Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

email - sick joke!

• 06-03-2006 8:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

my best friend died in a carcrash when she was 14, 3 years ago!! Dispite the obvious fact that i was upset and still miss her, i've carried on with my life..what else could i do!?! But recently I've been getting texts and emails off someone who claims to be her. I've just got yet another email off this twisted person asking me why i haven't replied; am i not her friend anymore! I'm sick of it...i've tried to ignore it but this sick minded individual is determined to get to me. why would someone do something so cruel? has this ever happened to anyone before? anyone have any ideas on how to find out who it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Holy Fu*k!! That's messed up!!

My suggestion, reply, try and get as much info about this person as you can, report the number to the guards and vodafone or whoever...it may be painful, but do everything you can to catch this scumbag, and let everyone know what he/she did!!!

You're right...it's sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

report the txts to your mobile provider (O2 / Vodaphone etc...) through their customer care depts and perhaps the Gardaí if they are causing you a lot of grief.

As for the emails, just block / delete them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i don't know about the e-mail end of it, but you should report the text messages to your provider (vodafone/meteor/o2) and to the cops. this is harassment and they can deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭abercrombie

DubGuy wrote:
    ....but do everything you can to catch this scumbag, and let everyone know what he/she did!!!

i wish..but two wrongs don't make a right now do they! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

For people like that they do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Wow, thats a horrible thing to do to someone. As has been said, report them to O2/vodafone/meteor and the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

that is not two wrongs. that is you letting people know what kind of person they are dealing with. it's two rights, if anything. you reporting them and you telling everyone what they did.
    also, i don't think this is the work of one person. teenagers rarely work alone in this type of thing. i have no doubt that it's people you go to school with and you won't have to look too far to find them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

report to the guards, by the way some phones have blacklists, I have no idea how to work them and what they do, but they seem helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

anyone have any ideas on how to find out who it is?

A friend of mine got a call, a while back, from someone. All she could hear were "noises" on the other end of the line and when the "noises" were finished the person hung up. My friend got on to an decective in the Gardai and within a week the detective had found out the number and had put the person on file. if my friend or anyone else has problems then the guy is f*cked!

Thats the best option. If you dont want to cause problems now then report it. As the Gardai to find out who it is and tell them what the person is saying. Tell that person you told the guards. If they dont stop you tell the guards that you're still getting the messages/calls etc and the person will be brought to court!

Cosine wrote:
    A friend of mine got a call, a while back, from someone. All she could hear were "noises" on the other end of the line and when the "noises" were finished the person hung up. My friend got on to an decective in the Gardai and within a week the detective had found out the number and had put the person on file. if my friend or anyone else has problems then the guy is f*cked!

Thats the best option. If you dont want to cause problems now then report it. As the Gardai to find out who it is and tell them what the person is saying. Tell that person you told the guards. If they dont stop you tell the guards that you're still getting the messages/calls etc and the person will be brought to court!
    A few years ago, my friend was getting prank calls so I rang the number(a house number) and asked what the story was. Some middle aged woman answered and went mad at me and threatened to call the police, so don't do that.

TX123 wrote:
    That's the most stupid and insensitive thing i've heard in a long while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭TX123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Lord Oz

Unfortunately usually the best thing to do in these kind of situations is to try and ignore whoevers doing this and don't let them get to you. If they don't get a response they'll get bored and give up. That's all they want, a response and they'll keep bugging you.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That's the most stupid and insensitive thing i've heard in a long while.

He's right, seriously man, thats not cool

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭TX123

it cus be true tho. think about it. stuff like that happens all the time. people fake deaths for insurance policies and other reasons. just stating my opinion lads

...........!

and yeah it could be some girls from school - actually there is this one girl who always seemed not to like me or whatever, and it's gotten worse after the mocks because I got 100 points more than she did!

I think before i involve the police or anyone i should try and find out who it is myself...my school wouldn't be very happy knowing one of their students is wanted by the police either lol :p

TX123 wrote:
    it cus be true tho. think about it. stuff like that happens all the time. people fake deaths for insurance policies and other reasons. just stating my opinion lads.

yeah...like a 14 year old really wanted to fake her own death...!

[tx123's quote removed]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

TX123 wrote:
    it cus be true tho. think about it. stuff like that happens all the time. people fake deaths for insurance policies and other reasons. just stating my opinion lads

yea, a 14 year old faking her death for insurance purposes, brilliant. :rolleyes:

that too harsh even for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I think before i involve the police or anyone i should try and find out who it is myself...my school wouldn't be very happy knowing one of their students is wanted by the police either lol :p

Why do you give a f*ck what the school think about it? Its you the person is attacking with this stuff, not the school

rb_ie wrote:
    Why do you give a f*ck what the school think about it? Its you the person is attacking with this stuff, not the school
    yeah i guess you're right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Your service provider will have a log of all the numbers that rang your phone. Even if the number is blocked, it is only blocked to your phone and shouldn't be blocked to what ever network you're with. They will tell you who it is. I advise you contact them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

rb_ie wrote:
    ya i agree...

if that was me i would want to get to the bottom of it and find out who was behind it..you even said yourself it was a 'sick joke' so why all the 'two wrongs dont make a right' and "my school wouldnt be very happy knowing one of their students is wanted by the police"..

TX123 wrote:
    Well nobody wants that sort of opinion. And what kind of opinion is it anyway? It has no grounds, you don't know anything about the girl's death and your theory is completely illogical. you're whole point is to cause controversy so just go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

Seriously ask the police to take a look. If you dont want to press charges its alright but she will go on record for doing crap like that. No one will know other then the police then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

The emails will have ip address of the sender in the headers. If they sent the emails while using an irish isp/college network they can be easily traced. Do not delete the emails, contact your isp....
    jd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Was the girl from your school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭riptide

Binomate wrote:
    Your service provider will have a log of all the numbers that rang your phone. Even if the number is blocked, it is only blocked to your phone and shouldn't be blocked to what ever network you're with. They will tell you who it is. I advise you contact them.
    Not quite. You may be lucky. We have a service line in work where people ring in if there is trouble with our equipment. The number can be easily got. Its displayed all around the place. One time this person rang faking to be a little girl on her own. She had all the women in the office all worried that it was really a girl. This went on for ages. Eventually the guards came. They sussed the number out. But no.... the phone companies just passed the book... we never found out who it was, just that there was a file on her and that she was an old woman. And the guard are not obliged to tell you who it is.
    But in the case of the OP, it may be different as its highly personal and distressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭_Turismo4

Whatever you do Don’t reply to any of this sick bastards mail.. as I know a couple of guys who used to sent things like that before, and the people just kept replying to them, That’s what they wanted. 'So' please Don’t reply.
    They will get tired of sending them soon enough, and give up.. trust me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭CoolGuy2006

whiskeyman wrote:
    report the txts to your mobile provider (O2 / Vodaphone etc...) through their customer care depts and perhaps the Gardaí if they are causing you a lot of grief.

As for the emails, just block / delete them.

My X was getting texts and calls from some perv. She was living in Sligo, myself in Dublin so i was a bit worried. I got the Dickheads Number and phoned up O2 toe report him. I asked for his name(like they were ever going to give it to me, i understand why though) I basically would've been happy knowing if the guy lived in Sligo or not. Anyway, i was told they cant give out any information to me, only the Guards.

So, i phoned the guards and they told me to tell my girlfriend to buy a new phone. :-( WOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭N90user

rb_ie wrote:
    Wow, thats a horrible thing to do to someone. As has been said, report them to O2/vodafone/meteor and the Gardai.

What about Three Ireland?? :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

You should definitely report this to the police, anyone who would do a thing like that needs help, seriously screwed up individual....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Jesus that's demented... people like that shouldn't be given access to mobiles/internet... I can't understand the mind of someone who'd do that.
    Don't let them get to you, it's just some sad insecure twat who'll probably end up as an alcholic to escape their own screwy mind.
    Definitely follow up with the authorities and don't reply to the loser sending you this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

my best friend died in a carcrash when she was 14, 3 years ago!! Dispite the obvious fact that i was upset and still miss her, i've carried on with my life..what else could i do!?! But recently I've been getting texts and emails off someone who claims to be her. I've just got yet another email off this twisted person asking me why i haven't replied; am i not her friend anymore! I'm sick of it...i've tried to ignore it but this sick minded individual is determined to get to me. why would someone do something so cruel? has this ever happened to anyone before? anyone have any ideas on how to find out who it is?

Thats crazy stuff. Someone obviously watches Coronation street - this smacks of the Richard Hillman storyline.

You could track them via their ISP if you wanted to take it that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Read this, it will tell you how to decode email headers and find out where the emails are originating from. If the end-result IP address belongs to college/school etc you can have them access their records and find out who was sending emails at the given time/date. Don't let them put you off - I look after firewalls as part of what I do so know for sure that this information is kept.

http://www.johnru.com/active-whois/trace-email.html

and http://www.jmu.edu/computing/security/info/headers.shtml

What these idiots are doing amounts to psychological bullying so don't back down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Can you just block the email address? Not sure if you can block incoming numbers on your phone - you could try that if it works though?