Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pickets!

• 20-02-2006 8:12am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

Did anyone see the Picket on the Foster Avenue Gate? Almost all the workers from the Collen-contracted Residence site must be involved, there were loads of them there.

I wonder will any unionised people in UCD not be coming in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Don't think it was the Collen workers from the site. Think it was workers from other sites/unemployed bums. Seemed to be a few Collen workers hanging outside the gate waiting for the picket to clear to go to work. About a dozen guards too.

Also I thought I saw a UCD SU banner there again. In which case they're delaying the completion of the extra residence they were demanding for so long.... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Of course the ucdsu banner was there-there the new siptu dont ya know!

hmmmm earth to james carrolll and the lads your a STUDENT union so just a bit of knowledge for you.You can read it from your lovely cosey room in merville infact,

Mr jordan,president of the USI speaking back in 2001 and since then only glenomena for postgrads has been built in UCD.........

We believe the situation is so grave some students will face the dilemma of choosing between abandoning their courses or sleeping rough," added Mr Jordan. "Others will spend four or five hours daily commuting to attend lectures - and more will have chosen their course by location, due to projected rent costs rather than studying where they genuinely want to study."

Data from the Higher Education Authority for 2001 showed 1,017 students had to resort to staying in hostels, as they could not secure other accommodation, the students' leader declared.

Said a spokesperson yesterday: "In the Dublin region, if a student can find accommodation they either have to fork out exorbitant amounts to compete with professional people for housing, or else settle for sub-standard accommodation.

Figures from 2001 showed that only 6pc of students in this country are housed on-campus compared with 28pc in the UK and 17pc in continental Europe.

I'm so pleased that the UCDSU want to be free to break away from dealing with such 'boring' student issues that the USI deal with.Then the UCDSU can focus on what really matters such as wearing union pins in Dunnes stores and picketing building sites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

Yes the SU are in favour of such mad things as ensuring that the companies employed by our univesity are opperating ethically.

That's the loony left for you. Such idiocy, everyone knows that ethical companies can't do squat... if the even exist.

Madness. Pure madness.

Nothing unethical about what Collen is doing. No law states they have to employ union workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭pretty*monster

ethics and laws are different things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

So are workers and students.
    Who do the SU represent again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Anyone who fits into their leftie agenda.

Good thing I'm a gay black man in a wheelchair who is in a trade union.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

presumably you're also divorced, homosexual, a non-standard age-group and a member of the travelling community.

I'm always being oppressed aswell. Shame I'm pro-abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭tintinr35

Sangre wrote:
    seriously are u actually the president of the su?? cause if u are ur really letting urself down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Of course he is! How dare you ask such a ridiculous question :confused:
    Sangre wrote:

The people next door oppress me all night long. I tell them, I work all day, a man's got to have some time to learn to play the tuba. That's oppression, that is. If I'm not under the heel of the oppressor I don't know who is. :v:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

they're out again today. there was a huge police presense there this morning, at least 30 gardaí and roughly 10 garda vehicles of various sorts. seems like they were expecting trouble.

Wonder if they could move them on? Technically they're on private property and therefore trespassing? And if they move to just outside the Owenstown Park gate then they're picketing UCD and not Collen.

The original picket wasn't even supported by the trade union!
    All three told Dublin’s High Court they would return to the picket line following the hearing, despite an official warning from trade union bosses, to desist from any action on the site.

tintinr35 wrote:
    seriously are u actually the president of the su?? cause if u are ur really letting urself down!
    I can have you killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i cylced past it at 8.45am, the amount of cops there! its amazing what the force will do to protect coporate private interests but yet there are no cops on the streets stopping drink drivers and muggers. the system works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

ferdi wrote:
    i cylced past it at 8.45am, the amount of cops there! its amazing what the force will do to protect coporate private interests but yet there are no cops on the streets stopping drink drivers and muggers. the system works!

Maybe, just maybe they are too busy stopping socialists rioting at building sites to go and stop the muggers:D

ethics and laws are different things.

A company does not have to employ trade union workers to be ethical.

Apparently there were riots today. Anyone see anything??

Where did you hear that?

Edit: Something on ireland.com about it but can't access it...

irlrobins wrote:
    Where did you hear that?

Front of the Evening Herald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

You need a password

http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2006/0222/breaking50.htm

Gardai and Ballybrack picketers clash at UCD
    By Paul Anderson Last updated: 22-02-06, 14:47

Several people sustained minor injuries this morning at the UCD campus at Belfield when gardaí and protesters clashed at a picket line.

Violent clashes developed after dozens of gardaí moved on around 70 picketers who were stopping vehicles entering a building site on the campus.

A garda suffered a head injury and minor concussion after falling during the scuffles. A number of protesters also sustained minor injuries, as did a photographer with the Evening Herald who reportedly was hit by a car and struck by a garda.
    There's more on the site

read a bit about it on indymedia. Really turns me against the protest when you hear supporters using the words "militant" and "repression".

No students were there this morning when i walked past. Only bricklayers.

hit my a car and struck by a garda

Which happened first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

aw man i wish i'd seen that, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Why on Earth ought the SU to be involved in this?

europerson wrote:
    Ah sure you know the SU. A sniff of a chance to protest and wave a banner and they're off passing motions and organising buses to the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

europerson wrote:

You can read there reasons over on the newswire on the ucd su website.To be frank none of there reasons are valid for a STUDENT union as I have tried to explain to them over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Typical.

I go away for three days, and UCD hosts the Armageddon.

S'not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

panda100 wrote:
    You can read there reasons over on the newswire on the ucd su website.To be frank none of there reasons are valid for a STUDENT union as I have tried to explain to them over there
    I agree. I've just read them, and this ought to have nothing to do with the Students' Union.

Pickets back this morning. Not sure why as the "Ballyback 3" purged their contempt last week. So wonder what they're protesting about now.

Good number of gardai again.

I wonder why UCD don't have them moved on for trespassing.