Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous People in Airports

• 23-02-2006 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Well have you ever spotted any "famous" people on your travels? Me...not many, i did see Martin McGuiness going through Dublin Airport as well as Michelle Smith. No autographs or anything, they went quickly through the terminal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

My Bro met Billy Bob Thornton on a ferry when he was doing a music tour and said he was dead on :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

:D I saw Nadine Coyle getting out of a car recently in Dublin Airport. Great legs ...:D ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I saw one of the twins from B*Witched about 5/6 years ago when coming home from Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

sharkman wrote:
    :D I saw Nadine Coyle getting out of a car recently in Dublin Airport. Great legs ...:D ;)

Lucky fu*k. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i meet jack charlton everytime i go to cork airport, he just sits there, and i chat away, he doesn't say much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

David Beckham a few years ago. Quite friendly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Vegeta wrote:
    My Bro met Billy Bob Thornton on a ferry when he was doing a music tour and said he was dead on :)

Thats one lad I wouldnt mind meeting and going for a few pints with!

Saw Roberto DiMatteo in Milan once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭hawkmoon269

I saw Desmond Llewelyn (the actor who played Q) at Heathrow a few years ago. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desmond_Llewelyn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

kearnsr wrote:
    Thats one lad I wouldnt mind meeting and going for a few pints with!

Saw Roberto DiMatteo in Milan once.

My bro was on a school tour and there were loads of them just sitting down having a chat with him. He was with Jolie at the time (although she wasn't present). My bro said he was really down to earth and didn't mind chatting away.

My best friends also saw Martin Sheen in Nenagh CO. Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I have a mate who is convinced he always sees famous people in airports. Was in one with him and he "spotted" 3 who looked nothing like who he thought they were, for some reason he is convinced they just hang out in airports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭damienom

Got a flight home from Chicago last March, Ronan Keating'd been over there doing some Paddy's Day gig, there was some posh southside girls school on the flight, poor ****er had his heart broken the whole way home with Boyzone songs being murdered (suppose he was guilty of that himself).

Met the Inter Milan squad in Rome a few years back when I was on a school tour, they'd been playing Lazio before flying to Moscow for a European game.

Met The Darkness in Rome last year, shower of ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

saw robbie Keane in Dublin airport once...he was getting a ryanair flight to london

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭toString

Thom Yorke and Radiohead,
    The then President of the European Parliment, who was waiting at the wrong gate. I thinlk that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭j22

A friend of a friend saw the whole Barcelona team in Barcelona Airport.Hes got pics and all with them.

A couple of years ago I saw Bill Clinton arriving in Dublin. He was just getting off his plane. It wasnt long after he finished his last term as president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I used to work in the airline business and I've met:
    Nicole Kidman
    Bob Geldof
    Steve Collins
    Boy George
    Bertie Ahern (I couldn't remember his offical title 'The Taoiseach')

and had the following people up on the flighdeck:

Sharon Ellis (1992 Miss Ireland) She was a stewardess so saw her regularly.
    Natasha Richardson (Liam Neeson's wife - we dicussed having seen her naked in her 1981 movie The Comfort of Strangers:) It then turned out that the Captain went to school with her hubby)
    Steven Segal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I've had the pleasure of being on the same flight as Daniel O'Donnell and Margo, and Tabby whatever-his-name-was from X-Factor. I've also shared a departure gate and plane with Richard Ashcroft..all the colours of the musical rainbow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭meowCat

December 2004. Went to Singapore and on flight back I had Ant and Dec on the plane. I was amazed at how short in height they actually are!! But really friendly, smiled at everyone despite the early morning hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

el tel wrote:
    I couldn't remember his offical title 'The Taoiseach'
    I think you'll find it's An Taoiseach ;)

Saw that old runner er.. Eamonn something or other, he was on my plane when I was heading to Ny. Guess he was going there for the marathon that was on that week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Nirvana at the same carousel as me in Dublin airport waiting for their luggage, also saw Van Morrsion in Heathrow- tiny bloke. And saw John Toshack using a payphone in Cardiff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Saw Alice Cooper in Heathrow, eating pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

I met Kevin Keegan and his family on the way to Orlando couple of years back, funny story about meeting people in airports, few years back.

In 1992 when Micheal Curruth won gold in the medal at the olmypics I went up to see the home coming it was late at night and we parked at the ar*e end of the car park, so my friend put me in a wheelchair just til we got closer to the door cause i walk kind slow, anyway half way through the carpark we met Mick Currutths brother and Wayne McColloughs family, who were all over me for coming up in a wheelchair at like 1 in the morning, I couldnt very well say well actually, i am just using it to get to the door, besides my mate was a huge boxing fan, and this was major for him. So in we go up to the VIP Lounge and me in the wheelchair, thoughest part was the Garda on the door was my friends father who I had been playing football with the day before, his face was priceless but i just looked at him, like I'll explain later.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

saw gerry adams walking through town. i ignored him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Saw those two that won the 'your a star' thing last year in dublin airport, was tempted to go ask them for their autograph then when they signed it go "Oh wait i thought you were **** " instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Puff Puff Pass

Well, wait for it........The most famous person I've met is Daniel O Donnel - Is her counted as famous? I think I've brought this tread to a new low with the mention of the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

el tel wrote:
    I used to work in the airline business
    Trolley dolly!!

• I saw Tom Jones in Heathrow and Busted in Stansted. Busted was hilarious, they had had one hit and I didn't know who they were. My sister was reading some stupid pop magazine with their picture in it and she looked over and casually said 'there's Busted'. We got an autograph for the laugh. I'm really unobservant so I've probably seen more people and not realised.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I saw Alan Shearer in Heathrow when I was on my way over to Portugal one time. It was just at the start of the world cup finals in 2002 and England were to play Argentina the next day, so I was surprised to see him going to Portugal and not Korea.

It turned out he was staying in the same resort as we were! As it happens, it's a good resort to see famous footballers, because my ex (whose parents own an apartment there) saw the whole Man U team over there one year including David Beckham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

Saw East 17.. :rolleyes:

It was during the whole Take That V East 17 stage, so i was well shocked, seeing as they were just wandering around the airport just like any other jo soap :rolleyes: :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Vegeta wrote:
    My bro was on a school tour and there were loads of them just sitting down having a chat with him. He was with Jolie at the time (although she wasn't present). My bro said he was really down to earth and didn't mind chatting away.

My best friends also saw Martin Sheen in Nenagh CO. Tipp

He seems a down to earth lad. I'd said he'd be some drinking partner espically if he was bringing Jolie with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭rsta

saw Vernon Kaye talking on his mobile phone in LA international airport... he's lovely looking ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I saw Carl Spain today in HMV if that counts.

Not famous!
    Binomate wrote:
    Carl Spain.

Not an airport!
    Binomate wrote:
    HMV

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Bertie Ahern. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

kenny cunningham at dublin airport after world cup then when my flight arrived in LA michael douglas was in the terminal beside me with about 20 porters and dozens of suitcases,i thought i was imagining it as i had taken a few sleeping tablets for the long flight but i pinched myself and realised it was really him,then i slapped myself repeatedly for briefly acting like a starstruck fool .