Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Tips (Merged)

• 24-02-2006 11:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭

Big caveat to anyone intending to put even a cent on my selection.
    1. I am completely new to this
    2. Only Ante Post bet I placed was on Lingo in Cheltenham a few weeks ago and he was shot two days later :mad:
    3. See number 1. and 2.

New to here (and to racing) so really trying to learn how to research the form and what to look for ..... been reading how you pros approach things for the last week so tomorrow my shiny Euro coin will go on the following (which will probably end up trekking kids along a beach in tramore knowing my luck)

16.20 @ Chepstow
    Selection: Desert Tommy

Looking at the competition I think Silver Birch didnt prove having been pulled up in his last race and was a poor 4th to Passenger Omar (who also runs tomorrow) in January. Looking at what I can find this horse hasnt had enough competitive tracktime lately to deliver the goods and may be using this race to get back in focus. Mayoun looks like a horse with potential but delivers one place after another but has always seemed to falter somewhere along the way; pending an error free run this horse would seem to be a serious condender but the step up from Class 4 where it was won and was placed recently, having been a close 2nd in Class 5 recently makes me believe that all in all I the L plates will stay on a little longer (somehow I get a sneaking feeling this horse will read my post and teach me a lesson tomorrow :eek: ). Both Silver Birch and Mayoun appear to have drifted in price a little lately.

Kilty storm is a Pipe trained horse that has raced in good company but last win was Class 4 so not sure it it has what it takes here to come out on top; but since my ex g/f's name was kilty nuff said there - just not gonna happen ..... she could be related to the horse but I will let you know if I see any similarity between them tomorrow.

Passenger Omar with 3 wins in 8 races seems to look like strong opposition here and appears to like the soft ground with both of his wins having been on the soft with heavy in places and could turn out to be the toughest threat to the other runners and I was almost tempted to stick my shiny coin on this pony.

Desert Tommy looks like the horse in form to me with two recent wins (albeit in Class 4 races) on soft ground over shorter runs in Towchester and Exeter; also beating Miss Farenheit who couldnt stay the distance into 3rd. Carried 12st in Towchester up from 11.8st in Exeter and still had time to smile for the camera at the finish line :rolleyes: At 11.10 tomorrow it is giving some weight to each of the above horses but having run at 12 before its still a slight drop despite the step up in class ..... just hope the last few races this month havent taken to much out of him for this step up in distance and class

Thats all folks ............... hopefully I didnt approach it like a complete eejit and even more importantly I hope my selection at least performs tomorrow I and dont end up feeling completely stupid.

*fingers crossed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

YOU DO THE MATH.he is forecasted at 5/1 here and has a very good chance.this is a horse i have been waiting to see run for a while now after hIs last race were he ran an outstanding race.he has been upped in class by two grades now but i think that this is a poor grade two race and he definatly has an excellent chance.same distance as last race which suits him well.

GET ON HIM IF HE IS AROUND 5/1.

AN EARLY WINNER WOULD BE GREAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Nice write up, sorry to be the bearer of bad news but Desert Tommy is a non runner.

Can you rename the thread to something more general, might as well keep all the selections together.

Here's my selections:

3:35 Newcastle - Korelo (NAP)

I think Korelo may just be a good thing today, carries 24lb less than he would in a hurdles race, will relish the testing conditions and should see out the distance. I can see Timmy Murphy uleashing him late on to get up. Interstingly he is Timmy Murphy's only ride for Martin Pipe at Newcastle today, most people would have expected to see Murphy riding at Sandown, that is a tip in itself.

3:20 Sandown - My Will (each way)

At around 14/1 with the first 4 places paying My Will is a banker to be placed if he doesn't fall, he is one of the very few in this race that will love the conditions and will be doing all his best work at the finish. His jumping has been generally poor so that is always the risk you take with him. His fast finishing 2nd to Our Vic last weekend really caught the eye.

2:25 Newcastle - Brave Thought

Brave Thought is 7lb better off with today's favourite Do L´Enfant D´Eau for a 6 lenght defeat at Ayr under similar conditions last time out, that should be enough to turn the tables. The booking of Timmy Murphy on a horse that likes to be held up is another big plus.

4:20 Chepstow - Silver Birch

Carrying 29lb less than his chasing mark Silver Birch must be in with a great chance today, his flop last weekend is a bit worrying but the fact he is out again so soon suggests it was a one off. He's a top contender for the Grand National so you would think that a Class C handicap is well within his grasp under suitable conditions.

3:15 Chepstow - Cherry Gold (each way)

This is more speculative than anything but at 10/1 Cherry Gold looks a decent each way shout. He's won 4 of his 6 stars at Chepstow and has an excellent record when fresh. He hasn't raced on ground this testing under rules but has over point-to-points.

5:20 Fairyhouse - Imperial Storm (each way)

At around 10/1 it will be worthwhile keeping an eye on any support for Imperial Storm in the bumper at Fairyhouse, he was in with every chance when slipping in his last run where he was very well fancied.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

3.20 Sandown - Distant Thunder

Tipped Distant Thunder a few weeks back at Huntington, a 2nd that day seems to have put a miserable winter well in the past. Was in very good form this time last year and I am going e/w again. 9/1 on PP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Genco

Guess NR is better than tipping a loser :)

Was my approach ok or did it make no sense whatsoever ?

Was hoping for some feedback either way .... if its completely rubbish feel free to point out why and where so I can learn for next time.

G

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Genco

I picked up a wink and a nudge for Kasbah Bliss in the 2.45 at Sandown but since my track record is unproven here please take this for information purposes only until I see how good my sources turn out to be over the coming weeks and until I learn more about selecting my own recommendations (tried one for today and posted it last night but it got withdrawn :( )

GL to all today and roll on Cheltenham !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭clusk007

Fairyhouse 5.20- Dul Ar An Ol. Got this tip from my uncle who's a trainer. Fairly reliable..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭kc66

Genco wrote:
    I picked up a wink and a nudge for Kasbah Bliss in the 2.45 at Sandown

Had a few quid on it. Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭clusk007

clusk007 wrote:
    Fairyhouse 5.20- Dul Ar An Ol. Got this tip from my uncle who's a trainer. Fairly reliable..

Story of my life. My third 2nd today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Winelover

I reckon My Will could of won on Saturday was it not for his Jumping. Finished like a train.... Innox may be value for the national at 16s..

Agreed on My Will, he was lucky not to fall at the last, I think he may gave gotten up if it wasn't for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

masterK wrote:
    Agreed on My Will, he was lucky not to fall at the last, I think he may gave gotten up if it wasn't for that.

I was also on My Will on Saturday.