Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SE Cardroom

• 20-02-2006 1:35pm
    Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭

I heard at the weekend that this is closing. Just the cardroom, not the rest of the SE. Can anyone shed any more light on this or have I just been wound up? :confused:

I don't go that often but Weds/Thurs night it is good to have an option to go to a decent tournament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Just when its starting to really get going and have a few cash games. That's mad Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stephenoleary

There was a little trouble in there on Friday night, but it would be a real shame if it was closing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i hope this isnt true, the SE is the top card room in dublin IMO. I cant see why this would happen, however, I did hear in the SE that there was plans to restructure their tournaments schedule, could it have been this that was mentioned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Hope it doesnt close was planning on making more regular trips in there on the weekends, wandered into the cardroom at 2am on sat night as was in the area, turned 400 into just under 2k in about 40minutes without hitting a massive hand, never played a weaker live cash game if its that way every week .............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Been hearing those rumours for a while now so doesn't surprise me.

Their making a kiulling on the gaming floor and want to put more upstairs.

They really need to hold an EPT or the like to promote the SE for poker. Ho hum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

That would be a real shame. Its by far my favourite casino/poker room in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Have heard conflicting rumours on this.

a) The casino floor is running so well they want to expand that, theres more money to be made.

b) theyre really going to push poker, added money etc. But then they said that when they first opened.

Interesting to see what happens as these rumours are both pre change in management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Pokerevents

whodini wrote:
    There was a little trouble in there on Friday night, but it would be a real shame if it was closing.

Tell us?

Tell us?

There was a little bit of banter at one of the tables, things got a little heated and someone tried to throw a punch. I was sitting at the next table, and it was all a little handbagish. They had to call up security though, and its not the kind of thing they want, especially given the clientel they are trying to attract.

But, this isn't the kind of thing that would happen on the gaming floor, so that fact, combined with the prospect of making more money, may explain any decision to close the poker floor. I agree with everyone though, it would be a real shame if it did close, especially now that it has built a decent reputation.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Maybe Tom or Mike could get onto them and find out if they are willing to talk...after all Tom and Mike are Internationally renowned Poker journalist's.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Dub13 wrote:
    Maybe Tom or Mike could get onto them and find out if they are willing to talk...after all Tom and Mike are Internationally renowned Poker journalist's.

It could be a scoop for AntesUp/Boards. Stop the presses!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

whodini wrote:
    There was a little bit of banter at one of the tables, things got a little heated and someone tried to throw a punch. I was sitting at the next table, and it was all a little handbagish.

Were these regulars or unknowns? i've seen behaviour like that everytime I play cash games in the SE. 2 regulars in particular are extremely obnoxious and are often quite aggressive. There's one guy in particular, black hair, plays cash nearly every night, appears to fancy himself as a bit of a pro. Absolute gimp.

it's the one thing that puts me off about the SE, is the few a$$holes that play the cash games every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I still have two years before I can grace the poker room of the SE and from what I have heard from everyone it is probably the best card room in Ireland.

I dont think that one little incident should close the poker room.

As for making more more room for the gaming floor. Surely they realise that a good bit of money that is being made on the gaming floor is from people waiting around to get a seat in a cash game and/or start a tournement. Now I could be wrong on this point as I have never set foot in the place but it seems logical to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

shoutman wrote:
    I still have two years before I can grace the poker room of the SE and from what I have heard from everyone it is probably the best card room in Ireland.

I dont think that one little incident should close the poker room.

As for making more more room for the gaming floor. Surely they realise that a good bit of money that is being made on the gaming floor is from people waiting around to get a seat in a cash game and/or start a tournement. Now I could be wrong on this point as I have never set foot in the place but it seems logical to me.

I don't think the SE has quite got the reputation as the best cardroom in Ireland yet but it's certainly the nicest. Cash action there is pretty good but still not a patch on the fitz. It would be a real shame if these rumours are true because they have the best tourney structure in dublin imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Hope this isn't true...don't play cash games there so have never run into aggro, though some people just shouldn't be allowed out into society at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Certainly anyone causing trouble she be instantly blacklisted.

ianmc38 wrote:
    Were these regulars or unknowns? i've seen behaviour like that everytime I play cash games in the SE. 2 regulars in particular are extremely obnoxious and are often quite aggressive. There's one guy in particular, black hair, plays cash nearly every night, appears to fancy himself as a bit of a pro. Absolute gimp.

it's the one thing that puts me off about the SE, is the few a$$holes that play the cash games every night.

Isn't the poker world a small place.... yeah, the guy who fancies himself was invloved, doing the talking though, not the punching. The other guy took exception and decided to try and start something. To be fair, it was dealt with very quickly, adn I don't think we'll see the non-regular back anytime soon.

I go there specifically for the cash games, never the tournaments, and although some players are a little obnoxious, for the most part they're great games. And there's nothing like taking a pot from the guy who thinks he's a pro....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

It must be a common thing in there, two weeks ago there must of been another incident, one of the guys who was involved was on my table in the 300e and was telling me he was on his last warning and was barred recently he didn't go into details but alot of drink had been taken.

Not sure of the guys name but he's a reg in the fitz/merrion/SE see him at most tourny's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Derek C.

I'd grin and bare any idiot the Sporting Emporium can throw at me against the Retirement Home/Bad beat nonsense that you have to listen to in the Merrion.

Only problem with the Emporium is the Location. Merrion and Fitz are located in a nice relaxed part of town. Would of Rathered seeing the Emporium as far away from Grafton street as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

there is one hell of a hostile crowd of horrible people in the SE. i manage to get myself in trouble every time i go in there. But they're all fish so i tend to grin and bear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭fixer

I play in there usually a couple times a week, and don't usually see much of the bad behaviour. When I do see it, it often has come from one of the drunk guys who came in after the bars closed. I humour them, because they are usually good for a few hundred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I think they need to address manners in a big way in these casios especially if there is drink involved
    If you throw a punch red card your never coming back
    If you continually use offensive language red card your not coming back
    It is a big problem in the Macau in Cork
    Last year I knocked a "regular" out of a 20 buck tourney
    I was not a regular having only moved to Cork and had to sit there being called a Cvnt for the next 3 hours

I would also like to see them talk with each other and if you throw a punch in the SE well the Fitz and the Merrion do not want to see you either

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I doubt they coordinate much though. There is a guy that plays in the SE that is banned from the Fitz and I believe from the Merrion too for stealing chips in a tournament.

People like that shouldn't be allowed in again ever. I agree that people who are physically or verbally (regularly) abusive should not be allowed into any place either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

5starpool wrote:
    I doubt they coordinate much though. There is a guy that plays in the SE that is banned from the Fitz and I believe from the Merrion too for stealing chips in a tournament.

Have no idea how they could let that happen, I almost feel sorry for them. Enough staff from other casinos have crossed over for them to know exactly what he is so they must be desperate for customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

That would be a big shame and something i wouldnt like to happen at all.
    1st floor is seeing a lot of business and some Thurs its feckin heaving with punters. Really like the double chance tourneys they run.

Floor mang in SE isnt the best, not fit to polish Luke's chip racks! :D but staff friendly, food best, v well run. Still like the Fitz and will support both.

Hope this isnt a case to the gaming floor just being too busy and card room not as.
    They should have a quiet word with the professinal f88ktards who bend the acceptable lvl of Fair play on the tables. +Sounds as if some of them have been banned from the other two and SE is their last option for live casino play in Dublin (should be reminded of this?)

btw saw D Desmond in the casino the other day :)