Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the worst thing....

• 21-02-2006 6:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭

Okay, i was in work having a conversation with some people and someone said what do you think the worst thing your child could be born with, most responces were say for example a life threatening illness where the parents could do absolutaly nothing to save there child.

However there were two responces that really shocked me, and i really couldnt understand ... 1 was grow up to be a fat child, and 2 was to be gay.

I couldnt actually believe i was hearing this, as i found it to be such a shallow and quite suprising responce given todays environment....

Is there something that you would feel could be bad for your child to be born with ? and what do you think of the two responces above.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

em worst, born without me.. as in if I had a kid but I wasn't there for it.. that'd be the worst.

hmm I dont know what would be worst.. if the chicld was ill in any way or missing anything.. all would be worst.. everyone wants their kids to be perfect.. the worstwould be that they couldn't enjoy themselves as much as their friends do when they grow up

tis tough question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I don't see why you were so shocked no man wants their son to grow up to be gay despite what some people say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

If the kid was born with glasses Pighead wouldn't take him home. The speccys wreck my head. Also the kid would have to be a good conversationalist. Quiet kids are creepy and deserve no place in any house of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

thats a nice cheerful worktime chat eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

danniemcq wrote:
    thats a nice cheerful worktime chat eh

Ah was just a small moment, in the gap of madness ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Ginger hair tbh.

Gay, fat ginger kid!! :eek:

:v:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You know, once you get over the obligatory 'shock at the shallowness/old-fashioned-ness', they do have a point, at least by current standards.

Although we may consider it 'wrong', you know damned well that seriously obese kids are going to get a lot of flak from other kids, be the 'unpopular' one, and likely have a lot of doors 'closed' to them in future life, simply on aesthetics. If the kid is suffering from some missing limbs or mental retardation, at least that will be taken into account during the upbringing, and the kid would likely spend his time in the company of like people. And, when it comes to finding jobs, statutory protections are easier to invoke for wheelchair-bound people than those who are genetically obese.

Similarly, if homosexual, the adolescent will probably have to keep his lifestyle 'under the counter' and out of the public view for fear of ostracism. i.e., he can't 'be himself', unless he lives in San Francisco or some such. A lot of people are very conservative about that thing. If the situation changes twenty years from now, then so be it, but as it stands, it's not conducive to as 'happy' a life as most people would have. Whether we like it or not, whether it's justified or not, bigotry exists.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i spent six hours today looking after an autistic child. he is 9 years old and, for the most part, is quite happy in his own little world. it would kill me though if i was to have a child with a similar disability.
    the kid i looked after today will never know the full extent of the world around him and will never be able to enjoy all that is available. i wouldn't wish that on anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Heyes wrote:
    However there were two responces that really shocked me, and i really couldnt understand ... 1 was grow up to be a fat child, and 2 was to be gay.

Considering the thousands of illnesses, defects or health problems a child could be born with, and that children everyday are unfortunately born with, anyone who said a fat kid or a gay kid never deserves to have any kids. :rolleyes:

Although....that said....
    The_Edge wrote:
    Ginger hair tbh.

lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

Yeah I'm with Havok on this one, people who say such things don't deserve to have children.

The worst thing for me would be if they had any handicap or an illness where nothing I could do would help them - must be the worst feeling in the world!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Heyes wrote:
    Okay, i was in work having a conversation with some people and someone said what do you think the worst thing your child could be born with, most responces were say for example a life threatening illness where the parents could do absolutaly nothing to save there child.

I couldnt actually believe i was hearing this, as i found it to be such a shallow and quite suprising responce given todays environment....

Is there something that you would feel could be bad for your child to be born with ? and what do you think of the two responces above.....

I have to agree with you. Thats crazy what those 2 people said. The worst thing would be a disease that is not cureable. Everyone whats the best for their kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

this thread makes me sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Meh. Total blindness would suck.

As for the Austic kids, they may mostly have it bad, but at least they're happy with it. Unlike the rest of us miserable cvnts complaining about everything from the weather to what may happen. Was a lifeguard for a swimming event out in Blanch that was populated by Downs Syndrome kids. Sure, they're proberly uncurable, but they wouldn't stop smiling. Even if they came last, of did a hopelessly slow race, they were still happy about it. Dunno, but if a "normal" kid came anywhere but 1st place, they'd be unhappy about it, so as the saying goes, ignorance is bliss.

Which would you rather your child: know that their hopeless, and be sad about it, or not know it, and think their great?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

slipss wrote:
    I don't see why you were so shocked no man wants their son to grow up to be gay despite what some people say.

That is just stupid.

All I want for my kids ( whenever i get around to having some ) is for them to be happy , end of story.

They could be fat , ghey , Ginger hair .. hmm wait scratch the last one , :p but at the end of the day ( all credit to the lads) as long as they are happy i don't give a toss what the look like.

It's Shallow people that make baby Jebus cry :mad:

Megatron wrote:
    It's Shallow people that make baby Jebus cry :mad:
    Actually, here's a bad one: the 2nd coming. Why? Cos if your a man, its written down that it ain't yours :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Documentary on Channel 4 the other night about a gorgeous little girl in Egypt who was born with a second head. (The second head was a parasite but capable of crying and blinking :eek: ) Was terribly sad, can't think of anything worse tbh

http://www.channel4.com/health/microsites/H/health/magazine/conjoined/cases.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

julep wrote:
    i spent six hours today looking after an autistic child. he is 9 years old and, for the most part, is quite happy in his own little world. it would kill me though if i was to have a child with a similar disability.
    the kid i looked after today will never know the full extent of the world around him and will never be able to enjoy all that is available. i wouldn't wish that on anyone.

You can teach a child to act somewhat normally for the most part. I've got Aspergers Syndrome (which is a mild form of autism) and I've turned out relatively fine, though I still have a few hurdles to jump...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

Any person who can't love and accept their child, no matter what defect it's born with, isn't fit to be a parent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

If its not in perfect working order I'll be expecting a full refund or an exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Heyes wrote:

God help the gay fat kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

kennett wrote:
    You can teach a child to act somewhat normally for the most part. I've got Aspergers Syndrome (which is a mild form of autism) and I've turned out relatively fine, though I still have a few hurdles to jump...
    i'm not dismissing you in any way here, but this is severe autism i'm talking about. coupled with ADHD. he is nine years old right now, but has a mental age of about three.
    i know a couple of people with aspergers who lead relatively normal lives, and more power to them. it can't be easy for them. i also have a close friend with severe dyslexia. he was extremely shy and withdrawn until we took him out of his shell and gave him the confidence boost he needed. (i'm not taking any credit for this. it was mostly the work of my friends). he rarely even spoke to anyone before meeting us. was afraid of making a fool of himself.
    as for the people who are afraid of having a gay child. i hung around with a gay guy when i was 15. he hadn't come out of the closet at the tie, but he was quite obviously gay. i never saw it. i just saw a friend. he did get quite a bit of stick over it though. proper parenting will help any child through something like this. if you are afraid of having a gay child, then don't have children at all. you will only do them a disservice by being bigoted.

EDITEd to add: screw all you ginger haters. my hair may have turned brown over the years and i may still have freckles (fading as i ge older) but i'm still a ginger at heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

TBH, I think it'd break my heart to have a severly disabled child. I'm sure I'd love them just as much, but it'd break my heart to see any child of mine have any door closed to them...

Any person who can't love and accept their child, no matter what defect it's born with, isn't fit to be a parent.
    Ah, we'd all love and accept them, but if there was a cure for it, wouldn't ye take it (eg: laser for the eyes, etc). Sure, there's not always a cure, but unless your gonna hope ye have a kid handicapped due to your own heavy drinking/smoking whilst preggers, you'd want the best for your kid. Thus the "not wanting" of a disabled kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Heyes wrote:

I think both responses show immaturity and that they obviously are not parents.....I am currently 35wks pregnant with my second child & the worst I think my baby could be born with is anything that means they won't get a decent chance at life....or get to have a reasonably normal life....now they may not be aware that life could have any more in it before anyone jumps down my throat......but as a parent that's how I would feel......