Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British Soldiers Beating Up Children In Iraq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/armyvideo.shtml

Holy ****

This is gonna cause a ****storm.

The photographer is getting a bit too excited though

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4705482.stm

:eek: the **** is gonna hit the fan

totally out of order,very shamefull:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

:eek: :eek:

Jesus fcuking christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

ROFL at the lad filming it!! What a psycho!!

I reckon we draw cartoons of it and then publish it in the irish times!! Oh no wait...they'd probably use that as justification for nuking ireland or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Was the guy filming it cracking one off or what?

Not condoning it at all but why does the footage only start when the soldiers come runnign after the people (who werent all young people) who to me looked liek they had done something to provoke them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

DubGuy wrote:
    ROFL at the lad filming it!! What a psycho!!

I reckon we draw cartoons of it and then publish it in the irish times!! Oh no wait...they'd probably use that as justification for nuking ireland or something..

He was probably so excited because he knew how much money he would get for the footage ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

He was probably so excited because he knew how much money he would get for the footage

Probably laughing at the irony of incriminating himself and everyone in that video. I hope hes still laughing when hes watching it again at the court martial. Im constantly awestruck at the stupidity of some people. They commit a crime, *and* thoughtfully prepare the prosecutions case for them. This is the sort of stuff that needs to go on the Dumbest Criminals show.
    Not condoning it at all but why does the footage only start when the soldiers come runnign after the people (who werent all young people) who to me looked liek they had done something to provoke them.

Probably to keep the focus tight on the issue NotW want to present. Its clear those kids and the rest of the crowd were doing something outside the base that provoked the soldiers into chasing them, but beating those kids means that probably more came back the next day to get payback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

I found the beeping of the word fúck to be very odd given the content. Funny old world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

tbh i don't see what the big deal is. 30 seconds before they were firing rocks at these guys. you throw a rock at a guard and see what happens 30 seconds later when you're in the back of a riot van.

i bet they wont throw rocks at any soldiers again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Wow it turns out brittish soldiers are a bunch of little scumbags that will only take someone on when there handcuffed and out numbered, really shocking, I never would have thought...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Beer is Life

Why dont I care about this? Maybe its because these "Children" had been rioting? Maybe its because the British soldiers were tired of seeing these riots every single day? Maybe they had to send a message to the leaders of that group or the people that start these things? **** them, and if they start another riot, I hope they get beat as bad.

Why are people so sympathetic? How do you know those "children" werent responsible for the deaths of British soldiers? Its a war for ****s sake, its always ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

dont see any major problem with it I guarantee the kids wont do it again.
    Put yourself in that position and ask yourself what you would do if the same little sh1ts were throwing rocks at you every day of the week. One good hiding later problem solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Problem not solved, as generations of vendetta in various countries have shown.

A disgusting piece of film.

luckat wrote:
    Problem not solved, as generations of vendetta in various countries have shown.

A disgusting piece of film.

What would you suggest as the Platoon or Company Commander in that situation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Naughty little boys, the prick! I'd love to stick his head through a window. That's just not on, makes me hate them even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

erm... don't want to come on as prick but what is wrong with that? we only was one side of the story, it's a war ffs, not a swan lake ballet.

The cameraman needs to be shot though, journalists and cameramen, what they wouldn't do for a good shot :?

muletide wrote:
    dont see any major problem with it I guarantee the kids wont do it again.
    Put yourself in that position and ask yourself what you would do if the same little sh1ts were throwing rocks at you every day of the week. One good hiding later problem solved

You consider cracking open the face of little kids with headbutts ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

CyberGhost wrote:
    The cameraman needs to be shot though, journalists and cameramen, what they wouldn't do for a good shot :?
    That's what they're there for. It's their job, and an incredibly dangerous one at that. I have huge respect for men and women who go into a warzone to report.

I mean... In one post you said physically beating minors for throwing stones is okay but a person filming it and then releasing it deserves to be shot?

CyberGhost wrote:
    erm... don't want to come on as prick but what is wrong with that? we only was one side of the story, it's a war ffs, not a swan lake ballet.

They are a bunch of angry kids throwing a few stones - The army know that they are not to beat up civilians.. and that's what they are, civilians. Probably no older than 14. Same thing happened on bloody sunday, a bunch of stones thrown and they retaliate with shooting people down. Please, this is brutish behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭shltter

CyberGhost wrote:

Well you did not suceed

Well it is a group of armed men beating up children irrespective of what the children may or may not have done.

I presume you have heard of the Geneva conventions

And this was not shot by a journalist FFS listen to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

it's not much of war in iraq.. it's a training ground... pretty much with more living test objects...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

OK the kids were being pricks for throwing rocks and ****. But I dont think the British soldiers had the right to kick the living **** out of them, as it wont do anybody any good. Pathetic behaviour, and the camera man needs a slap too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/armyvideo.shtml

Holy ****

This is gonna cause a ****storm.

The photographer is getting a bit too excited though

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4705482.stm

:eek: the **** is gonna hit the fan

As an ex member of the British Army I am disgusted at the unprofessional and sick behaviour, I may not like the enemy but that is acting like animals, I have never seen the like before and the soliders who did that should be charged and F*ckd out of the army, pure unadulterated brutality and this will end up with decent soldiers getting killed for those knackers :mad:

tbh i don't see what the big deal is. 30 seconds before they were firing rocks at these guys. you throw a rock at a guard and see what happens 30 seconds later when you're in the back of a riot van.

Soldiers have to be professional, yes they are angry but that is OTT, I have been in riots in the Balkans where we used snatch squads to get ring leaders but that is GBH

Fair play Woody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

muletide wrote:

Not invade somebody else's country, perhaps?

muletide wrote:

Take the ring leaders arrest them rough them up but not beat the living sh1te outta them....rules of engagement also apply for riots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Lodgepole wrote:
    That's what they're there for. It's their job, and an incredibly dangerous one at that. I have huge respect for men and women who go into a warzone to report.

I mean... In one post you said physically beating minors for throwing stones is okay but a person filming it and then releasing it deserves to be shot?

Lads, the camera man is a british soldier...not some noble war reporter risking his life to unvail the abuse of war.

At the very start before he zooms in you can see his gun turret.

iguana wrote:
    Not invade somebody else's country, perhaps?

He's doing the job el blair and mr bush started the sh1te but I agree to a point.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

DubGuy wrote:
    Lads, the camera man is a british soldier...not some noble war reporter risking his life to unvail the abuse of war.

At the very start before he zooms in you can see his gun turret.
    Yeah, I meant to add that. I was speaking directly about the comment about journalists and cameramen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

800 Years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i'm presuming these scumbags will be thrown in prison?

ferdi wrote:
    i'm presuming these scumbags will be thrown in prison?

Most likely dishonourably discharged but not imprisoned you only get that for murder and worse behaviour

Anyone know what regiment that is ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

What people dont seem to realise is that if you dont get the ring leaders then almost anything you do will make the problem worse not better. Take that scene, if there was a ring leader in the crowd, and there prob was, he'll have seen the kids being dragged in maybe found all of them afterwards and what does he say to other people? We throw rocks they beat our children to within an inch of their lives! Thats going to stop the kids, maybe, but its going to piss a helluva lot more people. Even if you do get the ringleader then you can't beat him to a pulp. You take away his power over the people by showing what he did is wrong, put him through the system if you have proof he did anything etc. I'll admitt I dont know the best ways of doing that but I know that kicking the s**t out of someone isn't it. Situations like these create nasty cycles that just kill alot of people. If you can't beat them by strenght of arms you weaken them and make them leave remember a Suicide bomber is just one person.

Don't get me wrong, I dont like what the kids did there are ways and means these days and throwing stones at soilders is just stupid. But these are soilders trained to kill people etc. they are not ment to practice on kids almost half their height! As Woody said rules of engagement are there. They need to be followed for everyones sake

how do you know that the ones they got were not the ringleaders ?

I dont but usually its hard to find a brick in the ringleaders hand. Also even if they were the ringleaders I said thats not how you should do it

muletide wrote:
    how do you know that the ones they got were not the ringleaders ?

we dont but there is rules of engagement for all soldiers including special forces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Some of you seem surprised/shocked. They did the same thing in the North for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

People should not be surprised, they have been doing this for years in our own back yard although they were not stupid enough to video it.

Oh the advent of the handycam..................:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

dlofnep wrote:
    They are a bunch of angry kids throwing a few stones - The army know that they are not to beat up civilians.. and that's what they are, civilians. Probably no older than 14. Same thing happened on bloody sunday, a bunch of stones thrown and they retaliate with shooting people down. Please, this is brutish behaviour.

look at the video again. it wasn't a "bunch", it was effin loads of them. you can't draw a comparison to taking a few kids around and giving them a good kicking and shooting and murdering loads of people on bloody sunday, that's just taking it to an all new extreme.
    woody wrote:
    Soldiers have to be professional, yes they are angry but that is OTT, I have been in riots in the Balkans where we used snatch squads to get ring leaders but that is GBH

i'm no expert, nor have i been in any conflict outside of the pixels on my monitor, but surely you can't compare one conflict with another. i'm sure there's a whole different set of pressures on those troops in iraq and the pressures you had in the balkans...
    800 Years!

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I'd be more concerned about that guy holding the camera.

@A Dub in Glasgo
    True but that there is the problem. If you dont have evidence its hard to make things stick. Hell look at the May day riots there was evidence there but the guards just said "ahhh no I don not recognise that man" the police had no badges to ID them.

If you leave a bit of wiggle room they seem to be able to save their rears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Not one of the biggest warcrimes the brits have ever perpetrated.
    They did this up the north for years, but that was in the days before cheap video cameras. Okay so it's a small minority perhaps doing suff like this but regardless of whether these kids were rioting or not, it's not justification for what they did ad it's certainly not helping matters in Iraq...
    I know if I was those kids' ages and my country was occupied by these f*cks, I'd be out throwing stones and causing them as much grief as I could too. Having a few of our number beaten the crap out of like this would only strenghten my resolve to make sure my rocks were on target next time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Thats bloody horrible carry on. Highly unproffensional, but what the hell were the kids doing throwing rocks at the British soldiers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

:rolleyes: maybe in your town, but think about it those british troops just created 3 or 4 more terrorists :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

We didnt see the whole story. If those kids attacked the troops off screen they could have been shot. They may have been throwing rocks, or even firebombs for all we know. In that case a beating may be getting off lightly.

Binomate wrote:
    Thats bloody horrible carry on. Highly unproffensional, but what the hell were the kids doing throwing rocks at the British soldiers?

Not at british soilders but at the foreingers who had invaded their country. Unfortunitly they are one in the same

woody wrote:
    Take the ring leaders arrest them rough them up but not beat the living sh1te outta them....rules of engagement also apply for riots

Where are your R.O.Es in this post or is roughing up one of the degrees of force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Something to note: the soldiers goin first, with the shields, went forward first, and back last. Those who grabbed the people seemed to do it after the main group of soliders went forward.

Also, it would seem the man filming it is doing it for sexual grafication, tbh, fom his comments.