Thailand do nt even smell that good!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Bridgestone Man

Hi Lads,

Size isnt everything you know. Would love to have a bigger place but it aint easy to get large open space in the city centre. But if any one comes accross something let me know. Nowadays if its vacant it suddenly becomes appartment.

I could move the gym out of the city and set up in Lucan where I live and get a bigger place for less rent but do that and would lose half the people as getting accross city nowadays is a nightmare. At least if in city centre most people from the suburbs can avail of it. So if I win the Lotto we will have the best and biggest gym in the country but until then I just have to keep looking for something bigger in the city. Any ideas welcome.

By the way I think that smell is Paddys aftershave which I will make sure he takes with him when he start in SBG.

Hi Lads,

Size isnt everything you know. Would love to have a bigger place but it aint easy to get large open space in the city centre. But if any one comes accross something let me know. Nowadays if its vacant it suddenly becomes appartment.

I could move the gym out of the city and set up in Lucan where I live and get a bigger place for less rent but do that and would lose half the people as getting accross city nowadays is a nightmare. At least if in city centre most people from the suburbs can avail of it. So if I win the Lotto we will have the best and biggest gym in the country but until then I just have to keep looking for something bigger in the city. Any ideas welcome.

By the way I think that smell is Paddys aftershave which I will make sure he takes with him when he start in SBG.

Cheers,
    PK.
    THE BRIDGESTONE GYM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'd like to venture up to Bridgestone meself for a month to do a bit of mt. My standup is dismal.

there's actually a cool guy in it that is about your height. he looks like a mini-redraven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

MaxBax wrote:
    there's actually a cool guy in it that is about your height. he looks like a mini-redraven.
    How do you know what I look like dude???!!!!;)

i seen your profile on bebo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Bad Boy

MaxBax wrote:
    ger - good point

bad boy - have you got pics or videos of your fighting/training? Can paddyc confirm you're the no1 contender? or are you just a naughly boy, or the bold boy.

you better believe it. paddy c is my trainer.

RedRaven wrote:
    The Irish heavyweight champion was a Bridgestone Fighter named Max he was from Romania...but he has not been around for a while, so I rekon the title should be up for grabs for those who meet the title criteria.

Where do you train Muay Thai in Dublin and have you had any ThaiBoxing fights?
    private training by top coach's, costing a fortune but worth it when i hear the bones crack.

Dragan wrote:
    With a handle like that and living in Santry he must be ard as nails. :D

i took up muay thai when i beat a top fighter in a street fight. plus having packed in bounceing i had to channel my inner rage elsewere.

lol. bad_boy. you rock. we have these things from time to time where the different guys in this forum meet up in someone's gym and train together, exchange ideas, share muffin recipes. you should come and show us your skillz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Ahh Jaysus, Paul, double post. It looks like I'm not the only one who's been punched/kicked/kneed/elbowed in the head too much. Then again I suppose your moustache saved you any injury:D
    Size isnt everything you know

Thats not what you normally say, as I'm sure Paddy with testify. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

paddyc wrote:
    well fat lad how are you :D

Bear in mind fatty, I got a new gym starting soon, and i also got a fella ear marked to train him up for that very title, so you might be in for a rough aul time cos he got the moves :)

paddy

No need to call him fat just cause he has some ambition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

Chief, he's twice my weight. Anyone taking bets on him not being twice my height?

I reckon he's at least decently broad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

GULPIN!

Down around the monaghan/south armagh border where I orignated from..

they call fat people.... GULPINs....

So this boy, must fight for the Irish Super GULPIN weight title!

Now Dave,

Im highly insulted:mad: slagging off my Joseph Stalin tash, only another two years and I can change the pic on de pasport. Mind you It was good for catching the blood from the nose and then you wouldnt look so bad. I think we all had them in the eighties.

See you in Cork on 18th.
    PK.

Cabelo wrote:
    Chief, he's twice my weight. Anyone taking bets on him not being twice my height?

I reckon he's at least decently broad.
    6'3 to be exact