Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rioting in Dublin

• 25-02-2006 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭

Hey... was anyone in Trinity when the rioting started?

I was thinking about heading down with my camera... and then realised how idiotic that would be...

So did anyone witness the violence? How bad was it? :( Shame that after so many years there are still people who think that violence is the only way forward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Yeah I too was gonna head in with my camera, but it's dark now so I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

yes the library got evacuated and their was an air corps airplane circling over TCD. so annoying as i didn't get all my work done. I saw the riot police up at the Nassau street entrance to TCD and apparently there was an overturned car/ and fire on O'Connell St. The spar near college green also had cracked windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I've been in trinity all day. Lots of police about, and a fire at the Nassau street entrance

did the Hamilton library get shut too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

yeah i think it got shut a half an hour early, was walking through college cos it was safer at half past 3 and there was lots of people coming form the hamilton end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭nutball

I was halfway up O'Connell St. just behind the main body of the ruckus for a good while. It seemed to involve mainly the Celtic jersey wearing, Fields of Athenry singing brand of misguided Sinn Fein supporter; the usual marauding hordes of young scumbags who show up spoiling for a fight at any gathering, be it this, RTS or a football match; and a few random Anarchist types with black flags and ski masks.

The main standoff was just in front of the GPO. They seemed to have dragged up some bins full of glass bottles from somewhere and were using them, as well as building materials from the roadworks, as missiles. They seemed to be letting off some sort of bangers or firecrackers and lit a few fires which died down pretty quicky. Someone I was talking to suggested that they'd brought tyres and things to burn but I think it was mainly bins and wooden pallets that they'd got from somewhere. Apparently up at the front of the fracas they were launching pieces of granite and paving slabs at the riot Gardai as well and managed to use the crowd control barriers and roadworks fencing to their advantage as well.

Every so often people started running away from the locus of the riot down towards the river end of the street, giving the impression that there was something coming that needed to be run away from. Bystanders panicked, ran in all directions: the more people ran, the more others joined in. (It was during one of these surges that I found myself crouching in the doorway of Grand Central using a stranger as a human shield *ashamed!*). Then it would die down and the focus would return to the main body of the group at the GPO. Finally, the chain of riot Gardai with plastic shields who had been fending them off at the GPO managed to move down to the Middle Abbey St. junction (which is where I was) and it was at this point that the rioters moved over to the southside.

I missed the bulk of the trouble on the southside but when I reemerged after lunch, Nassau St. had been cordoned off. Down towards the Clare St. end and near Lincoln Gate, some cars were set on fire. I hung around for a bit wondering how I was going to get home (the guards told me Trinity had been entirely closed off) but the cordon blocking off Dawson St. from Nassau St. moved off soon afterwards and I made my way back in through Front Arch. I'm not sure what time that was but as far as I know the gardai who had been on Nassau St. were moving off in the direction of Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

I was in there also. Loads of sirens around as I was walking up just before 2. Was in ORI-LG12 for a while, grand, then went out to get food.
    Gate to Westland Road was padlocked, and the vehicle entrance onto Nassau Street (or whatever that junction is called) had 2 security guys on it opening and closing the gate, just letting people out, and students with ID cards in.
    There was a lot of police vans and motorbikes at a hotel just up from that exit when I went out. This was about half three.
    I don't know if it's normal, but the Centra on Westland Row was closed, and all of the doors to the DART station, including the Spar ones were closed bar one that was half open and surrounded by security people. Spar itself was open from inside the DART station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

LiouVille wrote:
    a fire at the Nassau street entrance
    Was there much damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

snorlax wrote:
    yes the library got evacuated and their was an air corps airplane circling over TCD. so annoying as i didn't get all my work done. I saw the riot police up at the Nassau street entrance to TCD and apparently there was an overturned car/ and fire on O'Connell St. The spar near college green also had cracked windows.

how did they evacuate the library? did the fire alarm sound - or is there a PA system in there?

i wonder if they had extra security staff on duty in College just in case, in the same way they get a little twitchy around St Patricks Day and the 1st of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I walked down O'Connell St. this evening, long after the trouble. A few smashed windows near the bridge, just shoe shops and fast food joints bizarrely. Lots of blood about too. A friend of mine from Berlin was coming to meet me on Grafton St. when the riot happened. She was on O'Connell St. and kept maintaining that it wasn't a real riot as there was no water cannon nor tear gas and that we Irish just don't know how to riot properly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

http://www.maths.tcd.ie/~z/today/
    mostly pictures from westland row by the looks........

some lady just came around the library and said "security has ordered that the library be shut due to the riots!" I asked what riots? and she said something about an orange parade. she seemed kinda flustered and told us to leave by front gate. there we're two security guards there checking everyone who wanted to come into TCD. Loads of the shops on Grafton street had their shutters down too when i went up. really weird for something like that to happen on normally what is a resting day for people not working. I heard Charlie Bird got injuired..
    about a week or two ago the sports hall was evacuated because of the fire alarm, and we we're all left standing outside for 15minutes in the cold (probably due to someone smoking in the toilets or something!) until the alarm got turned off. the poor ping pong intervsaties was on that night too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

...Where in the living **** did they find a chair in the middle of the street? Oddly hilarious, in a sociopathic kind of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

cuckoo wrote:
    how did they evacuate the library? did the fire alarm sound - or is there a PA system in there?

i wonder if they had extra security staff on duty in College just in case, in the same way they get a little twitchy around St Patricks Day and the 1st of May.
    I was on campus for a while, and saw 4 members of security total. 2 in the office at front arch (I looked in to check), and 2 opening the gate at the main exit at the east end.
    That was all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 gallagc8

Saw those photos earlier.What they actually show is a chinese Guy who worked in the centra being dragged out and beaten. Says something about the mentality of these guys.

shay_562 wrote:
    ...Where in the living **** did they find a chair in the middle of the street? Oddly hilarious, in a sociopathic kind of way.
    there's an italian place just up from that centra that has chairs outside it....

Saw those photos earlier.What they actually show is a chinese Guy who worked in the centra being dragged out and beaten. Says something about the mentality of these guys.
    Figured as much, proves the point about the mentality of the riots, none of the staff in that centra look english/have an english accent, though wouldn't say many of them are ethicnically irish(correct way of putting that?) , which really shows the ****ing twats that are those scum bags..

doesn't look like anyone from the maths dept. went out to help...(where those photo's were taken from...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Right_Side

These photos are sickening and should be provided to the guards ASAP. Some of the guys kicking two guys on the ground are 40+ not just scumbag kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

On the bright side there is photographic evidence and you can see the faces of some of those scumbags. Nothing will probably come of it but could always hand in copies to the police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

shay_562 wrote:

It looks like it came from the italian cafe that's a bit further up Westland Row.

Those pictures, and others on sites like rte.ie, are scary. It's the randomised violent nature of it that i find very unsettling, and i'm surprised that there were only 40 arrests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 gallagc8

Right_Side wrote:
    These photos are sickening and should be provided to the guards ASAP. Some of the guys kicking two guys on the ground are 40+ not just scumbag kids.
    As far as I know they have been given to the gardaí. Hopefully they'll be able to catch as least some of these scumbags.

gallagc8 wrote:
    As far as I know they have been given to the gardaí. Hopefully they'll be able to catch as least some of these scumbags.

Today reminded me so much of St. Patrick's Day.

It was an excuse for the scum of this city to don their Celtic jerseys, sing The Fields of Athenry, desecrate the Irish flag and then subsequently wreck their own city with vandalism and most worryingly commit random violence.

Where those two guys ok? What did they do to anyone? Working for no doubt €7.65 an hour doing a job that the scum who beat them up won't do because its too easy to claim social welfare and steal, deal etc.

I swore I'd never go into town on March 17th but today I was caught up in it albeit in the safety of the library.

just got extract off rte.ie

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Around 300 protestors, who opposed the planned loyalist 'Love Ulster' march, clashed with gardaí in Dublin city centre this afternoon.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The trouble broke out at 12.45pm at the junction of Parnell Street and O'Connell Street, just yards from where an estimated 800 marchers commemorating the victims of republican violence had gathered. [/FONT]
    The 'Love Ulster' parade, due to follow a route from Parnell Square to Leinster House, never got underway.

About 300 protestors trying to stop the march from proceeding along the route broke the barriers and began attacking gardaí, photographers and journalists.
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Missiles including cement blocks, rocks, pipes, glass bottles and firecrackers were thrown. A refuse skip outside the GPO was also set on fire.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Businesses along the route were forced to shut as gardaí and members of the Garda Riot Squad forced the protestors down O'Connell Street. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Further skirmishes broke out at O'Connell Bridge, Aston Quay, Fleet Street and Temple Bar. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The most serious violence was in the Nassau Street area. Three cars were burnt out, windscreens were smashed and businesses had their windows broken.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Gardaí say 40 people were arrested.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Fourteen people, including six gardaí were treated in hospital as a result of this afternoon's disturbances.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]RTÉ can confirm that its Chief News Correspondent Charlie Bird was injured while reporting on the disturbances in the city centre this afternoon. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]He was admitted to casualty in the Mater Hospital, but has since been released.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Dublin City Council has estimated the clean up operation for O'Connell Street will cost €50,000. [/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] [/FONT]

There is a post now in After Hours with a link to a car been turned over and destroyed by a group of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Right_Side wrote:
    doing a job that the scum who beat them up won't do because its too easy to claim social welfare and steal, deal etc.

That comment's out of line but otherwise I'd agree with the general sentiments over everything. It disgusts me when people claim to be patriotic by being violent and racist.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    That comment's out of line but otherwise I'd agree with the general sentiments over everything. It disgusts me when people claim to be patriotic by being violent and racist.

Care to explain how it is out of line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Well first of all you don't know the circumstances of those rioting but that's of less importance. My main problem is you saying that in general people don't work because social welfare is too easy to get. The amount of money you get from social welfare is not much and the vast majority of those who end up on it would like to be able to support themselves but can't. I feel your comment links people on social welfare to rioting which I feel is very unfair. The vast majority of those on social welfare would not never get involved in that type of behaviour. Being on social welfare's no easy life.

Andrew 83 wrote:
    Well first of all you don't know the circumstances of those rioting but that's of less importance. My main problem is you saying that in general people don't work because social welfare is too easy to get. The amount of money you get from social welfare is not much and the vast majority of those who end up on it would like to be able to support themselves but can't. I feel your comment links people on social welfare to rioting which I feel is very unfair. The vast majority of those on social welfare would not never get involved in that type of behaviour. Being on social welfare's no easy life.

The fact that we as a country even pay Long Term Unemployment benefit is an absolute joke. The purpose of UE benefit is assist in a job search, it is a disincentive to find a job and to find it quicky. In the USA you are cut off after 1 year and that is far better system... why should the hard working people of this country fund their tracksuits and baseball caps?

Also, social welfare shouldn't be provided in the form of cash it should be food vouchers, clothes vouchers etc. i.e. make it difficult to purchase luxuries which, in my opinion, are only for those who earn them.

Bottom line, unless you are genuinely disabled etc. (in which case your not part of the labour force anyway) there is no reason to be not working in this country.

erm i know of a few times that people on the dole have been offered work and turns out with child support and all sorts of other benefits that it wasn't worth their while, something in the region of 20/week difference in doing work or not doing it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Right_Side wrote:
    The fact that we as a country even pay Long Term Unemployment benefit is an absolute joke. The purpose of UE benefit is assist in a job search, it is a disincentive to find a job and to find it quicky. In the USA you are cut off after 1 year and that is far better system... why should the hard working people of this country fund their tracksuits and baseball caps?

Also, social welfare shouldn't be provided in the form of cash it should be food vouchers, clothes vouchers etc. i.e. make it difficult to purchase luxuries which, in my opinion, are only for those who earn them.

Bottom line, unless you are genuinely disabled etc. (in which case your not part of the labour force anyway) there is no reason to be not working in this country.
    Have you ever been a recipient of unemployment benefit? How much first-hand experience do you have of the long-term unemployed? Would you like to back up your assertion that people can actually do nothing and get paid for it in the long run?

I'm a f*cking hard-nosed captialist bastard. I study economics under the likes of Seán Barrett and Constantin Gurdgiev.

But I can now, unequivocally, state that there are not any major problems with our system of renumeration for the unemployed. Less than 2% of Irish people are long-term unemployed. That's less than one in fifty. Would you like to compare that to Germany, France, or even America? Would you like to compare our crime rates and/or incarceration rates to America? Perhaps you'd like to do some correlation analysis between poverty/long-term unemployed and the above two?

If you think that these scum who rioted are on social welfare, do you not think that it's quite likely they'll turn to crime in the absence of social welfare?

What you're doing is essentially sprouting class-discrimination. It's even worse than when the working-class refer to middle-class people as snobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

the state of this country - particularly dublin - really upsets me, the absolute scum that surrounds us is disgraceful and most of these mindless idiots probably didnt even know why they were rioting (not that knowing makes it ok) - they all should be taken out and shot.

also a banning of celtic jerseys mightnt go astray but then we wouldnt know when to cross to the otherside of the road...

Have you ever Less than 2% of Irish people are long-term unemployed. That's less than one in fifty. Would you like to compare that to Germany, France, or even America? Would you like to compare our crime rates and/or incarceration rates to America? Perhaps you'd like to do some correlation analysis between poverty/long-term unemployed and the above two?

If you think that these scum who rioted are on social welfare, do you not think that it's quite likely they'll turn to crime in the absence of social welfare?

1.6% LTU in Ireland as a matter of fact. America LTU=0% not classified as unemployed after 1 year.

We are a full employment economy the use of active labour market policies by the Irish government means that if anyone wants to get retrained etc. its possible and there is a job waiting for them.

Instead of the USA model perhaps we should utilise the Swedish model whereby if a job is available you must take it otherwise no welfare. In the Swedish case they pay very generous welfare payments.

Our crime rates/incarceration rates are on the increase and way below the USA due to their longer sentences, better enforcement etc.

If they turn to crime they should be locked up.

Right_Side wrote:
    1.6% LTU in Ireland as a matter of fact. America LTU=0% not classified as unemployed after 1 year.
    Your statement of 0% LTU is very misleading. It's not necessarily that they get jobs, but stop claiming benefit.

You also failed to mention that the US's unemployment rate is 50% higher than ours.
    We are a full employment economy the use of active labour market policies by the Irish government means that if anyone wants to get retrained etc. its possible and there is a job waiting for them.
    As I said, have you any personal experience of this? I agree with in the general sense. In fact I'd agree with you approximately 99.3% of the time. About 0.5% (educated guess) of the LTU are abusing the system. I'm sure you can do the subtraction, that means that 1.2% are LTU for non-abusive reasons; such as failures in other elements of the social welfare system. Case in point: a recovering cancer patient can't claim, in cases outside of the norm, disability benefit/sick leave etc. Nor can they work. Case in point: a young adult with a very disturbing childhood (where the State failed, as a matter of point) who has social problems as a result thereof and who has tried several times to work but failed deserves, imo, benefit. Case in point: adult children of the mentally-ill elderly, who cannot afford nursing home care, nor are eligible for it, who work purely out of the home. If you'd like to go into home-carer's payments go ahead but that's a far trickier land-mine than LTU ;).
    Instead of the USA model perhaps we should utilise the Swedish model whereby if a job is available you must take it otherwise no welfare. In the Swedish case they pay very generous welfare payments.
    Sweden is one country and only have a population of 9m. ALthough it is a good reference point, it's hardly a necessarily transferable system of governance - not least because of the cultural differences. As a matter of point, again, they have a far higher unemployment rate, a lower GDP per capita and a far greater level of suicide ;).
    Our crime rates/incarceration rates are on the increase and way below the USA due to their longer sentences, better enforcement etc.
    Our sentences are actually pitiful. Case in point: the average time spent in jail for rape is three years. It should also be noted that the crime:conviction ratio for rape stands (estimated) at 50:1. There's a 2% chance of conviction of rape, and a average sentence of three years. Three years in jail for fifty rapes. It is not longer sentences.

The USA also have far more police per population than us. It's not enforcement.

It's that America has more crime. You didn't do the analysis I asked you to.
    If they turn to crime they should be locked up.
    Ask any victim of crime would they rather the crime had not been commited in the first place. It's about forty times more expensive to keep someone in jail than to pay them benefit.

You haven't done the analysis I asked you to. Nor have you stated your personal experience (or lack thereof) of the system. You've also changed your tone significantly since my last post (not something I'd like to see reversed, mind).

You also failed to mention that the US's unemployment rate is 50% higher than ours.
    Source?

As I said, have you any personal experience of this? I agree with in the general sense. In fact I'd agree with you approximately 99.3% of the time. About 0.5% (educated guess) of the LTU are abusing the system. I'm sure you can do the subtraction, that means that 1.2% are LTU for non-abusive reasons; such as failures in other elements of the social welfare system. Case in point: a recovering cancer patient can't claim, in cases outside of the norm, disability benefit/sick leave etc. Nor can they work. Case in point: a young adult with a very disturbing childhood (where the State failed, as a matter of point) who has social problems as a result thereof and who has tried several times to work but failed deserves, imo, benefit. Case in point: adult children of the mentally-ill elderly, who cannot afford nursing home care, nor are eligible for it, who work purely out of the home. If you'd like to go into home-carer's payments go ahead but that's a far trickier land-mine than LTU ;).

I'm not getting personal.

Of course all of these people deserve social welfare but these cases involve people who are not seeking work and are therefore not classified as unemployed. They should not claim unemployment benefit (jobseekers allowance) they should claim a disability benefit etc. Therefore, your 1.2% are back in as abusers/not actively seeking work.

Sweden is one country and only have a population of 9m. ALthough it is a good reference point, it's hardly a necessarily transferable system of governance - not least because of the cultural differences. As a matter of point, again, they have a far higher unemployment rate, a lower GDP per capita and a far greater level of suicide ;).

The have a 1.8% higher UE rate... but whats there LTU rate? This is what really matters at the end of the day.

As economics student you should know at this stage all the measurement problems associated with Ireland's GDP for comparsions!!! Transfer pricing etc. GNP comparsion please.

Suicide... source?
    Our sentences are actually pitiful. Case in point: the average time spent in jail for rape is three years. It should also be noted that the crime:conviction ratio for rape stands (estimated) at 50:1. There's a 2% chance of conviction of rape, and a average sentence of three years. Three years in jail for fifty rapes. It is not longer sentences.

The USA also have far more police per population than us. It's not enforcement.

It's that America has more crime. You didn't do the analysis I asked you to.

Ask any victim of crime would they rather the crime had not been commited in the first place. It's about forty times more expensive to keep someone in jail than to pay them benefit.

You just proved my point about the stats, which country is going to have a higher amount of people in prison per million of pop at a given time:
    A: Gives 3 year rape sentences
    B: Gives life for rape.

Obviously B! Therefore, the crime rate may be the same but just B punishes it harder. (I'm not claiming our rate is as high as the USA, I am claiming the gap may not be as a high as you think.)

Cost of putting people in prison. Yes it is expensive but:
    1. There will be scale economies if the whole country turns into criminals as your suggesting.
    2. Perhaps less coldheartly, the gain to society will see increased rule of law which will shift the production function upwards on the Solow Growth model and allow increased output per person. Africa- no rule of law-no economic growth.
    Therefore, again not as expensive as you might think.
    You haven't done the analysis I asked you to. Nor have you stated your personal experience (or lack thereof) of the system. You've also changed your tone significantly since my last post (not something I'd like to see reversed, mind).

Care to explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

It looks like it came from the italian cafe that's a bit further up Westland Row.

Makes sense. Still looks pretty incongruous in the setting of the photos.
    What they actually show is a chinese Guy who worked in the centra being dragged out and beaten. Says something about the mentality of these guys.

...I ****ing hate people. I really do.

Right_Side wrote:
    Source?
    My apologies. The US's rate has fallen recently. However, it still stands at 21% higher than Ireland's rate.

doing a job that the scum who beat them up won't do because its too easy to claim social welfare and steal, deal etc.
    I'm not getting personal.
    Right.

For the record, there's nothing in economics that says you can't get personal. By all means one must be scientific and not let emotion interfere with analysis; but economics above all other subjects requires emotion. You're dealing with people's livelihoods.
    Of course all of these people deserve social welfare but these cases involve people who are not seeking work and are therefore not classified as unemployed. They should not claim unemployment benefit (jobseekers allowance) they should claim a disability benefit etc. Therefore, your 1.2% are back in as abusers/not actively seeking work.
    Statistically, I agree they should not be claiming. But if I were to advise them on a personal basis, I'd tell them to claim. Equally, if I were a politician in charge of this, I'd turn a blind-eye. There are failings in the system, and the benefit should land on the individual. UB is the method the State recognises its own failings, tbh. The point stands that the 1.7% figure which is so often flouted by the "they're thieving scum" gang is very mis-leading. Linking the LTE to the rioters, or even the inverse, is very disingenuous. That's the point I'm making, and although I don't speak for him, I presume that's the point Andrew_83 was making.

The have a 1.8% higher UE rate... but whats there LTU rate?
    I can't find the LTU rate for Swedent. I will accept an assumption that it's lower without blinking, but that's because they're so strict on the unemployment benefit. They're also far less strict on disability benefit however. Another case in point: Britain. I'm sure I don't have to go into the details of their disability benefit?
    This is what really matters at the end of the day.
    I vehemently disagree! Are you really saying that a high, albeit fluid, unemployment rate is so negligable? Please! I have two main assertions. The first is that our actual long-term unemployment is nothing to worry about and is actually beneficial relative to the alternative.
    As economics student you should know at this stage all the measurement problems associated with Ireland's GDP for comparsions!!!
    I do of course! For your benefit, I spared you the relevant GNI/PPP calculations ;).

World Bank - Ireland's PPP is over €33,000 while Sweden lingers beneath €30,000.
    Suicide... source?
    457 people took their lives in Ireland in 2004: (reference). Taking 4m as our population, that's 11.4 per 100k. Taking Sweden's population as 9m, with 1196 suicides in 2001 (which I believe has risen since), that's 13.3 per 100k.

You just proved my point about the stats, which country is going to have a higher amount of people in prison per million of pop at a given time:
    A: Gives 3 year rape sentences
    B: Gives life for rape.

Obviously B! Therefore, the crime rate may be the same but just B punishes it harder. (I'm not claiming our rate is as high as the USA, I am claiming the gap may not be as a high as you think.)
    Yeah, ironically my rant about rape didn't suit my argument very much! Point taken on incarceration; but the crime rate is substantially higher. That point, the main one I was getting at, still stands. I'm of the opinion that American conservatism, and frankly ignorance, with regard to unemployment and poverty is the determining factor in its crime-rate. I think empirical analysis (take just about any) of poverty and crime is pretty over-whelming.
    Cost of putting people in prison. Yes it is expensive but:
    1. There will be scale economies if the whole country turns into criminals as your suggesting.
    2. Perhaps less coldheartly, the gain to society will see increased rule of law which will shift the production function upwards on the Solow Growth model and allow increased output per person. Africa- no rule of law-no economic growth.
    Therefore, again not as expensive as you might think.
    I'm not suggesting we remove the rule of law or try diminish any effects on an over-simplistic, not empirically-proven economic model ;). I'm explicity stating that being "personal" with our benefit is actually beneficial. Opportunity cost and all that.

Now I'm not suggesting we should let people run riot. As I said, I'm a bastard. But I definitely think, from both personal experience and "anecdotal" empirical analysis, it's in everyone's benefit to be somewhat compassionate with unemployment benefit (unless of course someone is doing nothing, but I think that's taken care of); and additionally, the sort of tar-with-the-same-brush effect of mentioning the rioters and unemployment benefit in the same sentence is very ignorant. I don't think I've ever met anyone with personal experience of unemployment benefit who feels this way. It tends only to come from:
    1. Economists who see only the figures
    2. Non-economists who see nothing but their tax bill ;)
    Care to explain?
    You're far more reasonable! :). Your first comment, that you were taken to toe on, was out of line. I don't think anyone has any problem with you questioning our welfare system, although perhaps a little off-topic on this thread/board I'd encourage it! However the comment linking the rioters to the LTE is ignorant and offensive to those on LTE and who are not the scum who rioted.

It's the same sort of association of "tax-dodging millionaires" or "landed gentry" that I find repulsive and ignorant.

Out of interest, are you in the department? If so, isn't Sébastian Wälti the best thing since sliced bread? :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Rredwell

I think we're getting a little off-topic with the LTU discussion.

Most of the businesses around Dawson Street and Nassau Street were closed, and I saw the burnt-out cars in South Leinster Street later on. Nassau Street ped. entrance was closed all day.

I read on RTE.ie that there was rioting in Temple Bar - does anyone know how true that is?

Right_Side wrote:

not true. Also what about all the mothers of this country? is looking after kids not a job or has it not been for the best part of this and the last centruy.

the government and many disabled people might feel differently about that. I work with disabled people (or will do so very shortly) and provison of vocational employment or provision of grants to their former employers (to allow them to adapt their work environment to provide for wheelchairs is also available.

Training services provided:

FÁS is the national agency delivering vocational training to people with disabilities. Vocational training services for people with disabilities are provided by FÁS on an integrated basis. FÁS also provides a range of employment-related supports for people with disabilities. These include adaptations grants, disability awareness training for employers and grants to retain workers who have become disabled while in employment. People with disabilities are eligible for the full range of back to work supports including the community employment and social economy schemes.

Health Service Executive (HSE) Areas are responsible for rehabilitative training that is not directly linked to the labour market. People in rehabilitative training may be paid a Rehabilitative Training Allowance by the HSE Area or a training provider. HSE Areas have taken responsibility for this area since July 2000 when services for people with disabilities were mainstreamed. Formerly, rehabilitative training was organised by the National Rehabilitation Board. HSE Areas also have responsibility for providing for or arranging for the provision of sheltered work for people with disabilities.
    Education.
    see http://oasis.gov.ie/health/health_se...roduction.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Ha, lucky I pissed off home. Personally, I found a lot of yesterday's events rather amusing...
    You had a Burberry shoutin' "lets get those british bastards" before the lads charged at the Gardai (Police force of the Irish Republic!). Following that, in a heroic move they smashed up a street bearing the name of Daniel O' Connell (probably because he was an "orange protestant bastard" rather like what Charlie Bird was accused of) because the old catholic emancipation probably wasn't enough for these fine republican heroes. The funniest thing of all was that it wasn't even an orange march. Having said that, inviting a gang of union jack wavin' unionists to march down O' Connell street in it's current state (The lads didn't even have to dig up the pavement) was just the thing to guarantee a more lively than usual Saturday afternoon and a nice shakedown for the marching season. I reckon these fine seasoned warriors are wasting their time on our streets and would be much better serving as a peacekeeping force in Iraq. They're obviously well trained in combat and more than able to take out a mad mullah with a big ****-off bomb strapped to his chest. Pip pip...

Rredwell wrote:
    I read on RTE.ie that there was rioting in Temple Bar - does anyone know how true that is?
    Small groups scattered in the direction of Temple Bar. I don't think there was anything perticularly serious, in the context of yesterday's other disgraceful acts.

The pictures of the man being kicked and beaten on Westland Row are truly shocking.

I think there ought to have been widespread arrests yesterday, rather than the forty or so token arrests. Personally, I think it was a pity that a few of the rioters weren't killed. It would have cleaned up the streets a bit. There is no place place for such scum in Irish society. It's interesting to note that the Jervis shopping centre was ransacked, but the rioters almost ignored British stores, but rather pillaged Champion Sports (for requisite hoodies and Nike Air Maxes) and the Celtic Store, which sells Celtic FC clothing and the like. These people aren't rioters. They are not Republicans either, because their limited brain capacity would not allow them to comprehend such a political idea. They are merely hardened criminals. We all saw the man, who had items stolen from his car, rather than just have the windows smashed or whatever.

These people are the drug-dealers, gang criminals and murderers of the future. These teenage bastards (word used in derogatory sense) do nothing for society, and their loss would be highly celebrated, in my opinion.

Now, I know some are going to reply, saying, oh well, they come from deprived backgrounds and neglected communities and the like, but that is not an excuse for the wanton criminality we saw yesterday. Surely, they have a sense of morals and of manners, which they must suppress, in order to behave like they did yesterday. In this way, it cannot be conceived of as a result of deprivation or upbringing. These are merely the lowest of the low we need to take off the streets and either incarcerate or execute. They are not expressing a political belief, as the only belief they have is "f*** everyone else, I'm in this for myself". What was even more shocking was the number of middle-aged "men" participating in the riots. It is likely that some of these are fathers. If so, their children ought to be taken away from them. Imagine a child being brought up in such criminality.

I know this post is a bit rambling, but I'm just so annoyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I think it anything this has been a wake up call for allot of people. There is a serious about of scum in this city, there has been for along time, now people have seen what can happen when they get together.

My apologies. The US's rate has fallen recently. However, it still stands at 21% higher than Ireland's rate.

Which in reality is ~4%(Ireland) to ~5% (U.S.A.). Not the biggest gap in the world... far smaller than your 21% higher would infer (even though it is correct). The hiring and firing rules in the USA facilitate a much higher temporary (transitional) STU rate. But a lower natural rate of unemployment.

Right.

For the record, there's nothing in economics that says you can't get personal. By all means one must be scientific and not let emotion interfere with analysis; but economics above all other subjects requires emotion. You're dealing with people's livelihoods.

I just don't want to discuss personal details on the internet... i think thats fair enough.
    Statistically, I agree they should not be claiming. But if I were to advise them on a personal basis, I'd tell them to claim. Equally, if I were a politician in charge of this, I'd turn a blind-eye. There are failings in the system, and the benefit should land on the individual. UB is the method the State recognises its own failings, tbh.

Well we are not talking about the individual we are talking about whats good for society. Every individual seeks to maximise their income and minimise their tax burden. This is why everyone moans about their own tax burden (and seeks to reduce it) but as a society we realise that reducing the tax levy in one place increases it somewhere else. E.g. VRT goes - then tax on petrol increases.

We are not in "wink and elbow" country of 20-30-40 years ago.
    The point stands that the 1.7% figure which is so often flouted by the "they're thieving scum" gang is very mis-leading. Linking the LTE to the rioters, or even the inverse, is very disingenuous. That's the point I'm making, and although I don't speak for him, I presume that's the point Andrew_83 was making.

Fair enough it was a generalisation but how many of these people are working full time/will every work?
    I can't find the LTU rate for Swedent. I will accept an assumption that it's lower without blinking, but that's because they're so strict on the unemployment benefit. They're also far less strict on disability benefit however. Another case in point: Britain. I'm sure I don't have to go into the details of their disability benefit?

Sweden is isn't the perfect system (and I never said it was). But there are points that we could take from it and use.

Britain is actively seeking to tackle their burden.
    I vehemently disagree! Are you really saying that a high, albeit fluid, unemployment rate is so negligable? Please! I have two main assertions. The first is that our actual long-term unemployment is nothing to worry about and is actually beneficial relative to the alternative.

LTU is the root of all evil when it comes to unemployment. They are a constant burden on the state, generate negative externalities, correlated to increased crime etc. Germany, France and Italy have whopping LTU rates and it is crippling them. They pay too much benefit... whats the incentive to work it your getting the same for doing nothing?

In my opinion, the benefits to the unemployed should start off very high and constantly decrease to 0 within a year and also incorporate the Swedish "job available you must take it system". This way the unemployed aren't punished for losing their job and have a strong incentive to act quickly.
    I do of course! For your benefit, I spared you the relevant GNI/PPP calculations ;).

World Bank - Ireland's PPP is over €33,000 while Sweden lingers beneath €30,000.

I'm not claiming Sweden is prefect. I am suggesting I like the policy mentioned above. Although I would venture to say that gap is significantly smaller then the GDP difference.
    457 people took their lives in Ireland in 2004: (reference). Taking 4m as our population, that's 11.4 per 100k. Taking Sweden's population as 9m, with 1196 suicides in 2001 (which I believe has risen since), that's 13.3 per 100k.

Hardly a mind boggling difference now in fairness. Anyway, have any stats been produced confirming a correlation between UE and suicide?

Even if they have:

TRADEOFF- poor Ireland but great community spirit and less suicides V. rich Ireland but less community spirit and higher suicides. What would you choose?
    Yeah, ironically my rant about rape didn't suit my argument very much! Point taken on incarceration; but the crime rate is substantially higher. That point, the main one I was getting at, still stands. I'm of the opinion that American conservatism, and frankly ignorance, with regard to unemployment and poverty is the determining factor in its crime-rate. I think empirical analysis (take just about any) of poverty and crime is pretty over-whelming.

You could argue that America has a problem a higher crime rate due to its higher population. The sharing of info, ideas, copycats, acceptability etc. between criminals will dramatically increase it.
    I'm not suggesting we remove the rule of law or try diminish any effects on an over-simplistic, not empirically-proven economic model ;). I'm explicity stating that being "personal" with our benefit is actually beneficial. Opportunity cost and all that.

Your going to have a explain what you mean by "being personal with our benefit."
    Now I'm not suggesting we should let people run riot. As I said, I'm a bastard. But I definitely think, from both personal experience and "anecdotal" empirical analysis, it's in everyone's benefit to be somewhat compassionate with unemployment benefit (unless of course someone is doing nothing, but I think that's taken care of); and additionally, the sort of tar-with-the-same-brush effect of mentioning the rioters and unemployment benefit in the same sentence is very ignorant. I don't think I've ever met anyone with personal experience of unemployment benefit who feels this way. It tends only to come from:
    1. Economists who see only the figures
    2. Non-economists who see nothing but their tax bill ;)

Compassion... sounds like socialism... sounds like Germany, France, Italy... sounds like a high LTU rate... sounds like economic stagnation... sounds like 1980's Ireland... sounds like 15+% UE rate... sounds like 40,000 of our best and brightest emigrating every year.

See point above about tarring the rioters.
    You're far more reasonable! :). Your first comment, that you were taken to toe on, was out of line. I don't think anyone has any problem with you questioning our welfare system, although perhaps a little off-topic on this thread/board I'd encourage it! However the comment linking the rioters to the LTE is ignorant and offensive to those on LTE and who are not the scum who rioted.

1. Anyone who rioted is scum.
    2. I fail to see how I was more reasonable I simply compared two systems of UE benefit both of which, in my opinion, encourage work more then here.

3. Ignorant?- would anyone care to argue that the rioters yesterday are hard working tax paying productive member of society?
    It's the same sort of association of "tax-dodging millionaires" or "landed gentry" that I find repulsive and ignorant.

These guys are entrepreneurs who deserve their earnings and if they exploit a legal loophole to decrease their tax burden that is hardly their fault. Against the fradusters who are illegally claiming benefit.
    Out of interest, are you in the department? If so, isn't Sébastian Wälti the best thing since sliced bread? :).

snorlax wrote:
    not true. Also what about all the mothers of this country? is looking after kids not a job or has it not been for the best part of this and the last centruy.

Clearly it is not a job. One of the main reasons of Ireland's increased economic growth is that married females with children are coming back into the labour force where they should be... not at home minding the children as you are suggesting.

Of course there a social benefits to this but if they were working the Gov. would have a higher tax yield to increase spending on education, child care etc.
    the government and many disabled people might feel differently about that. I work with disabled people (or will do so very shortly) and provison of vocational employment or provision of grants to their former employers (to allow them to adapt their work environment to provide for wheelchairs is also available.

If a disabled person is seeking work or in work they are part of the labour force... if they aren't they are not part of the labour force. Same as anyone else.

E.g. the people you are talking about are part of the labour force as they are seeking work in contrast the ones Angry Banana was talking about who are not seeking work.

It is brilliant that these facilities are available as the economic and social benefits will be significant to bringing the disabled back to work.

e]Clearly it is not a job. One of the main reasons of Ireland's increased economic growth is that married females with children are coming back into the labour force where they should be... not at home minding the children as you are suggesting.
    really if it's not a job looking after kids and supporting them why are single mothers most prone to poverty and social exclusion in our society? Most modern women end up doing two jobs, working to support their family and then going home to do the dishes/ look after the kids. Kids don't feed themselves, women have being doing that job for centuries and to be honest it's pretty telling on your part not to consider it good enough to be called a job. :D!
    If you knew your social policy you would know that a lot of our economic growth was down to social partnership and the Programe for National Recovery (1986) which devised by the employers, TUs and farming interests as a result of the recession. In it offered centralised wage aggreements, a commitment to keeping inflation low (and prevent devaluation of our curreny), also to adivse the government on complementary policies that would faciltate social and economic growth. Ireland being a relatively small and open economy the SPs of the day sought to open it up and to do this they reduced corporate tax and in doing some attracted investment from lots of american firms seeking to invest in Ireland eg pharmaceuticals, IT etc, the CAP (common argicultural policy provided by the eu) also sought to protect framing interests. NESC and NESF set up implementation and advisory bodies to protect against future recessions like the one in the 80s.

women have been in the labour market for a long time before the market analysts dubbed our most recent boom the celtic tiger so attributing one factor to our economic boom is more of a casual attribution then a logical deduction. Bearing in mind many women are often in lower paid jobs(secetaries and such) and do not earn the equivilant of their male colleagues and many are forced to take part time jobs as they have a more important role/ job in looking after their kids and affording them the best opportunities in terms of growth and development (social, physical and emotional health can at best in part be attributed to a child's close environment ie their home and their social environment, notably their parents and siblings) in doing so and help them form good attachments and relationships for their future (is this not an important role?). Parallel play and cooperative play would be impossible with out the help of time spent by their parents/ mother with them, and by them providing opportunities in the environment for thier growth eg types of toys and modelling, learning by watching thier parents/ mother do it first. Play is essential to a child's development, and not just their social but also their cognitive devlelopment and i am prepared to expand on this to include Piaget's theory of cognitive development if you want me to.

Bowlby's mother deprivation hypothesis states that "motherly care is as important to a child's growth and development as are vitamins and minerals".
    so in answer to your assumptino that looking after kids isn't a job and isn't important for a kids development i suggest you read up on developmental psychology
    Of course there a social benefits to this but if they were working the Gov. would have a higher tax yield to increase spending on education, child care etc.
    and they lose their benefits when they start working, most work is vocational that is offered to disabled people. mainstream work often involves employers paying less then a person without a disability.

if a disabled person works in the public sector it is certainly a lot easier to get their job back and the modifications necessary to their environment, in the private sector this doesn't always happen as you are more dispensible even though technically if it is illegal to discriminate under the equality acts (how can you prove it? they can just say you failed the interview stage..)
    If a disabled person is seeking work or in work they are part of the labour force... if they aren't they are not part of the labour force. Same as anyone else.
    E.g. the people you are talking about are part of the labour force as they are seeking work in contrast the ones Angry Banana was talking about who are not seeking work.
    [/quote] to be perfectly honest you made a huge generalisation about disabled people being unable to work in your previous post, as if they didn't count in the labour force. maybe you should have made your last post clearer if you didn't mean to generalise as that's what you did.
    on another point Many disabled people look for work but people won't employ them. It is wrong to assume that becuse someone has some kind of physical or mental disability they don't deserve a job .

Mattie! Execute them?!! Ya conservative bastard!

Other than that, excellent post.

Execute them?!!
    There's nothing too much wrong with capital punishment, when it's warranted!

Mattie! Execute them?!!
    I thought it was an excellent solution.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

europerson wrote:
    There's nothing too much wrong with capital punishment, when it's warranted!
    Jayzus... I think that's barbaric

snorlax wrote:
    women have been in the labour market for a long time before the market analysts dubbed our most recent boom the celtic tiger so attributing one factor to our economic boom is more of a casual attribution then a logical deduction.
    Erm the % of women with children in the work force has shot up......
    Bearing in mind many women are often in lower paid jobs(secetaries and such)and do not earn the equivilant of their male colleagues
    Where are the figures to support that women arn't earning the equivilant of their male colleagues? Your implying sexism is inherant there that the women are being discriminated with equal qualifications.

Given that they are probally in lower paid jobs due to lack of education or experence it seems perfectly reasonable. There are plenty of men in low paying jobs too.....

so in answer to your assumptino that looking after kids isn't a job and isn't important for a kids development i suggest you read up on developmental psychology
    Hrmm this is a growing trend on this board that i personally dislike, which is those who have some speciality in an area are jumping down the throats of someone who makes a comment they consider to be un-educated. Having read oodles of books on a topic don't mean you are the only people who get to have an opinion. Seeing as how many studies youve read, your surely aware of the huge number of studies that are often countered, so logically it is possible that the educated stand point is possibly no more valid than the uneducated.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Jayzus... I think that's barbaric
    getting quite off topic, but anyway...

I'd disagree, unless we have a reasonable method to reability these people what else do you do with someone who's comitted several murders and will do more if you release them? Keep them in a jail cell for the rest of their life? costing the govt millions and not really doing anything to benfit society?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Why not chain gangs? It's like community service, only harsher.

Execution, in my opinion, should only be considered if the person presents a threat to other people's lives, and it should be done in the most humane way possible. We're supposed to be a civilised society, so painful death should be below us.