Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Identify the Dublin Rioters!

• 26-02-2006 3:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭

Oddly, this post is inspired by this recent thread and the efficiency with which the identity of that girl was determined.

What I would like to see is the collective resources of the boards.ie visitors used to identify some of the thugs captured in the video clips and photographs that have appeared on this site (and elsewhere). I believe that we decent Dubliners (appalled at the behaviour of who I call scumbags) can name the people that freely attacked our city this weekend.

I would like to hear ideas from people on how you think we can promote this (e.g. though an e-mail campaign, etc.) and if you even think it is a viable suggestion. Also, if there is sufficient interest, I will contact businesses effected by these crimes to see if a cash reward can be organised and offered for the identities of these people.

Let's keep the discussion in this thread focused on the identity campaign (as opposed to the rights and wrongs of what happened, etc.).

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭eoge

Here are some useful resources:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlNoEqO2mUY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgIlZgt4XV8.

Note the guy in the grey hoodie in the first film. He can be seen in these photos where thugs are attacking a poor Asian guy (please save these to your hard drive because I can’t host them for too long):

http://www.eoghanmccabe.com/temp/.

And see here for more photos from the public:
    http://flickr.com/photos/search/tags:dublin%2Criot/tagmode:all/.

Indymedia covers it well too:
    http://www.indymedia.ie/article/74507.

Any other links?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I think this is a good idea, however the quality of some of the images is not great, posters would want to be a full 100% sure that any person they name is that individual otherwise innocent people will have their good name ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

eoge i have the asian guy on my server and have loads of bandwidth 1TB, so dont worry if you need to take them down after a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Can anybody say "slander"? Dangerous, silly idea. How can you prove that you know the person? What are you going to do, supply an address for someone to go around and verify?

If you think you know who anyone was, take the picture and go to the Gardai.

Can anybody say "slander"? Dangerous, silly idea. How can you prove that you know the person? What are you going to do, supply an address for someone to go around and verify?

Yes, that would certainly be the right thing to do. I'm not necessarily suggesting a person's name, address, etc. be published. However, I believe (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) that by simply suggesting a name for a person in a photograph is not slander. It would be slander for me to say "Mr. John Doe smashed a car" but not to say "I believe the name of that person smashing that car in that photograph is Mr. John Doe".

Sparky-s wrote:
    eoge i have the asian guy on my server and have loads of bandwidth 1TB, so dont worry if you need to take them down after a while
    Thanks Sparky. I'll let you know.

eoge wrote:
    Yes, that would certainly be the right thing to do. I'm not necessarily suggesting a person's name, address, etc. be published. However, I believe (someone please correct me if I'm wrong) that by simply suggesting a name for a person in a photograph is not slander. It would be slander for me to say "Mr. John Doe smashed a car" but not to say "I believe the name of that person smashing that car in that photograph is Mr. John Doe".
    But what good does it do to say it online, behind a false name. None.

If you believe in any way that you can identify anyone, you should go to the Gardai and pass it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

omg I've never wanted to kill someone so much.....I wish that Beemer hada fallen on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

but if you do know that person,how can it be slander,or should i say liable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Anyone got any video clips of some scumbags getting a good beating from the Gardai?

Im sure after previous events that if the guards gave a beating they would make sure there was no cameras or video to take it.

Back of the riot van tbh :D

county wrote:
    How do you prove you know them here? At least by going to the Gardai they can follow up on it. I could say that I saw you in the photo, in spite of he fact that I wouldn't know you from Adam.

And what good does it do to put their names here? Nobody has answered that yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Bad idea for a thread, bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

county wrote:

or defamation even.

BuffyBot wrote:
    Bad idea for a thread, bad idea.
    Maybe so. Maybe it's a whole mess I don't want to get myself involved in. But I'm just vary angered (like so many) by what happened yesterday and I want to be able to do something about it.

Why do you think it's bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭djmarkus

The boards.ie vigilantes! Who's with me!

honestly i dont think the admins would want to have boards.ie Ltd involved in court cases if it ever came up, so tbh if at all this thread should be used as a highlight to people that if they see or know anyone in the photos that to get on to their local garda station with a copy of the photo, or even ring the garda confidential line and just give some info.

Im sure most of the photos available can be used as some proof in catching the people.

eoge wrote:
    Maybe so. Maybe it's a whole mess I don't want to get myself involved in. But I'm just vary angered (like so many) by what happened yesterday and I want to be able to do something about it.

Why do you think it's bad?
    Personally, I think its a bad idea because it seems to be a knee jerk, reactionary witch hunt. I understand you want to do the right thing, I just feel this is the wrong way about it.

What you could do better is look for people to go to the Gardai with information. There is no reason for them to come here with it.
    djmarkus wrote:
    The boards.ie vigilantes! Who's with me!
    I'll get my spandex overalls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

If any of you would-be informers would like to identify my photo among the rioters, I'll take you, boards.ie's owners, hosts and all connected with them for every penny they've got in a juicy libel suit.

Seriously, this is a stupid idea. The person in the hoodie burning the car may *look* like someone you know; if you claim that the photo is that person, and the actual person can prove that he was quietly sitting his Law Library exams at the time, or doing something equally innocent, he'll have a good cause for suing you for damages.

Might I suggest that minding one's own business is often a useful exercise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Anybody caught beating that guy on the ground should be publicly shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

As people have said already...Bad bad bad idea !

Genuine mistakes in identifying people could lead to Boards.ie getting sued for defamation or slander.

The OP references a thread where people wanted to identify a model in an ad campaign which is completely different to this where OP is asking people to identify people engaged in criminal activities !!!

luckat wrote:
    I was minding my own business enjoying a day out in town with my girlfriend when these thugs ruined it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

dont name names but i think we should share our collective photo and video evidence from personal and net sources and then viewers can make up their mind to inform the gardai using and photo evidence presented here and then leave it up to the gardai to prosecute that leaves boards,posters, exempt for libel

Thanks for everyone's feedback; I hope you can all see where I'm coming from. I believe there is great potential within the boards.ie and the online community in general to identify these guys, but I concede it may be a bad idea to do so publicly.

I'd like to withdraw my suggestion and advise that no names be posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Girlfriend

I think there is a little more to what happened yesterday than some thugs ruining your day out with your girlfriend.
    eoge wrote:
    I was minding my own business enjoying a day out in town with my girlfriend when these thugs ruined it!

Girlfriend wrote:
    I think there is a little more to what happened yesterday than some thugs ruining your day out with your girlfriend.
    No sh*t!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

I think this is a good idea as long as no names and addresses are mentioned here. As others said, contact the guards if you recognise someone. People could post if they recognise someone and give some details and what the guards say etc, then it might feel like the ordinary decent people are doing something about it, which is what the OP wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

ignoring the slander talk...

a mate of mine came up today for a wee chat in his car. some guys on the street (scummers) decided to annoy us with questions like "how much was your car, runners, hat, etc. etc. etc."

anyway turns out they were at the riots ("watching" apparently) and one of them blabed about how his mate robbed some runners out of a shop. could quite possibly be the guy in the pics featuring the centra worker. no doubt these 2 (who are about 15 btw) know loads of the scummers from yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Anarchist

luckat wrote:

If that brave lady hadn't have minded her own business that poor asian guy may have died.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

As there are so many photos about it might be useful to make a collection of the ones with clear 'head shots' . If people then recognise any one in them then go to the cops and give them their details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

If you think you know the person, and lets face if you do odds on you know not just from the video.. Then tell the Gardai. Do not post it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

does anyone have a link for the video of the centra inciddent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I'd like to echo what Hobbes said. Please do not name anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I can't see the problem in naming someone to the Gardai. The Gardai are hardly going to say to some scummer, "It was Bond-007 that squealed on you".

Bond-007 wrote:
    I can't see the problem in naming someone to the Gardai. The Gardai are hardly going to say to some scummer, "It was Bond-007 that squealed on you".
    There is no problem. The mods don't want anyone named here. Plus, I bet they'd feel a little silly quoting you like that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

In principle : Good Idea.

Knowing the way the law works in this country : Bad Idea.

That's just the way it is. Ya can't drag boards.ie into stuff like this, it's not what it's here for. Soz.

Frankly I'm surprised that the Gardaí havent asked the media for copies of photographs and video material,if they havent they should.

Remember the Landsdowne road English football hooligan riot.
    They were named and shamed in the papers.

I mean what more evidence does one want for a court than a news video(of which I saw plenty last night) of these gurriers throwing things and pulling down barriers and running amok.
    Many of the faces were very clearly identifiable- much clearer than security videos that do catch criminals when shown on crimewatch or crimeline.

I also think that these gurriers should have court judgements made against them seizing part of their lifetimes earnings untill the damage is paid for.

Hit them in the pocket.

the gardai are reading this im sure, or if not im sure some recruits use boards and have passed the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

AFAIK this is under way with businesses from across the city supplying their CCTV footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

eoge wrote:
    Note the guy in the grey hoodie in the first film. He can be seen in these photos where thugs are attacking a poor Asian guy (please save these to your hard drive because I can’t host them for too long):

That is one of the most sickening things I've seen in a while (although I understand not too uncommon unfortunately). How badly injured was the guy? Has anyone been arrested for it?

they can just buy newspapers, visit forums (like this one) and take a peek at youtube and they've get all the evidence in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    does anyone have a link for the video of the centra inciddent
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0GImPoBl9s It was dodgy trying to record all this.

Shrimp wrote:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0GImPoBl9s It was dodgy trying to record all this, worth it tho! :D Good rush!

he's probably referring to the incident where an asian man got beaten up

afaik it's only pics btw, no video

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I think the best thing to do here is report it to the Gardai.

Name and Shame them might not be a good idea, as it could get you in a lot of trouble if their innocent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

DSCN0730.JPG

DSCN0732.JPG

(zoom in on circled face)

these two look fairly identifiable, both were involved in the attack of the Asian Centra Worker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

anyone know if the 13 individuals have been named that were before the district court last night, and is there any info on those that were before the court today?

yer man in the black coat with luminous collar looks old enough to know better.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    DSCN0730.JPG

DSCN0732.JPG

(zoom in on circled face)

these two look fairly identifiable, both were involved in the attack of the Asian Centra Worker

Look like your average rough nacker (no offense)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I wholeheartedly applaud those GENUINE protesters who were involved in yesterdays protest and not the scum who went around looting shops,etc,unfortunately you will always get some undesirables who will hijack something like this to their advantage and i agree those responsible for looting shops,etc should be brought to justice..HOWEVER lets not be too quick to believe everything you read in the gutter press and media,a good percentage of those yesterday were genuine Republicans (not Sinn Fein as they are no longer Republicans) and i applaud those who peacefully protested against this sectarian march of shame and yestersay despite what the media says was a moral victory for Irish Republicanism,it's just a shame that some idiots tried to ruin it by looting ahops and burning cars.

Another thing,people are too quick to praise the Garda,from what i seen yesterday they seemed to randomly lash out with their batons at anyone who was in their way including shoppers going about their business and for that they should be lambasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

Stark wrote:
    Originally Posted by eoge

That is one of the most sickening things I've seen in a while (although I understand not too uncommon unfortunately). How badly injured was the guy? Has anyone been arrested for it?

they are sum and should have been arrested
    MC dowell to resign, well I'll take it
    very few scumbags were arrested
    how many cops did he have on the street ?

stupid march should have never went ahead in the 1st place

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

fletch wrote:
    omg I've never wanted to kill someone so much.....I wish that Beemer hada fallen on them!
    tragic waste of a 3 series, i feel your pain :(