Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trip to Tipp - the morning after!

• 25-02-2006 7:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

my head hurts and i'm pretty sure i havent slept in 36 hours...

Main Tournament:
    In the end nine students represnting DIT Poker Soc travelled to Roscrea desperate to undo some damage caused to ourselves at the VN team event. I sit down with my 2500 in chips, and spot Shortstack sitting two seats to my right, so first rule of the day is not to clash with him... then on the second hand of the night in the BB i look down at KK, and its been checked around to me so I push all in, happy to take the blinds or double up and build my stack in the rebuy fest part of the game.... AND i skillfully thought that the prise for first rebuy was a paddypower hat (retail value approx €20, the equivilant of a rebuy).... get called by AJ... AJ on the flop and I am officially the first player out!!! :o ooops! Things improved a bit until the break and I was sitting on 18k plus my 10k top up, so a healthy 28k at the break... within about 5 mins of the restart i have 33 in the button and figure i can steal the 3k in blinds with an all in push, thinking if i do get called i'm at least ahead with my pair....and I do get called, by BB with A6 who hits an A on the river... down to 10k... moved table... and my fellow student shoutman is dealing... first hand at the new table, i get AQ suited.... i push my 10k in and some guy with 11k calls with A5... first card out is a 5 and i'm gone....

Ante-s Up VS The Students STT:
    4 students and 4 antes-up lads (or 3 and a blow in!)... bragging rights up for grabs using a complicated points system. Shortstack is gutted to see his 42o cracked by shoutman's 77 on the second hand (mike had won the first hand when he was all in with 10,3 with no callers!) Then slowly but surely all but one ante's up player fell to the might of the students! DeVore, facing an uphill struggle against 3 students battled his way to victory against shoutman heads-up... shoutman's post match analysis "yea, tom's just better than me!"
    AntesUp boast the winner, but the students win the team title! :p

ditpoker VS Shortstack Heads Up:
    first hand we see a flop... i hit my pair of aces and i call when mike moves all in... i win with my aces against his jack high... BUT... Nooo... the game is not over... as i realise that the hand had been dealt with one jack shy... gutted we set up the game again... this time around it takes mike only 2 hands to beat me... ah well... :o

ditpoker VS bohsman Heads Up:
    as oscar struggled to maintain his balance on the seat, clutching not two... but three bottles of half empty miller i'm reasonably confident he couldnt actually see his cards (though this would not preventhim from LIVE multi-tabling later in the night!)... given my slight advantage i took this one down eventually... :)

€2 Speed Multi-Rebuy Round of Each
    this game got out of hand very quickly, Oscar won €1.50 from his multi-tabling efforts as a result of having a 25% stake into my €6 win for second place!

5am GUT in room 27
    having been evicted from the tournament hall, all things gambling got moved to room 27 where Shortstack and musician and one others boardster (who's name escapes me - apologies) introduced the naive students to this new form of reckless gambling... more gambling... HAPPY DAYS... musician won approx €60 (mostly from shoutman) very quickly... i gave up at 5.30am when i'd run out of change and was down €20 or tehreabouts and left Mike taking the rest of the students money....

Summary:
    i haven't slept in 36 hours... my head hurts... oscar probably won't be able to pass a breathalyser test for about a week.... antes-up are better tournament poker players than the students... BUT WE'LL BE BACK!!!!

Congrats to jem on a great night!!
    FOOTNOTE: i think the charity raised somewhere near €1300.... WELL DONE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

You get KK in the BB and it was checked around? huh ??

are you still drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Was a great night. Was happy enough with my performance in the main game,
    ended up going out with blinds 2/4k and having 18k stack, one limper and the rest fold I look down to see kqsuited so I pushed looking to take up the blinds.
    Limper calls most of his stack with a2o and I am out.

Played two side games, The students vs Antes up, in which I took a huge chip advantage in knocking out two players in the second hand, played nicely to get down to three handed.
    Pivotal hand was where devore, knocked out one of the students by hitting a three outer queen on the river (I think) Thus taking a good proportion of my chips as well as I had called too, I was behind the short stacked student but ahead of DeV.
    Heads up was a pretty long affair. I got AA first hand and limped in, dev checked, I checked the flop DeV checked, I bet the pot on the turn and DeV folded. Eventually lost when calling DeV A6(i think) against my 86(I think) He had shown over two blind stealing bluffs previous to that and I was getting tired and stupid.
    No help for either player and I was left with next to nothing.
    Next hand I went all in and Dev completed his inside straight draw on the river to take it down.
    But thanks for the pint anyway Tom ;)

The next game I played in I went heads up as well (To be honest I don't remember much of this game at all)
    But we ended up splitting the pot at around 5am as we were being kicked out. However we did play the last ten hands of the game with our cards being displayed on our for head, sort of indian texas hold em if you will. ie he saw my cards and I saw his but we didnt see our own.
    He was a local lad and a daycent shkin. :p

So back to the students room it went, Guts is not my favourite game :(
    I lost with AA7 to a straight,
    With a queen high flush to a straight
    With a king high straight to an ace high straight
    and with two sevens to tens.
    Basically I lost all my money :(
    Was a great night though ended up in bed at about half six.

Oh and Oscar has given me a ticket for his sunday game in the fitz :)

Great craic altogether

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

lol... The Antesup vs the Students was an interesting game. Only 3 of the Antesup guys were out of the main tournie so we took on one of the lads who was disowned by his mates (because he had a job! :)).

Mike was um, a little drunk shall we say. The first all in scared everyone off but the second one got him a call from our adopted player (who's name escapes me) and from Shoutman. Both get knocked out by Shoutman's 77 that stands up (quite brave calling two all ins with 77!).

Anyway, the "complicated points system" involved 1 point for 8th and 8 points for 1st! DIT clearly doesnt have a Maths course :p
    With Adopt-o-guy and Mike out 8th and 7th, Niall and I had to come first and second to draw! Unfortunately Niall moved in on my BB with J8 (some team mate!) and I faced an ethical crisis since I was holding QQ. To be fair I had to call and knocked him out.

Both my remaining opponents seemed fairly sure that they were going to tag team me so two hands in a row I let them get all Gus-Hanseny on my ass and post flop check-reraised them all in. Neither liked it much and both made the wrong decision as I was holding rags :)

I *did* get lucky at one point when the flop was 764, holding Q6. Unfortunately both the remaining students were holding 7's. I had 5 clear outs with two cards giving me a 1:5 shot, not the biggest fluke in the world but it certainly was a pivotal hand!

I was still behind going into heads up but cajoled and battled my way to a decnt chip lead only to lose it all on an outdraw. Start again and battled my way up to a 2:1 chip lead on Shoutman when he made a rash move and I figured my A9s was worth the shot.

Good game and shoutman isnt as bad as he thinks nor are the students (though 9 vs 5 of us in the main event ended up close to a draw, not sure who went out last, Muso or their guy!).

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

rent a student's name is lloyd... aka lucky lloyd who keeps outdrawing ollieboy and rounders123 in the emporium.
    DeVore wrote:
    (though 9 vs 5 of us in the main event ended up close to a draw, not sure who went out last, Muso or their guy!).
    our guy (ste) was the bubble, did muso make the money?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

DeVore wrote:
    Both my remaining opponents seemed fairly sure that they were going to tag team me I let them get all Gus-Hanseny on my ass

Sounds like you had a "strange" weekend.I just hope all the student's are over 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jem

I would like to thank all those who came down on the trip to tipp, it was good crack to meet up with you all.
    On a side note it is very important to remember that all storys , bets etc stay in Roscrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

HISUZU.......

Have I said to much? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

My head hurts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

bohsman wrote:
    My head hurts

three days later!!! LOL :D

bohsman wrote:
    My head hurts
    To be honest I am not supprised . you were FFS.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

jem wrote:
    On a side note it is very important to remember that all storys , bets etc stay in Roscrea.

I didn't intend to leave my head there. Anyway great night James. Well done. Now I have to try out this Celtic Poker Tour. Are you sure you don't work for them?

musician wrote:
    I didn't intend to leave my head there. Anyway great night James. Well done. Now I have to try out this Celtic Poker Tour. Are you sure you don't work for them?
    glad you enjoyed it, it was great that you all came down. I am sure that I don't work for them. I asked for and recieved a free ticket for a prize and was delighted to give it out, fair play to them.
    post and let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

bohsman wrote:
    My head hurts

mine too...

did anyone happen to find a Nokia phone down there by any chance? I had it in my bag... and then I didn't! lol, no idea what I did on the night in question so it could be anywhere.. but on the off chance that someone found a phone... I'd give my left arm just to get my phone book back!

I have rang the hotel and they will ask the night porter etc and come back to me.
    I will let you know the response.
    j

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Thanks a mil jem, I tried ringing the hotel (0505 23300) and I got through to some electrical company in Dublin. I asked them what number they were and they said something like 6724591.. they constantly get people looking for Grants Hotel.. strange..

ps: fair play on a great tournament. I forgot how much fun you can have combining drink and poker!