Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House mates

• 20-02-2006 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

Bit of help / info required. Friend of mine is going to move in with me for a while (female- haven't had a house mate for a while, female for that matter), just wondering what sort of rules/guide lines should we agree on at the start to avoid hassel later.
    The money thing is not an issue, just general house and sharing cleaning etc.
    Any nuggetts of information would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

She does the cooking, house keeping, sex etc. You bring in the dollas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

No naked jacuzzi-ness! And..

If you feel that a rota would work then make one up, but I find that if everyone sticks by the rule of "you mess - you clean" then things tend to work out ok. Apart from one guy that I live with.. knob!

4 of us in a house, I clean as I go - so I don't have the sudden urge to overhall the kitchen and clean everything in it. But he insists that 'this is how it was done before'.. I don't know about that now Ted. What I signed up for was to rent a room, and to keep my messyness to myself (common decency like).. I never agreed to steralize the kitchen and bathroom every 2 weeks just cos someone says so.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Naked thursdays!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

Dont lay down a skipload of rules and stuff as soon as you both get in the door...That being said

Start as you mean to go on...there is nothing worse that someone religiously cleaning 24/7 for a week to make a good impression then leaving the place in sh!t for 2 years.

99% of the rules you will find out as you go on...meaning you dont know whether she is a loud person or messy or whatever so you will have to live with her for a bit to find out. The opposite is also true. One month is generally enough time to get to know the basics of someones habits and personality.

Take it easy. Living with others is fun so enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

Decide if you expect food to be shared or not. Will you share butter, salt, milk, tea, etc?

Set out that you expect her clean up after yourself, and if you want the house cleaned every week/fortnight/whatever. You don't want them dishes in the sink in a fortnight's time.

The current place I'm in, the lads are sound and the place is kept reasonably clean but were not gonna have an arguement if it isn't. Also one of them is a bit of a monica and loves cleaning so we just let him away with it, the kitchen does be spotless, it's great. Though the rest of us do make an effort to clean sometimes. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 clarkee

LOL, nice one lads. All that was in the back of my mind, just didn't want to spring it on her first thing.
    She 's a cool chick,great laught(great bod) but that's beside the point! and with a bit of luch bring back a few of her mates from time to time.
    You know for tea / coffee / book reading and all that kind of fun stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Just make sure that she knows to clear up after herself and you should be fine.

One of my housemates is always complaining about the cleaning not being done but he never does a tap himself. So make sure your doing your fair share, you never know her standards may be way above yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

clarkee wrote:
    LOL, nice one lads. All that was in the back just didn't want to spring it on her first thing.

:D I'm so witty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

No hard and fast rules tbh. Just tell her you expect the gaff to be kept neat and tidy and no coming in rat-arsed during the week at 4am when people have to sleep. That's it really AND don't get involved with each other.....SO not a good idea to cop-off with a housemate ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it's just you and her there shouldn't be any hassle. Tell her not to bring hobos home tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭BoozyBabe

What I can think of:-
    (though people may disagree with me)

If food shared or kept separate, if separate are there dedicated shelves in fridge / cupboards etc for each others food.
    Clean up after herself as she dirtys dishes etc, or do you take it in turns.

Share in all housework, 1ce weekly thorough clean, do you divide the chorse or does one do it this week & the other the next week.

Where she dries her clothes:- lot left lying all around house, or worse:- left in washing machine until you need to use it & take them out.

I know money's not an issue:- but does her rent include all bills or does she have to pay extra for electricity, bins, cable, phone etc

& if you have any pet hates that you just could not live with, then say so, because at the end of the day it's your house, so you shouldn't have extra stress by her living there.

Thanks for the help.
    Need to brush up on some stuff then, kind a get lazy on yer own. But once I'm trained , I mean( get used to it) spot on no bother.

Yep, all bills covered.
    Electricity, phone, cable t.v,broadband all the good stuff and private parking all in the mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

ziggy67 wrote:
    I used to live with a guy like that, every Saturday morning he would clean everywhere (except the bedrooms) and wouldn't accept any help 'cause he "wanted it done right". Sweet :)

Now thats service. We usually use everything in the kitchen and then have a big clean up twice a week or so. One of the guys always does the big clean up, I tried helping him but he got wierd and quiet so I'm begining to wonder :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭kellxor.1337

One big rule, Ppl dont think about it that much, Is eatin each other's food, It's ok at 1st but it can cause some serious sh*t,

Clean your own mess is a must aswell,

Kellxor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

'ere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Eminem

Binomate wrote:
    She does the cooking, house keeping, sex etc. You bring in the dollas!

Eh know :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

/me bangs head off wall

Please, please, please, for the love of the euro/jebus/sex/whatever your religion is STOP using 'know' instead of 'no'. It's not cute, it's just mind-boggling annoying...

Please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

I live with two girls,we clean up after ourselves,buy our own individual food, share salt/household items. Generally keep ourselves to ourselves but we get on well enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

As long as you get along with your housemates, it'll be fine. Just take photos of the interior before you do anything, so you can get your deposit back at the end of the year.