Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New ranked server for boards.ie members!!

• 03-03-2006 10:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭

In support of the Irish Battlefield Community tig.bf2 would like to offer our 64 player ranked server as a boards.ie server. This will mean it will appear in server browsers as "boards.ie tig.bf2 64 Ranked {by Gaming365}'". The current boards.ie mini inf league has proven that there is still a vibrant battlefield community in Ireland.

We will run it with a full rotation of maps and with no reserved slots. In order to allow for a good gaming experience we will also need a few responsible boards.ie members to admin the server when there are no tig admins around. Please either PM myself or Lucutus here on boards.ie or speak to us in IRC. It would be better if those applying had some previous experience of server admin.

Hopefully boards.ie members and battlefield players in Ireland will make use of this server and enjoy the gaming to be had on it.

Regards tig.bf2|fairy

[EDIT]

The server has already been changed and is running a full map rotation. Details are 82.195.136.136:16567.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

Fair play Fairy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

wunderbar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I cant praise you guys enough, it will prob become my most played server if we can get all these guys on it. Well done :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Nelix

Noice one Fairy, this will hopefully drum up more interest in BF2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭chalky

Sweet. Will be playing there tonight.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Well done folks....

If this really worked out I think that some groups like ASCII might prefer to spend any spare cash they have on a server that could be more easily populated then their current one???

I know I'd be willing to offer up some € if needed if I knew a boards.ie server would survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I'll be there tonight for sure! Sniper Rapeage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

To find it, just type boards in the search box Example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Thats fair sound..:D ;) I shall be there tonight ! Will it be using teamspeak or any kind a program ?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

Well as It's a TiG server I suppose that TiG wouldn't mind too much if people used their TS server though personally I think that VoIP is just more flexable and easier for people to operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Ponster wrote:
    Well as It's a TiG server I suppose that TiG wouldn't mind too much if people used their TS server though personally I think that VoIP is just more flexable and easier for people to operate.

Does this server support VOIP if so I will defo be using it then, if not what is the TIG TS channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

The TiG TeamSpeak server can be found at: games3.iol.ie:8787

Enjoy lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

This is great, fair play to ye, lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Evd-Burner

Im going to head onto the server now if anybody else wants to join it with me....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,760 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

I'll be there tonight, assuming I don't suffer the indignity of being snowed into my place of torture/work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

Played fairy ,would be like back in the VietNavan server in Bfv & Ts ..Just Full of the Mad Irish !!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

sweet, gonna hop back on the server tonight.
    Its always good craic when 90% of the people youre fragging and working with are Irish.

Just spotted this:

If you type in %boards.ie and hit enter, it will find the server directly without you having to trawl through stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 tig.bf2|valen

You are all a pack of freeload'in scum!!

Enjoy our server!!!!!

Played Fairy you shirt lift'in PHAG!! :v:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭IG-Calibre

if I can get this frigging game to run longer than 5mins i'll be on later for a rip..:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Good stuff TiG,another added to favs :)

Could I make a suggestion and say that 64 players is kinda big for this type of server where we may only get 10-15 people playing.

Or do people think that as soon as we have 16 there won't be any problem in getting non boards.ie people to find the server and join ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fatturkey

great idea cheers

Ponster wrote:
    Could I make a suggestion and say that 64 players is kinda big for this type of server where we may only get 10-15 people playing.

Or do people think that as soon as we have 16 there won't be any problem in getting non boards.ie people to find the server and join ?

can i say your completely wrong cause there are 34 on right now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Nice one

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭IG-Calibre

Aye, good oul craic tonight indeed, server nearly had a full 64 on at one stage, and there were still 40 odd going at it when I called it quits, hope it keeps that kind of traffic up..

As we said, anyone who is going to be using it regularly and knows how to admin a server just pop onto irc (#tig.ie on Quakenet) or drop Fairy or Lucutus a PM and they should sort ya out.

Keep the tards from the prawns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Oooh we could have done with an admin tonight! :) Such fun, easily five utter tards randomnly and deliberately tking. Rope and I racked up some impressive negative scores keeping them at bay...

But I spoke with Fairy and he's setting me up with basic admin so at least things will be ok when im playing :D

RopeDrink wrote:
    And it'll need plenty of Admins if it's going to be anything remotely like it was, tonight. ****ing awful ****e was going on for rounds on end, what with arsehole vehicle whore TK'ers and just wankage in general... Was screaming for an Admin in both team channels but to no avail.

The sooner we get some regular Admins onto the server, the better. On a positive note, the whole server was full to the brim and gaming only just ceased now (1:42am).

Hopefully this will be the case most nights.

Well for some reason my in game admin commands aren't working, tonight i had a good few games on the server, but i did notice alot of idiots running around :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

these TKer's piss me off, one lad shot me over a jet! when I wanted something done about hit he came along and did it again! I let most things go but acting the eejit like that is not on, ruins the game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

o man o mani cant wait, dieing for my new pc to get here so i can bf2 it up.....and show yu all my domination =P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

If anyones here hop on the server ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

Might pop on for a few rounds this evening. Look out for SuitsYou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

How do people feel about the server as a 64 man. I typically find that the most muppetry goes on on a 64 man server. Add to that the lag induced by larger maps and it tends to ruin the game.

Personally I feel the server runs better at say 48 man slots, plenty for the community here, and also less lag etc.

Add to that 32 player maps and the odd 16 player map and you will have a lot more fun.

Have a think.

Fairy

Aye I agree, just nicer all round. I'll get a few of ye's together on Sunday evening and we'll sort out admin.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Wavey

Yep, I would aggre with that. 64 player maps always seem to attract a certain type of fckuwit!

40 to 50 woud be plenty ide say.

As soon as the number went above 40 lastnight i thought the quality of game dropped.

Also would boards users have any say in the map rotation? Or will that be up to whatever admin is present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Am guessin it would be just the whole map rotation. If a number of people didnt like some maps I'm sure they could be removed. But if started havin admin change it all the time it would be annoying & people might not want to change map every couple of minutes or play one repetativly.

Am startin to think it might be better about 40. Origionally missed the 64 man but it does really need admin 24/7. Plus if usin 64 man maps with less people they do last longer & more chance of getting the badges / ribbons etc :rolleyes:
    Smaller maps prob wouldn't last as long so thinkin should stick till 64 maps.

Yes boards.ie people can decide on a map rotation. Myself or Lucutus will be the only ones who can change the main settings on the server, or add maps into / take maps out of the rotation.

Any of the new boards.ie admins can then change the order of the maps, change next map, move on to the next map etc.

If no one objects I'll run the server with 48 player slots and 32 player maps.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

I object :p
    They'd be too short tbh :rolleyes:
    40/48 on 64 maps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭chalky

Berns wrote:
    I agree.

I concur with the last page and a half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Played on it for a bit, good fun. Must go onto it later again.

Berns wrote:

I also agree 64 player maps ftw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭December Son

Aye just had a good game there. Cheers tig!
    Anywho..did you put the euro forces maps ont he server already?? I got booted after fu-she pass, it told me i needed to have euro forces installed to paly the next map :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 gavinsblog

Yea I had the same prob, Euro Forces isnt on EA downloader yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Nay, its been removed now.
    good to go :)

gonna hop on tonight with a few newbies. should be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

(19:46:57) (Ropeh|TiG64) WTF
    (19:47:01) (ZillahPwn) Are you taking the ****ing piss?!
    (19:47:07) (Ropeh|TiG64) Now I have to BUY the ****ing thing!?
    (19:47:09) • ZillahPwn is now known as Zilllah
    (19:47:09) (Ropeh|TiG64) **** that.
    (19:47:13) • Scrapper has joined #battlefield.ie (~donut4@Scrapper.users.quakenet.org)
    (19:47:15) • Ropeh|TiG64 is now known as RopeDrink
    (19:47:19) (RopeDrink) Not a chance.
    (19:47:23) (Zilllah) Ok one, thats the most shameless ****e marketting ive seen
    (19:47:37) (Scrapper) lol
    (19:47:39) (Zilllah) And why the hell are there euro force maps on the server at all?
    (19:47:40) (@kdjac) :/
    (19:47:41) (Scrapper) the packs arent out yet
    (19:47:45) (Scrapper) someone has put the new maps in the rotation
    (19:47:48) (Celt) wha the ****
    (19:47:52) (RopeDrink) Oh ffs.
    (19:47:54) (Celt) i tried join and it said i needed EF
    (19:47:54) • Berns has joined #battlefield.ie (nick@Berns.users.quakenet.org)
    (19:47:54) • L sets mode (+o Berns)
    (19:47:57) (Scrapper) need an admin to change the rotation
    (19:48:01) (RopeDrink) Aye.
    (19:48:09) (Zilllah) I can change the current map, but not the rotation
    (19:48:13) (Scrapper) same
    (19:48:21) (Zilllah) And i cant get onto the server if its got a euro forces map running
    (19:48:25) (Scrapper) ^ aye
    (19:48:32) (Zilllah) hang on, ill double check
    (19:48:37) (Scrapper) nah you cant
    (19:48:38) (@Berns) ammm, wtf
    (19:48:40) • kdjac looks at lucutus
    (19:48:40) • Berns slaps lucutus around a bit with a large trout
    (19:48:48) • Celt spanks lucutus
    (19:48:54) • Scrapper watches
    (19:48:56) (Zilllah) yeah...its running Great Wall
    (19:48:58) • kdjac feels luc hiding
    (19:49:08) (Zilllah) fairy isnt around either
    (19:49:11) (Wavey) ****e
    (19:49:13) (Zilllah) how absurd
    (19:49:15) (Scrapper) what about hellfire?
    (19:49:43) (Zilllah) try him
    (19:50:14) (@kdjac) be fairy and luc for Tig servers
    (19:50:32) (Scrapper) nah i think hellfire has rights too
    (19:50:59) (Wavey) Didnt know we had to but this "patch"
    (19:51:05) (Wavey) *buy
    (19:51:09) (Zilllah) Is there no way to exercise admin powers without directly connecting? I remember CS had remote admining
    (19:51:18) (RopeDrink) There should be.
    (19:51:26) (Zilllah) but there isn't?
    (19:51:45) (@Berns) winters & hell checkin now
    (19:51:58) • RopeDrink shrugs.
    (19:52:10) (RopeDrink) Until someone gives me a reason to learn BF2 rcon, I'll never know.
    (19:52:14) (RopeDrink) I'd assume there is, though.
    (19:52:19) (@Berns) BACK TO THE BATTLEFIELD :D

hehehehehheheheeh

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Ballboy

Cant u use bf2 cc??? thats what our clan use...

It is BF2CC, but we Boards mods only have limited maintanence powers.

Zillah wrote:
    It is BF2CC, but we Boards mods only have limited maintanence powers.

Yes exactly. I got to kick a few base rapers today :D

BF2CC really sucks. I honestly dont understand why EA/DICE used it over BlackBag Op's. Id have taken BBOp's anyday.